合资企业需要加强诚信调查

作者: Sunando Mukherjee 、Shruti Sundararajan,HSA Advocates
0
463

印度,合资企业(JVP)已发展多年,而且大多数情况下都取得了成功,但还是有许多不利结果的例子给人以警示。在此情况下,诚信尽职调查(IDD)已成为一种发现更多信息和风险的强有力工具,而这些信息和风险可能对是否继续合资的决定产生重大影响。因此,这一点对于热衷于与声誉良好和为人正直的个人和公司建立合伙关系的公司—尤其是国际投资者和在多法域环境中运营的公司而言—变得越来越重要。

Sunando Mukherjee,HSA Advocates
Sunando Mukherjee
合伙人
HSA Advocates

尽管合资伙伴对另一方进行严格的尽职调查是常规做法,但这种尽职调查的核心重点是运营、财务、治理和合规方面,以确保它们符合其运营所在地区的适用法律和标准。IDD通常独立于常规尽职调查,它对一个实体的业务进行详细审查,并对其声誉及与腐败有关的风险进行深入分析。

此类调查通常是通过收集独立信息来进行的,这与典型的公司或财务尽职调查不同,后者是由目标实体提供相关信息且该实体了解正在进行的程序。

IDD可凭一系列参数提供有用且可诉的信息。第一,它有助于弄清目标公司的最终所有权。隐性实益所有权是合资企业和并购中的一个主要问题,各国当局日益监管并限制多层投资,并对合法所有权和实益所有权加以区分。印度等国家走得更远,视所有权人所属国家的不同,对实际所有权施以限制。

第二,IDD可以帮助减轻当地合作伙伴因无意的失误或疏忽而产生的风险,因为当地合作伙伴在建立产业或工厂、获得监管批准、与政府官员和机构联络等方面往往受托与政府官员打交道。这可能会使国际伙伴面临声誉受损、监管调查和洗钱、贿赂及腐败的指控。如果企业不愿接受要求遵守有关贿赂、腐败和洗钱法律的广泛要求,各种问题就可能出现。合资伙伴的诚信尽职调查可揭露此类情形的先例,以便投资者采取适当措施。

第三,作为IDD的一部分,彻底的KYC(反洗钱与了解客户)和身份/背景调查可能有助于查明故意违约、刑事指控、不利的媒体和市场声誉、退休官员受薪担任董事等先例,而这些情况可能在传统的尽职调查工作中被忽略。许多公司似乎建立了健全的合规机制,未有任何渎职、欺诈、贿赂或洗钱指控记录在案。IDD可以特别有效地发现与公司及其主要管理人员有关的前期危险征兆。

Shruti Sundararajan,HSA Advocates
Shruti Sundararajan
律师
HSA Advocates

第四,IDD可以帮助发现与主要官员、有组织犯罪集团或政治献金利用的、任何潜在实际控制有关的问题,还可以追踪合资伙伴用于经营业务的资金来源。

如果全面IDD后的不利结果未造成交易中断、负面危害,则将使未来的合作伙伴能够在合同安排中受到充分的保护。常见的保护性条款包括对任何洗钱、贿赂或欺诈行为的无限赔偿,以及允许行使卖出期权或强制IPO的全面退出条款。然而,未来的合作伙伴应考虑是否能够挽回名誉损失和损害。

在成立任何联营实体之前进行的诚信尽职调查将使投资者免于声誉损失、市值缩水、潜在诉讼、对收入和盈利能力的不利影响以及财务损失,大大增加投资者与可靠的商业伙伴建立联系的机会,这对合资伙伴的长期成功往往至关重要。

Sunando Mukherjee为HSA Advocates律师事务所合伙人,Shruti Sundararajan为该所律师。

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India

 

Construction House

5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg
Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 22 4340 0400 Fax: +91 22 4340 0444
Email: mail@hsalegal.com
Website: www.hsalegal.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Increased integrity diligence needed in joint ventures

By Sunando Mukherjee and Shruti Sundararajan, HSA Advocates
0
87

Joint venture partnerships (JVP) have evolved over the years and while these have been successful in a majority of instances in India, many instances of adverse outcomes present a cautionary tale. In this context, integrity due diligence (IDD) has emerged as a powerful tool to unearth additional information and risks that can have a material bearing on the decision to proceed with the JV. Consequently, this has gained increasing importance for companies – especially international investors and corporates operating in a multi-jurisdictional context – keen on establishing partnerships with individuals and companies of high repute and rectitude.

Sunando Mukherjee,HSA Advocates
Sunando Mukherjee
Partner
HSA Advocates

While it is routine for JV partners to undertake a rigorous diligence of the other party, the core focus of such diligence centres around operational, financial, governance and compliance aspects to ensure that they are in line with applicable laws and standards of territories in which it operates. IDD, often undertaken independent of the routine diligence, examines an entity’s operations in minute detail and conducts an in-depth analysis of reputation and risks associated with corruption.

Such diligences are usually undertaken by gathering of independent information, as against the typical corporate or financial diligence where target entities provide relevant information and are aware of the processes being undertaken.

Shruti Sundararajan,HSA Advocates
Shruti Sundararajan
Associate
HSA Advocates

IDD can provide useful and actionable intelligence on a range of parameters. Firstly, it can help unearth the ultimate ownership of the target company. Hidden beneficial ownership is a major problem in JVs and M&As, and authorities have increasingly regulated and restricted multiple layers of investments, as well as distinguishing between legal and beneficial ownership. Countries such as India have gone further and imposed restrictions on beneficial ownership depending on the country to which the owner belongs.

Secondly, IDD can help mitigate the risk emanating from inadvertent lapses by, or an oversight on, the part of local partners, who are often entrusted to deal with government officials while setting up industries or factories, obtaining regulatory approvals, liaising with government officials and agencies, etc. These can expose international partners to reputational damage, regulatory inquiries and allegations of money laundering, bribery and corruption. Problems may be red flagged by any reluctance by companies to agree to broad conditions requiring compliance with laws regulating bribery, corruption and money laundering. Integrity due diligence of a JV partner can bring to light prior instances of such situations and allow the investor to take appropriate measures.

Thirdly, a thorough KYC and identity/background check conducted as part of IDD may help identify prior instances of wilful default, criminal allegations, adverse media and market reputation, retired officials being paid to act as directors, etc., which may escape scrutiny during the traditional diligence exercise. Many companies appear to have robust compliance mechanisms in place and do not have, on record, any allegations of malfeasance, fraud, bribery or money laundering. IDD can be especially effective in discovering prior red flags pertaining to the company and its key management personnel.

Fourthly, IDD can aid in unearthing issues pertaining to any potential de facto control leveraged by key officials, organized crime groups or political patronage and also trace the sources of funds which the JV partner is utilizing to operate businesses.

If not complete deal breakers, adverse findings following a comprehensive IDD exercise will allow prospective partners to put in place adequate protection in contractual arrangements. Common protective covenants include unlimited indemnity for any acts of money laundering, bribery or fraud and a comprehensive exit clause that allows the exercise of put options or compulsory IPOs. However, prospective partners should consider whether reputational loss and damage can ever be recovered.

Integrity due diligence conducted before forming any association will save an investor from reputational loss, diminished market value, potential litigation, adverse impact on revenue and profitability, and financial loss. It can significantly increase the chances of an investor becoming associated with a reliable business partner, which is often critical to the long-term success of a JV partner.

Sunando Mukherjee is a partner and Shruti Sundararajan is an associate at HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India

 

Construction House

5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg
Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 22 4340 0400 Fax: +91 22 4340 0444
Email: mail@hsalegal.com
Website: www.hsalegal.com