乘风破浪

0
275
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

2月底接任香港国际仲裁中心秘书长的刘煦婷向王其其格解释,外界不必担心香港作为亚洲领先的争议解决中心的前景——2023年,这里的仲裁争议总额已然翻一番,达到创纪录的928亿港元。

香港和新加坡之间的比较司空见惯,在仲裁方面亦是如此。香港国际仲裁中心(下称“港仲”)新任秘书长刘煦婷上任一周后与《商法》对话,极力淡化零和博弈的概念,同时重申稳固香港作为争议解决中心的展望。

“其实我个人而言,始终认为亚洲有两个顶尖仲裁机构是令人称道的好事。”年仅35岁、在香港土生土长的刘煦婷说。这位年轻的仲裁专家曾于安理国际律师事务所执业超过十年。

“或许存在不同的声音和比较,但我坚信港仲将一以贯之为用户提供优质服务。”

香港与新加坡的竞争在某程度上而言具有周期性,在2015年之前,香港每年新增的仲裁案遥遥领先。直至近年,新加坡作为仲裁中心的声誉才逐步提升。2022年,港仲共受理344起仲裁案件。这不仅创下港仲14年新高,同时也与新加坡国际仲裁中心(下称“新仲”)的收案数旗鼓相当。迈入2023年第一季度,新仲受理332起仲裁案件,刷新首季度纪录。

根据最新数据,港仲在2023年受理的仲裁案件量为281起,较2022年下降近两成,然而,与此形成鲜明对比的是2023年案件的争议总金额达到破纪录的928亿港元,是前一年431亿港元的两倍之多。刘煦婷解释道,越来越多的当事人善于利用港仲规则所提供的程序武器来简化他们的仲裁程序,包括多合同下启动单个仲裁。刘煦婷进一步补充,“在2023 年港仲的仲裁案件中,有一半以上的案件涉及公司、商事以及建筑工程。这些特定领域中的争议以复杂且高额为特点,从而导致争议标的总额打破纪录”。

2023年港仲受理的仲裁案件中,近60%案件所涉合同为2020年或之后签订,港仲在新闻发布中称这一数据“再次印证用户持续认可港仲的独特优势及其卓越的案件管理服务”。

刘煦婷说,当事人来自超过60个司法管辖区。过去三年里,港仲近90%机构仲裁案件都是国际仲裁,即至少有一方当事人不来自香港。“这足以见得香港仍是一个非常受欢迎的仲裁地,”她说。

尽管很年轻,但刘煦婷对于自己有能力迎接新角色带来的挑战以及港仲的未来充满信心。她于2011年获得牛津大学的一级荣誉法律学位,后于香港大学取得法学专业证书;于2012年加入安理国际律师事务所深耕国际仲裁领域,并于2021年晋升为合伙人。

在私人执业期间,刘煦婷就与港仲关系密切。2020年至2022年,她于港仲下属青年组织HK45担任联合主席,同时也是港仲程序委员会委员。她认为,曾作为仲裁律师的从业经历为她提供了宝贵的经验,帮助她向仲裁机构服务提供者的角色转型。

“我曾作为一名仲裁代理律师,能够了解仲裁从业者以及用户对于仲裁机构的期望,比如说期待高效的服务以及高质的仲裁员委任。”

作为秘书长,她的职责主要分为案件管理与推广港仲作为仲裁机构的独特优势。刘煦婷期待与来自不同地区的仲裁专业人士进行交流,聆听他们的意见,不断提升香港的仲裁服务水平。

尽管存在挑战,但不置可否的是,香港得益于本土成熟且稳固的争议解决基础设施以及其与内地独特的两地司法协助安排,其中包括《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》(下称“《安排》”)的实施以及“一带一路”。

值得一提的是,自2019年10月《安排》正式实施以来,截至2023年底,港仲已处理了105项保全申请并获悉内地人民法院已裁定准许保全的金额达158亿人民币。

2021年,在由伦敦玛丽女王大学和伟凯律师事务所三年一度联合发布的《国际仲裁调查报告》中,香港仅次于伦敦和新加坡,成为全球第三受欢迎的仲裁地。

刘煦婷认为,保持香港的仲裁地位,最终取决于提高服务质量。“我说它好,并不意味着别人就会这样认为。我们仍需回到服务本身,”她说。

她认为,在选择仲裁地时,用户应考虑法院和仲裁机构的经验,以及律师的能力。“最重要的是关注与仲裁真正相关的内容,”她说。香港拥有一套全面且成熟的仲裁立法和程序,港仲下设的委任委员会与程序委员会委员由来自全球各地的资深律师组成,分别负责委任仲裁员和处理仲裁程序问题。

精通粤语与普通话的刘煦婷同时提到,香港仲裁业界的大量律师都精通两文三语,这在处理与内地相关的争议时是一大优势。

对于香港仲裁业界而言,眼下有两件大事需要完成。2018年,香港获得国际商事仲裁理事会大会(ICCA)的主办权。这场被刘煦婷称为仲裁界的“奥运会”将于今年5月5日至8日举办,其规模远超香港仲裁周。

她说,选择在香港举办ICCA Congress是对香港“在国际争议解决领域的崇高地位”的认可。“我们也希望香港与港仲继续在思想领导力(Though leadership)方面发挥重要作用,而ICCA无疑对此提供了重要机会。”

港仲对于不断变化的社会需求与技术革新作出回应,并于今年之初发布了对《港仲机构仲裁规则》(下称“《港仲仲裁规则》”)的修订意见稿。

加密货币等新兴行业的发展促使港仲在新的修订意见稿中纳入了信息安全内容。修订意见稿在第47条中增加了信息安全条款,以保护因仲裁而共享、存储和处理的信息。

“港仲一贯的案件管理风格是轻微管理(light touch),就是让当事人有空间去选择最适合他们的程序,但仍有一些方面,例如信息安全,我们认为有必要作出回应,”刘煦婷说。

其他修订内容还包括加强多合同下启动单个仲裁的机制、澄清仲裁庭解决初步问题的权力以及明确紧急仲裁员的权力。

刘煦婷说,修订的最终目的在于减少仲裁时间和成本,提高效率,使当事人更快取得仲裁结果。修订意见稿还鼓励提升仲裁庭组成多样性。

“我们希望鼓励大家在委任仲裁员时考虑多样性。这也是规则中的新内容,”她说。

2021年的《国际仲裁调查报告》显示,有32%的受访者希望仲裁庭能够由更多样的仲裁员组成。此次《港仲仲裁规则》的修订也鼓励提升仲裁庭的多样性,规定在行使任命仲裁员的权力时,多样性将作为一个考虑因素。

刘煦婷说,除了种族和年龄之外,性别多样性也被包括在内。她指出,女性在法律界担任高层职务的比例一直偏低,港仲对此一直有所关注。港仲于2018年成立 “仲裁女性俱乐部”(Women in Arbitration,WIA),目前WIA拥有 1260名会员遍布48个司法管辖区,至今已举办25场活动。

2023年,港仲指定女性仲裁员的比例为34%,该数据在2021年是27%。但香港仍有进步空间:2022年,新仲指定女性仲裁员的比例为46%。

“诚然,道阻且长,”刘煦婷说,“作为港仲第四名女性秘书长,我将持续为提升仲裁中的性别多样性贡献绵延之力。”

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Rising to the challenge

0
541
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Joanne Lau, who took over as secretary-general of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre in late February, explains why concerns over the city’s future as a leading Asian hub for alternative dispute resolution are misplaced, with the total amount under dispute more than doubling to a record USD11.9 billion in 2023. Caroline Wang reports

 

It seems Hong Kong is fated to be compared with regional peers like Singapore, and discussions about the state of arbitration are no exception.

Speaking to China Business Law Journal a week after taking over as secretary-general of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC), Joanne Lau was keen to play down such winner-takes-all comparisons, and to set out her plans to ensure Hong Kong’s future as a dispute resolution hub.

“I think it’s a very good thing that Asia has two top-notch arbitration institutions,” says the 35-year-old Hong Kong native, who joined the centre after more than a decade at Allen & Overy.

“There may be a lot of noise or comparisons, but I believe that HKIAC will consistently provide high-quality services to our users,” she says.

To a certain degree, the rivalry between Hong Kong and Singapore follows a cyclical pattern. Before 2015, Hong Kong held a significant lead in terms of annual new arbitrations. Singapore’s reputation as an arbitration centre has gained in recent years, with the Lion City attracting more cases and generally winning the public perceptions battle. Hong Kong’s critics say the city risks becoming sidelined as a bit player.

A respite came in 2022, when the HKIAC received 344 new cases. That was the highest number since 2009, and closed the gap with Singapore. But any notions that the Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) was losing steam were quickly snuffed out when it revealed it had already received a record 332 arbitration cases in the first three months of 2023.

The latest data by the HKIAC unveiled a decline of 20% in the total number of arbitration cases in 2023, with a recorded figure of 281 compared to 2022. In stark contrast, however, the total amount under dispute for the year more than doubled to a record HKD92.8 billion (USD11.9billion) from HKD43.1 billion a year earlier.

Lau explains that many parties are taking advantage of mechanisms afforded under the HKIAC’s rules to streamline their arbitration process, including by commencing a single arbitration under multiple contracts. She expands that “more than half of HKIAC’s 2023 caseload are corporate and commercial disputes and construction disputes. Many disputes in these sectors are complex and high value, contributing to a record-breaking total amount in dispute.”

According to the HKIAC, of the arbitration filings received in 2023, almost 60% arose from contracts signed in 2020 or later, “reaffirming that parties continue to recognise HKIAC’s unique strengths and outstanding case administration services”.

Parties from more than 60 jurisdictions used the centre in 2023, says Lau. Nearly 90% of new cases over the previous three years were international, involving at least one party not from Hong Kong.

“Hong Kong is still a very popular arbitration destination,” she says.

Although still young, Lau radiates confidence in her ability to rise to the challenges of her new role, as well as in the future of HKIAC.

She has obtained a first-class honours law degree from the University of Oxford and later a professional certificate in law from the University of Hong Kong. In 2012, she joined Allen & Overy, where she specialised in international arbitration and was promoted to partner in 2021.

While in private practice, Lau had close ties with HKIAC. From 2020 to 2022, she served as the co-chair of the centre’s young arbitration practitioners’ group, HK45, and was also a member of the Proceedings Committee. She says her experience as a practitioner gives her valuable insights that can be applied as she makes the transition to her role at an arbitration institution.

“From my previous role as an arbitration counsel, I can understand what an arbitration practitioner or user would expect from an arbitration institution, such as efficient services and high-quality appointment of arbitrators.”

As secretary-general, her primary responsibilities are case management and promoting the advantages and strengths of HKIAC as an arbitration institution. Lau says she hopes to engage with arbitration professionals from different regions, take on board their views, and continually enhance Hong Kong’s arbitration offering.

Even though there are challenges, on the positive side, Hong Kong has benefited from its robust infrastructure in dispute resolution and unique judicial arrangements with mainland China, the successful adoption of the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Assistance in Court-ordered Interim Measures in Aid of Arbitral Proceedings by the Courts of the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, and the Belt and Road Initiative.

Significantly, since the introduction of the Hong Kong-mainland China arrangement in October 2019 and as at the end of 2023, HKIAC had processed 105 applications and is aware of court orders preserving assets totalling RMB15.8bn (USD2.2billion).

Hong Kong was ranked as the third-most preferred arbitration destination globally after London and Singapore in the 2021 International Arbitration Survey, published every three years by Queen Mary University of London and White & Case.

Maintaining Hong Kong’s position ultimately depends on improving the quality of service, says Lau. “Just because I say it’s good doesn’t mean others will think it’s good,” she says. “We still need to go back to the most fundamental aspect of our service.”

When choosing an arbitration venue, clients should consider the experience of the courts and the arbitration institutions, as well as the competence level of lawyers, says Lau. “The most important thing is to focus on what is really relevant to arbitration,” she adds.

Hong Kong has a comprehensive and mature set of arbitration legislation and procedures, with HKIAC committees comprising experienced lawyers from different parts of the world and responsible for appointing arbitrators and handling arbitration procedure issues.

Many lawyers in Hong Kong’s arbitration community are proficient in both Chinese and English, which is a big advantage in handling disputes related to the mainland, says Lau, who is fluent in Cantonese and Mandarin.

Currently, there are two major events that need to be completed for the Hong Kong arbitration community. In 2018, Hong Kong won the right to host the International Commercial Arbitration Commission (ICCA) Congress, referred to by Lau as the Olympics of the arbitration community. This is much larger in scale than Hong Kong Arbitration Week and will be held from 5-8 May this year.

The selection of Hong Kong to host the ICCA Congress is a recognition of the jurisdiction’s “high position in international dispute resolution”, she says. “We also hope that Hong Kong and HKIAC will continue to play an important role in thought leadership, and the ICCA is a good opportunity to showcase thought leadership.”

Arbitration in Hong Kong has responded to shifting social demands and technological developments, releasing a draft of proposed amendments to the HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules earlier this year.

The development of emerging technology prompted the HKIAC to include information security content in the new amendments. The revised draft added an information security clause in article 47 to protect the information shared, stored and processed in an arbitration.

“The usual style of HKIAC’s case management is light touch, allowing parties to choose the most suitable procedures for them, but there are still some aspects, such as information security, that we see the need to respond to,” says Lau.

Other amendments include strengthening mechanisms for initiating a single arbitration under multiple contracts, clarifying the power of the arbitration tribunal to resolve preliminary issues, and defining the powers of emergency arbitrators.

Lau says that the amendments aim to reduce arbitration time and costs, improve efficiency and enable parties to obtain results faster. The draft amendments also include an effort to encourage diversity in the composition of tribunals.

“We hope to encourage everyone to consider diversity when appointing arbitrators. This is also new in the rules,” she says.

In the 2021 International Arbitration Survey, 32% of respondents said they hoped that arbitration tribunals could appoint more diverse arbitrators. The revision of the HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules also encourages diversity in arbitration tribunals, stating that diversity will be considered as a factor when exercising the power to appoint arbitrators.

Lau says that in addition to racial and age diversity, gender diversity is also included. She points out that the proportion of women in senior roles in the legal profession has always been low, and the HKIAC has always been focused on this. HKIAC founded Women in Arbitration (“WIA”) in 2018, and WIA now has 1,260 members from 48 jurisdictions, and has held 25 events to date.

In 2023, the proportion of cases in which female arbitrators were appointed in HKIAC was 34%, compared to 27% in 2021. Still, more progress is needed: that number was 46% in SIAC in 2022.

“Of course, there is still a lot of work to be done,” says Lau. “I am the fourth female Secretary-General and I will continue to work hard for gender diversity.”

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link