高校及下属学院领导干部在拟IPO企业持股问题

作者: 张明、张利秀,国枫律师事务所
0
40

甲公司拟申请在科创板上市,其第一大股东及实际控制人张三系西部某部属大学下属东方学院院长,而西部大学是教育部直属高校。那么张三是否具备法律、法规和规范性文件规定的股东资格?

张明, Zhang Ming, Partner, Grandway Law Offices
张明
合伙人
国枫律师事务所

法律分析

对外投资持股原因

根据《促进科技成果转化法》及相关规定,除“国务院部门、单位和各地方所属研究开发机构、高等院校等事业单位(不含内设机构)正职领导,以及上述事业单位所属具有独立法人资格单位的正职领导”外,担任其他领导职务的科技人员可以按照规定获得股份或出资比例等奖励或报酬。

鉴于高等院校内设机构的正职领导并非法律明确规定“不得获得股权激励”的人员,如经核查,张三持股符合科技成果转化规定的情形,则张三作为甲公司股东具有合法性。

因此,在符合特定条件的前提下,满足科技成果转化条件的高校非正职领导或下属学院领导人员可以作为拟IPO企业股东。

高等院校的性质

根据《关于严禁党政机关和党政干部经商、办企业的决定》等相关法律、党内法规及规范性文件,党政机关及所属编制序列的事业单位的乡(含乡)以上领导干部不得对外投资持股;根据中共教育部党组印发的《直属高校党员领导干部廉洁自律“十不准”》,教育部直属高校党员领导干部不得经商、办企业。

鉴于西部大学系教育部直属高校,则毋庸置疑,其党员领导干部不得对外投资持股;如所涉高校系其他中央部门直属高等院校或地方高校,其党员领导干部能否对外投资持股尚未有定论,已上市公司中亦不乏以股东任职高校并非教育部直属来论证论证其持股合法合规的案例。

因此,如所涉人员任领导干部的高校系教育部直属高校,其持有拟IPO企业股份可能存在障碍;反之,前述人员可否作为拟IPO企业股东尚无定论,建议结合其持股原因、比例、所任职务等情况综合论证,同时核查该高校主管部门对此有无限制性规定、是否参照适用教育部直属高校规定等,就所涉人员持股合规性取得主管部门确认。

张利秀, Zhang Lixiu, Associate, Grandway Law Offices
张利秀
律师
国枫律师事务所

所任领导职务的行政级别

根据教育部办公厅相关规定,党政领导干部包括部机关、直属单位及其内设机构、直属高校及其院系等副处级以上干部,即教育部直属高校及其院系等副处级以上干部不得对外投资持股,对其他高校教师对外投资持股并无限制。

基于此,西部大学对张三的行政级别认定亦对其持股合规性至关重要,即高校对其领导干部的行政级别认定在一定程度上能够用于论证股东持股合规性。但应当注意,高校就所涉人员领导职务的行政级别的认定应符合事实,已上市公司中亦存在监管部门不认可高校所作确认的案例。

因此,如所涉人员未担任行政职务或虽有行政职务但不属于党政领导干部的,则其持股不违反规定;否则,需要根据法律、党内法规、规范性文件及主管部门要求进行规范和清理。

对外投资持股的形成时间

相关法律、党内法规及规范性文件未明确对高校除党员领导干部以外的其他领导人员或普通教师对外投资持股作出限制,如张三对甲公司持股形成于其任院长前,能否用于论证其持股合法合规?

根据《关于进一步规范党政领导干部在企业兼职(任职)问题的意见》及其答复,党政领导干部经商办企业、从事个体经营活动和有偿中介活动,需要进行规范和清理。未列入参照公务员法管理的事业单位及其内设机构的领导人员参照执行,具体由主管部门及高校执行。

因此,高校及其下属学院领导人员在任领导职务前的对外投资行为需要按照高校及其主管部门要求进行规范和清理。

结论

因此,张三作为教育部直属高校二级学院的院长,系高校的党员领导干部,且其甲公司持股并非科技成果转化,故张三作为甲公司股东可能存在障碍。综上所述,就高校及下属学院领导人员作为拟IPO企业股东的合规与否,主要涉及到持股形成原因、所任职务的行政级别及高校性质等问题,建议综合考虑前述因素作出论证。

国枫律师事务所合伙人张明、律师张利秀

黄玲 杜开颜 国枫律师事务所 资产收购国枫律师事务所
北京市东城区建国门内大街26号
新闻大厦7层 邮编:100005
电话: +86 10 8800 4488 / 6609 0088
传真: +86 10 6609 0016
电子信箱:

zhangming@grandwaylaw.com
zhanglixiu@grandwaylaw.com

www.grandwaylaw.com

Leading academic cadres holding shares in enterprises proposed for IPO

By Zhang Ming and Zhang Lixiu, Grandway Law Offices
0
81

Company A intends to apply for a listing on the Star Market, while its largest shareholder and actual controller, Zhang San, is the dean of the Oriental College of a western university directly under the Ministry of Education. So, does Zhang San have the qualifications to be a shareholder under the laws, regulations and normative documents?

张明, Zhang Ming, Partner, Grandway Law Offices
Zhang Ming
Partner
Grandway Law Offices

Legal analysis

Reasons for the formation of the shareholding

According to the Law on Promoting the Transformation of Scientific and Technological Achievements and related regulations, except for “chiefs of departments and units of the State Council and local research and development institutions, colleges and universities and other public sector organisations (excluding internal divisions), as well as chiefs of units with independent legal personality under the above institutions”, scientific and technological personnel holding other leading positions can have shares, capital contributions and other incentives or compensation.

Given that the law does not clearly stipulate that chiefs of internal divisions of colleges and universities are the personnel who “shall not have equity incentive”, if it is verified that Zhang’s shareholding is in accordance with the regulations on the transformation of scientific and technological achievements, then Zhang is a legitimate shareholder of Company A.

Therefore, subject to relevant specific conditions, non-chief leaders of universities or leaders of subordinate colleges who meet the conditions of the transformation of scientific and technological achievements can be shareholders of the proposed IPO enterprise.

The nature of colleges and universities

According to the Decision on Strictly Prohibiting Party and Government Organs and Party and Government Cadres from Doing Business and Running Enterprises and other relevant laws, party regulations and normative documents, leading cadres of the party and government organs and their affiliated establishments at or above the town level are not allowed to invest or hold shares. According to the Ten Nos for Leading Party Members and Cadres of Directly Affiliated Colleges and Universities to Exercise Integrity and Self-discipline issued by the leading party group of the Ministry of Education, leading cadres of colleges and universities directly under the ministry are not allowed to do business or run enterprises.

Given that this western university is directly under the ministry, party leaders and cadres cannot invest or hold shares. If the university is directly under other central departments, or is a local education institution, it is not determined whether their party leaders and cadres can invest and hold shares. There are also many cases in which listed companies have argued that the holdings of their shareholders are legal and compliant on the basis that the institutions they work for are not directly under the ministry.

Therefore, if the person is a leading cadre of a university directly under the Ministry of Education, there may be obstacles to holding shares of the proposed IPO enterprise; on the contrary, there is no definite conclusion on whether this person can be a shareholder of the proposed IPO enterprise. Thus, companies should take into account the reasons for his shareholding, the proportion and the position he holds, and check whether the competent department of the university has any restrictive regulations on this and whether the regulations on the universities directly under the ministry are applicable mutatis mutandis. It is recommended to obtain confirmation from the competent authorities on the compliance of the shareholding of the personnel involved.

张利秀, Zhang Lixiu, Associate, Grandway Law Offices
Zhang Lixiu
Associate
Grandway Law Offices

Administrative level of leadership positions held

Under the regulations of the general office of the Ministry of Education, leading party and government cadres – including those above the deputy county level of universities directly under the ministry and their faculties – are not allowed to invest or hold shares, but there is no restriction for university teachers to hold shares as an investment.

Based on this, the determination of the administrative level of Zhang by this western university is also crucial to the compliance of his shareholding, i.e. to a certain extent the determination of the administrative level of its leading cadres by colleges and universities can be used to argue the compliance of the shareholding by such cadres. However, it should be noted that the determination of the administrative level by colleges and universities of the personnel involved should be in line with the facts, and there are cases in which authorities do not recognise the position confirmation made by colleges and universities in listed companies.

Therefore, if the personnel involved do not hold administrative positions or if they have administrative positions but are not leaders of the party and government, their shareholdings do not violate the regulations; otherwise, they need to be regulated according to laws, party regulations, normative documents and the requirements of competent departments.

The time of the investment and shareholding

The relevant laws, party regulations and normative documents do not explicitly restrict the investment or shareholding of top personnel or teachers in colleges and universities other than leading party cadres. If Zhang’s shareholding in Company A was formed before he became the dean, can it be used to argue that his shareholding is legal and compliant?

According to the Opinions on Further Regulating the Issue of Party and Government Leading Cadres’ Part-time Positions (Postings) in Enterprises and its reply, activities like running businesses, engaging in individual business activities and being paid intermediaries need to be regulated. The leading cadres of public sector organisations and its internal organisations, which are not under management according to Civil Servant Law, shall be subject to the above provisions. The competent departments and colleges and universities will implement rules specifically.

Therefore, the investment behaviours of the leading personnel of universities and their subordinate colleges need to be regulated according to the requirements of universities and the competent departments.

Conclusion

Therefore, Zhang, as the dean of the second-level college of a university directly under the Ministry of Education, is a leading party cadre and his shareholding in Company A is not the transformation of scientific and technological achievements. Thus, there may be obstacles for Zhang to be the shareholder of Company A. To sum up, it mainly involves the reasons for the formation of shareholding, the administrative level of the positions held and the nature of universities, etc. to decide whether the shareholdings of the leaders of universities and subordinate colleges of the proposed IPO enterprise is compliant or not. It is suggested to make arguments considering the aforementioned factors.

Zhang Ming is a partner and Zhang Lixiu is an associate at Grandway Law Offices

Huang Ling Du Kaiyan Grandway Law Offices asset acquisitionGrandway Law Offices
7/F, Beijing News Plaza
No. 26 Jianguomennei Dajie
Beijing 100005, China
Tel: +86 10 8800 4488 / 6609 0088
Fax: +86 10 6609 0016
E-mail:

zhangming@grandwaylaw.com

zhanglixiu@grandwaylaw.com

www.grandwaylaw.com