亚洲法域对非同质化代币(NFT)的监管一览 – 菲律宾

作者: Mark Gorriceta、Liane Stella Candelario、Richmond Montevirgen,Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
0
473

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

菲律宾

台湾

菲律宾

律宾央行(“BSP”)在最近的一份文件中对非同质化代币(“NFT”)作了简要描述,表示NFT是代表某类虚拟资产,能够确立某个独特的物理或数字资产所有权的工具,与传统的加密货币不同。这个独特的基础资产,如数字艺术、音乐或游戏内商品,使NFT具有非同质化特征,这与法币或加密货币不同,法币和加密货币都是完全相同、可交换的货币,因此是同质化的。

Mark Gorriceta, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
Mark Gorriceta
马尼拉大都会Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra管理合伙人
电话: +632 8696 0687
电邮: msgorriceta@gorricetalaw.com

在全球区块链社区,随着数字艺术项目的激增,NFT发展迅速,NFT主要通过以太坊协议铸造,在OpenSea这类流行的NFT市场交易,甚至已经渗透到像苏富比和佳士得这种顶级拍卖行。在菲律宾,得益于Axie Infinity这类“边玩边赚”游戏的兴起,NFT更为主流。在Axie Infinity游戏中,玩家将Axies这个独特的数字角色当作NFT,并通过它来赚取原生代币,原生代币能够以相应的法币价值(通常是溢价)兑换成加密货币。

国内的NFT市场继续扩张,但它在法律和监管体系中的地位却仍然未知。不过,NFT仍可以被纳入菲律宾的监管框架内,具体取决于NFT项目所采用的商业模式或流程,相关的商业模式或流程可能受监管监督或审查。

就BSP管监而言,仅作为游戏内代币而使用的NFT,即在游戏生态系统之外没有用途的NFT不在BSP监管的虚拟资产范围内。这个届定很合理,BSP的职责是监管金融工具以及金融工具在菲律宾经济体内的流通;不作为支付工具(即相当于法币)的NFT也不在BSP的管辖范围。

但是具有支付代币或法币特征的虚拟资产则不同。BSP第1108号通知和经修订的BSP第942,944和1039号通知就虚拟资产服务提供者(简称“VASP”,前称虚拟货币交易所(“VCE”))作出规定,VASP为消费者提供一个平台,让消费者可以在法币和虚拟货币间相互兑换,比如,可以用法币兑换成虚拟货币,进而购买NFT,也可以兑换回法币。根据上述通知,具有支付代币或法币功能的虚拟资产在BSP的管辖范围。

Liane Stella Candelario, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
Liane Stella Candelario
马尼拉大都会Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra中级律师

如果VASP允许将虚拟资产作为购买商品或服务的支付工具(如用兑换的虚拟资产购买NFT),此类VASP会被进一步归类为BSP第1049号通知规定的支付系统运营商。

上述监管针对的是在具备虚拟货币和法币兑换功能或支付系统的交易场所或数字平台上交易的NFT,对于其他的NFT,目前BSP并没有太多监管手段,只能提醒公众NFT波动大,提醒那么热衷于投资或购买此类新型和炒作型数字资产的人NFT有金融风险。

与NFT联系更紧密的监管部门可能是菲律宾证券交易委员会(SEC),其职责是保证向菲律宾人和菲律宾境内居民发行和配售的证券经过正规注册(除非法律规定无须注册),以及证券发行人保持披露要求的合规。

虽然NFT确有真实用途和用例,但目前这类数据资产的宣传基调以炒作为主,某些NFT项目可以获取在传统证券市场少见的惊人收益,这已是公开的秘密。

早期Axie Infinity本地玩家赚得盆满钵满的新闻偶见菲律宾的传统媒体报道,在就业削减,企业关门,失业率攀升的漫长疫情期间,NFT显得更诱人。

Richmond Montevirgen, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
Richmond Montevirgen
马尼拉大都会Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra中级律师

《菲律宾证券管理法》(“SRC”)对证券的定义可谓包罗万象,投资合同也在列。在判断某个工具是否构成投资合同,进而构成证券时,SEC依赖于美国判例法提出的那个臭名昭著的豪威测试(Howey Test)。

豪威测试有四要素:(1)有金钱的投入;(2)投资于一个共同事业中;(3)有盈利预期;以及(4)盈利来自他人的努力。在判断时,需结合每个案例的真实情况来决定,鉴于区块链技术非常复杂每个NFT项目更为错综复杂,以及这些生态系统固有的匿名属性,做判断并非易事。

不过,在需要保护投资者的情况下,SEC会介入并执行SRC。最近的一个案例就是SEC执法与投资者保护部针对Pogi Breeds发出的警告。Pogi Breeds International,也称CoPartners Pogibreeds集团向公众募集资金,用于购买或培育Axies,玩Axie Infinity游戏,并承诺给予投资者收益,在一段时间后,收益可取回。

在这个案例中,金钱投于一个共同的事业,并承诺被动收益,SEC经过豪威测试后即确立了自己的管辖权,并认定这是一个戴着NFT面罩的投资合同或证券。但是对于更复杂的情况,比如基于NFT的去中心化虚拟房产(如DecentraLand),或者纯收藏数字艺术项目(如CryptoPunks),SEC的监管权属则较为模糊,除非有针对此类创新事物的特别法规(如SEC未来可能出台的数字资产发行与数字资产交易规则)。

至于菲律宾国内税务局(BIR)的税收和监督权,基本规则是,无论何种来源的收入都要缴税,且都受监控,除非法律另有规定。因此,BSP和SEC对NFT的监管权也许不那么清晰,但只要收益来自纳税个人和实体(如Axie Infinity玩家获得的收益),那么BIR就有权根据税务法对这些收益征税。

BIR印发的第60-2020号《收入备忘录通知》进一步强调了这一点,通知针对所有在电子平台和媒体以及其他数字媒介上开展数字交易,并以此开展业务和获取收入的个人,目的是确保他们都在BIR注册,就数字交易缴纳相应税款。

从这一点看,NFT交易的纳税问题取决于所开展的活动。玩家可参考分级收入税表。如果玩家的年收入不超过250,000菲律宾比索(约4,950美元),则其收入无须纳税。而管理组织玩家的投资者可能被视为开展或追求普通商业活动。他们可能需要缴纳增值税、其他比例税(如适用)、所得税和其他税费。

NFT还涉及知识产权。一般情况下,NFT所有权并不随附基础资产(如数字作品)的著作权所有权的转让。考虑到NFT是去中心化数字帐本上的代币,它具有独特性和非同质性,这也是它的价值来源,向政府持有的(中心式)帐本注册NFT似乎与其属性相悖,因此,对于区块链布道者而言,似乎没有必要与知识产权监管部门(菲律宾知识产权局)打交道。

对NFT的监管仍然依赖传统的金融、证券和税务法,因此,监管机构没有太多监管手段可选,也就无法全面管控NFT这一创新事物和应用。

不过,令人期待的是,监管部门转向一个更开放的监管方式,设立监管沙盒,以期抓住这些技术带来的更多技术和经济机会。他们意识到,在应用创新的同时,也要保护公众权益。

Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra

Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra

15/F Strata 2000, F. Ortigas Jr. Road
Ortigas Center, Pasig City
Metro Manila – 1605, Philippines
电话: +632 8696-0687
电邮: counselors@gorricetalaw.com
www.gorricetalaw.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

NFT regulations in the Philippines

    By Mark Gorriceta, Liane Stella Candelario and Richmond Montevirgen, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
    0
    69144

    India

    Indonesia

    Japan

    The Philippines

    Taiwan

    The Philippines

    A recent primer by the Philippine Central Bank, or Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), succinctly describes non-fungible tokens (NFTs) as instruments that generally represent a class of virtual asset that, as opposed to traditional cryptocurrencies, establish ownership of a unique physical or digital asset. This unique underlying asset – such as digital art, music or in-game tokens – makes it non-fungible, in contrast with fiat or cryptocurrencies that are identical, interchangeable and, thus, fungible.

    Mark Gorriceta, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
    Mark Gorriceta
    Managing Partner at Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra in Metro Manila
    Tel: +632 8696 0687
    Email: msgorriceta@gorricetalaw.com

    In the global blockchain community, NFTs have grown through the explosion of digital art projects, minted mainly through the Ethereum protocol and traded on popular NFT marketplaces like OpenSea, even infiltrating elite art auction houses like Sotheby’s and Christie’s. In the Philippines, the adoption of NFTs is more mainstream due to the rise of play-to-earn games like Axie Infinity, where players use unique digital characters called Axies as NFTs to earn native tokens that can be traded into a cryptocurrency with a corresponding and often appreciating fiat value.

    While the NFT market continues to spread domestically, the legal and regulatory treatment surrounding this specific technology remains in a wait-and-see stasis. Nevertheless, NFTs may still fall under Philippine regulations depending on the nature of the business model or process where the NFT project is embedded, which may be subject to regulatory oversight or scrutiny.

    As far as the BSP is concerned, NFTs with the characteristic of being used as a pure in-game token – meaning they have no utility or purpose outside of a gaming ecosystem – are specifically excluded from the definition of virtual assets regulated by the BSP. This makes sense, considering that the BSP is broadly concerned with the regulation of financial instruments and their circulation within the Philippine economy; NFTs having no utility as a means of payment (i.e. a fiat equivalent) are outside the BSP’s jurisdiction.

    Liane Stella Candelario, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
    Liane Stella Candelario
    Mid-Level Associate at Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra in Metro Manila

    Conversely, virtual assets with payment token or fiat characteristics fall under BSP’s regulation, pursuant to BSP circular No. 1108, and amended BSP circular Nos. 942, 944, and 1039 in relation to virtual asset service providers (VASPs, formerly known as virtual currency exchanges, or VCEs) that provide consumers with a facility to exchange fiat to cryptocurrency (or vice-versa), i.e. to acquire NFTs as well as redeem them into fiat currency.

    If the VASP also performs activities in relation to virtual assets being used as a means of payment for goods or services (i.e. converted virtual assets are used to purchase NFTs), such a VASP may further be classified as an operator of payment system under BSP circular No. 1049.

    Other than NFTs’ involvement in a facility or digital platform that is directly related to VC-fiat conversion or payment systems, the BSP’s current constraint to their proliferation would be reduced to warning the public against the volatility associated with NFTs, which may pose a financial risk to those interested in investing or acquiring such new and speculative digital assets.

    Richmond Montevirgen, Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra
    Richmond Montevirgen
    Mid-Level Associate at Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra in Metro Manila

    A potentially more active and concerned regulator would be the Philippine Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), which has a mandate to ensure that securities offered, distributed and sold to Filipinos and residents within the Philippines are duly registered (unless legally excluded from the registration requirement), and where the securities issuer maintains compliance with disclosure requirements.

    On this note, it is an open secret that while there are genuine utility and use cases for NFTs, the current climate and publicity for such digital assets are wildly speculative, with some NFT projects known to be trading for astonishing gains rarely seen even under traditional securities markets.

    In the Philippines, traditional media outlets featured the profitability and exceptional gains made by locals who are early adopters and players of Axie Infinity, making it more enticing amid a protracted pandemic where job cuts, business closures and unemployment have run high.

    The Philippine Securities Regulation Code (SRC) has a broad and encompassing definition for securities by taking into account investment contracts as part of such a definition. In this case, the SEC relies on the infamous Howey Test, patterned under US case law, to determine whether an instrument is an investment contract and, by extension, security.

    This entails meeting four requirements, namely: (1) an investment of money; (2) in a common enterprise; (3) with the expectation of profits; and (4) primarily from the efforts of others. These requirements naturally call for a factual and case-to-case determination that can be challenging, given the complexities surrounding blockchain technology, the added intricacies of every NFT project, and the inherent anonymity usually provided in these ecosystems.

    However, when called upon to act on its investor protection mandate, the SEC will step in and enforce the SRC. An example would be a recent advisory issued by the SEC Enforcement and Investor Protection Department, which issued a warning against Pogi Breeds. The group that goes by Pogi Breeds International, or CoPartners Pogibreeds, solicited money from the public for buying or breeding Axies and playing in Axie Infinity, promising gains to investors that could be liquidated after a certain period.

    Where a common enterprise is involved in promising passive gains in exchange for an investment, the SEC’s jurisdiction becomes suddenly apparent by simply applying the Howey Test and identifying a security or investment contract veiled under an NFT project. However, in more complex ecosystems like decentralised NFT-based virtual estates (i.e. DecentraLand), or pure collectable digital art projects (i.e. CryptoPunks), the call for regulatory oversight becomes blurry, unless tailor-fitted rules are developed for such innovations (i.e. with the prospective digital asset offering and digital asset exchange rules of the SEC).

    In terms of taxation and oversight of the Philippine Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR), the fundamental rule is that all income derived from whatever source is subject to tax and, unless provided otherwise by law, will always be controlled. Hence, while the BSP and SEC may grapple on regulating NFTs, as long as gains are derived by taxable individuals and entities (i.e. gains derived by players of Axie Infinity), the tax code, through the BIR, shall impose tax liabilities on such gains.

    BIR Revenue Memorandum Circular No. 60-2020 further emphasises this by giving notice to all persons doing business and earning income through digital transactions in electronic platforms and media, and other digital means, to ensure that they are duly registered with the BIR, and to pay the corresponding tax liabilities for such digital transactions.

    In this case, the taxability of a transaction dealing with NFTs would highly depend on the activity performed. For players, it may be considered as income subject to the graduated income tax table. Hence, if the annual income of the player does not exceed PHP250,000 (USD4,950), no income would be due. Conversely, investors handling players may be considered to engage in regular conduct or pursuit of commercial activity. They may be subject to value-added tax, other percentage tax (as applicable), income tax, and other taxes and fees (e.g. registration fees).

    Finally, under the IP regime, ownership of an NFT generally does not carry with it the transfer of copyright ownership to the underlying asset (i.e. digital work). To a blockchain evangelist, involving a regulator (the Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines) may even be unnecessary given the nature of NFTs hosted on a decentralised digital ledger that ensures its uniqueness and non-fungibility being the source of its value-generating proposition, as opposed to registration with a government-held (centralised) ledger.

    The regulatory regime with respect to NFTs in the Philippines remains reliant on traditional financial, securities and taxation laws, which do not give regulators the necessary flexibility to fully govern the innovation and adoption of NFTs.

    On a more promising note, regulators have shifted to a more open, sandbox approach in the hopes of attracting competitive technologies and economic opportunities that come with these technologies. Ultimately, they are mindful of the need to balance adoption of these innovations with the need to protect the public.

    Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra

    Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra

    15/F Strata 2000, F. Ortigas Jr. Road
    Ortigas Center, Pasig City
    Metro Manila – 1605, Philippines
    Tel: +632 8696-0687
    Email: counselors@gorricetalaw.com
    www.gorricetalaw.com