京沪两地退休年龄问题

作者: 刘琦,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
416

根据《劳动合同法实施条例》相关规定,当劳动者达到法定退休年龄时,用人单位有权终止劳动合同,且无须支付经济补偿。实践中,涉及女职工(本文指中国籍女职工)及外籍员工的退休问题时,用人单位和员工容易在退休年龄等方面产生争议。

Tracy-Liu,-Partner,-Jingtian-&-Gongcheng
刘琦
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

退休年龄之争

随着上世纪90年代初劳动合同制的实行,企业对其人员打破了传统的“干部”和“工人”之间的界限,变身份管理为岗位管理。在此背景下,女职工的退休年龄,也从最初的取决于其身份(即女工人50周岁退休,女干部55周岁退休),演化为由其所处的岗位性质决定。目前,京沪两地人社部门的女职工退休核准政策是,管理和专业技术岗位女职工年满55周岁、其他非管理和非技术岗位女职工年满50周岁,可办理退休。但是,如何区分前述两类岗位,两地目前均无明确具体的规定可供援引或参考。

实践中有不少这样的案例:用人单位依据自己对其女职工岗位性质的判断,认为其退休年龄为50周岁,并在其年满50周岁时终止其劳动合同;但相关女职工认为其应在年满55周岁时退休,并主张用人单位违法终止。

对于此类案件,京沪两地的法院在司法实践中出现了两种不同的处理结果。一种是法院认为岗位性质判断属于用人单位经营自主权范畴,涉及企业内部管理,不属于法院应当受理的劳动争议案件范围,故法院不作干涉,裁定不予受理。另一种结果是,两地不少法院会对此类案件予以受理并进行实体审理,用人单位需要从劳动合同约定、规章制度规定、实际用工情况等方面举证证明员工的岗位性质和特征。

考虑到司法实践的不确定性,为尽可能避免或减少后续争议,笔者建议用人单位可以事先在员工个人的劳动人事文件(比如录用函、劳动合同)中明确约定其岗位的性质,同时也可以在公司规章制度中增设关于公司岗位架构的内容,明确何种类型或级别的岗位属于管理或技术性质。

外籍人员是否适用中国规定

用人单位雇用达到或超过中国法定退休年龄的外籍人员,无论是新招用或是继续使用其现有在职人员,都需要事先核实其是否能顺利取得或维系外国人工作许可的问题。目前,从政策层面而言,一般只有岗位级别较高或具有专业成就的高端外籍人才办理工作许可才不受年龄的限制。对于这类外籍人才,男性超过60周岁,女性超过55周岁仍存在成功办理工作许可的可能。

在能够持续取得工作许可的前提下,外籍人员是否适用中国法定退休年龄的规定,用人单位与达到或超过中国法定退休年龄的外籍人员之间构成劳动关系还是劳务关系,实践中历来存在争议。

北京地区裁审机构倾向于认为,外国人可与中国境内用人单位建立劳动关系,但并未特别规定可不受中国现行法律中关于退休年龄的限制,所以只要外国人达到或超过中国法定的退休年龄,双方之间即进入劳务关系,即便用人单位与其签有劳动合同且仍在存续期内,仍可以以其退休为由与其立即终止劳动合同。

上海地区裁审机构的看法则不同,认为法律并不完全禁止达到或超过中国法定退休年龄的外籍人员就业。如双方签订劳动合同并取得合法的工作许可,用人单位不得以外籍员工达到法定退休年龄为由终止双方的劳动合同。不过,根据上海的地方规定,用人单位可以在劳动合同中与外籍员工约定解除劳动合同的条件,并依据双方的约定与外籍员工解除劳动关系,而无须严格按照《劳动合同法》的规定解雇外籍员工。这一点也获得了上海近年来主流司法实践的认可。

基于上述京沪司法实践分析,在北京,用人单位在与达到中国法定退休年龄的外籍人员签订的劳动合同项下仍然保有以退休为由随时终止的主动权。但是,在上海,我们建议用人单位在与相关外籍人员的劳动合同中约定企业有权随时解除劳动合同,这将有利于企业掌握用工的主动权。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人刘琦

collateral

竞天公诚律师事务所

上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号

嘉华中心45层
邮编: 200031

电话: +86 21 2613 6125

电子信箱: tracy.liu@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

Retirement ages in Beijing and Shanghai

By Tracy Liu, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
4685

Under the Implementing Regulations for the Employment Contract Law, when a worker reaches the statutory retirement age, the employer has the right to end his or her employment contract without payment of severance. In practice, when it comes to the retirement of female employees (for the purpose of this article, female Chinese nationals) and foreign employees, it is common for disputes over the retirement age to arise.

Tracy-Liu,-Partner,-Jingtian-&-Gongcheng
Tracy Liu
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Retirement age disputes

With the implementation of the employment contract system in the early 1990s, the traditional boundaries between “cadres” and “workers” in enterprises were broken and their management shifted from status management to job management. Against such a background, the retirement age for female employees evolved from the initial status-dependent (i.e., female workers retired at 50 and female cadres at 55) to being determined by the nature of their jobs.

Currently, the approved retirement policy of the human resources and social security authorities in Beijing and Shanghai for female employees is that the retirement age of a female employee in a managerial or technical job is 55; for those in other than a managerial or technical job, it is 50.

However, there are no clear and specific regulations in either city on how to differentiate between the two types of jobs.

In practice, there have been many cases where, for example, an employer determines that a female employee should retire at 50 based on their job. The employee, however, believes the correct retirement age for her role is 55 and makes a claim against her employer for unlawfully ending her employment.

When adjudicating on such cases, courts in both Beijing and Shanghai have taken two divergent views.

In one, courts have held that the determination of the nature of jobs falls within the scope of the business autonomy of the employer, involves internal management of the enterprise and, as such, does not fall within the scope of labour disputes that courts are required to accept. The courts do not intervene and rule not to accept such cases.

The other approach is that many courts in both places do accept such cases and conduct substantive hearings, requiring the employer to adduce evidence of the nature and features of the employee’s job in terms of the provisions of the employment contract, its rules and regulations, actual details of employment, etc.

Considering the uncertainty in judicial practice, employers should expressly state the nature of the employee’s job in his or her employment and personnel affairs documents (e.g. offer letter, employment contract, etc.) in advance and additionally add information on the company’s job structure in its rules and regulations, clearly stating what type or level of job is of a managerial or technical nature.

Do regulations of China apply to foreign employees?

If an employer employs a foreign national who has reached or exceeds the statutory retirement age in China, it needs to verify in advance whether it is possible to secure or maintain a work permit for foreign nationals, regardless of whether it is a new hire or an existing employee whose employment is continuing.

In general, only high-end foreign talent in relatively high-ranking positions or with professional achievements are not subject to age restrictions for work permits. For this category of foreign talent, it is still possible for males over 60 and females over 55 to successfully obtain a work permit.

There has been a long-simmering debate in practice as to whether, provided a foreign national is able to continuously maintain his work permit, the regulations on the statutory retirement age in China apply to foreign nationals and whether the relationship between an employer and a foreign national who has reached or exceeds the statutory retirement age in China constitutes an employment relationship or a service relationship.

Adjudication authorities in the Beijing region tend to hold that foreigners can establish employment relationships with employers in China but that there are no special regulations that exempt them from the retirement age restrictions in Chinese laws. So long as a foreigner has reached or exceeds the statutory retirement age in China, the parties have entered into a service relationship. In this context, the employer can summarily end the employment contract on the grounds that the employee has reached retirement, even if there is a valid employment contract with the employer.

Adjudication authorities in the Shanghai region, however, have a different view, holding that the law does not completely prohibit foreign nationals who have reached or exceed the legal retirement age in China from seeking employment. If the parties execute an employment contract and a lawful work permit is secured, the employer may not end the employment contract of the foreign employee on the grounds that they have reached the statutory retirement age. However, local regulations in Shanghai provide that an employer may specify with a foreign employee in their employment contract the conditions for termination of such contract and terminate the labour relationship in accordance with the provisions agreed to by them without strictly following the provisions of the Employment Contract Law. This point has also been accepted in mainstream judicial practice in Shanghai in recent years.

Based on our analysis of judicial practice in Beijing and Shanghai, an employer in Beijing still retains the right under the employment contract with a foreign employee who has reached the statutory retirement age in China to end their employment at any time on the grounds that they have reached retirement. However, in Shanghai, we would recommend that an employer specifies in the employment contracts with relevant foreign employees that it has the right to terminate their employment contracts at any time, as this will aid the enterprise in keeping the initiative in employment.

Tracy Liu is partner at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

45/F, K. Wah Centre

1010 Huai Hai M. Road
Shanghai 200031, China

Tel: +86 21 2613 6125

E-mail: tracy.liu@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com