地方税收优惠背后的用工主体转签问题

作者: 王雯旭,赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所
0
52

不少企业为追逐税收优惠政策而举家搬迁,但员工是否需要与异地新实体重新签立合同?挂靠当地的社保如何处置?这些问题值得企业重点关注

全球化时代下,税收体制、劳动力成本、法律法规政策等,是国与国之间营商环境角力的重要战场。近些年,国家及地方政府纷纷推出针对不同类型企业的、不同程度的税收优惠政策,增强区位优势、促进产业集群效应。一些地区为刺激当地经济优质、快速发展而制定的一系列政策,尤其是针对某些特定行业或企业制定的税收优惠政策,颇为可观。不少政策针对“新设主体”“总部经济”,用实打实的现金返还或奖励吸引优质企业入驻。

在企业税收筹划起心动念之时,可能只是一笔诱人的数字账。但要让数字走出计算器,变成经营常态和管理常态,更需要谨慎的规划和务实的落地。尤其是当税收筹划伴随新法人主体成立时,不仅影响企业未来的运营,更影响现有员工对公司未来前景的信心,也在很大程度上可能触碰员工的个人核心利益。

什么情况下税收筹划会涉及员工的个人利益?企业决策者应主要要关注税收优惠政策要求里的两个核心问题:

  • 对外业务经营时会涉及多大的变化?
  • 是否涉及员工的变化?
Wang Wenxu, Labours
王雯旭
合伙人
赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所
电话: +86 135 2268 5822
电子信箱: wangwenxu@laibei.com

近几年,本司帮助不少客户顺利进行了因税收筹划引发的组织变革和员工的劳动关系调整。我们观察到,企业一般会按照政策在当地设立新的法人主体,根据当地政策的要求,有一定营业收入。对于与新法人主体建立劳动关系的员工,其工资和个税由该主体发放和代缴。这背后所引发的劳动关系和法律问题并不简单,原因大致总结如下:

员工对于是否与新主体签订劳动合同,有一票否决权。当新设立的法人主体需要有一定量的员工与之建立劳动合同时,如果考虑将一部分现有员工转移的话,属于劳动合同的变更情形。按照《劳动合同法》第35条的规定,用人单位与劳动者协商一致,才可以变更劳动合同约定的内容。

也就是说员工若不同意转签劳动合同,企业不得强行单方转移。当涉及到大量的员工不同意转签时,将对团队和正常经营产生负面影响。

员工社保和个税的转移,影响个人核心利益。除了劳动合同主体的转移,往往税优政策还涉及个税与社保随之迁入新主体。一旦发生跨城市转移,就会影响员工的切身利益。

对于员工而言,由于国家施行个税和社保地方统筹,所以很多待遇是有归属地的。比如,如果员工想在某地退休,员工需要在当地缴纳满一定年限的养老保险;比如落户买车买房,也需要持有一定年限的当地纳税和社保缴纳证明作为基础。

当个税缴纳和社保缴纳的城市更换时,具体利益和待遇享受都将受到影响,这就势必会影响员工转签劳动合同的意愿。

异地缴纳社保的政策性性质,挂靠的时代即将终结。在决策时,企业要熟知员工所在地的各地方性政策。尤其是当员工工作的地理位置A地不变(劳动合同履行地),但劳动合同签订的主体根据税优政策,需要签往另外一个城市B地时,企业需要决策:究竟应当把员工的社保放在A还是B?这一方面取决于税收优惠政策的硬性要求,另一方面更需了解社保异地缴纳的政策趋势。

以北京为例,以前如果一个企业在北京没有法人主体,但员工又在北京工作,此时如果员工希望在北京缴纳社保的话,公司有两种解决途径:一种是找代理机构,通过“挂靠”
(以代理机构员工的名义)来实现在北京缴纳社保;第二种就是在北京成立一个分公司。

但2020年7月,北京通过严查社保代理机构,率先叫停了社保异地挂靠行为,且不仅北京,随后陆续有杭州、呼和浩特也纷纷跟进,且有逐步扩大趋势。

员工对于职业安全感的担忧。除了上述与法律及个人切实利益相关的问题外,这种不确定性还会引发员工的一系列猜想和担忧,比如这是一个业务上的战略决定,还是出于财务考量?公司未来会不会有更大的调整计划?对工作本身有什么影响?

那么,企业管理者应如何面对这些问题和挑战?最简单的答案莫过于做好法理和情理的沟通。通过有效、坦诚的交流,帮助员工正确看待调整之举,建立经营的危机意识,既需要有战略高度,同时又不能回避员工的核心关注利益。


王雯旭是赉擘斯劳动咨询事务所的合伙人。她的联系方式是电话+86 135 2268 5822以及电邮wangwenxu@laibei.com

Labours LogoLabours
北京市海淀区北太平庄路18号
城建大厦A630 邮编 100088

电话: +86 10 8225 5618
传真: +86 10 6641 5678/6641 3211
邮箱:

marketing@laibei.com
www.laibei.com

Labour contract issues when seeking local tax preferences

By Wang Wenxu, Labours
0
64

Alluring tax advantages in other cities may make a company move look attractive, but beware the pitfalls

When pursuing advantageous local tax preferences in another city, Chinese companies may be eager to relocate. But the matter is far from simple where employees are concerned. What happens to their existing contracts or their “geo-locked” social insurance? How these concerns are addressed can make or break company morale.

In the era of globalisation, taxation, labour costs, laws, regulations and policies are the new battlefields among both nations and corporations striving for the most attractive business climate.

Wang Wenxu, Labours
Wang Wenxu
Partner
Beijing Labour Consulting
Tel: +86 135 2268 5822
E-mail: wangwenxu@laibei.com

In recent years, state and local governments have introduced numerous tax preference policies targeting a variety of enterprises with the aim of enhancing regional strengths and promoting industrial clusters.

Some local governments have formulated a series of policies to stimulate high-quality and rapid development of the local economy, particularly tax incentives benefitting specific industries or enterprises, which can be substantial. Many such policies are aimed at “newly established entities” or the “headquarter economy”, using bounteous cash incentives and other rewards to attract prominent enterprises.

While plans for these policies might manifest as alluring numbers on the accounting books, turning them into real funds and sustaining daily business operations and management requires careful planning and pragmatic implementation. It should be noted that if tax planning is done synchronously with the establishment of a new legal entity, the changes will test not only the company’s future operations, but also the faith of existing employees. Most notably, they may in no small way affect the staff’s core personal interests.

Under what circumstances will tax planning involve the personal interests of the employees? Decision makers are advised to ask the following questions when examining the requirements of tax preference policies:

  • How significant are the changes for external business operations?
  • Do these changes involve the employees?

In recent years, the author’s firm has helped many clients navigate organisational reforms and staff-related labour relation adjustments resulting from tax planning. From observation, companies generally set up new legal entities local to the policy, and generate operating revenue as required by the local policy.

In such cases, the new entities become responsible for paying employee salaries, and withholding and remitting their personal income taxes. However, the labour relations and legal issues involved in such an arrangement may be deceptively complex. Here’s why.

Employees have veto rights over whether to sign a labour contract with the new entity. When seeking to sign a certain number of employees for labour contracts, any plan to transfer some existing employees to the new entity falls under the circumstance of labour contract alteration. According to article 35 of the Labour Contract Law, the content of a labour contract can only be altered by consensus between employer and employee.

In other words, if an employee does not agree, the company cannot forcibly implement the unilateral transfer. If a large number of employees refuse to transfer, it will negatively affect the team and its normal operations.

Transfer of social insurance and personal income taxes strikes too close to home. To meet requirements of tax preference policies, in addition to the labour contracts, employees’ social insurance and personal income tax accounts must also be transferred to the new entity. If they are to be moved to another city, employees’ core interests will be affected.

As social insurance and personal income taxes are regulated by local authorities, many employee benefits are locked to their geographical location. For example, if an employee wishes to retire in a certain place, he/she is required to have recorded a certain number of years of local pension payment. If an employee wishes to obtain local hukou, China’s household registration, which makes it easier to later purchase a car or a house, it would also be based on his/her payment of local personal income tax and social insurance over a certain number of years.

So, when the city relevant to personal income tax and social insurance payment changes, the specifics of benefits and preferential treatments are also affected, inevitably cooling employees’ willingness to transfer their labour contract.

Paying social insurance remotely through agencies is coming to an end, according to policy trend. Before making decisions, companies should familiarise themselves with the local policies where employees are based. For instance, if an employee remains in city A, where the labour contract is performed, but the company needs to migrate to city B to accommodate tax preference policy, the company needs to decide whether to pay the employee’s social insurance in city A or B. This would depend on both requirements of the tax preference policy itself and the policy trend of paying social insurance remotely.

Take, for example, a company with no legal entity in Beijing, but that has employees working there, wishing to pay social insurance for its employees under Beijing’s local policy. In order to do so, in the past, the company had two options:

    1. Entrust an agency to pay their social insurance in Beijing under the name of the agency’s own employees; and
    2. Establish a branch in Beijing.

However, in July 2020, Beijing took the lead in halting the practice of paying social insurance remotely with a crackdown on social insurance agencies, followed by Hangzhou, Hohhot and a growing number of regions across the nation.

Uncertain job security. In addition to issues related to legal and personal interests, uncertainties in the situation will also lead to speculation and concern among employees. Is this a strategic business decision or one of financial consideration? Is the company planning even more drastic future changes, and how will that affect their own duties?

How then should corporate executives address these issues and challenges? The simplest answer lies in sound communication, legally, rationally and emotionally. Through effective and candid conversation, companies can direct employees’ views to the adjustment while building up a sense of crisis in operation, which requires both a strategic, higher-ground standpoint, and also the wisdom to not dismiss employees’ earnest concerns.


Wang Wenxu is a partner at Labours. She can be contacted on +86 135 2268 5822 or by email at wangwenxu@laibei.com

Labours LogoLabours
Room 630, Tower A, Chengjian Plaza
No.18, North Taipingzhuang Road
Beijing 100088, China

Tel: +86 10 8225 5618
Fax: +86 10 6641 5678/6641 3211
E-mail:

marketing@laibei.com
www.laibei.com