安全的数字空间可能会限制现有的自由

作者: Ashima Obhan 和 Shubhanshi Pohani,Obhan & Associates
0
334
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

互联网是否应该被监管,如果应该,如何监管,这个问题困扰了各国政府多年,印度也不例外。2021年,印度发布了《信息技术(中介准则和数字媒体道德规范)规则》(2021)(“《信息技术规则》”),引入了社交媒体平台和其他互联网中介的问责制。很快人们就发现,《信息技术规则》是有缺陷的,社交媒体平台、记者和其他人纷纷对其提出宪法挑战。电子和信息技术部最近提出了对《信息技术规则》的修订案(《规则草案》),以解决这些缺陷。

Ashima Obhan
高级合伙人
Obhan & Associates

两项拟议的修改尤其引起关注,首先是中介机构的内容审核和安全港保障,其次是申诉补救和政府监督。根据现行法律,中介机构既不需要审查在其平台上提交的材料,也没有权力来检测和禁止侵权内容的托管。他们的责任仅限于要求用户同意他们发布的条款和条件,如隐私政策和用户协议。这一立场是根据现有的《信息技术规则》第3(1)(a)条和3(1)(b)条(结合2000年《信息技术法》第79(2)(b)条)以及最高法院在Shreya Singhal v Union of India案和德里高等法院在Kent RO Systems Ltd v Amit Kotak & Ors案中的裁决发展而来的。

《规则草案》对中介机构提出了新的问责要求,分别在第3(1)(a)条和第3(1)(b)条中增加了“并确保遵守”和“应促使用户”的短语,要求中介机构在发布或上传用户提供的所有内容之前对其进行监控和筛选。这让中介机构陷入了两难的境地。根据《信息技术法》第79条,只有在中介机构不以任何方式干预内容发布,而只是托管内容上传平台的情况下,才能获得安全港保障。如果它以任何方式进行干涉,则将失去其安全港的权利。通过要求中介机构在可能的情况下监控内容,《规则草案》否定了法令。这样的提案不可能通过哪怕是简单的立法起草测试,可能不得不被放弃。

Shubhanshi Pohani, Obhan & Associates
Shubhanshi Pohani
为该所律师
Obhan & Associates

第二个有争议的提案是一个经过修改的申诉补救机制,要求在72小时内处理关于删除明显虚假、侵犯版权或威胁印度完整性的内容的投诉。在目前的《信息技术规则》下,这一期限是更为现实的15天。提案的意图似乎是防止此类内容传播,但鉴于用户流量和可能提出的投诉数量,中介机构在这一时间框架内处理此类投诉是不合理和不切实际的。72小时的窗口可能会导致中介机构做出仓促的判断,并可能仅仅根据投诉就在没有适当审查的情况下删除内容。无论采取何种行动,中介机构在高压情况下因疏忽而犯错误的可能性会成倍增加,并可能招致进一步的责任。中介机构可能缺乏资源或能力来对侵权指控进行仲裁以及确定是否应该删除某些材料。

《规则草案》提议根据《信息技术规则》建立一个上诉机构,这使情况更加复杂。不满中介机构决定的投诉人可以向申诉上诉委员会提出上诉。《信息技术规则》在委员会的组成(主要由政府代表组成,实际上无行业成员)、其管辖权及其将遵循的程序等基本问题上没有明确规定。

《规则草案》旨在鼓励和创造一个“对所有印度人来说更加安全和无障碍的数字空间”。但在这种看似政府仁慈的背后,是一个过于热心的监管国家。正如《规则草案》所示,这可能会破坏宪法对言论和表达自由的保护。明智的行政当局会起草更符合印度民主身份和宪法承诺的修订案。即使这些提案以目前的形式获得通过,它们也不太可能通过司法审查。

Ashima Obhan为Obhan & Associates律师事务所高级合伙人,Shubhanshi Pohani为该所律师。

Obhan & Associates

Obhan & Associates

Advocates and Patent Agents

N – 94, Second Floor

Panchsheel Park

New Delhi 110017, India

联系方式:
Ashima Obhan
电话: +91-9811043532

电子邮件: email@obhans.com

ashima@obhans.com

www.obhanandassociates.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Safe digital spaces may curtail existing freedoms

By Ashima Obhan and Shubhanshi Pohani, Obhan & Associates
0
46

Questions over whether the internet should be regulated and if so, how have vexed governments for years, with India being no different. In 2021, the Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Rules, 2021 (IT rules), were issued, introducing accountability for social media platforms and other internet intermediaries. It was soon evident that the IT rules were flawed, with social media platforms, journalists and others bringing constitutional challenges against them. The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology recently proposed amendments to the IT Rules (draft rules) to address these deficiencies.

Ashima Obhan
Senior partner
Obhan & Associates

Two proposed changes, in particular, cause concern, first, content moderation by, and safe harbour guarantees for intermediaries, and second, grievance redress and government oversight. Under present law, intermediaries are neither required to review material submitted on their platforms nor do they have their own authority to detect and prohibit the hosting of infringing content. Their liability is limited to requiring users to agree to their posted terms and conditions, such as privacy policies and user agreements. This position has developed under existing IT rules 3(1)(a) and (b) read with section 79(2)(b) of the Information Technology Act, 2000 (IT act) and the decisions of the Supreme Court in Shreya Singhal v Union of India and the Delhi High Court in Kent RO Systems Ltd v Amit Kotak & Ors.

The draft rules propose new accountability demands on intermediaries by adding the phrases “and ensure compliance of the same” and “shall cause the user” in rule 3(1)(a) and rule 3(1)(b) respectively, requiring intermediaries to monitor and screen all user-provided content before it is posted or uploaded. This puts intermediaries in a dilemma. Under section 79 of the IT act, safe harbour guarantees are available only if the intermediary does not in any way interfere with the posting of content and merely hosts the platform on which the content is uploaded. If it interferes in any way, it will lose its entitlement to safe harbour. By requiring intermediaries to possibly monitor content, the draft rules negate the statute. Such a proposal is not likely to survive even a simple test of legislative drafting and may have to be abandoned.

Shubhanshi Pohani, Obhan & Associates
Shubhanshi Pohani
Associate
Obhan & Associates

The second controversial proposal is a modified grievance redress mechanism that requires complaints for the removal of content, which is patently false, infringes copyright or threatens the integrity of India, to be addressed within 72 hours. Under the present IT rules, this period is a more realistic 15 days. The intention appears to be to prevent such content going viral but it is unreasonable and impractical for intermediaries to deal with such complaints in this time frame given user traffic and the number of grievances likely to be made. A 72-hour window may result in intermediaries making rushed judgements, and perhaps removing content without proper examination merely on a complaint. Whatever action is taken, the probability of an intermediary making an inadvertent mistake increases exponentially in a high-pressure situation and might attract further liability. Intermediaries may lack the resources or competence to arbitrate allegations of infringement and to determine whether or not certain material should be removed.

The situation is further complicated by the draft rules proposing to create an appellate authority under the IT rules. A complainant dissatisfied with the decision of an intermediary can lodge an appeal with the Grievance Appellate Committee. The IT rules are unclear on such basic matters as the committee’s composition, which is largely made up of government representatives, members of the industry being practically absent, its jurisdiction and the procedures it will follow.

The draft rules seek to encourage and create a more “safe and accessible digital space for all Indians”. But behind this seeming governmental benevolence is an overenthusiastic regulatory state, as can be seen by the draft rules, that threatens to destroy constitutional protections of freedom of speech and expression. A sensible executive would draft amendments that are more in line with India’s democratic identity and constitutional promises. Even if these proposals are passed in their current form, they are unlikely to survive judicial scrutiny.

Ashima Obhan is a senior partner and Shubhanshi Pohani is an associate at Obhan & Associates.

Obhan & Associates

Obhan & Associates

Advocates and Patent Agents

N – 94, Second Floor

Panchsheel Park

New Delhi 110017, India

Contact details:
Ashima Obhan
T: +91-9811043532
E: email@obhans.com

ashima@obhans.com

www.obhanandassociates.com