“树”上掉落的“苹果”落得不够远

作者: Manisha Singh和Malyashree Sridharan,LexOrbis
0
45

最近在Vinita Gupta v Amit Arora案中,德里高等法院处理Applestree和Appleplant这两个商标时考虑了语义相似性和概念相似性。法院很少将概念相似性作为一个单独的判断标准,它通常与其他判断标准结合,以确定竞争商标之间的相似性。1959年,印度最高法院在CornProducts Refining Co v Shangrila Food Products Ltd案中,首次分析并比较竞争商标隐含或体现的基本思想或概念。

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

在Vinita Gupta案中,原告申请禁令,禁止被告和代表被告的其他人,使用Appleplant商标或与该商标类似的任何商标出售、要约出售、宣传或推广任何产品。原告称,Applestree商标由她丈夫在2008年创造,具有较高知名度,已用该商标出售大量各种产品,例如砂纸、砂卷和研磨膏。原告还主张对其丈夫于2008年创作的包装美术作品享有版权。原告已注册Applestree商标,类别为03、08、07和17类。

被告已申请注册其商标,申请注册类别为03类,并于2021年11月在《商标杂志》上进行了公告。原告提出异议,被告提出反驳声明。原告还了解到被告已注册NUAppleplant商标,类别为03类,原告于是提出更正申请。原告称被告经营相同系列的产品,并向被告发出停止商标侵权通知函,但被告继续使用该商标。

被告称其已经采用NUAppleplant商标及其图形,并已于2019年开始使用。原告知道这点。被告称两个商标在视觉上和语音上均不同,并不相同或相似。包装、商业外观或布局不存在原告所称的相似性,也不可能在消费者和行业成员中造成混淆性或欺骗性。原告不能主张专用权,因为Apple一词在本质上是通用的,不能被视为具有显著性。

德里高等法院分析了Applestree和NUAppleplant这两个商标,认为Apple一词及其表现形式是原告商标的重要组成部分。抄袭重要组成部分,尤其是在竞争产品相同时,会导致较为相似,具有欺骗性。被告抄袭了原告商标的主要部分,仅仅添加了后缀plant和前缀NU。德里高等法院认为,这两个商标不仅在视觉上相似,在思想上也相似,也就是语义上相似。

Malyashree Sridharan, LexOrbis
Malyashree Sridharan
初级合伙人
LexOrbis

德里高等法院根据其较早前在Shree Nath Heritage Liquor Pvt Ltd v M/s Allied Blender & Distillers Pvt Ltd案中作出的判决,在分析语义理论时指出:

“任何购买者在购买砂纸等产品时,都不会仔细研究这两个商标以查明plant和tree之间的科学(植物学)差异,尤其是当两者甚至同义时。智力和记忆力正常的购买者,会按照对商标的整体印象和第一印象去购买,思想上的相似性容易造成混淆。”

德里高等法院认为,被告抄袭了原告商标的主要部分,仅仅添加了后缀plant和前缀NU。竞争商标既有视觉上的相似性,也有思想上的相似性,即语义上的相似性。通过对比这两个商标,德里高等法院认为有充分证据表明,被告试图通过尽可能地抄袭原告的颜色组合、背景颜色以及原告包装和标签的图形来假冒被告的商品。

德里高等法院应原告申请颁布禁令。在便利衡量方面也有利于原告,在被告使用他的商标之前,原告就已经一直在使用她的商标。被告不诚实地在相同商品上使用较为相似以致具有欺骗性的商标,将其商品冒充为原告的商品。

Manisha Singh为LexOrbis合伙人,Malyashree Sridharan为LexOrbis初级合伙人。

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

联系方式
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
电子邮件: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

Apple not falling far enough from the tree

By Manisha Singh and Malyashree Sridharan, LexOrbis
0
506
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In the recent case of Vinita Gupta v Amit Arora, the Delhi High Court considered the concept of semantic and conceptual similarity in dealing with two trademarks, Applestree and Appleplant. The courts have had little to do with conceptual similarity as a standalone test; it has usually been paired with other tests to determine the similarity between rival marks. It compares the underlying idea or concept that the rival marks imply or project, and was first analysed by the Supreme Court in the case of Corn Products Refining Co. v Shangrila Food Products Ltd. in 1959.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

In Vinita Gupta, the plaintiff applied for an injunction to restrain the defendant and others on his behalf from selling, offering for sale, advertising or promoting any product under the trademark Appleplant or any trademark similar to the plaintiff’s trademark Applestree. The plaintiff asserted that the trademark Applestree was coined by her husband in 2008 and was well known. Large volumes of sales were generated for various products under this mark such as abrasive strips, abrasive rolls and abrasive paste. The plaintiff also claimed copyright in the artistic work of the packaging that had also been created by her husband in 2008. The plaintiff held registrations for the Applestree trademark in classes 03, 08, 07 and 17.

The defendant applied for his trademark in class 03, when it was advertised in the Trade Marks Journal in November 2021. The plaintiff filed an opposition, and the defendant filed a counterstatement. The plaintiff also learnt of the defendant’s trademark registration for the trademark NUAppleplant in Class 03, and filed a rectification petition. Alleging that the defendant was dealing in an identical range of products, the plaintiff served a cease-and-desist notice, but the defendant continued using the mark.

Malyashree Sridharan, LexOrbis
Malyashree Sridharan
Associate
LexOrbis

The defendant submitted that he had adopted the trademark NUAppleplant and its graphic and started using them in 2019. This was known to the plaintiff. The defendant said that the trademarks were distinct, visually and phonetically, and were not identical or similar. There was no similarity of packaging, trade dress or layout, as alleged by the plaintiff and there was no likelihood or possibility of confusion or deception among consumers and members of the trade. No monopoly or exclusivity could be claimed by the plaintiff, as the term apple is generic in nature and could not be regarded as distinctive.

Analysing the marks Applestree and NUAppleplant, the court held that the word apple and its representation was a prominent part of the plaintiff’s trademark. Copying the prominent part, especially when the competing products were identical, would lead to deceptive similarity. The defendant had copied the essential part of the plaintiff’s trademarks and merely added the suffix plant and the prefix NU. The court held that not only were the marks visually similar but also similar in idea, that is semantic similarity. Relying on an earlier decision of the Delhi High Court in Shree Nath Heritage Liquor Pvt. Ltd. v M/s Allied Blender & Distillers Pvt. Ltd., the court, in analysing semantic theory, observed:

“No purchaser, while buying products such as abrasive paper, will dissect the trademark to find a scientific (botanical) difference between a plant and tree, especially when both are even otherwise synonymous to each other. A purchaser with average intelligence and imperfect recollection would go by the overall and first impression of the trademark and the similarity in idea is likely to cause confusion.”

The court held that the defendant copied the essential part of plaintiff’s trademarks, merely added the suffix plant and the prefix NU. There was both visual similarity in the competing marks and similarity in ideas, that is semantic similarity. Comparing the trademarks, the court held there was sufficient evidence of the defendant attempting to pass off his goods by copying as closely as possible the plaintiff’s colour combination, background colour and graphics of her packaging and labelling.

The court granted the injunction. The balance of convenience was also in favour of the plaintiff, who had been using her trademark prior to the defendant using his. The defendant had dishonestly adopted a deceptively similar trademark for identical goods, so as to pass off his goods as those of the plaintiff.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Malyashree Sridharan is an associate partner at LexOrbis

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link