反贿赂法和日本医疗卫生部门的行业规范

作者: Kengo Nishigaki,Andrew Trost Griffin、和Yuji Yamamoto, 东京GI&T律师事务所
0
368
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

日本被认为是亚洲最廉洁的国家之一,仅次于新加坡和香港。国际非政府组织透明国际(Transparency International)在去年公布的公共部门腐败感知指数排名,日本位列全球第18位。然而,医疗卫生行业是一个例外,制药和医疗器械公司因与医疗卫生专业人士的“不透明互动”面临越来越多的审查。

十多年来,笔者帮助在日本运营的国际制药和医疗器械公司建立合规计划并进行内部调查。在本文中,他们根据第一手经验解释了在日本运营的医疗卫生公司面临的主要法律和合规风险。

备受瞩目的案件

Kengo Nishigaki, GI&T Law Office
Kengo Nishigaki
代表合伙人
东京GI&T律师事务所
电话: +81 3 6206 3285
电子邮件: kengo.nishigaki@giandt-law.com

Staar Japan GK是美国眼科手术用人工晶状体制造商Staar Surgical的日本子公司。2022年5月,该公司因向眼科医生付费提供使用它们生产的人工晶体进行手术的视频而名声大噪。这所公司给每位销售代表40万日元(2700美元)的预算来推广产品,共计向75名医生支付了2145万日元,其中包括公立医院的医生。仅一名医生就因7个视频获得了220万日元。Staar Japan在医生承诺使用50到100个晶状体时支付了这样的报酬。

据报道,为了与大型器械制造商竞争,Staar Japan不得不向医生提供经济上的好处,使用“上市后监控”视频来确认其医疗卫生产品的安全性和有效性。最终,该公司利用视频数据创建了一场视频活动来进行内部培训。

日本医疗器械行业公平贸易委员会随后对Staar Japan发出了严厉警告,称其违反了公平竞争法,该法禁止向医疗卫生专业人士或机构支付不合理的报酬。

该委员会很少在公开场合披露违法者的名称,但这一次不仅披露了名称,还在YouTube上公布了案件的详细事实。本文不讨论美国《反海外腐败法》或其他域外法律,而是总结日本影响医疗卫生行业的反贿赂法律和行业规范。

相关反贿赂法律

日本《刑法典》第25章(第197至198条)规定了贿赂罪,行贿者和受贿者都将受到惩罚,但只贿赂公职人员被定为犯罪。

Andrew Trost Griffin, GI&T Law Office
Andrew Trost Griffin
顾问
东京GI&T律师事务所
电话: +81 3 6206 3283
电子邮件: andrew.griffin@giandt-law.com

商业贿赂不构成犯罪,除非存在其他罪行,如背信,即某人在代表他人时为自己或第三方的利益行事,或他人的利益受到损害 (日本《公司法典》第247条),或董事会成员收受贿赂(日本《公司法典》第967条)。

日本法律对公职人员有明确的定义。一些法律规定,为国有实体工作或履行公共职责的人员应被“视为公职人员”,通常包括为公立医院或在大学工作的医疗卫生专业人士。

根据《刑法典》,若因公职人员的职责而向其提供、给予或承诺任何有价物品,不得以等价交换要求该人员作为或不作为。

然而,如果贿赂给了第三方,而不是公职人员,检察官必须确定存在交换条件。例如,2021年,小野制药的两名员工因向三重大学医院(国立大学医院)提供200万日元捐款,以换取增加该公司药物Onoact的处方而被捕并被定罪。由于学术捐赠通常提供给大学医院的医疗卫生专业人士,这一案件在行业内引起了寒蝉效应。

《防止不正当竞争法》第18条将具有域外效力的外国贿赂定为犯罪。1997年,日本签署了经济合作与发展组织(“经合组织”)的《禁止在国际商业交易中贿赂外国公职人员公约》。然而,日本并没有积极执行这部法律。20年内只有约10起此类案件,最大的一笔罚款是2015年日本运输顾问公司因在越南、印度尼西亚和乌兹别克斯坦行贿而被处以9000万日元的罚款。

经合组织已敦促日本经济产业省修改法律,提高规定的罚款(目前最高为3亿日元,或略高于200万美元),延长法定期限(目前为5年)以及扩大域外适用范围(目前外国国民或公司不受该法约束)。

然而,将范围扩大到外国国民或公司将很难实现,因为需要司法部对《刑法典》的域外适用进行修改。

Yuji Yamamoto, GI&T Law Office
Yuji Yamamoto
律师
东京GI&T律师事务所
电话: +81 3 6206 3927
电子邮件: yuji.yamamoto@giandt-law.com

《国家公共服务道德法和道德守则》是世界上最详细的道德守则之一,限制政府官员接受招待和礼物。但这些规定仅适用于国家政府官员(议员和部长除外),不适用于市政官员或“视为公职人员”之人。然而,市政府和公立医院经常制定类似的道德守则。

上述法规还禁止招待国家政府官员。如果有人和他们一起用餐,费用必须分摊。此外,如果人均费用超过一万日元,该官员必须事先向道德规范官报告。

但是,官员可以参加20人或以上的自助餐。在正常用餐时间,可提供最高3000日元的午餐。因此,医疗卫生公司可在学术会议上邀请医疗卫生专业人士参加自助餐,并在产品说明会期间提供午餐。但国家政府官员不得与此类人员一起打高尔夫球或旅行,即使分摊费用。有趣的是,网球、棒球、日本棋盘游戏“围棋”和国际象棋都是允许的。

行业守则

日本医疗器械行业公平贸易委员会和伦理药品营销行业公平贸易委员会根据《反对不合理报酬和误导性陈述法》发布公平竞争守则,以规范与医疗卫生专业人士的互动。该法案旨在规范不合理报酬。公平竞争守则是一项行业守则,禁止向医疗卫生专业人士和机构支付不合理的报酬,包括餐费、礼品、捐赠、直接赞助、上市后监督、提供非财务支持以及手术室中的制造商支持。

日本医疗器械行业公平贸易委员会发布了一份300页的解释性说明。但合规官必须运用他们对行业的深刻理解来解读该说明。公平竞争守则下的一些值得注意的规定包括:

膳食津贴。制造商可为商业商谈提供每人最高一万日元的餐饮。制药工业委员会的公平竞争守则将限额设定为每人5000日元,而且不允许预先安排用餐,这意味着销售代表必须先与一名医疗卫生专业人士商谈,然后才能邀请其去餐厅。医疗器械代表经常请医疗卫生专业人士用餐,尽管制药代表很少这样做。

根据这两项公平竞争守则,医疗卫生专业人士可以在特殊场合用餐(例如对感谢演讲),但不超过两万日元。但是,在第一次聚会或nijikai(主要聚会结束后的第二次聚会)之后,医疗卫生专业人士不能去任何其他地方饮酒或就餐。在医生详细说明会上,3000日元的餐费是可以接受的,通常是简单的便当。

学术捐赠。学术捐赠是对大学医院或学术会议研究提供的捐赠。与慈善不同,其目的是促进医疗卫生专业人士进行的研究。公平竞争守则不要求有特定的研究课题;癌症研究等一般目的是可以接受的。但是,制造商经常滥用学术捐赠来促进在大学医院的销售,医疗卫生专业人士经常要求制造商提供学术捐赠,以换取将制造商的产品列入医院处方清单。

例如,在另一个公开的案件中,担任三重大学医院临床麻醉科主任的一名教授要求小野制药提供学术捐赠以换取增加处方。

自那以后,一些医疗卫生制造商停止了学术捐赠,或者成立了一个独立的捐赠委员会。然而,医生的意识仍然没有改变,大学医院的研究预算仍然依赖于学术捐赠,而制造商则努力减轻学术捐赠的风险。

其他重要守则

日本药品制造商协会已发布了一份行为守则,日本医疗设备协会联合会也发布了一份医疗设备行业的宣传准则,以促进道德行为。

这两个行业组织都有透明度准则,要求制造商每年披露向医疗保健专业人员和医疗机构提供的任何捐赠、研究资助、演讲安排或餐饮。

最近,代表美国医疗器械公司在日本运作的美国医疗器械和诊断学制造商协会发布了与商业伙伴的道德关系准则,为监督与商业伙伴(包括分销商和代理商)的关系提供指导。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Anti-bribery laws, industry codes in Japan’s healthcare sector

By Kengo Nishigaki, Andrew Trost Griffin, and Yuji Yamamoto, GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
0
158

Japan is regarded as one of the least corrupt countries in Asia, ranked only behind Singapore and Hong Kong, and 18th globally on Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index of perceived public sector corruption last year. However, the healthcare industry is an exception, with pharmaceutical and medical device companies facing growing scrutiny over “untransparent interactions” with healthcare professionals.

For more than a decade, the authors have helped international pharmaceutical and medical device companies operating in Japan to establish compliance programmes and conduct internal investigations. In this article, they explain from first-hand experience major legal and compliance risks for healthcare companies operating in Japan.

HIGH-PROFILE CASE

Kengo Nishigaki, GI&T Law Office
Kengo Nishigaki
Representative Partner
GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
Tel: +81 3 6206 3285
Email: kengo.nishigaki@giandt-law.com

Staar Japan GK is the Japanese subsidiary of the US manufacturer of intraocular lenses for cataract surgery, Staar Surgical. In May 2022, it became known that the company had been paying eye doctors for providing surgical operation videos using their intraocular lenses. The company gave each sales representative a budget of JPY400,000 (USD2,700) to promote their products, paying JPY21.45 million in total to 75 doctors, including ones at public hospitals. One doctor alone received JPY2.2 million for seven videos. Staar Japan paid such compensation when doctors promised to use 50 to 100 lenses.

To compete with large device manufacturers, Staar Japan reportedly had to provide doctors financial benefits, using the ‘post-marketing surveillance’ videos to confirm the safety and efficacy of their healthcare products. Eventually, the company created a video campaign using the video data for internal training.

The Japan Fair Trade Council of the Medical Devices Industry (JFTC-MDI) subsequently issued a strict warning against Staar Japan, stating it violated the fair competition code, which prohibits paying unjustifiable premiums to healthcare professionals or institutions.

The council rarely discloses violators’ names in public, but this time it not only disclosed the name, but also publicised detailed facts of the case on YouTube. Instead of discussing the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act or other extraterritorial laws, this article will only summarise Japanese anti-bribery laws and industry codes as they affect the healthcare industry.

RELEVANT ANTI-BRIBERY LAWS

The Penal Code of Japan provides for bribery offences in chapter 25 (articles 197 to 198), where both bribers and recipients are punished. Only bribery of public officials is criminalised.

Andrew Trost Griffin, GI&T Law Office
Andrew Trost Griffin
Counsel
GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
Tel: +81 3 6206 3283
Email: andrew.griffin@giandt-law.com

Commercial bribery does not constitute a crime unless there are other offences such as breach of trust, that is when someone acting for another person acts in their own interest or that of a third party, or another person’s interests are harmed (article 247), or when a board member receives a bribe (article 967 of the Companies Act).

Public officials are clearly defined in Japanese laws. Some laws provide that persons who work for state-owned entities or conduct public duties shall be called “deemed public officials”, which usually includes healthcare professionals who work for public hospitals or universities.

Under the Penal Code, if anything of value is offered, given or promised to a public official in connection with the public official’s duties, a quid-pro-quo for the official’s action or inaction is not required.

However, if the bribe was given to a third party, rather than a public official, the prosecutor must establish a quid-pro-quo. For example, in 2021, two employees of Ono Pharmaceutical were arrested and convicted for providing a donation of JPY2 million to Mie University Hospital (a national university hospital) in exchange for increasing prescriptions of the company’s drug, Onoact. Since academic donations, called shogakukifu, are often made to healthcare professionals in university hospitals, this case caused a chilling effect in the industry.

Article 18 of the Unfair Competition Prevention Act criminalises foreign bribery with extraterritorial effect. In 1997, Japan signed the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions. However, the country has not actively enforced the law. There were only about 10 cases in 20 years, and the largest fine imposed was JPY90 million on Japan Transportation Consultants for bribery in Vietnam, Indonesia and Uzbekistan in 2015.

The OECD has urged the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan to amend the law and increase the stipulated penalties – the current maximum is JPY300 million, or just over USD2 million – extend the statutory period (currently five years), and expand the scope of exterritorial application (currently foreign nationals or companies are not subject to the law).

However, expanding the scope to foreign nationals or companies would be difficult to achieve, since an amendment to the extraterritorial application of the Penal Code under the Ministry of Justice is required.

Yuji Yamamoto, GI&T Law Office
Yuji Yamamoto
Associate
GI&T Law Office in Tokyo
Tel: +81 3 6206 3927
Email: yuji.yamamoto@giandt-law.com

The National Public Service Ethics Law and Ethics Codes is one of the most detailed ethics codes in the world, restricting government officials from receiving entertainment and gifts. But these rules apply only to national governmental officials (except parliament members and ministers), not to municipal officers or “deemed public officials”. However, municipal governments and public hospitals often establish ethics codes similar to the above-mentioned ethics law and codes.

Entertaining national governmental officials is also prohibited under this regulation. If persons have meals with them, the costs must be split. Further, if the cost exceeds JPY10,000 each, the official must report to ethics officers in advance.

However, officials can participate in buffets with 20 persons or more. Lunches up to JPY3,000 may be provided during normal meal times. Thus, healthcare companies may invite healthcare professionals to buffets at academic congresses, and provide lunch during product detailing meetings. But national governmental officers may not play golf or travel with such persons even if they split the costs. Interestingly, tennis, baseball, the Japanese board game “Go” and chess are allowed.

INDUSTRY CODES

The JFTC-MDI and Fair Trade Council of the Ethical Pharmaceutical Drugs Marketing Industry issue fair competition codes (FCCs) to regulate interactions with healthcare professionals. They are promulgated under the Act against Unjustifiable Premiums and Misleading Representations, a law to regulate unfair premiums. The FCC is an industry code prohibiting unjustifiable premiums to healthcare professionals and institutions, including meals, gifts, donations, direct sponsorship, post-marketing surveillance, provision of non-financial support, and manufacturer’s support in surgery rooms.

You must be a subscribersubscribersubscribersubscriber to read this content, please subscribesubscribesubscribesubscribe today.

For group subscribers, please click here to access.
Interested in group subscription? Please contact us.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员成为我们的订阅会员

已有集团订阅,可点击此处继续浏览。
如对集团订阅感兴趣,请联络我们

GI&T LAW OFFICE
8/F Shin-Yurakucho Building
1-12-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo – 100-0006, Japan
Tel: +81 3 6206 3283

www.giandt-law.com/english