透明国际将抗疫表现纳入清廉指数考评

0
65
TI’s corruption index impacted by covid-19, 透明国际将抗疫表现纳入清廉指数考评

透明国际(Transparency International)在2021年1月28日发布了2020年“清廉指数”报告。根据该指数报告,去年,亚太地区在重重困难之中奋力打击腐败,处理新冠疫情带来的健康和经济影响,平均得分45分。

透明国际的清廉指数仍然是评估一个国家或地区腐败风险的重要指标,对于在该国家或地区营商的企业而言,它也是一个有益的参考工具。2020年的清廉指数对180个国家和地区公共部门的腐败情况排名,其依据是该国家和地区的专家和商人对腐败的感受。清廉指数采用百分制打分,0分表示高度腐败,100分表示非常清廉。企业应密切关注指数排名低的国家和地区,找出此前没有被注意到的合规风险。

透明国际的最新报告突出了腐败对政府应对新冠疫情的影响,就各国的医疗投入,以及疫情期间民主制度的削弱程度对各国的表现打分排名。

透明国际的研究显示,在应对疫情和其它国际危机不力的国家,腐败现象更为普遍。研究还观察了全球出口领域中的外国行贿情况,发现,在许多大量出口商品和服务的国家,通过行贿获取国外业务的公司并没有受到应有的调查和指控。

在中国,以及在整个亚太地区,经济压力攀升,地缘政治紧张局势加剧,营商环境也在不断变化,在企业与政府打交道的过程中,以及在依赖第三方关系(如中介和代理关系)的商业模式中,相关风险依然存在,企业仍需保持警惕。

中国在其2021年1月1日起生效的新修订法律中加入了合规管理的概念,这意味着,合规政策、严密的内部控制以及合规制度的执行落实仍然会是2021年的工作重心。

2020年清廉指数主要看点

• 亚太地区平均得分为45分,高于其它地区,如美洲(43分),中东与北非(39分),东欧与中亚(36分)和撒哈拉以南非洲(32分);

• 新西兰得分88分,仍然高居榜首,在该地区以及在全球都名列前茅;

• 在亚太地区,新加坡、澳大利亚、香港和日本得分紧跟新西兰;

• 中国的得分从2014年的36分上升到2020年的42分,提高了6分;以及

• 缅甸的得分大幅提升,2020年的得分相较2012年提高了13分,获得28分。需注意的是,这次打分排名是在该国此次军事政变之前。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

TI’s corruption index impacted by covid-19

0
139
TI’s corruption index impacted by covid-19, 透明国际将抗疫表现纳入清廉指数考评

Transparency International (TI) released its 2020 Corruption Perception Index (CPI) on 28 January 2021.TI has reported that, with an average score of 45, the Asia-Pacific region has struggled to combat corruption and tackle the health and economic impact of covid-19.

TI’s index continues to be an important gauge for assessing corruption risk, and is a helpful tool when doing business in the region. The 2020 CPI ranks 180 countries and territories by their perceived levels of public-sector corruption, according to experts and business people. The CPI uses a scale from zero (highly corrupt) to 100 (very clean). Companies should pay close attention to those countries and regions that score poorly on the index, and identify any compliance risks that may be previously undetected.

TI’s latest report highlights the impact of corruption on government responses to covid-19, comparing countries’ performance in the index to their investment in healthcare, and the extent to which democratic norms and institutions have been weakened during the pandemic.

TI research shows that corruption is more pervasive in countries least equipped to handle the covid-19 pandemic, and other global crises. The research also looked at foreign bribery in the global export space, and found that many countries that export goods and services heavily are failing to investigate and prosecute companies that pay bribes to win business abroad.

In China, and the region generally, given the shifting sands of the business environment brought about by increasing economic pressures and geopolitical tensions, companies need to remain vigilant against risks arising from government touchpoints, and business models that rely upon third-party relationships such as those with agents or intermediaries.

China introduced into its legislation the concept of compliance management on 1 January 2021. This means that compliance policies, robust internal controls and on-the-ground implementation measures remain at the forefront of 2021 priorities.

Highlights of 2020 CPI scores

(a) The Asia-Pacific has an average score of 45 on the CPI, and ranked above other regions such as the Americas (43), Middle East and North Africa (39), Eastern Europe and Central Asia (36) and Sub-Saharan Africa (32);

(b) With a score of 88, New Zealand is consistently one of the top performers on the CPI, both in the region and around the world;

(c) Singapore, Australia, Hong Kong and Japan follow New Zealand closely in the Asia-Pacific region;

(d) China improved on the CPI, increasing by six points, from a score of 36 in 2014 to 42 in 2020; and

(e) Myanmar is a significant improver on the CPI, increasing by 13 points since 2012 to a score of 28 in 2020. Note that these findings preceded the current military coup.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com