药品商标侵权案件中公众健康至高无上

作者: Manisha Singh 和 Simran Bhullar,LexOrbis
0
56

于制药业对公众健康和安全的影响,审理药品商标案件时法院会适用严厉的措施。如果商标近似将对公众产生不利影响,则采取严格方法评估是否近似。药品可能会产生改变生命的恶果。因此,法院在裁定是否侵权时,会考虑最小的细节。存在欺诈性近似的医药产品可危及消费者的生命,威胁公众健康和安全。

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis, Public health uppermost in pharma TM infringement
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

在最近的“Intas Pharmaceuticals Private Limited v Intra Life Private Limited and Ors”案中,德里高等法院对被告发出了永久禁制令,禁止被告使用原告注册商标Looz。该案被告有三人,第一被告与原告达成了和解。该被告承认原告对商标及变体的既得和专有权利,包括在业务中采用、使用商标的优先权,并承认商标注册的效力。法院批准了和解条款,并下令由于在案件的早期阶段与第一被告达成和解,原告有权获得已支付诉讼费用一半的退款。

然而,另外两名被告既未亲自也未委托代理人出庭应诉,尽管开庭前一天其辩护律师曾代表两人短暂露面,表示两名被告将申请撤销在其缺席的情况下做出的现有临时禁制令,并申请进一步延期。辩护律师称,撤销临时禁制令的理由为两名被告愿意和解。针对第二和第三被告的案件在两人缺席的情况下继续进行。法院认定,尽管出庭传票已充分送达,两名被告仍然选择逃避诉讼。此外,两人均未提交在其产品上使用侵权商标的材料或理由。

被告在其药品上使用了商标Loozout,与原告的商标Looz存在欺诈性近似。被告及其各自受让人、代理人和代表上述人等工作的所有其他人均被永久禁止生产、销售、标价出售、广告宣传和推广使用商标“Loozout”或商标“Looz”的产品,无论上述商标中是否带有其他前缀或后缀。他们还被禁止生产或销售使用了与原告商标相同或存在欺诈性近似的任何其他商标的产品。此外,法院还下令被告向原告支付200,000印度卢比(2,500美元)的费用。

Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis, Public health uppermost in pharma TM infringement
Simran Bhullar
高级律师
LexOrbis

有意思的是,根据1999年《商标法》第103条,可对商标侵权行为处以不少于六个月、不超过三年的监禁和不少于50,000印度卢比、不超过200,000印度卢比的罚金。法院可判处六个月以下的监禁和低于50,000印度卢比的罚金,但须在判决书中说明理由。在本案中,法院下令由缺席被告承担的费用等于刑事法院可处以的最高罚金,但并未表明原告是否提交了费用水平估算,更不用说详细的摘要。法院仅提到诉讼请求中载明了费用索赔。法院在判给费用时,似乎参考了最高的刑事罚款金额。一旦遭到上诉,该做法是否会得到上诉法院支持是简短判决的一个有趣方面,但法院显然是有意做出上述命令,以体现侵犯药品商标行为的严重性及对消费者健康和安全的可能后果。

在本案中,退还原告一半诉讼费用是为了鼓励诉讼当事人庭外和解,其依据为2010年《诉讼费用(德里修正案)法》在1870年《诉讼费用法》中新增的第16A条。2022年7月7日,有人提起公益诉讼,对2010年的这部法律的合宪性提出了异议。

Manisha Singh为LexOrbis合伙人,Simran Bhullar为LexOrbis高级律师。

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

联系方式
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
电子邮件: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

Public health uppermost in pharma TM infringement

By Manisha Singh and Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis
0
47

Given the impact of the pharmaceutical industry on public health and safety, courts apply severe measures when dealing with pharmaceutical trademark infringement. A strict approach is taken when assessing whether the similarities of marks will adversely affect the public at large. Pharmaceutical products may have life altering repercussions. The courts therefore take into consideration the smallest of details in deciding whether an infringement has occurred. A deceptively similar medical product may endanger the lives of consumers and put the health and safety of the public at large at risk.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis, Public health uppermost in pharma TM infringement
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

In the recent case of Intas Pharmaceuticals Private Limited v Intra Life Private Limited and Ors., the Delhi High Court granted a permanent injunction against the defendants, restraining them from using the plaintiff’s registered trademark, Looz. The case was brought against three defendants, the first of which settled the matter amicably with the plaintiff. This defendant acknowledged the vested and proprietary rights of the plaintiff in the mark and its variants, including priority rights in adoption, usage in trade and the validity and subsistence of the trademark registrations. The court approved the terms of the settlement and ordered that, since the matter was settled with the first defendant in the early stages of the case, the plaintiff was entitled to a refund of 50% of the court fees it had paid.

However, the other two defendants neither appeared in court nor were represented, even though counsel had briefly appeared on their behalf the day before, saying that the defendants would be applying to set aside an existing interim injunction made in their absence and applying for a further adjournment. Counsel had stated that the basis for discharging the interim injunction was that the defendants were willing to settle the matter. The case against the second and third defendants proceeded in their absence. The court held that the defendants chose to avoid the proceedings despite good service of notices to appear. Further, the defendants submitted no material or justification for the use of the infringing mark on their products.

Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis, Public health uppermost in pharma TM infringement
Simran Bhullar
Senior Associate
LexOrbis

These defendants were using the mark, Loozout, on their pharmaceutical products, which was deceptively similar to the plaintiff’s trademark, Looz. The defendants, their assignees, agents and all others working on their behalf were permanently stopped from manufacturing, selling, offering for sale, advertising and promoting the products using the mark, Loozout, or the mark, Looz, with any other prefix or suffix. The defendants were further restrained from manufacturing or selling any product under any other mark identical or deceptively similar to the registered mark of the plaintiff. In addition, the court ordered the defendants to pay costs to the plaintiff of INR200,000 (USD2,500).

It is of interest that under the Trade Marks Act, 1999, section 103, trademark infringement is punishable with imprisonment for not less than six months but no longer than three years and a fine of not less than INR50,000 but no more than INR200,000. The court may, for special reasons that must be set out in its judgment, impose a sentence of imprisonment of less than six months and a fine of less than INR50,000. Here, the court ordered costs against the absent defendants that equalled the maximum fine a criminal court could have imposed. The court gave no indication that the plaintiff had submitted an estimated level of costs, let alone a detailed summary. The court merely referenced a claim for costs set out in the claim. It appears that the court, in awarding costs, took the maximum criminal penalty as a guide. Whether that approach would survive an appeal is the interesting aspect of a short judgment, but the court clearly intended the order to reflect the seriousness of infringing pharmaceutical trademarks and the possible repercussions on the health and safety of consumers.

The refund of 50% of the plaintiff’s court fee is an incentive to litigants to settle matters out of court, in this case under section 16A of the Court Fees Act, 1870 as inserted by the Court Fees (Delhi Amendment) Act, 2010. Public interest litigation was filed on 7 July 2022 challenging the 2010 act’s constitutionality.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Simran Bhullar is a senior associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com