亚洲法域对非同质化代币(NFT)的监管一览 – 日本

作者: Masakazu Iwakura、Atsushi Igarashi、Haruo Narimoto,TMI Associates
0
364

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

菲律宾

台湾

日本

同质化代币(“NFT”)以迅猛之势席卷艺术、游戏和体育领域,在日本也获得大量关注,发展强劲。大约从2021年4月开始,日本出现了NFT交易市场,许多公司也宣布开展收藏品、体育和区块链游戏NFT等业务。可以预见,NFT业务在日本来将继续扩张。

Masakazu Iwakura, TMI Associates
Masakazu Iwakura
东京TMI Associates高级合伙人
电话: +81 3 6438 5511
电邮: iwakura-plus@tmi.gr.jp

本文将探讨目前NFT在日本法律体系下的地位。

NFT的法律地位

日本还没有一部直接规管NFT的法律。如果NFT的持有人参与“利润分配”,获得货币或其他资产,那么NFT极有可能被界定为《金融工具与交易法》第2.1条定义的“证券”。如果NFT不被认定为“证券”,但他具有经济功能,比如成为一种支付方式,那么NFT可能被归类为《支付服务法》第2.5条或第3.1条定义的“加密资产”或“预付费支付工具”。

但是,如果在NFT的交易过程中没有出现货币或其他资产的转手,那么NFT持有人并没有从NFT中获得利润的分配,在这种情况下,也可推测NFT不具备经济功能——比如,不是一种支付工具。从这个角度看,NFT不作为一种金融或商业工具,不受《金融工具与交易法》或《支付服务法》或其他日本法律的监管 。

如果NFT被用作某种奖励(如竞赛奖品或促销折扣),NFT将受到《反不正当奖励和误导性陈述法》的规范,且NFT的总金额也会受到价格上限管制。原则上,在日本,赌博是非法活动,会受到刑事处罚,因此,不能在任何赌博活动中使用NFT。

Atsushi Igarashi, TMI Associates
Atsushi Igarashi
东京TMI Associates律师
电话: +81 3 6438 5511
电邮: aigarashi@tmi.gr.jp

交易的法律意义

在某些NFT的交易中会出现“获得NFT所有权”的字语。根据《日本民法典》第85条规定,成为所有权客体的“物”是有体物,而NFT是无形的数字数据,因此,NFT不能成为所有权客体。即便购买了NFT,也不能获得所有权。

东京地方法院在2015年8月5号的一个裁决中就表示,比特币作为区块链上的代币不是有体物,因此不能成为所有权客体。购买NFT的过程是NFT技术特质的证明——NFT在区块链上具有不可再写和惟一性的特质,NFT买家是代币化数字数据的买家。

此外,获得NFT也不代表获得了这个NFT的著作权。根据《著作权法》,著作权授予版权作品的作者,是使用该版权作品的排他性权利。但是,对于NFT的买家,除非与著作权人签订了获得真实著作权的协议,否则,他们也没有获得作品的著作权。除非买家从著作权人处获得许可,否则,他们也没有获得版权作品的使用权。

对于艺术作品,根据《著作权法》第45条,受著作权保护的原始艺术作品的所有人无须获得著作权人的许可即可公开展示该作品。但是,由于NFT不适用于所有权相关规定,因此第45条不适用。

Haruo Narimoto, TMI Associates
Haruo Narimoto
东京TMI Associates律师
电话: +81 3 6438 5511
电邮: hnarimoto@tmi.gr.jp

因此,买家如何使用NFT将由买家和著作权人之间的协议来确定。并不是所有NFT交易都会载明许可条款,但如果NFT买家将其购买的NFT作品转售给第三方,这个行为可被视为默示许可。否则,许可的范围要根据NFT元数据中的描述来解读,或者从NFT交易平台上的使用条款来解读。

交易对价

在日本,要开展NFT 交易,需要考虑如下因素:

(1)对于创作者或卖家:

(a)创作者或卖家在发行NFT时必须确保没有侵犯第三方权利。根据《著作权法》,未经授权将他人的版权作品制作成NFT涉嫌侵犯他人的复制权(第21条)、改编权(第27条)、自动公众传播权(第23.1条)。未经授权使用第三方肖像的,侵犯他人的肖像和形象权。根据日本法律,肖像权(shozoken)是指保护个人外表的权利,形象权是指保护名人肖像的经济价值的权利。

(b)为避免后续出现不必要的争议,NFT卖家应说明作品在多大程度上许可给买家。卖家应明确交易市场的使用条款,并考虑如何在作品的元标签上写明使用条款。

(c)作品一旦作为NFT被出售,除非创作者购回作品,否则无法拿回作品,因此必须考虑对卖家现有业务的影响以及影响范围。

(2)对于买家:

(a)在购买NFT时,买家应当提前确认作品的利用范围,尤其是协议许可的版权使用类型,以及平台使用条款和NFT元标签内信息的使用条款。

(b)具有相同内容的商品被多次出售的情况也会发生。且法律没有禁止卖家将相似的作品代币化,发行NFT。即使NFT具有惟一性,买家应当意识到,其他交易市场可能存在相同或相似的作品。

(c)因为NFT的买家并没有获得著作权,买家应意识到,即使第三方未经授权使用相似的作品,买家亦无法基于著作权提起诉讼,要求法院下发禁令或索要损害赔偿。

(d)NFT无法在具有不同的区块链协议的平台之间进行交易,买家应确认NFT可在哪些平台转售。

(3)对于交易市场的平台运营者:

(a)为避免争议,平台运营者应制定使用条款,明确交易各方的权利关系,以及针对交易和用户的责任限制声明和其他免责声明。

(b)作品即使侵权,其记录也不能从区块链上删除,因此,平台运营者应考虑如何避免非法或无授权的交易。

(c)NFT会以虚拟形式在区块链上永续存在,但平台运营者应当考虑其服务的延续和承继,使NFT买家不会因平台服务的终止而遭受损失。

(d)平台运营者应采取适当措施确保其平台系统的安全性。日本在2021年8月出现过NFT平台安全漏洞案例。

作为一个新的内容分布形式,NFT大有可为,但目前,他们的结构和法律地位尚不明朗。为推动NFT的发展,交易各方须深入了解NFT,清晰合理的相关规则也是关键,各利益攸关方已经在这一方面做出努力。

随着NFT越来越受瞩目,市场参与者也应了解日本的法律和监管发展,寻求法律顾问意见。

TMI Associates

TMI Associates

23/F Roppongi Hills Mori Tower, 6-10-1 Roppongi
Minato-ku, Tokyo 106 6123, Japan
电话: +81 3 6438 5511
电邮: info_general@tmi.gr.jp
www.tmi.gr.jp

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

NFT regulations in Japan

    By Masakazu Iwakura, Atsushi Igarashi and Haruo Narimoto, TMI Associates
    0
    454

    India

    Indonesia

    Japan

    The Philippines

    Taiwan

    Japan

    Non-fungible tokens (NFTs) in the art, gaming and sporting sectors are rapidly gaining popularity worldwide, and consequently are receiving significant attention and developing in practice in Japan. Beginning around April 2021, NFT markets started to appear in the country, and many companies have announced entering NFT-related businesses in collectables, sports and blockchain games, among others. As a result, NFT businesses in Japan are expected to continue to grow.

    Masakazu Iwakura, TMI Associates
    Masakazu Iwakura
    Senior Partner at TMI Associates in Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6438 5511
    Email: iwakura-plus@tmi.gr.jp

    This article explores the recent status of NFTs in the country by focusing on the treatment of NFTs under Japanese law.

    Legal status of NFTs

    There is currently no law in Japan that directly regulates NFTs. However, if money or other assets that are considered to be a “distribution of profits” are delivered to a holder of an NFT, it is highly likely that the NFT falls within the definition of “securities” under article 2.1 of the Financial Instruments and Exchange Act. Even if an NFT does not correspond to securities, if it has an economic function, such as being a means of payment, there is the possibility that it falls within the definition of a “crypto asset” or a “prepaid payment instrument” under article 2.5 or article 3.1 of the Payment Services Act.

    However, when looking at how NFTs are transacted, there is no delivery of money or other assets that can be considered to be a distribution of profits to the holder from the NFT itself, and it can be surmised that an NFT does not have an economic function, such as being a means of payment. Therefore, as to the current state of play, it is understood that NFTs are not subject to the financial or business regulations under the Financial Instruments and Exchange Act, the Payment Services Act, or other Japanese laws.

    Atsushi Igarashi, TMI Associates
    Atsushi Igarashi
    Partner at TMI Associates in Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6438 5511
    Email: aigarashi@tmi.gr.jp

    If NFTs are used as premiums (i.e. contest prizes or promotions), the Act against Unjustifiable Premiums and Misleading Representations will apply, and NFTs will be subject to price caps and controls on the total amount. Gambling is, in principle, illegal under the laws of Japan and criminal penalties can be imposed, and the use of NFTs in any act of gambling is prohibited.

    Legal significance of transactions

    There are instances where the expression “acquiring ownership of an NFT” is used in transactions of NFT items. Under the Civil Code of Japan, while the “thing” that becomes the object of ownership is a tangible object (article 85), the NFT itself is intangible digital data and, therefore, does not become the object of ownership. Specifically, even if an NFT is purchased, its ownership is not acquired.

    The Tokyo District Court decision of 5 August 2015 indicated that Bitcoins, which are tokens on a blockchain, are not objects of ownership since they are not tangible. Acquiring an NFT is understood as proof of the technical nature of a one and only NFT on a blockchain in a non-rewritable manner, as the acquirer of digital data specified by the token.

    Haruo Narimoto, TMI Associates
    Haruo Narimoto
    Partner at TMI Associates in Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6438 5511
    Email: hnarimoto@tmi.gr.jp

    Furthermore, acquiring an NFT item does not mean acquiring the copyright of the item. A copyright is the right to exclusively use a copyrighted work and is granted to the author of the copyrighted work under the Copyright Act. However, even if an NFT item is acquired, unless there is an agreement with the copyright holder to acquire the actual copyright, the acquirer will not acquire the copyright to such work. Unless a licence is obtained from the copyright holder, the right to use the copyrighted work is not obtained by the acquirer.

    In the case of art, according to article 45 of the Copyright Act, the owner of the original work of the copyrighted work of art can publicly exhibit such work without obtaining the copyright holder’s authorisation. However, in the case of an NFT, since it is not subject to ownership, article 45 does not apply.

    Therefore, how the acquirer can use the NFT will be determined by the terms of the agreement between the acquirer and the copyright holder. Although the licence terms are not always clear in all NFT transactions, the resale of an acquired NFT work to a third party can be thought to be included as an implicit licence. Otherwise, the scope of licence in the agreement will have to be construed from the descriptions in the metadata of the NFT, or from the terms of use of the platform on which the NFT is being transacted.

    Considerations in transactions

    The key points to consider in transactions of NFT items in Japan are:

    (1) For creators or sellers:

    (i) The creator or seller must make sure that third-party rights are not infringed when listing an NFT item. Selling another person’s copyrighted work by making it into an NFT without authorisation can be an infringement of the reproduction right (article 21), adaptation right (article 27), automatic public transmission right (article 23.1) and other rights under the Copyright Act. If a third party’s image is used without authorisation, that use is an infringement of such person’s image and publicity right. Under the laws of Japan, an image right (shozoken) is recognised as a right that protects an individual’s appearance, and a publicity right is a right that protects the economic value of the image of a famous person.

    (ii) To prevent subsequent unnecessary disputes, an NFT seller should clarify the extent to which such work will be licensed to the purchaser. The seller also should confirm the terms of use of the marketplace, and consider how to state the terms of use within the metatag of the work.

    (iii) Once a work is sold as an NFT, since the work cannot be retrieved unless the creator repurchases it, whether there will be an effect on the seller’s existing business and the scope of it should be considered.

    (2) For purchasers:

    (i) When purchasing an NFT, the purchaser needs to confirm in advance the scope in which the NFT item can be exploited. In particular, the purchaser needs to confirm the types of use that are being licensed in the agreement in terms of copyright use, as well as the terms of use of the platform and the information within the metatag of the NFT.

    (ii) There have been instances where items having the same content were sold multiple times. Moreover, a seller is not legally prohibited from selling similar works as NFTs. Even if an item is the one and only item as an NFT, the purchaser should be aware that there is the possibility of the same or similar work existing in other markets.

    (iii) Since the copyright is not acquired, the purchaser needs to be aware that the purchaser cannot bring a claim seeking an injunction or damages based on copyright, even if a third party is exploiting a similar work without authorisation.

    (iv) Since NFTs cannot be usually transacted between platforms with differing blockchain protocols, the purchaser should confirm the platforms on which the acquired NFT can be resold.

    (3) For platformers of marketplaces:

    (i) To avoid legal disputes, a platformer needs to clarify the relationship of rights between the transacting parties through a term of use, and clearly provide limitations of liability and other disclaimers that are to apply to transactions and users.

    (ii) Since records of a rights-infringing work cannot be deleted from a blockchain, a platformer should consider how to prevent unlawful or unauthorised transactions preemptively.

    (iii) Although an NFT will exist on a blockchain virtually forever, a platformer should consider the continuation of, and succession methods for, its service so that NFT purchasers do not incur damages due to the termination of the platform services.

    (iv) A platformer needs to take appropriate actions for the security of its platform system. A security breach incident on an NFT platform was reported in Japan in August 2021.

    While NFTs hold hidden possibilities as a new means of content distribution, their structure and legal positioning are not necessarily fully known at this time. To duly expand NFT businesses in the future, an understanding of NFTs by parties to transactions, and the creation of clear and proper rules, are desirable, and such efforts are currently being made by various stakeholders.

    Market participants also will need to be mindful of Japanese legal and regulatory developments that likely will result as NFTs gain prominence, and should seek advice from knowledgeable counsel.

    TMI Associates

    TMI Associates

    23/F Roppongi Hills Mori Tower, 6-10-1 Roppongi
    Minato-ku, Tokyo 106 6123, Japan
    Tel: +81 3 6438 5511
    Email: info_general@tmi.gr.jp
    www.tmi.gr.jp