医疗科技业监管一览:日本

    作者: Kengo Nishigaki,Andrew Trost Griffin和Yuji Yamamoto,东京GI&T法律事务所
    0
    283
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    中国

    印度

    作者基于多次参与日本药品和医疗器械制造商欺诈调查案获取的第一手经验,介绍日本医疗企业经常出现的法律问题,并就开展此类敏感调查提出预防性建议。

    调查注意事项

    调查公司的电子邮件不需要获得员工同意。在日本,欺诈调查内容通常包括员工的电子邮件和其他司法鉴定调查。如企业有合理怀疑,并据此展开欺诈调查,其调查小组可在未经员工同意的情况下访问公司的电子邮件帐户或存储在电子媒介(如公司借出的电脑和手机)中的其他信息。

    Kengo Nishigaki
    Kengo Nishigaki
    代表合伙人
    东京GI&T法律事务所
    电话: +81 3 6206 3285
    电子邮件: kengo.nishigaki@giandt-law.com

    但是,要访问员工个人所有的电子媒介和员工的个人电子邮件,必须获得员工的同意。

    律师—委托人特权。由于日本诉讼中没有庭前开示制度——各方就法庭上出示的证据交换信息,因此并不存在律师—委托人特权这一概念。律师—委托人特权是指一种保护律师和委托人之间保密通信的法律原则。然而,如果在一家美国公司的日本子公司调查贿赂案件,在美国适用《反海外腐败法》将是一个问题,因此,日本的欺诈调查结果不得违反美国法律规定的律师—委托人特权。

    为保障律师—委托人特权,最近几年,在与美国公司的日本子公司员工面谈时,通常会发出“厄普约翰警告”( Upjohn warning),表明律师代表公司而非员工个人。由于律师—委托人保密特权在日本是一个陌生的概念,因此,有必要以简单易懂的方式向所有相关方解释这个问题,且不引起不必要的警惕。

    员工难解雇。由于日本的劳动法是以长期雇佣为前提的,在司法判例中,员工遭解雇的案例非常有限。因此,即使调查发现欧洲或美国公司的日本子公司的员工有一定程度的欺诈行为,根据日本法律,通常也很难解雇该员工。

    在许多情况下,轻微违反《药品和医疗器械法》和行业规则并不构成解雇的理由。在这种情况下,需要根据雇佣规则采取纪律处分,包括解雇或降级。

    超说明书使用推广

    《药品和医疗器械法》对超说明书使用推广作了规定。对夸大其词的广告或者未经依法批准的产品功效广告,责令撤销违法广告,并按违法期间产品销售额的4.5%征收罚款。

    Andrew Trost Griffin
    Andrew Trost Griffin
    顾问
    东京GI&T法律事务所
    电话: +81 3 6206 3283
    电子邮件: andrew.griffin@giandt-law.com

    过去,对超说明书使用推广的限制相对宽松。2013年,诺华公司在日本的五所大学医院对降压药物代文(Diovan)进行了一项由医生主导的大规模研究,派出自己的员工作为研究人员。研究人员被指控伪造数据并发表有利于诺华公司的研究论文,声称该药物不仅对高血压有效,还对心血管并发症有效。基于此,据报道,代文自2000年在日本上市以来,累计销售总额达1万亿日元。

    该案件发展成为刑事案件,但在2021年,日本最高法院裁定,员工和诺华公司篡改数据的罪名不成立,研究论文不属于《药品和医疗器械法》下的广告范畴。

    针对这一事件,厚生劳动省开始收紧对超说明书使用推广的监管,并通过修订《药品和医疗器械法》(2021年8月1日实施)引入了上述罚款制度,发布了《处方药销售信息提供指南》,并建立了防止制药公司开展超说明书使用推广的制度。

    厚生劳动省还建立了一个系统,通过启动广告活动监测项目,从医疗机构获取关于制药公司可疑广告活动的信息。

    决定一个产品是否属于超说明书使用推广,需要看广告活动是否属于监管审批范围之外,但这需要医学和科学的考虑,而监管审批本身的内容往往不明确。

    此外, 《处方药销售信息提供指南》不禁止销售代表应医疗专业人员的要求提供超说明书使用信息,但禁止主动提供该信息。因此,可能需要调查医疗专业人员是否要求提供该信息。

    数据保护

    日本已获得欧盟《通用数据保护条例》下的充分性认定,这意味着日本在欧盟以外拥有足够的数据保护水平,并根据日本的《个人信息保护法》严格保护个人信息。

    Yuji Yamamoto
    Yuji Yamamoto
    律师
    东京GI&T法律事务所
    电话: +81 3 6206 3927
    电子邮件: yuji.yamamoto@giandt-law.com

    患者信息被视为敏感的个人信息,其获取和向第三方提供均受到严格监管。医疗公司可接收患者数据,用于医疗卫生机构的临床试验、临床研究和服务。正如《个人信息保护法》所公布的,基于数据主体的同意而获取和向第三方提供个人数据的做法相对被广泛接受。

    不同于欧盟《通用数据保护条例》,日本《个人信息保护法》下的同意不限于明示同意,还包括默示同意。然而,当医疗公司出于推广目的从医疗机构获得患者的个人信息时,患者不太可能“默示同意”提供其信息用于推广。

    如果医疗机构或医疗公司未获得明示同意,获取或传输此类信息很可能违反《个人信息保护法》。因此,医疗公司在出于商业目的进行上市后监测时应谨慎行事。

    另一方面,《个人信息保护法》2022年最新修订案承认了假名化信息的概念,假名化是一种处理个人信息的方式,个人的标识被全部或部分替换,如无其他信息核对,无法识别该主体。这为医疗机构从患者的个人信息中删除患者的个人身份标识,然后与医疗公司共同使用这些信息进行合作研究铺平了道路。

    然而,应该注意的是,这可能与政府发布的涉及人类受试者的医学和生物学研究的伦理准则相冲突。

    反托拉斯法

    日本的反托拉斯法与欧盟、英国和美国的相似,主要监管纵向限制(包括维持转售价格和搭售)和横向限制(包括卡特尔)。由于医疗卫生行业制造和销售高度独特的处方药和医疗器械,除2021年发现一起涉及药品批发贸易的大规模卡特尔案以外,横向限制案例很少。

    关于纵向限制,为了防止维持转售价格,药品和医疗器械生产企业进行了内部培训,以确保销售代表不参与针对批发商的维持转售价格行动。尤其应该注意的是,制药公司支付给批发商的回扣可能被用作维持转售价格的手段。

    医疗器械生产企业在销售医疗器械和耗材时,通过耗材的持续销售获取利润是常见商业模式。因此,当医疗设备以明显较低的价格出售时,就出现了掠夺性定价的问题。此外,以低于公平市价的价格提供设备和医疗器械也可能违反《公平竞争法》。

    作者曾在《亚洲商法》2022年9/10月期撰文解释日本医疗卫生行业的反贿赂法律和行业规范 。

    GI&T LAW OFFICE
    8/F Shin-Yurakucho Building
    1-12-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo – 100-0006, Japan
    电话: +81 3 6206 3283

    www.giandt-law.com/english

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

A comparison of healthtech regulations: Japan

    By Kengo Nishigaki, Andrew Trost Griffin and Yuji Yamamoto, GI&T Law Office
    0
    595
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    CHINA

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    From first-hand experience of fraud investigations for pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers operating in Japan, the authors highlight legal issues specific to healthcare companies that often arise, with precautionary advice for conducting such sensitive enquiries.

    INVESTIGATION PRECAUTIONS

    Investigating company emails does not require employee consent. Conducting fraud investigations in Japan often includes employees’ emails and other forensic investigations. If the fraud investigation is justifiable based on reasonable suspicion, the company’s investigation team will access the company’s email account or other information stored in electronic media, such as computers and mobile phones lent by the company, without consent from the employees.

    However, consent is necessary to access electronic media owned by the employee and the employee’s personal email.

    Kengo Nishigaki
    Kengo Nishigaki
    Representative Partner
    GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6206 3285
    Email: kengo.nishigaki@giandt-law.com

    Attorney-client privilege. Since there is no pre-trial discovery system in Japanese litigation, where parties exchange information on evidence to be presented in court, the concept of attorney-client privilege does not exist. Attorney-client privilege refers to a legal doctrine that protects confidential communications between an attorney and their client. However, in the event of a bribery case investigated at a Japanese subsidiary of an American company, application of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act will be a problem in the US, so the results of fraud investigations in Japan will be subject to attorney-client privilege under US law.

    To secure attorney-client privilege, it has become common in recent years for an “Upjohn warning” – a notice that the lawyer represents the company but not the employee individually – to be issued when interviewing employees of a Japanese subsidiary of a US company. In this case, it is necessary to explain the unfamiliar matter of the attribution of attorney-client confidentiality privilege in a simple and easy to understand manner to all involved parties, without arousing unnecessary caution.

    Difficulty in dismissing employees. Since Japan’s labour law is based on the premise of long-term employment, there are very limited cases in which dismissal can be made under judicial precedent. Therefore, even if an investigation finds that an employee of a Japanese subsidiary of a European or US company has committed a certain amount of fraud, it is often difficult to dismiss the employee under Japanese law.

    In many cases, minor violations of the Pharmaceutical and Medical Device Act and industry rules do not constitute grounds for dismissal. In such cases, it is necessary to respond by taking disciplinary action, including dismissal or demotion, in accordance with the employment rules.

    OFF-LABEL PROMOTIONS

    Off-label promotions are regulated under the Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Law. In the event of an exaggerated advertisement, or advertisement of the product’s efficacy and effects that have not been approved under the law, the violator shall be ordered to rescind the illegal advertisement and also pay a 4.5% levy on sales of the product during the violation period.

    Andrew Trost Griffin
    Andrew Trost Griffin
    Counsel
    GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6206 3283
    Email: andrew.griffin@giandt-law.com

    Restrictions on off-label promotion have been relatively lenient in the past. In 2013, Novartis conducted a large-scale doctor-led study in Japan on the blood pressure lowering drug Diovan at five university hospitals and sent its own employee as researcher, who was accused of falsifying data and publishing research papers in favour of the company claiming the drug was effective not only for hypertension but also cardiovascular complications. Based on this, Diovan reportedly recorded a total of JPY1 trillion in accumulative sales since it was made available in Japan in 2000.

    The case developed into a criminal case, but in 2021 the Supreme Court of Japan ruled that the employees and Novartis were not guilty of tampering with data, and the research paper did not fall under the category of advertisement under the Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Law.

    In response to this incident, the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare began to tighten off-label promotion regulations and introduced the above-mentioned levy system by amending the Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Act (enforced on 1 August 2021), and issued the Guidelines for Provision of Sales Information on Prescription Drugs (Guidelines for Provision of Sales Information), as well as establishing a system to prevent off-label promotion by pharmaceutical companies.

    The ministry also established a system to obtain information on suspicious advertising activities by pharmaceutical companies from medical institutions by launching the Advertising Activity Monitoring Project.

    To decide whether a product falls under the category of off-label or not, it is necessary to see if the advertising activity falls outside the scope of regulatory approval, but this requires medical and scientific consideration, and the content of regulatory approval itself is often unclear.

    In addition, the Guidelines for Provision of Sales Information do not prohibit sales representatives from providing off-label information at the request of medical professionals, but prohibit the unsolicited provision of information. Therefore, it may be necessary to investigate whether there was a request for information from medical professionals.

    DATA PROTECTION

    Japan has received an adequacy decision under the EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which means the country has an adequate level of data protection outside the EU, and strictly protects personal information based on the country’s Act on the Protection of Personal Information (APPI).

    Yuji Yamamoto
    Yuji Yamamoto
    Associate
    GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6206 3927
    Email: yuji.yamamoto@giandt-law.com

    Patient information is regarded as sensitive personal information, and its acquisition and provision to third parties are strictly regulated. Healthcare companies may receive patient data for clinical trials, clinical studies and services to healthcare institutions. As promulgated in the APPI, the acquisition and provision of personal data to a third party based on the consent of the data subject are relatively widely accepted.

    Unlike the GDPR, consent in the APPI is not limited to explicit consent but also includes implicit consent. However, when a healthcare company obtains a patient’s personal information from a medical institution for promotional purposes, it is unlikely that the patient will “implicitly consent” to provide their information for promotional purposes.

    Therefore, if a medical institution or healthcare company has not obtained explicit consent, the acquisition or transfer of such information is likely to violate the APPI. Healthcare companies should therefore exercise caution when conducting post-marketing surveillance for commercial purposes.

    On the other hand, the latest amendment of the APPI, in 2022, recognises the concept of pseudonymised information, which means information relating to a particular individual that has been processed by replacing all or part of the identifiers in such a manner that the individual is no longer identifiable unless it is collated with other information. This paved the way for medical institutions to remove patients’ personally identifiable information from their personal information, and then jointly use it for collaborative research with healthcare companies.

    However, it should be noted that this may conflict with ethical guidelines for medical and biological research involving human subjects issued by the government.

    ANTITRUST LAW

    Japan’s antitrust laws, similar to the EU, UK and US, broadly regulate vertical restrictions (including resale price maintenance and tying) and horizontal restrictions (including cartels). Since the healthcare industry manufactures and sells highly unique prescription drugs and medical devices, there are few cases where horizontal restrictions become a problem, although a large-scale cartel was uncovered in 2021 regarding the wholesale trade of pharmaceuticals.

    With regard to vertical restrictions, to prevent resale price maintenance, pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers have conducted in-house training to ensure that sales representatives do not engage in resale price maintenance actions against wholesalers. In particular, it should be noted that rebates paid by pharmaceutical companies to wholesalers may be used as a means of maintaining resale prices.

    When medical equipment manufacturers sell medical equipment and consumables, it is common to have a business model in which profits are obtained from the continuing sales of consumables. As such, the problem of predatory pricing arises when medical equipment is sold at significantly lower prices. In addition, the provision of equipment and medical equipment below fair market price may also violate the Fair Competition Code.

    The authors explained anti-bribery laws and industry codes in Japan’s healthcare sector in Asia Business Law Journal’s September/October 2022 issue.

    GI&T LAW OFFICE
    8/F Shin-Yurakucho Building
    1-12-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo – 100-0006, Japan
    Tel: +81 3 6206 3283

    www.giandt-law.com/english

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link