针对互联网平台的反垄断指南

0
71
Anti-monopoly guidelines issued for internet platforms, 针对互联网平台的反垄断指南_

2021年2月7日,国家市场监督管理总局发布了由国务院反垄断委员会制定出台的《平台经济领域的反垄断指南》,在正式发布之前,相关部门从2020年11月10日起高调向社会公开征求意见。

相较于早前的征求意见稿,终稿作出了部分修改,显得更为平衡。但从最近的执法活动来看,毫无疑问,市场监管总局将继续此前释放的态度,即它将更主动积极地监督中国的科技企业。

范围未变

《指南》终稿的范围和构架相较征求意见稿没有太大变动,涉及广泛议题,包括:

    • 竞争者之间达成协议或串通,包括平台之间进行信息交换,或通过其它技术手断进行意思联络;
    • 非竞争者之间达成垄断协议,包括固定转售价格和最惠国条款协议;以及
    • 滥用市场支配地位,包括:限定交易相对人与其进行独家交易,或限制交易相对人与竞争平台交易(二选一协议);具有市场支配地位的平台无正当理由实施差别价格(价格歧视);拒绝提供平台必需设施,通过技术手段实施搭售或附加不合理交易条件,以及新的滥用方式,如通过搜索降权、流量限制和/或技术障碍惩罚相关经营者。

态度更和缓

与11月的征求意见稿相比,终稿透露出更为和缓的微秒信号,更多地强调:

    • 市场界定的重要性以及效果分析。指南强调在评估反不正当竞争法的各方面问题(反竞争协议、滥用市场地位和经营者集中)时通常需要界定相关市场,而征求意见稿则表示在评估横向垄断协议和固定转售价格时,市场界定不那么重要;以及
    • 经营者滥用市场支配行为的正当理由。例如,终稿扩大了低于成本销售行为的正当理由,将短期价格促销也作为其正当理由。

还有一个明确的规定,即经营者基于独立意思表示所作出的平行行为本身不能作为判定经营者达成反竞争协议的充足依据。

在征求意见期间,社会上发出一些担忧的声音,担心市场监管总局会否对科技企业监管过度,以及强硬的执法可能对创新和发展不利,终稿的这些规定似乎是在精心修改后对这些担忧作出的回应。

更广泛的政策目标

指南的目的除了维护市场公平竞争,促进创新和创造力,维护各方的合法利益外,《指南》还强调反垄断执法机构应对市场主体一视同仁,平等对待,增强市场主体的国际竞争力。这些措辞表明,监管者仍希望中国的科技巨头们做强做大,增加在国际上的竞争力,但监管部门在日常执法中将如何平衡这一目标和其他目标还有待观察。

有意思的是,在执法原则一条中,《指南》还加入了防止资本无序扩张,和加强反垄断执法与行业监督统筹协调。这似乎也是对最近央行为维护金融安全和预防金融风险而对在线支付平台和金融科技运营商采取措施的回应。

网络平台和经营者集中

协议控制架构纳入监管目标

《指南》明确说明,涉及协议控制架构的交易属于中国经营者集中反垄断正常审查范围。这一规定与征求意见稿保持一致。

因没有向执法机构申报经营者集中,市场监管总局已经对三家有协议控制架构的公司采取执法措施,处以人民币50万元的最高法定罚款。

对未达申报标准的协议的调查

《指南》明确规定市场监管总局可主动调查营业额未达申报标准的科技领域经营者集中,尤其是涉及到初创企业或者新兴平台,或者参与集中的经营者因采取免费或低价模式导致营业额较低,或者相关市场集中度高、参与竞争者数量较少的经营者集中。

这一规定也与征求意见稿保持一致,也可以说加入到了一场有关经营者集中审查制度的国际辩论中。有些被收购企业的营业额低于强制申报的一般门槛,但这些企业对市场竞争非常重要,应如何设置审查制度才能有效监管对这部分企业的收购交易是争议的焦点。有些管辖区,如德国和奥地利提出新的交易额门槛,另有一些管辖区,如采用自我评估/自愿审查制度的新加坡没有改变监管规定,认为现有规则已足够有效。

网络平台的收入计算

《指南》也意识到,根据行业惯例、收费方式、商业模式、平台经营者的作用等不同,网络平台经营者集中审查中的营业额计算可能与传统行业不同。但《指南》也强调,原则上,营业额包括销售商品和提供服务获得的收入:

    • 对于只提供信息匹配和收取佣金等服务费的平台经营者,可按照平台所收取的服务费及平台其他收入计算营业额;以及
    • 平台经营者具体参与平台一侧市场竞争或者发挥主导作用的,营业额还可包括平台所涉交易金额。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Anti-monopoly guidelines issued for internet platforms

0
153
Anti-monopoly guidelines issued for internet platforms, 针对互联网平台的反垄断指南_

On 7 February 2021, the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) published the Anti-Monopoly Guidelines for the Platform Economy issued by the Anti-Monopoly Commission of State Council. This follows a high-profile consultation process on the draft version, which began on 10 November 2020.

While some revisions to the earlier draft appear to have adopted a more balanced approach, it remains clear that the SAMR intends to continue taking a more active role in policing China’s tech sector, as evidenced in recent enforcement activities.

Similar scope

The guidelines broadly adopt the same scope and structure as the draft version, and deal with a broad range of issues related to:

(a) Agreements/collusion between competitors, including information exchange and collusion furthered by platforms or other technical means;

(b) Agreements between non-competitors, including resale price maintenance (RPM) and most favoured nation clauses; and

(c) Abuse of dominance, including: Exclusivity obligations or restrictions precluding counter-parties from dealing with rival platforms (either-or/one-from-two type arrangements); personalised pricing (discrimination) on the part of dominant platforms without justification; and potential application of the essential facilities doctrine to platforms and refusal to supply, tying or bundling conducted through technical means and novel forms of abuse, for example penalising certain operators via search downgrades, traffic restrictions and/or technical barriers.

A softening of approach

There are some subtle signs of a softening of tone when compared with the November consultation draft, with more emphasis placed on:

(1) The role of market definition and effects analysis. The guidelines emphasise that market definition is usually required in assessing all aspects of competition law (anti-competitive agreements, abuse of dominance, and merger control), whereas the draft stated that market definition would be of lesser importance when assessing horizontal collusion and RPM; and

(2) The possibility of objective justifications for conduct that may constitute abuse of dominance. For example, the list of potential justifications for predatory pricing has been expanded to include short-term price promotions.

There is also an express clarification that parallel behaviour that results from an operator’s independent decision making is not a sufficient basis on its own to establish an anti-competitive agreement.

These changes appear to be deliberately designed to respond to concerns expressed during the consultation that the SAMR should not overregulate the tech sector, and the risks that heavy-handed enforcement pose to innovation and development.

Broader policy goals

In addition to maintaining fair market competition, stimulating innovation and creativity, and safeguarding the legitimate interest of all parties, the guidelines highlight that the competition authority’s enforcement should pay attention to the equal treatment of all market players, and enhancing their international competitiveness. While this may signal a desire to let China’s tech champions grow in order to compete internationally, it remains to be seen how this will play out against other policy goals in day-to-day enforcement.

Interestingly, the guidelines further expand enforcement principles by adding in the prevention of the disorderly expansion of capital, as well as strengthening the co-ordination of anti-monopoly law enforcement and industry supervision. This appears to be in response to the central bank’s recent actions against online payment platforms and fintech operators, so as to maintain financial safety and prevent financial risks.

Online platforms and merger control

SAMR targets VIEs

The guidelines expressly state that transactions involving variable Interest entities (VIEs) are subject to merger control in China in the normal way. This is unchanged since the draft.

The SAMR has already taken enforcement action against three companies with VIE structures, imposing the statutory maximum fine of RMB500,000 (US$77,000) for failure to notify their respective transactions for merger control.

Reviews of non-notifiable deals

The guidelines confirm that the SAMR may conduct ex officio investigations on tech deals below turnover thresholds, in particular transactions involving start-ups or emerging platforms, or where the revenues of a party to the concentration are below the turnover thresholds due to the free or low-price model, or the market concentration of the relevant market is high, or the number of competitors is small.

This, again, is unchanged since the draft, and reflects a global debate about the extent to which merger control regimes are well placed to appropriately review acquisitions of competitively significant businesses with turnover that falls below conventional thresholds for mandatory notification. Certain jurisdictions have responded by introducing new transaction value thresholds (Germany and Austria), whereas other jurisdictions (Singapore, which operates a self-assessment/voluntary regime) have decided that their rules are already adequate.

Revenue calculation for online platforms

The guidelines also recognise that – according to industry practices, charging methods, business models, the role of platform operators etc. – revenue calculation by internet platform operators for China merger control jurisdiction analysis might be different from traditional industries. That being said, the guidelines emphasise that revenue being captured in principle should include sales of either product or service:

(1) For platform operators that only provide information matching and receive commissions or service fees, revenues may be calculated from the service fees charged by the platform operator and other revenues generated by the platform operator; and

(2) For platform operators that specifically participate in competition on one side of the platform, or take a lead in such market, revenues may also include the transaction amounts involved in the platform.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com