亚洲法域对非同质化代币(NFT)的监管一览 – 印度

作者: Sujata Chaudhri、Urfee Roomi、Rishikaa,Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
0
276

印度

印度尼西亚

日本

菲律宾

台湾

印度

同质化代币(“NFT”)是近年来在全球非常热门的一个概念,印度最近也赶上潮流。今年早些时候,印度几个最大的加密货币交易所都推出了自己的NFT市场。这些NFT市场被放在交易所自己创建的区块链上,为艺术家和买家搭建了一个端到端的交易平台,交易媒介就是加密货币。

Sujata Chaudhri, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
Sujata Chaudhri
诺伊达Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys创始人兼管理合伙人
电话: +91 88 6013 0723
电邮: sujata@sc-ip.in

很多人对NFT在印度的未来发展以及NFT交易的有效性还存疑。其中一个原因就是加密货币在印度的合法性尚不清晰。印度央行——印度储备银行(RBI)曾在2018年印发通知,禁止银行与开展虚拟货币交易的实体有商业往来或向这些实体提供任何服务。

但是,在2020年,印度最高院认定2018年禁令无效。在2021年初,印度财政部声明政府并没有关闭所有选项,会给予利益攸关方一定空间,让他们试验区块链、比特币和加密货币。在5月,配合现行的反洗钱、外汇管控和打击恐怖主义融资的监管,RBI印发另一份通知,要求所有银行对虚拟货币交易开展尽调。但是,加密货币和加密资产在什么范围内以及在多大程度上合法?这还有待政府和其他监管部门进一步说明。

这一次,印度没有出台任何法律法规来规管NFT,因此,我们只能依赖法典中既定的一些法律原则。

NFT可以用来表示各种事物,但在全球,包括在印度,它最受欢迎的形式是数字艺术物品,在这种形式中,一个NFT相当于底层原作品的一个数字拷贝或代币。但持有一个NFT不代表你对它的底层作品拥有了所有权。

购买原作和购买NFT不同,原作的著作权不会自动转让给NFT购买者。著作权人可以在出售时将所有权转让给NFT购买者,但根据《著作权法(1957)》的规定,所有权的转让需要在销售合同中书面明确载明。

Urfee Roomi, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
Urfee Roomi
诺伊达Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys首席律师
电话: +91 98 1809 8835
电邮: urfee@sc-ip.in

一旦依照《著作权法》的要求转让所有权后,NFT持有人即被视为受著作权保护作品的所有人。NFT销售中各方的权利,以及这些权利的程度都由销售合同确定。

大部分NFT相关的交易都通过智能合约完成,智能合约会写明许可的条款,规定转售时的自动版税支付,设置著作权使用限制,以及追踪后续的NFT购买。智能合约受《合同法(1872)》和《信息技术法(2000)》规管。

根据《合同法》,要约、承诺和对价是有效合同的基石。智能合约也具备要约和承诺这两个有效合同的要素,但由于在NFT交易的智能合约中,对价以加密货币支付,这就带来了问题。如前文提出的,加密货币在印度的合法性仍存疑,因此,智能合约及其对应的交易的有效性也被质疑。

既然RBI的通知要求银行在所有虚拟货币交易中遵守外汇管制和反洗钱相关法律,那么,NFT交易也理所当然受这些法律的管控。由于没有相应的法律框架,印度学界对NFT的分类有分歧。NFT的分类是确保合规的前提,对于理解NFT的法律含义和他们对所代表的资产的影响至关重要。

如果NFT所代表的资产是印度证券法定义的证券,那么NFT也受证券法的规管。有些法律专家认为,NFT属于《证券合同(监管)法(1956)》(“SCRA”)下的衍生品。根据SCRA,衍生品包括“从债券、股票、贷款(无论有无担保)、风险工具或差价合约或任何其他形式的证券衍生而来的一种证券;其价值依赖于基础证券的价格或价格指数的合约。”

Rishikaa, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
Rishikaa
诺伊达Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys律师
电话: +91 99 5881 5862
电邮: rishikaa@sc-ip.in

只有当衍生品在获授权的交易所依照该交易所的法规进行交易时,衍生品合约才有效合法。因此,如果NFT被归类为衍生品,那么这类衍生品的合约都是非法的,因为它们交易的市场没有获得法律授权。

不过,这些交易市场的设立也许并不需要获得法律的授权,因为它们的结构更像是平台,而不是交易所,买家从卖家手中购买NFT时,这些平台不介入,当事人也无须向这些平台付费,除了支付一笔名义销售佣金或矿工费(在区块链上验证NFT交易时需要一定的计算能量,矿工费就是用户为计算能量支付的)。

那么印度的纳税机制又如何处理NFT呢?普遍的观点也认为这取决于基础资产的性质或分类。NFT可能要缴纳商品与服务税(“GST”),《中央商品与服务税法(2017)》定义的商品包括货币和证券以外的可动产,服务包括商品以外的任何事物。NFT很可能要缴纳GST,具体取决于NFT所代表的资产。

但跨境NFT交易又更复杂些。《金融法(2020)》作出了与衡平税(equalisation levy)相关的规定,对总部在国外但在印度有营业的公司收取2%的费用。如果NFT交易市场被界定为《金融法》定义的电商经营者,那么,针对NFT的总价值或者交易市场收取的矿工费,可能要收取2%的衡平税,或者两者都须缴纳衡平税。

跨境NFT交易可能还会触发《外汇管理法(1999)》(“FEMA”)的规定。FEMA对NFT的认定仍然取决于基础资产的性质。但实操并不简单,因为我们几乎不可能确定NFT的位置,因此,NFT持有人和交易市场可以规避FEMA监管。

NFT的兴起引发了大家对洗钱的担忧。NFT基于区块链,因此,交易各方的匿名性和隐私得到了很好的保护。可以通过联系交易市场或加密钱包,以及识别出IP地址来追踪交易当事方,但整个过程缓慢繁琐,给了当事方足够的机会来规避法律或躲避监管部门。

显然,围绕着NFT,大家还有诸多担忧,尤其考虑到在印度,加密货币的地位还没有得到明确。但这场盛宴已经开始在印度发展壮大。其中一个主要原因是印度拥有庞大的传统和数字艺术家群体,NFT给他们带来诸多好处。

围绕着NFT和虚拟资产的炒作还在继续,与此同时,印度政府也已就加密货币的监管提出了新的法律提案。相关各方和专家预计这部新法将有助于解答围绕着NFT的诸多疑问。

新法的出台刻不容缓,毕竟,援引现行法律只是权宜之计,但新法规能够针对这项新的技术应用提供长期解决方案。虽然NFT在印度的未来还不明朗,但毫无疑问,它的使用将越来越广泛。

Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys

Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys

1/F B-36, Sector 132
Expressway, Noida – 201301
India
电话: +91 88 6013 0723
电邮: info@sc-ip.in
www.sc-ip.in

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

NFT regulations in India

    By Sujata Chaudhri, Urfee Roomi and Rishikaa, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
    0
    467

    India

    Indonesia

    Japan

    The Philippines

    Taiwan

    India

    Non-fungible tokens (NFTs) have been a hot topic of discussion worldwide for the past couple of years, and India has recently joined this bandwagon. Earlier this year, some of India’s biggest cryptocurrency exchanges launched their own NFT marketplaces that run on blockchains created by these exchanges. These NFT marketplaces have been created to bridge the gap between artists and buyers by providing end-to-end platforms, primarily for facilitating trade, using cryptocurrency as a medium of exchange.

    Sujata Chaudhri, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
    Sujata Chaudhri
    Founder and Managing Partner of Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys in Noida
    Tel: +91 88 6013 0723
    Email: sujata@sc-ip.in

    There is a lot of scepticism around the future of NFTs in India, and the validity of NFT transactions. One of the reasons is the question of the legality of cryptocurrency in the country, which remains unanswered. In 2018, the central bank, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), had issued a circular asking banks not to deal with or provide any services to entities dealing with virtual currencies.

    However, in 2020, the Supreme Court of India struck down the 2018 circular. In early 2021, the finance minister stated that the government was not closing its options and would give room to stakeholders for experimenting with blockchains, bitcoins and cryptocurrencies. In May, the RBI issued another circular that directed all banks to carry out due diligence for transactions in virtual currencies, in line with the existing regulations pertaining to anti-money laundering, foreign exchange and combating of financing of terrorism. However, stakeholders are still waiting for more guidance on the scope and extent of legality of cryptocurrencies and crypto assets from the government, as well as other regulatory authorities.

    At this time, India does not have any law or regulation to govern NFTs. Accordingly, as far as NFTs are concerned, we must rely on the established principles of law as laid down in statute books in the country.

    Urfee Roomi, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
    Urfee Roomi
    Principal Associate at Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys in Noida
    Tel: +91 98 1809 8835
    Email: urfee@sc-ip.in

    It is settled that NFTs can represent various things, however their worldwide popularity, including in India, is attributed to their representation of a digital art form. Therefore, in its most popular form, an NFT is a digital copy or token of an underlying original work. Having said this, owning an NFT does not confer ownership of the underlying work that the NFT represents.

    It follows that the difference between buying an original artwork and buying an NFT is that the copyright in the original underlying work does not get automatically transfer to a purchaser of an NFT. While it is possible for a copyright holder to transfer ownership rights to the purchaser of the NFT at the time of sale, the provisions of the Copyright Act, 1957, require the contract for sale to provide for such assignment of rights explicitly, in writing.

    Once the rights are assigned in compliance with the provisions of the Copyright Act, an NFT holder would be treated as the owner of the copyrighted work. Accordingly, the rights of the parties to an NFT sale, and the extent of such rights, are determined by the governing sales contract.

    Rishikaa, Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys
    Rishikaa
    Associate at Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys in Noida
    Tel: +91 99 5881 5862
    Email: rishikaa@sc-ip.in

    Most NFT-related transactions take place through smart contracts, which may stipulate the terms of a licence, provide automatic royalties in case of resale transactions, set limits to the use of copyrights, and track subsequent purchases of an NFT. A smart contract is governed by the Contract Act, 1872, and the Information Technology Act, 2000.

    Under the Contract Act, an offer, acceptance and consideration are the cornerstones of a valid contract. While a smart contract has the offer and acceptance components of a valid contract, the consideration component may be an issue. Usually, in a smart contract governing an NFT transaction, consideration would be in cryptocurrency. However, as explained above, the legality of cryptocurrencies in India continues to be cloudy, leading one to question the validity of a smart contract and the underlying transaction.

    Given the RBI circular, which requires compliance with laws relating to foreign exchange and money laundering in all virtual currency transactions, it would not be far-fetched to state that NFT transactions would also be subject to these laws. In the absence of a legal framework, Indian legal scholars are divided on the classification of NFTs required for such compliance. This classification is key in understanding the legal implications with respect to these NFTs, and their effects on the assets they represent.

    If an NFT represents an asset that is considered a security under Indian securities laws, then it may be subject to these securities laws. According to some legal experts, NFTs are essentially derivatives under the Securities Contract (Regulation) Act, 1956 (SCRA). As per the SCRA, derivates include “a security derived from a debt instrument, share, loan, whether secured or unsecured, risk instrument or contract for differences or any other form of security; a contract which derives its value from the prices, or index of prices, of underlying securities.”

    Furthermore, a contract in derivatives would be valid and legal only if derivatives are traded on an authorised stock exchange in accordance with the laws of that exchange. Consequently, if NFTs are classified as derivatives, then any contract in such derivatives would be illegal because the marketplaces on which they are traded are not authorised by law.

    However, the way the current marketplaces have been set up may not require such authorisation. This is because these marketplaces have been fashioned less like exchanges and more like platforms, where a buyer purchases an NFT from the seller without any intervention from or payment to these platforms other than a nominal sales commission or gas fee (an amount paid by users towards computing energy that is required to validate NFT transactions on blockchains).

    Similarly, the popular view is that the treatment of NFTs under India’s taxation regime would depend on the nature or classification of the underlying asset. An NFT would be subject to a goods and services tax (GST), and the definition of goods under the Central Goods and Services Tax Act, 2017 includes moveable property other than money and securities, and services include anything other than goods. It is highly likely that the GST would be imposed, based on what the NFT represents.

    However, there may be additional complications in cases of cross-border NFT transactions. The Finance Act, 2020 contains provisions regarding an equalisation levy (EL), which charges a 2% fee on corporations based out of India but having operations within the country. If a marketplace is considered as an e-commerce operator under the Finance Act, then the2% EL may apply on the gross value of the NFT, or the gas fee charged by these marketplaces, or both.

    In addition, cross-border NFT transactions will also invoke provisions of the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999 (FEMA). Again, the treatment of an NFT under the FEMA would depend on the nature of the underlying asset. However, the situation is not as simple as it sounds, since it is almost impossible to determine the location of an NFT. This may lead NFT holders and marketplaces to avoid FEMA regulations altogether.

    The emergence of NFTs has also led to concerns regarding money laundering. NFTs are based on blockchains that provide a perfect opportunity for maintaining anonymity and privacy for parties to the transactions. Although it may be possible to trace these parties by contacting the marketplace or crypto wallet and identifying the IP address, the overall process would be slow and tedious, providing enough opportunities for such parties to evade the law, or hide from regulatory authorities.

    As is evident, there are a lot of concerns surrounding NFTs, particularly for a nation that is still struggling with the cryptocurrency conundrum. However, what started as a fad is now gaining ground in the country. One of the major reasons attributed to the rapid acceptance of NFTs is the sheer number of traditional and digital artists in India, and the benefits they can reap from NFTs.

    While speculation persists around NFTs and virtual assets, the Indian government has proposed a new law for regulating cryptocurrencies. Stakeholders and experts anticipate that this legislation will also play a role in clearing the air surrounding NFTs in India.

    New regulations are definitely the need of the hour, because current laws can only provide quick fixes to issues, whereas new regulations are capable of providing long-term solutions pertaining to this new facet of technology. Although the future of NFTs in India remains unknown, it is fairly certain that they are here to stay.

    Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys

    Sujata Chaudhri IP Attorneys

    1/F B-36, Sector 132
    Expressway, Noida – 201301
    India
    Tel: +91 88 6013 0723
    Email: info@sc-ip.in
    www.sc-ip.in