博钦关闭上海办事处,的近、欧华缩减面积

0
633
foreign law firm downsizing China
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

运营18年后,博钦律师事务所决定关闭上海办事处,在内地仅剩余北京办事处。这是继瑞生国际律师事务所、普洛思律师事务所、温斯顿律师事务所和艾金·岗波律师事务所之后,第五家关闭中国办公室的主要外资律所。

博钦中文官网显示,上海办事处共有八名律师,其中合伙人何思·麦克、万思捷、王颖莉和迈克·怀斯位于美国,合伙人陆筠是唯一一位常驻上海的合伙人。

“我们在此过渡期间为上海的律师和员工提供大力支持,并由衷地感谢他们对公司和客户的贡献,”博钦的发言人对《商法》说。关于上海办事处合伙人和律师的具体去向,该所并未作出回应。

2002年,博钦在北京开设了该所内地第一间办事处,此后在2006年成立上海办事处。该所在内地还拥有位于北京和深圳的知识产权公司,但官网信息显示该公司所有在职人员都位于北京。

博钦的发言人重申会继续投入中国市场:“中国拥有全球最具活力的科技和商业市场之一,适合已建立的企业、风险投资、初创公司和企业家。作为一家公司,我们对中国市场和客户始终保持承诺。”

此外,Law.com报道,全球营收最高的美资律所凯易律师事务所最近至少解雇九名香港资本市场律师。凯易没有证实消息,在一份声明中仅表示该所的亚洲资本市场团队目前拥有八名合伙人和30多名收费律师,依然是区域内规模最大的团队之一。

由于连续多家外资律所缩减中国业务,欧华律师事务所与的近律师行缩减香港办公室面积也引发外界猜测。

欧华于去年秋季退租了在香港中环交易广场一层楼,不过其发言人表示“我们没有裁员,也不打算裁员”。除了财政和市场下行的因素,发言人将该举措主要归因于新冠疫情后办公习惯的改变。目前欧华允许员工在一半的上班时间内采用灵活办公。将所有的员工集中到剩下的三层办公室,也有助于营造集体感。

的近则将要退租在香港中环历山大厦的一层楼,该所发言人称律所内正推广无纸化办公和灵活办公,缩减办公面积是为了提高空间使用率。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Foreign law firms continue to downsize China business

0
1027
foreign law firm downsizing China
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

After 18 years of operating in the mainland, Perkins Coie has decided to close its Shanghai office leaving only its Beijing branch standing, marking the fifth major foreign law firm to wind down in China, following Proskauer Rose, Latham & Watkins, Winston & Strawn and Akin.

Perkins Coie’s website shows the Shanghai office has eight lawyers, with partners Michael House, Geoffrey Vance, Wang Yingli and Michael Wise based in the US, and partner Louise Lu being the only partner based in Shanghai.

A spokesperson at Perkins Coie told China Business Law Journal: “We are providing significant support to our lawyers and staff in Shanghai during this transition and truly appreciate their commitment to the firm and our clients.”

The firm did not disclose the specific whereabouts of the partners and associates from the Shanghai office.

Perkins Coie opened its first mainland office in Beijing in 2002, followed by the Shanghai office in 2006. Although it has IP firms located in Beijing and Shenzhen, all staff are based in Beijing, as indicated on its website.

The spokesperson reiterated the firm’s continued commitment to the Chinese market: “China has one of the world’s most dynamic technology and business markets for established companies, venture capital, startups, and entrepreneurs and we remain committed as a firm to our China practice and clients.”

In a separate downturn, Kirkland & Ellis, the world’s highest-revenue US-based law firm, recently laid off at least nine Hong Kong capital markets lawyers, Law.com reported. Kirkland did not confirm the news, saying in a statement that the firm’s Asia capital markets team, which now has eight partners and more than 30 fee earners, remains one of the largest in the region.

DLA Piper and Deacons’ downsizing of its Hong Kong office has also sparked speculation as several foreign law firms in a row have scaled back their China operations.

DLA Piper relinquished a floor of its office in Hong Kong’s Exchange Square last autumn, citing changes in office habits following the pandemic as the primary reason. The firm emphasised, “We have not made any layoffs in Hong Kong, nor do we plan to do so”, and the move was driven by the implementation of flexible working policies and the creation of a more collaborative environment by condensing staff into three floors.

Similarly, Deacons has decided to sublet one floor of its Alexandra House in Central, Hong Kong. The firm’s decision to reduce office space stems from the need to optimise space utilisation, promote e-filing and a paperless work environment, cut back library space through e-publications, enhance collaboration among practice groups, and embrace a more flexible work style in the aftermath of the pandemic.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link