广播法案中的OTT格局

作者: Ashima Obhan和Arnav Joshi,Obhan & Associates
0
179
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

信息与广播部于 2023 年 11 月 10 日发布了《2023 年广播服务(监管)法案》草案(草案),征求公众意见。该法案将取代沿用数十年之久的 1995 年《有线电视网络(监管)法案》,承认了自后者颁布以来广播业发生的一些重大变化。不过,一些利益相关者对该草案提出了广泛批评,并对过度监管和审查制度表示担忧。草案试图引入的一项重大变革是将 OTT(Over-the-Top)流媒体平台纳入”广播服务运营商”的定义范围。因此,OTT 平台和其他任何在线播放内容的数字媒体平台都必须遵守与传统广播服务提供商相同的监管框架。

Ashima Obhan, Obhan & Associates
Ashima Obhan
高级合伙人
Obhan & Associates

专家们认为,为传统广播服务和在线流媒体平台建立共同监管机制的想法本身就存在问题。以 OTT 流媒体为例,个人可以从众多选择中自由决定自己想要消费的内容类型,而只提供固定和预定节目的传统广播平台则无法做到这一点。因此,为所有广播平台统一立法的想法可能会成为消费者自由选择的障碍。

草案规定设立内容评估委员会和广播咨询委员会,负责根据政府规定的节目和广告标准审查所有广播内容。广播咨询委员会将由代表广播与信息部、妇女与儿童发展部、内政部、外交部和社会正义与赋权部的政府官员组成。政府还将任命五名知名独立人士加入广播咨询委员会。由政府而不是独立机构来决定是否违反节目和广告规定的做法引起了人们的关注。OTT 内容的本质是提供多样化和非传统的故事,可能不符合广播条例规定的未来允许的内容类别。

根据草案规定,中央政府或授权机构有权审查OTT及其服务,并有权在不事先通知的情况下进行检查。他们还有权扣押和没收未遵守相关政府命令的 OTT 的设备。不遵守节目和广告规定可能导致 OTT 内容被停播,并可能导致OTT被注销。草案还规定对不遵守规定的责任人除以罚款,情况严重的,处以两年或以下监禁。

Arnav Joshi, Obhan & Associates
Arnav Joshi
律师
Obhan & Associates

围绕审查制度的担忧不仅引发了有关言论自由的争论,而且还令人担忧审查制度将对经商便利性产生深远影响。印度的 OTT 和数字媒体行业已经表达了对草案的担忧。新闻报道称,印度一些主要 OTT 的代表已决定要求印度广播电视部重新起草草案中一些更令人担忧的条款。

总之,草案试图对传统广播公司和新兴的 OTT 平台实施统一监管,但却招致了广泛的批评,认为其威胁到了印度宪法所保障的艺术言论自由和创作自由。内容评估委员会和广播咨询委员会的成立凸显了艺术表达与监管之间复杂而微妙的平衡。繁琐的要求和对违规行为的严厉处罚可能会对希望在印度拓展业务的 OTT 平台产生重大影响。随着利益相关者参与讨论并寻求对草案加以修订,这一草案的命运将极大地影响印度数字广播行业的未来格局。

Ashima Obhan为Obhan & Associates高级合伙人,Arnav Joshi为该所律师。

Obhan and AssociatesObhan & Associates
Advocates and Patent Agents
N – 94, Second Floor
Panchsheel Park
New Delhi 110017, India
联系方式:
Ashima Obhan
电话: +91-9811043532
电子邮件:email@obhans.com
ashima@obhans.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Navigating the OTT landscape in broadcasting bill

By Ashima Obhan and Arnav Joshi, Obhan & Associates
0
493
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB) on 10 November 2023 released the draft Broadcasting Services (Regulation) Bill, 2023 (bill), for public comments. The bill will replace the decades-old Cable Television Networks (Regulation) Act, 1995, recognising the significant changes in the broadcasting industry that have occurred since that legislation was enacted. However, a number of stakeholders have already levelled extensive adverse criticism against the bill, raising concerns with regard to overregulation and censorship. One of the more significant changes the bill seeks to introduce is to bring over-the-top (OTT) streaming platforms within the definition of “broadcast service operators”. As a consequence, OTT platforms and any other digital media platform that broadcast their content online would be required to comply with the same regulatory framework as traditional broadcasting service providers.

Ashima Obhan, Obhan & Associates
Ashima Obhan
Senior Partner
Obhan & Associates

Experts have argued that the very idea of having a common regulatory mechanism for traditional broadcasting services and online streaming platforms is problematic. In the case of OTT streaming, for example, an individual is free to decide the type of content they want to consume out of the many options available. This cannot be said for traditional broadcasting platforms that offer only fixed and scheduled programming. Thus, the concept of uniform legislation for all broadcasting platforms could prove to be an obstacle to the continuation of consumer choice.

The bill stipulates for establishment of a Content Evaluation Committee (CEC) and a Broadcast Advisory Council (BAC) that would be responsible for scrutinising all broadcasting content in accordance with government-prescribed standards for programmes and advertising. The BAC is to consist of government officials representing the MIB, the Ministry of Women and Child Development, the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Ministry of External Affairs and the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. There would also be five eminent independent persons appointed to the BAC by the government. The government’s involvement in determining violations of the programme and advertisement rules instead of that of an independent body has led to concerns being raised. OTT content by its nature offers diverse and unconventional storytelling, which may not fit into future permissible content categories set out in broadcasting regulations.

Arnav Joshi, Obhan & Associates
Arnav Joshi
Associate
Obhan & Associates

Under the bill, the central government or an authorised agency would have the right to examine OTTs and their services. Such agencies would have the power to carry out inspections without giving prior notice. They would also have the authority to seize and confiscate the equipment of OTTs that have failed to comply with relevant government orders. Non-adherence to the programme and advertising code may result in the OTT content being pulled off the air and also lead to the cancellation of the registration of the OTT. The bill also provides for monetary and punitive damages to be meted out to the individuals responsible for non-compliance. In the case of grave offences, individuals would also be liable to be imprisoned for up to two years.

The concerns surrounding censorship not only raise arguments regarding free speech, but also worries about the deep impact it will have on the ease of doing business. The OTT and digital media industry in India have already expressed their concerns regarding the bill. News articles have reported that representatives of some of the leading OTTs in India have decided to request the MIB to redraft some of the more worrying provisions of the bill.

To sum up, the bill in attempting to provide new uniform regulatory oversight for both traditional broadcasters and emerging OTT platforms has drawn widespread adverse criticism concerning the threat to artistic freedom of speech and the creative liberties that are guaranteed in the constitution of India. The setting up of the CEC and the BAC underscores the complex and delicate balance between artistic expression and regulation. The onerous requirements and the strict penalties for non-compliance are likely to have significant repercussions for OTT platforms looking to expand their operations in India. As stakeholders engage in discussion and seek amendments, the fate of the bill will significantly shape the future landscape of India’s digital broadcasting industry.

Ashima Obhan is a senior partner and Arnav Joshi is an associate at Obhan & Associates.

Obhan and AssociatesObhan & Associates
Advocates and Patent Agents
N – 94, Second Floor
Panchsheel Park
New Delhi 110017, India
Contact details:
Ashima Obhan
T: +91-9811043532
E: email@obhans.com
ashima@obhans.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link