澳大利亚外商投资规定

作者: 魏迈克和Justin Shmith,博雷道盛国际合伙人
0
106
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

管澳大利亚对外商投资有各种管制,澳大利亚政府仍积极地促进外商投资。在澳进行外商投资主要适用《外资并购法(1975)》及相关法规,作为对政府的外商投资政策的补充。

《外国并购法》由澳大利亚财政部长和“外国投资审查委员会”具体执行。外国投资审查委员会是联邦政府财政部下设的顾问机构。根据《外国并购法》的规定,如果外商投资项目计划被认定为“与国家利益相悖”,财政部长有权禁止该项目计划,并下令停止或解除与澳大利亚公司和在澳业务有关的外商投资安排。

魏迈克-Michael-Wadley-国际合伙人_-中国业务负责人-International-partner_-head-of-China-practice-Blake-Dawson
魏迈克
中国业务负责人
博雷道盛国际合伙人

一部分外商投资项目必须向外国投资审查委员会进行项目申报,其他外商投资项目的申报则不具有强制性。对于不具有强制性申报的投资项目,最好还是向外国投资审查委员会提交申报,以免承担投资交易被认定为与国家利益相悖而可能被取消的风险。向外国投资审查委员会提交投资项目申报时,须按《外国并购法》规定,在一定程度上对投资者与投资项目相关信息进行披露。

在满足特定条件的前提下,财政部长可批准该外商投资项目。这些特定条件常适用于房地产投资相关项目中。不过,近期这些特定条件也越来越多地出现在由外国国有企业和外国主权财富基金投资的收购项目中。

在《外国并购法》规定必须申报的情况下,除非外商投资项目申报已通过审批,或外国投资审查委员会收到提交的申报后已满40日(或更长,如果审批期限被延长至90日),继续开展投资项目将构成刑事犯罪。

受《外国并购法》管制的投资项目

Justin Shmith
Justin Shmith
博雷道盛
墨尔本分所合伙人

根据《外国并购法》的规定或外国投资审查委员会的外商投资政策,须向外国投资审查委员会申报的外商投资项目计划包括:

  • 外国人对在澳资产或澳大利亚公司进行的“实际控制股权”收购,该资产或澳大利亚公司的价值,或是投资项目计划对其评估的价值超过2.31亿澳元;
  • 外国人对外国公司进行“实际控制股权”收购,该外国公司在澳的子公司或该外国公司的总资产超过2.31亿澳元;
  • 由外国政府及其代理机构(包括国有企业和主权财富基金)直接进行的投资,不论数额大小;
  • 获取“澳大利亚城市土地”利益。

如果对于是否应向外国投资审查委员会申报存有疑问,则应当申报。

本文中提及的申报起点自2010年1月1日升效。这些申报起点随每年1月1日依据国民生产总值计算的经济紧缩指数的变化而变化。对于在某些特定行业的外商投资,政府政策和法规还有额外的要求。这些有额外要求的行业包括银行业、民用航空(国内外服务)、机场、航运、媒体和通讯。

澳大利亚的外商投资政策(详见www.firb.gov.au)规定,凡在这些行业进行的投资均应向外国投资审查委员会申报。

外国政府投资

澳大利亚的外商投资政策规定,凡是外国政府或其代理机构(如国有企业和主权财富基金)的投资项目计划,在该外国政府或其代理机构对澳大利亚公司作出“直接投资”之前,无论投资数额多少,都必须报外国投资审查委员会审批。

该政策已于2010年7月份更新,并列出从以下5个方面对外商投资进行国家利益考量:国家安全, 竞争, 澳大利亚政府的政策(包括税收政策),对经济以及社会的影响, 以及投资者的特征(也就是投资者的商业运营透明度及运营的商业化程度)。

澳大利亚城市土地

外商进行房地产投资是受到严格控制的。凡是获得“城市土地”利益必须向外国投资审查委员进行项目申报(有些情况下还必须进行“预先审批”)。

“城市土地”包含所有澳大利亚非专用于进行大规模初级生产的土地。因此,一般来说,非用于进行农业或林业经营的土地属于此类。应该注意的是,被用来进行与采矿和石油生产相关活动的土地(不管境外或是境内)可能会被认定为澳大利亚城市土地。

外国人持有“控制股权”的公司通过任何协议以获得澳大利亚城市土地利益,都必须要向外国投资审查委员会申报。重要的是,在收购一家公司及其子公司的股权时,如果被收购公司的澳大利亚城市土地的总价值超过该公司总资产价值或超过该投资项目总价值(如果被收购公司为经营澳大利亚城市土地的公司)的50%,那么也必须向外国投资审查委员会申报。

建议措施

澳大利亚对外商投资规定异常复杂,特别是外商投资受《外国并购法》和政府政策共同制约。在某些特定行业,还存在对外商投资的特别法律或政策。

如果外商投资项目计划可能潜在地引发一些问题,则建议在进行正式申报前,向外国投资审查委员会进行咨询。

魏迈克领导博雷道盛的中国业务

Justin Shmith 是博雷道盛墨尔本分所企业部的合伙人

Blake Dawson博雷道盛上海代表处
中国上海市南京西路1168号中信泰富广场3408-10
邮编: 200041
电话: 86 21 5100 1796
传真: 86 21 5292 5161
www.blakedawson.com
电子信箱:
michael.wadley@blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Regulation of foreign investment

By Michael Wadley and Justin Shmith, Blake Dawson
0
139
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Although restrictions on foreign investment exist in Australia, the Australian government actively promotes foreign investment. Foreign investment is regulated primarily through a regime established under the Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Act 1975 (FATA) and regulations made under that Act, as supplemented by government policy.

The FATA regime is administered by the Australian Treasurer and the Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB), an advisory body within the Commonwealth Department of Treasury. Under FATA, the Treasurer has wide powers to prohibit foreign investment proposals and to order the divestiture or unwinding of foreign investment arrangements in respect of Australian companies and businesses if they are considered contrary to the national interest.

魏迈克-Michael-Wadley-国际合伙人_-中国业务负责人-International-partner_-head-of-China-practice-Blake-Dawson
Michael Wadley
International partner,
Head of China practice
Blake Dawson

The notification of some investment proposals to FIRB is compulsory while the notification of others, although not compulsory, is advisable to avoid the risk that the transaction may subsequently be unwound on the grounds that it is considered contrary to the national interest. Notification of the proposal to FIRB requires the submission of certain information prescribed under FATA regarding the acquirer and the proposal.

Approval may be granted by the Treasurer subject to the acquirer and the proposal meeting certain conditions. These are frequently prescribed in the case of proposals concerning real estate (examples of conditions imposed include the time for completion of development activities or environmental requirements). However, more recently, conditions are also increasingly being imposed on acquisitions by foreign state-owned enterprises and sovereign wealth funds.

Where notification under FATA is compulsory, it is a criminal offence to proceed with a proposal unless notification has been given and either the proposal has been cleared, or more than 40 days (or more if the approval period has been extended by a further 90 days) have elapsed since the notification was received by FIRB.

Proposals notifiable to FIRB

Justin Shmith
Justin Shmith
Partner
Melbourne
Blake Dawson

Foreign investment proposals which require notification to FIRB (whether under FATA or under FIRB’s policies) include:

  • acquisitions by a foreign person or persons of a “substantial and controlling interest” of an Australian business or corporation which is valued above, or the proposal values it above, A$231 million;
  • acquisitions by a foreign person or persons of a “substantial and controlling interest” in a foreign company whose Australian subsidiaries or gross assets exceed A$231 million;
  • direct investments by foreign governments and their agencies (including state-owned enterprises and sovereign wealth funds) irrespective of value;
  • acquisitions of interests in “Australian urban land”.

Where any doubt exists as to whether a proposed acquisition is notifiable to FIRB, FIRB should be notified.

The monetary thresholds cited in this section are current as at 1 January 2010. The thresholds are indexed against the GDP price deflator on 1 January each year.

There are also various government policies and regulations which impose additional foreign investment requirements on certain sectors. Foreign investment proposals involving these sectors should be notified to FIRB for examination to determine whether they are contrary to the national interest.

The sectors which are subject to additional requirements are banking, civil aviation (both domestic and international services), airports, shipping, media and telecommunications.

Australia’s foreign investment policy (which may be obtained from www.firb.gov.au) indicates that any investment in these sectors should be notified to FIRB.

Foreign government investment

Australia’s foreign investment policy provides that proposed investments by a foreign government or its agencies (for example state-owned enterprises and sovereign wealth funds) should be notified to FIRB to obtain approval before making a “direct investment” in an Australian company, regardless of the value of the investment.

The policy, which was updated in July, sets out five national interest considerations that apply to all foreign investments: national security; competition; Australian government policies (including tax); impact on the economy and the community; and character of the investor (i.e. the extent to which the investor operates on a transparent and commercial basis).

Urban land

Foreign investment in Australian real estate is strictly controlled. Notification to (and, in some cases, pre-approval by) FIRB is compulsory in respect of the acquisition of certain interests in Australian urban land.

“Australian urban land” includes all land situated in Australia that is not used exclusively for carrying on a substantial business of primary production. Therefore, generally speaking, land that is not used for commercial farming or forestry purposes will be regarded as being “urban land”. It should be noted that land used for purposes associated with mining and petroleum production (whether onshore or offshore) may be considered to be urban land.

Any agreement by virtue of which a corporation in which foreigners hold a “controlling interest” acquires an interest in Australian urban land must be notified to FIRB. Importantly, notification is also required in the case of the acquisition of shares in a company (and its subsidiaries) if the value of its total Australian urban land assets exceeds 50% of the value of its total assets irrespective of the total value of the company or the value of the proposal (being an Australian urban land corporation).

Recommended action

The regulation of foreign investment in Australia is a highly complex area, particularly as it is governed by a combination of FATA and Australian government policy. Specific legislation or policy also regulates foreign investment in certain industry sectors.

Where a foreign investment proposal may potentially raise issues, it is recommended that FIRB be consulted prior to any formal notification being
made.

Michael Wadley heads Blake Dawson’s China Practice

Justin Shmith is a partner in Blake Dawson’s corporate team in Melbourne

Blake DawsonBlake Dawson Shanghai office
Suites 3408-10, CITIC Square
1168 Nanjing Road West, Shanghai
Postal code: 200041
Tel: 86 21 5100 1796
Fax: 86 21 5292 5161
www.blakedawson.com
E-mail: michael.wadley@blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link