印度房地产法律的最新发展

作者: Hardeep Sachdeva,Ravi Bhasin和Abhishek Awasthi,AZB & Partners 律师事务所
0
420
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

中国

印度

日本

马来西亚

印度房地产投资指南

在印度的建筑开发业中,自动途径(无需事先获得政府批准)的外国直接投资(FDI)比例最高可达100%,覆盖城镇建设、住宅/商业建筑和医院等项目。在印度2023年二季度的外国直接投资总额中,建筑开发业的贡献度达到9%。

本文围绕蓬勃发展的印度建筑开发业,分析当前的监管框架,包括外国直接投资、房地产投资信托(REITs)、破产和结构性融资。

建筑业的外国直接投资

Hardeep Sachdeva,AZB & Partners
Hardeep Sachdeva
高级合伙人
德里AZB & Partners 律师事务所

印度建筑业允许100%的外国直接投资,投资者可以在项目竣工或干线基础设施(即公路、给排水、街道照明和污水处理等)开发完毕之后退出。

每期工程都视为一个独立项目。这意味着投资者可以在项目整体完工之前退出并将其在印度的外国投资款汇回本国,但须遵守三年的锁定期,锁定期根据外国直接投资批次分别计算。但该等退出限制不适用于对酒店、旅游度假区、医院和教育机构的投资。

同时,印度也允许非居民印度人之间转让股权而不汇回投资,且无锁定期或政府批准要求。

但有必要指出,外国直接投资不允许投资于从事农舍建设、可转让开发权交易或房地产业务(从事土地和不动产交易以赚取利润)的印度公司。

上述房地产业务不包括城镇开发、住宅或商业用房、公路或桥梁、房地产投资信托(REITs)、教育机构、娱乐设施、城市和地区级基础设施,以及不构成转让的物业租金收入或租赁收入。

在印度设有分支机构或其他营业场所的外国公司希望获得不动产以开展业务经营的,须受印度2019年《外汇管理(非债务工具)规则》(Foreign Exchange Management (Non-Debt Instruments) Rules)规制。

这要求外国公司向印度储备银行(RBI)进行申报。使用印度境内收到的资金支付相关款项的,可从印度以外的任何地方汇入汇款、通过正常银行渠道支付,或借记非居民外部账户(NRE)/非居民外币存款账户(FCNR (B))/非居民普通账户(NRO)。

房地产投资信托(REITs)

Ravi Bhasin, AZB & Partners
Ravi Bhasin
高级合伙人
德里AZB & Partners 律师事务所

印度房地产行业的另一项最新进展是,个人投资者和机构投资者都开始采用REIT模式。目前有五家REIT基金注册,其中三家合计拥有11%的甲级写字楼市场份额,预计未来几年印度写字楼市场规模将大幅增长68%。

REIT基金主要受印度证券交易委员会(SEBI)颁布的《房地产投资信托基金条例》(REIT Regulations)规范,因为REIT基金是根据1982年《印度信托法》以信托形式成立的,通常由指定的发起人、管理人、受托人和份额持有人组成。

《房地产投资信托基金条例》规定,REIT资产价值的至少80%必须投资于已竣工的租赁物业即/或创收物业。剩下的20%则必须投资在建或已完工的物业,但不能投资产生租金的物业。

为了保护投资者的利益——使他们能够根据披露信息作出合理的REIT投资决策——该条例规定须进行定期估值,包括每年聘用注册估值师对所有REIT资产进行全面估值。基金收到估值报告后,必须在15天内将之提交给指定的证券交易所和份额持有人。

资不抵债和破产

印度2016年《资不抵债和破产法典》(IBC)将现有的资不抵债和破产法框架编纂成典,简化了破产清算流程。

依据《资不抵债和破产法典》,任何金融债权人、经营债权人或公司债务人均能够在公司债务人违约时发起破产处置程序。这必须在提交破产解决程序启动申请后180天内处置完毕。

《资不抵债和破产法典》对印度房地产公司的房地产破产影响重大,涉及购房者和开发商双方的利益。通过最高法院最近的多项修正案和裁决,购房者权利保护也得以加强。

以前,购房者仅被认定为“其他债权人”。但自2018年修正案后,购房者便被视为金融债权人,有权对违约的房地产公司发起破产程序。但是,购房者人数须达到规定的最低人数要求后,方可发起这一程序。

在寻求和通过房地产公司的处置方案时,印度破产委员会也给予开发商更大的灵活性。根据2022年更新的《公司法人破产处置程序条例》(Insolvency Resolution Process for Corporate Persons Regulations),债权人委员会可在没有收到针对整个公司债务人的处置方案时,就公司债务人的一项或多项资产寻求新的处置方案。

破产处置专业人士还可以针对企业债务人资产价值最大化目标,制定营销战略专项预算。该修正案允许对公司债务人的单个房地产项目进行独立处置,具体处置方式视项目规模、开发类型、竣工阶段和地理位置等因素而定。

权益保护

Abhishek Awasthi,德里AZB & Partners 律师事务所
Abhishek Awasthi
高级合伙人
德里AZB & Partners 律师事务所

除《资不抵债和破产法典》之外,贷款人追偿债务的另一个主要途径还受2002年《金融资产证券化和重组及担保权益执行法》(简称《SARFAESI法》)规制。

如果借款人未能偿还担保债务,有担保债权人可将借款人的账户归类为不良资产,并发起强制执行其担保权益和占有抵押资产的程序。与民事法庭程序相比,上述债务追讨程序更加快捷。

首先,必须事先通知借款人在规定的期限内完全清偿债务,否则将根据《SARFAESI法》规定启动强制执行程序。

虽然《SARFAESI法》控制并促进了房地产开发商、购房者和银行之间金融协议的执行,但2016年印度《房地产(监管和开发)法案》(RERA)才是平衡房地产项目建设、开发和营销中发起人和受让人利益的主要法律。

根据《房地产(监管和开发)法案》,房地产项目的发起人和购房者必须承担一定的责任。发起人需要向购房者披露相关信息,如批准的房地产项目竣工计划和时间表。

另一方面,购房者主要负责根据与项目发起人的销售协议及与有担保债权人的任何融资协议支付相关款项,并在逾期违约时支付利息。

在印度联合银行诉拉贾斯坦邦房地产监管局等(Union Bank of India v Rajasthan Real Estate Regulatory Authority and Ors一案中,最高法院维持了拉贾斯坦邦高等法院的判决,重申了以下原则:《房地产(监管和开发)法案》是一项特别法,如与《SARFAESI法》发生冲突,应优先适用前者。

重要的是,法院进一步认定,如果银行诉诸《SARFAESI法》第13(4)条的任何规定,《房地产(监管和开发)法案》主管机关有权受理购房者针对银行(作为有担保债权人)提出的投诉。

债务融资

外国司法辖区的贷款人也要遵守印度储备银行不时更新的《外部商业借款、贸易信贷和结构性债务总体指引》(ECB框架)。该框架规定了借款人和贷款人在贷款在“自动途径”或“审批途径”情形下必须满足的若干条件。

此外,外国贷款人和投资者还可以采用其他途径,根据2008年《印度证券交易委员会(债券发行和上市)条例》(SEBI (Issue and Listing of Debt Securities) Regulations)认购印度上市公司或非上市公司发行的附担保不可转换债券。

担保权益的受益人是代表非居民印度人(NRI)持有证券并监督借款人合规情况的债券受托人。认购人为非居民印度人的,必须在印度证券交易委员会注册为外国证券投资者。

根据2021年修正案,印度储备银行修订了2019年《外汇管理(债务工具)条例》(Foreign Exchange Management (Debt Instrument) Regulations),允许外国投资组合投资者(FPI)根据“中期框架”或“自愿保留路线”投资REITs和基础设施投资信托发行的债务证券。但是,单支REIT基金中,外国投资组合投资者的最高持有份额不得超过10%。

AZB & Partners Logo

AZB & PARTNERS

lot No A-8, Sector 4,
Noida 201301 (NCR)
电话: +91 12 0417 9999

www.azbpartners.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A regional comparison of real estate markets: India

    By Hardeep Sachdeva, Ravi Bhasin and Abhishek Awasthi, AZB & Partners
    0
    745
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    NAVIGATING INDIA INVESTMENT

    India allows automatic foreign direct investment (FDI) of up to 100% in the construction development sector, which includes projects such as townships, residential/commercial premises and hospitals, accounting for a significant nine per cent of recent total FDI in the second quarter of 2023.

    This article analyses the current regulatory framework for this vibrant sector, including FDI, real estate investment trusts (REITs), insolvency and structured financing.

    FDI IN CONSTRUCTION

    With 100% FDI allowed, investors can exit on completion of the project or after development of trunk infrastructure, namely roads, water supply, street lighting, drainage and sewerage.

    Hardeep Sachdeva,AZB & Partners
    Hardeep Sachdeva
    Senior Partner
    AZB & Partners
    Delhi
    Tel: +91 12 0417 9999
    Email: hardeep.sachdeva@azbpartners.com

    Each phase is considered a separate project. This means investors can exit and repatriate their foreign investment before completion of the entire project, subject to a lock-in period of three years, calculated with reference to each tranche of the FDI. But these exit restrictions are not applicable to investments in hotels, tourist resorts, hospitals and educational institutions.

    Transfer of a stake by one non-resident Indian to another without repatriation of the investment is also allowed, without lock-in period or government approval.

    But it is pertinent to note that FDI is not permitted in an Indian company engaged in construction of farmhouses, trading in transferable development rights or real estate business, defined as dealing in land and immovable property to earn profit.

    Although the so-called real estate business does not include development of townships, residential or commercial premises, roads or bridges, REITs, educational institutions, recreational facilities, city and regional level infrastructure, and earnings from rent or income on lease of a property not amounting to a transfer.

    Foreign companies with a branch office or other place of business in India wishing to acquire immovable property for carrying on business operations are governed by the Foreign Exchange Management (Non-Debt Instruments) Rules, 2019.

    This requires them to file certain declarations with the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Payment for this with funds received in India may be made through normal banking channels by inward remittance from anywhere outside India, or debit to an NRE/FCNR (B)/NRO account.

    INVESTMENT TRUSTS

    Ravi Bhasin, AZB & Partners
    Ravi Bhasin
    Senior Partner
    AZB & Partners
    Delhi
    Tel: +91 12 0417 9999
    Email: ravi.bhasin@azbpartners.com

    Another recent development for the real estate sector is adoption of the REIT model by both retail and institutional investors. There are presently five registered REITs, including three together owning 11% of grade A office space, a sector projected to soar by up to 68% in coming years.

    REITs are principally governed by the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) REIT Regulations because they are constituted as a trust under the Indian Trusts Act 1982, generally comprising a designated sponsor, manager, trustee and unit holders.

    The REIT regulations prescribe that at least 80% of the value of REIT assets must be invested in completed and rent and/or income-generating properties. The remaining 20% must be invested in properties under construction or completed, but not rent-generating properties.

    To safeguard investor interests – enabling them to make well-informed decisions for their REIT investments – the regulations prescribe certain periodic valuations, including full valuation of all REIT assets on an annual basis, through a registered valuer. On receipt, such valuation reports are required to be submitted to the designated stock exchange and unit holders within 15 days.

    INSOLVENCY AND BANKRUPTCY

    The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016 (IBC) codifies the existing framework of insolvency and bankruptcy laws, streamlining processes for insolvency and liquidation.

    The IBC enables any financial creditor, operational creditor, or the corporate debtor to initiate an insolvency resolution process upon the event of default by the corporate debtor. This must be resolved within 180 days from submission of application for initiation of the insolvency resolution process.

    Abhishek Awasthi, AZB & Partners
    Abhishek Awasthi
    Senior Partner
    AZB & Partners
    Delhi
    Tel: +91 12 0417 9999
    Email: abhishek.awasthi@azbpartners.com

    The IBC has had a crucial impact on real estate insolvency for Indian real estate companies involving interests of both homebuyers and real estate developers as stakeholders. Homebuyers are also afforded greater rights through recent amendments and decisions of the Supreme Court.

    Previously their role was limited to being recognised as “other creditors”. But since amendments in 2018, homebuyers are now recognised as financial creditors, with the right to initiate the insolvency process against defaulting real estate companies. This right is subject to a minimum threshold on the required number of homebuyers to initiate the process.

    Real estate developers are also afforded greater flexibility by the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India in seeking and passing resolution plans of real estate companies. The Insolvency Resolution Process for Corporate Persons Regulations, updated in 2022, enable the committee of creditors to seek a fresh resolution plan in respect of one or more assets of the corporate debtor, where no resolution plan was received for the corporate debtor as a whole.

    A resolution professional can also allocate a budget towards a marketing strategy directed at maximising valuation of the corporate debtor’s assets. This amendment allows resolutions designed specifically for individual real estate projects of a corporate debtor, which can also vary based on factors including project size, development type, stage of completion and location.

    PROTECTION OF INTERESTS

    Apart from the IBC, another prime avenue for lenders to recover their debts is governed by the Securitisation and Reconstruction of Financial Assets and Enforcement of Security Interest Act, 2002 (SARFAESI Act).

    If a borrower fails to repay a secured debt, the secured creditor may classify the borrower’s account as a non-performing asset and initiate proceedings to enforce its security interest and take possession of the secured assets; a faster process for debt recovery compared to the civil court process.

    A prior notice must be sent to the borrower to discharge the liability in full within the stipulated period, upon failure of which enforcement proceedings may commence under SARFAESI Act provisions.

    While the SARFAESI Act controls and facilitates enforcement of financial agreements between real estate developers, homebuyers and banks, the Real Estate (Regulation and Development Act), 2016 (RERA) is the principal legislation balancing the interests of allottees and promoters in construction, development and marketing of real estate projects.

    Under the RERA, certain liabilities are imposed on promoters and allottees of the real estate projects. Promoters are required to disclose pertinent information such as sanctioned plans and schedules for completion of the real estate project to allottees.

    On the other hand, allottees are primarily liable for making payments in accordance with the sales agreement with the project promoter, along with any financing agreement with a secured creditor, and paying interest in the event of default.

    In Union Bank of India v Rajasthan Real Estate Regulatory Authority and Ors, the Supreme Court upheld the decision of Rajasthan High Court, reiterating the principle that the RERA is a special legislation that prevails over provisions of the SARFAESI Act in the event of conflict.

    Critically, it further held that RERA authorities had jurisdiction to entertain complaints from homebuyers against banks as secured creditors if the bank takes recourse to any provisions in section 13(4) of the SARFAESI Act.

    DEBT FINANCING

    Lenders from foreign jurisdictions are also subject to the Master Direction on External Commercial Borrowings, Trade Credits and Structured Obligations (ECB Framework), updated from time to time by the RBI. This framework provides for certain conditions that must be satisfied by borrowers and lenders in cases where the loan falls under the automatic or approval route.

    Alternatively, another route that foreign lenders and investors use is through subscription to secured non-convertible debentures of Indian companies, listed or not, in accordance with the SEBI (Issue and Listing of Debt Securities) Regulations, 2008.

    The security interest is created in favour of a debenture trustee responsible for holding the security on behalf of the non-resident Indian (NRI) and overseeing compliance by the borrower. The NRI subscriber must be registered with SEBI as a foreign portfolio investor.

    Pursuant to amendments in 2021, the RBI amended the Foreign Exchange Management (Debt Instrument) Regulations, 2019 to allow foreign portfolio investors (FPIs) to invest in debt securities issued by REITs and infrastructure investment trusts under the Medium-Term Framework or Voluntary Retention Route. The maximum unit holding of an FPI in a single REIT has, however, been capped at 10%.

    AZB & Partners Logo

    AZB & PARTNERS

    lot No A-8, Sector 4,
    Noida 201301 (NCR)
    National Capital Region, India
    Tel: +91 12 0417 9999

    www.azbpartners.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link