拾级而上

0
66

随着香港逐渐加入开放边境的大潮,香港国际仲裁中心的新任秘书长Mariel Dimsey《商法》杂志谈论了她的角色,以及巩固香港作为可靠争议解决中心的计划

《商法》:您以律师身份开始职业生涯,现在领导着这家知名仲裁机构。您对自己的新角色有何感想?将承担哪些责任?上任后,您计划为香港国际仲裁中心实现什么目标?

Mariel Dimsey:谈到我对新角色的感想,很明显,我非常高兴能做这个工作。这份工作在许多方面都与私人执业非常不同,但我认为这是一个非常独特的机会,因为我实际上是在秘书处运营这个机构,它将仲裁的世界与商业技能结合了起来。我对这一角色非常感兴趣,它的一些特殊面向是私人执业所不具备的。所以我很高兴能磨炼我在这些方面的技能。

至于我的主要职责,我一般负责管理香港国际仲裁中心的秘书处,其中包括督察案件管理工作,这通常是在我们非常能干的案件管理团队的有力支持下完成的。

我还负责机构治理事务,例如与港仲的理事会以及委员会联络。我还会做年度预算的规划。

在我当下和将来的任务列表中,业务发展也占有很大的比重。现在我们在香港逐渐开放边境了,一些差旅工作很快就会提上我的议程,对此我觉得很振奋。在与世界许多地方中断物理联系两年之后,走出香港是非常重要的。

因此,我的工作职责非常广泛,与私人执业有很大的不同,因为我不像过去那样每天针对某个特定的主题持续工作六个小时,我的一天确实需要兼顾很多不同的任务,但这也使得它充满活力和趣味。

说到我计划实现的目标,目前我就职不久,工作安排上仍然非常早期。当下而言,我们正在筹备两大主要的业务发展项目。第一个是国际商事仲裁理事会(ICCA)大会。爱丁堡举办了今年的大会,港仲有几位成员一起参加了,香港则将在2024年举办下一届ICCA大会。第二个项目就是10月下旬的香港仲裁周了,届时的活动安排得可以说是满满当当,这真是好极了。在我们自己的仲裁周中,我们将和一些律所共同举办许多活动,另外还有我们自己的活动ADR in Asia Conference。这将占到我们现在在业务发展方面的大量精力。

《商法》您以律师身份开始职业生涯,现在领导着这家知名仲裁机构

长远来看,正如我所提到的,我有一些旅行计划,去参加某些重要的活动,届时我们也将向世界传达有关香港的信号。目前流传着很多关于香港和中国的说法。从我们作为一家位于香港的仲裁机构的立场来看,我们确实认为很多相关信息是可以细化和加强的。业务发展工作接下来的差旅任务之一即是向世界强化香港作为一个安全、可靠的仲裁场所的信号。

除此之外,明年我们还希望修订港仲管理之仲裁的规则,它将有一个2023年的版本。我们还在研究一些技术方面的举措,这是数字化进程的自然结果,而非一般举措,同时也是为了适应疫情发展。可以看到,我们有相当多的项目正在酝酿中。

《商法》:您的履历令人印象深刻,拥有与许多国际仲裁机构打交道的丰富经验。那么,香港国际仲裁中心的哪些方面最吸引您?

Mariel Dimsey:在加入港仲前,我在私人执业生涯中,在相当多的机构担任过律师和仲裁员。我应该首先强调,我不认为机构间是竞赛的关系。我确实相信,现有的机构是可以共存的,特别是在本地区,也包括更远的地方,因为除了纯粹的跨境案件之外,每家机构都服务着庞大的境内和地区市场。我确实认为,亚洲主要区域设置机构的方式是允许大家并肩运作的。

就香港国际仲裁中心而言,吸引我加入该组织的原因首先是它位于香港。我现在已经在香港生活了将近七年,这是一个我可以称之为家的地方,我非常喜欢住在这里。这可以说是我决定加入港仲的一个私人理由。

第二个理由,即是我看到港仲作为理事会和仲裁机构所具备的活力和灵活性。

港仲的工作做得恰到好处,这包括提供适当的行政支持以及对仲裁员的支持,当然这些工作都非常适度。这使得我们的程序能够快速和高效进行。我认为港仲兼顾了行政支持和效率的要求,而要做到这一点,对每个机构而言都是挑战,港仲在这方面就做得非常好。这也是该机构在程序方面吸引我的原因。

《商法》您的履历令人印象深刻,拥有与许多国际仲裁机构打交道的丰富经验

至于其他方面,我在过去就参与过港仲的能力建设事务。在疫情暴发前,我曾与港仲的成员一起出差去缅甸和印度尼西亚进行技能提升。我也一直支持着港仲下属为青年人而设的组织HK45,我曾和Duncan Watson以及Kiran Sanghera两位同僚在该组织担任了两年的联合主席。

因此,在担任秘书长这个职务之前,我已经与港仲有过很多互动。它一直是一家严肃、能干、高效的机构。我谨希望我的任职能继续令它保持这种状态。

《商法》:您对那些在争议解决领域寻求发展的青年法律人有什么建议?

Mariel Dimsey:从我的角度来看,仲裁工作有非常多不同的面向。我应该首先说明,我的职业生涯迄今为止的一大部分都在仲裁界。起先,我并不是一个诉讼律师。到现在为止,我走着一条非常精专的职业道路,我认为这有优点也有缺点。我加入港仲的原因之一即是为了拓展我的技能,进入一个不止于私人执业仲裁的领域。

谈到青年律师能做什么,我认为最重要的是要记住,这是一场马拉松,而非短跑。每个人都想做仲裁员,但抵达目标的这段旅途极其重要。

我认为在你能胜任且应该担任仲裁员的工作之前,你确实需要学会一些基本的技能。你不会希望在尚不具备做好这项工作技能的前提下,而过早地成为仲裁员、进入仲裁届。因为正如大家常说的,你永远没有第二次机会给人留下良好的第一印象。我确实认为这一点很重要:在做律师的时候,你要付出时间,学会起草,学会组织,学会注重细节和准确性,做好基础工作,寻求建议、寻找你自己的导师——那些会帮助你、支持你事业的人——其他一切都会由此而来。你要保持耐心。

《商法》:您的人生中是否有一个让您决心在仲裁领域投入更多精力的转折点?

Mariel Dimsey:这个过程更像是一种渐渐的体悟,而非转折点。当你作为一个年轻律师开启律届生涯时,你刚从大学毕业,如果你的起点是一家知名律所,你的成绩可能相当不错,你确实有一定的自信,自信很重要。但我记得,在做律师的前几年,我起草的文件最后都布满了修订的红墨水。别人基本上全部推翻重写,你甚至几乎找不到你原来写的痕迹。这个过程可能是相当令人沮丧的。

就我而言,实际上很多时候这种反馈让我觉得丧失了动力。不过,我讲这个故事的目的在于,情况的确会好转。我甚至不记得它到底是怎么发生的。大概在我有七八年执业经验的时候,你起草了一份文件,当你拿回反馈,合伙人大概只纠正了一个逗号,其他的一字未改。从此,你的职业生涯就开始变得有趣了。但是,你要想达到这种境况,就必须经历你起草的文件被改写、被重写的所有这些时刻。这都是过程的一部分。

至少对我来说,在意识到我进入了一个阶段之后,我会感到某种程度的满足——能够以清晰、有条理的方式起草,充实某个法律论点,完成开头、中间和结论。这些听起来都是非常基本的东西。但我认为,我们写的法律文件大都有规律可寻。这份工作确实需要多年的实践才能做得更好,但它值得你坚持不懈地付出努力。经历这一切确实能让你成为更好的律师。

《商法》在您的观察中,在过去一年中,引发您所处理的和正在关注的所有与中国有关的争议的共同原因有哪些?

Mariel Dimsey:我会说这些原因非常多元。我认为过去几年有两个反复出现的因素,首先是全球疫情带来的程序性问题,即很多案件被中断,人们试图以创新的方式来解决争端,因为他们不确定事态将如何发展。但这并不是亚洲特有的问题。

就实质内容而言,一直有各种与口罩有关的纠纷,供应和延迟的问题、定价问题、质量问题。

我认为一般来说,我们将看到一些破产相关的付款违约纠纷,港仲也已经看到了这一趋势。对于相当多的行业和一些企业而言,这几年很艰难。因此,人们可能会违反合同约定,诸如不可抗力及相关托辞之类的问题也会出现。

我在律所时期的实践更多的是国际和本地的,而非专门与中国相关的争议,不过我们处理过多个中国相关的争议。但是,我们在与中国有关的争议中亦没有看到当地的争议趋势与世界其他地方不同。

从港仲秘书处的角度来看,我们看到相当多的企业纠纷,其中很多都与中国有关联。我们今年的案件数量到今天已经超过了2021年全年。因此,到目前为止,对港仲来说,今年是非常好的一年,我们希望这一势头能够继续下去。

《商法》就行业而言,这些争议是否有任何趋势,即它们是否都来自一些主要的行业?

Mariel Dimsey:我们看到出现了更多与技术有关的争议。供应和分销部门/行业相关的争议一直都很活跃,并将继续活跃下去。基础设施和建设行业的争议在香港仍然非常活跃,我们在案件中也观察到了这一点。

《商法》去年,港仲的上海代表处首席代表杨玲博士提到,现在你们已经看到了一些与加密货币、虚拟资产有关的争议。今年是否出现了更多的这类争议?

Mariel Dimsey:我我们的确看到了这一趋势。现在,我们就管理着不少这类性质的争议。我们确实认为这是一个不断增长的行业。它也是我们将在香港仲裁周的亚洲替代性纠纷解决机制(ADR)会议上讨论的要点之一。在现行的监管框架下,香港是一个解决加密货币争议的中心。我们的确越来越关注这一领域。

《商法》让我们看向亚太地区。新加坡和香港之间总是存在着某种竞争,根据伦敦玛丽女王大学的最新调查,香港作为仲裁地在世界和亚洲的排名仅次于新加坡,位居第二。您就任后,是否有任何计划或战略将香港提升到第一的位置?

Mariel Dimsey:世界排名第一将是一个巨大的挑战,但我很乐意接受挑战,让我们拭目以待。但就区域竞争而言,我认为新加坡和香港的确之间存在友好竞争。

话虽如此,我认为这种竞争某种程度上来说是周期性的,考虑到过去几年在各种意义上都是不寻常的。竞争是健康的,并将带来改变。无论如何,对于与中国相关的争议,香港[作为仲裁地]拥有一些非常明确、独特的优势。

在“一国两制”的框架下,《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》对香港来说是独一无二的,因为对于仲裁地位于香港的、由受认可机构管理的仲裁,当事人可以通过中国大陆的法院寻求在岸的临时保全救济,来扣押资产、保全行为,以及冻结在中国大陆有资产的在岸被申请人的银行账户。因此,这对香港来说是一个真正的、改变格局的制度安排。

据我所知,目前没有计划将这一安排扩大到香港之外的法域。鉴于此,加之历史、地理方面的原理,以及香港和港仲在与国际当事人和中国当事人打交道所独有的经验,我认为更多与中国有关的争议肯定会选择来香港仲裁。

我的确认为区域性的仲裁机构应该以一种兴旺发展的形式共存。我期望看到,在未来几年,港仲能够在那些不一定以中国为中心的争议中占有更大份额。在本地区,各方都有足够多的争端,新加坡和香港甚至可以在某些议题上合作,实现共赢。

阅读更多关于Mariel Dimsey:


香港国际仲裁中心新任秘书长及副秘书长

CMS 中国香港办公室合伙人Mariel Dimsey将于8月接任香港国际仲裁中心(下称“港仲”)秘书长一职,港仲现任总法律顾问吴家欣则升任为副秘书长

Moving on up

0
215

As Hong Kong reopens its borders, Mariel Dimsey, recently appointed secretary-general of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre, tells us about her new role and plans to enhance the city’s reputation as a leading dispute resolution hub

China Business Law Journal: How do you feel about your new role, what will be your main responsibilities, and what do you want to achieve for the HKIAC?

Mariel Dimsey: In terms of how I feel about the new role, I’m obviously very excited to be doing it. This is very different from private practice in many ways, but I find it a very unique opportunity in that it combines the arbitration world with business skills in the sense that I’m running a business at the secretariat. I was very intrigued by the role, and I think there are particular aspects of it that were not present in my private practice career. So I’m very pleased to be honing my skill set in these aspects as well.

In terms of my main responsibilities, I am generally responsible for running the secretariat of the HKIAC, which includes keeping an eye on case management, which is usually done under the very capable support of our case management team. I am also responsible for corporate governance matters, and liaise with the HKIAC Council and standing committees, the number of standing committees that the HKIAC has. I also plan the annual budget.

There is also a large business development [BD] element in what I do and will do, and I’m very pleased now that we are opening up in Hong Kong, that a few trips will be on my agenda very soon. It’s very important to get out there now, after our two-year hiatus.

So it’s a very broad set of responsibilities, which is quite different from private practice in the sense that I’m not working on one particular topic for six hours a day, as I may have been in the past, but engaged in many more diverse tasks throughout my day, so it is very dynamic and interesting.

In terms of what I want to achieve, it’s still early days, and for the time being we have two major BD projects, which are keeping us busy. The first is the International Council for Commercial Arbitration [ICCA] Congress. Edinburgh hosted the congress this year and several members of the HKIAC attended, as Hong Kong is hosting the next ICCA Congress in 2024.

There is also Hong Kong Arbitration Week in late October, which is jam-packed with events, which is wonderful to see. We have numerous events with a number of firms and also our own event, the ADR in Asia Conference. That is taking up a lot of our time in terms of BD right now.

CBLJ How do you feel nabout your new role, what will be your main responsibilities, and, what do you want to achieve for the HKIAC

In terms of further projects, as I mentioned, there is some travel on the cards to certain strategic events in which we will also hone our messaging about Hong Kong. There is a lot of information circulating about Hong Kong and China at the moment. From where we stand as an arbitration institution in Hong Kong, we do think that a lot of this messaging can be nuanced and enhanced. Part of the BD endeavour with our upcoming business trips is to reinforce the message about Hong Kong as a safe, reliable place to do arbitration.

In addition to that, we are hoping to revise our rules next year to produce a 2023 edition of the HKIAC administered arbitration rules. We are also looking at a couple of technological initiatives, which I think is a natural consequence of digitalisation, not only generally, but also of the developments in the pandemic. So we have quite a few projects on the cards.

CBLJ: You have a very impressive resume with rich experience in many international arbitration institutions. So what aspects of the HKIAC attracted you the most?

Dimsey: In my career in private practice, I acted as counsel and arbitrator under many different institutional rules. I should start by emphasising that I do not see that this is a contest. I do believe that the existing institutions, particularly in the region, but also those farther afield, can coexist because everyone has a large domestic and regional market that they are servicing, in addition to international work. I do think the way the major regional institutions are set up in Asia allows everyone to operate side by side.

In terms of the HKIAC, what attracted me to the organisation was firstly the fact that it’s in Hong Kong. I’ve lived in Hong Kong now for nearly seven years and I call it home, and I very much enjoy living here. So there is a personal dimension to my decision to come to the HKIAC. The second aspect is the dynamism and the flexibility with which I’ve seen the institution operate, both as counsel and as arbitrator. HKIAC hits the right notes in terms of providing the right amount of administrative support, and supporting arbitrators, but all that with a very light touch. This approach enables our procedures to be quick and efficient. I think we meet in the middle in terms of administrative support and efficiency, which is a challenge for every institution, and the HKIAC does it very well. So that is what attracted me to the institution from the procedural side.

 

CBLJ You have a very impressive resume with rich experience in many international arbitration institutions

In terms of other aspects, I was involved with the HKIAC’s capacity building in the past. I went on capacity building trips before the pandemic to Myanmar and Indonesia with members of the HKIAC. I’ve also supported them with their “young” group, the HK45. I was co-chair of that group with Duncan Watson KC and Kiran Sanghera for two years.

So I had a lot of interaction with the HKIAC before coming into this role, and it has always been a serious, competent and efficient institution. I could only hope to continue that with my new role.

CBLJ: What suggestions do you have for young legal professionals who are seeking a career in the dispute resolution area?

Dimsey: From my perspective, in terms of advice, there’s so many different aspects to a career in arbitration. I should preface everything by saying that my career has largely been in arbitration up until now. I was not a litigator first, so it’s been a very focused career up until now, which I think has advantages and disadvantages. One of the reasons I joined the HKIAC was to expand my skill set into an area that wasn’t just private practice arbitration.

In terms of what young lawyers can do, I think the most important thing to remember is that it’s a marathon, not a sprint. Everyone wants to become an arbitrator, but the journey to get there is incredibly important.

I think you do need to establish some fundamental skills before you can and should act as arbitrator. You do not want to go into arbitration as an arbitrator too early and not have the skills to do the job well, because as everyone always says, you never get a second chance to make a good first impression. So I do think it’s important: put in the hours as counsel, learn to draft, learn to structure, learn to be detail-oriented and precise, do the groundwork, seek advice, seek out mentors for yourself – people who will help you, people who will champion your career – and everything else will flow from that. You need to be patient.

CBLJ: Was there a turning point in your life where you decided to commit more to arbitration?

Dimsey: It was more a slow realisation than a turning point as such. When you start out as a young lawyer, you are out of university, you probably have fairly good grades if you are starting in a large firm, and you do come in with a certain amount of confidence and confidence is great. But I remember the first few years as a lawyer, where my drafts were covered in red ink, and more senior lawyers basically rewrote the entire thing such that you could barely find a sentence that you originally wrote. That can be quite disheartening.

In my case, I actually found this quite demotivating on various occasions, but the point of me telling the story is that it does get better. I cannot even remember how it actually happened, but probably when I was about seven or eight years PQE [post-qualified experience] — you write a draft and you get it back, and the partner has maybe corrected a comma, but nothing else. That becomes the part where it actually gets really fun, but you cannot get to that point until you have had all those moments along the way where your work is being rewritten, being redrafted. And that is all part of the process.

There is a certain satisfaction, or at least there was for me, in realising that I was at a point where I could draft in a clear, structured way. I could flesh out a legal argument, I could do the beginning, the middle and the conclusion. These all sound like really basic things, but I think there is a system to what we do in most legal submissions. It does take years of practice to get better at it, but it is worth the perseverance. It really does make you a better lawyer.

CBLJ: For all the China-related disputes that you’ve handled, what are the common denominators for them, if any, in the past year?

Dimsey: I would say it’s a very mixed bag. In my opinion there are two recurring elements from the past couple of years. The first is the procedural issues that came out of the pandemic, in the sense that a lot of cases were suspended. People tried to settle with renewed vigour because they were uncertain about where everything was going, and that is not specific to Asia.

In terms of the substance, there have been various mask-related disputes, supply and delay issues, pricing issues, quality issues.

I think generally we will be seeing a few payment default-related disputes, and we are seeing that already, also at the HKIAC. It has been a hard couple of years for quite a few industries and businesses. So people may be breaching their contracts, and issues like force majeure and related excuses from performance may come up.

My practice at the firm was more international and regional rather than specifically China-related, although we had several China-related disputes. However, we didn’t see any difference in the China-related disputes that would indicate that there was a different trend going on there than anywhere else in the world.

Here at the secretariat, we are seeing quite a few corporate disputes, many of them with a Chinese nexus. Our case load is good and our case numbers for 2022 have already surpassed our case numbers for 2021, so it has been a very good year for the HKIAC so far, and we hope it continues.

CBLJ: Is there a trend for these disputes? Are they all coming from certain major sectors?

Dimsey: We are seeing more technology-related disputes. The supply and distribution sector has always been active and continues to be active. Infrastructure and construction is also a major sector in Hong Kong, which we see reflected in the cases.

CBLJ: Last year, your Shanghai chief representative, Dr Yang Ling, mentioned that you are already seeing some crypto-related and virtual asset-related disputes. Are we seeing more of those this year?

Dimsey: We certainly are, we have quite a few disputes of that nature on our books at this very moment, and we do think this is a growing industry. This is one of the points that we will be talking about at the ADR in Asia Conference during Hong Kong Arbitration Week. Hong Kong, with its regulatory framework, is a hub for cryptocurrency disputes. That is certainly an area we are looking at more carefully.

CBLJ: From a regional perspective, there’s always competition between Singapore and Hong Kong, and the lastest survey from the Queen Mary University showed Hong Kong second behind Singapore in global arbitration, and in Asia as well. Do you have any plans to move Hong Kong up in to first place?

Dimsey: First place globally will be a big challenge, but I am happy to take it on and see what happens. But in terms of regional competition – yes, there is friendly competition between Singapore and Hong Kong.

Having said that, I think that competition is somewhat cyclical, and the past couple of years have been extraordinary in every sense of the word. Regardless of the fact that competition is healthy and leads to improvement, there are some very clear and unique selling points for Hong Kong with relation to China disputes.

The PRC-Hong Kong Interim Measures Arrangement, which came into force on 1 October 2019, is unique for Hong Kong within “one country, two systems”, in that parties to an arbitration seated in Hong Kong, administered by an approved institution, can seek onshore interim measures relief through a Chinese court on the mainland, including to attach assets, to preserve conduct, to freeze bank accounts of onshore respondents with assets in the mainland. So this is a real game changer for Hong Kong.

As far as I know, there are no plans to expand that benefit beyond the jurisdiction of Hong Kong. So I think Hong Kong will definitely have more China-related disputes because of that, and also for historical reasons and geographical reasons, as well as the unique experience that Hong Kong and the HKIAC have with both international and Chinese parties.

I do think regional arbitration institutions can coexist and prosper. I would like to see the HKIAC in the coming years get a bigger share of the regional disputes that don’t necessarily have a Chinese focus. In this region, there are more than enough disputes for everyone, and it would actually be desirable if Singapore and Hong Kong even collaborate on certain matters for mutual benefit.

Read more about Mariel Dimsey:


Dimsey and Ng in new roles at HKIAC

CMS partner Mariel Dimsey will take up the post of secretary-general at the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre in August while Eric Ng, who currently serves as HKIAC’s managing counsel, is being promoted to deputy secretary-general