中国继续加大“最低转售价格”审查

0
77
中国继续加大“最低转售价格”审查

于2022年2月9日,某跨国种植牙医疗器械公司的中国子公司因其在2008年到2020 年间因“最低转售价格”政策被处以912万元人民币(合计美金135万元)罚款,罚款金额是该公司2020年中国销售额的3%。

北京反垄断执法机构发现,公司在其经销商协议中加入了转售定价条款,并通过面对面会议、微信和口头沟通要求经销商实施最低转售价格。公司还制定了经销商关键业绩指标政策,监督经销商的转售价格,奖励经销商,惩罚未履行“最低转售价格”要求的经销商。

此前,在 2021 年就有过几例因“最低转售价格”开出的创纪录罚单,在2016年,医疗器械领域也有过一例处罚,这些处罚进一步表明,“最低转售价格”会继续成为中国反垄断执法的首要目标,尤其在保健和医疗领域,这两个领域出现的大部分反垄断罚款处罚都涉及“最低转售价格”。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Heightened scrutiny of RPM continues

0
53
Heightened scrutiny of RPM continues

Antitrust enforcement are continuing to crack down on outlawed resale price maintenance (RPM), with a multinational dental medical device manufacturer’s Chinese entity recently fined RMB9.12 million (USD1.35 million).

The fine was imposed on 9 February 2022 for RPM “price fixing” violations from 2008 to 2020, representing 3% of its total 2020 China-wide revenue.

The company was found to have included a resale pricing clause in its distribution agreements and – through face-to-face meetings, WeChat and verbal communications – required its distributors to implement minimum resale prices. It also set distributor key performance indicator policies, monitored distributors’ resale prices, and rewarded and penalised distributors who did or did not follow its RPM requirements.

This ruling follows several record fines in 2021, and another case in the medical device sector in 2016, reinforcing that RPM continues to be a top antitrust enforcement priority in China – particularly in the healthcare/medical sector, where the majority of antitrust fines by penalty amount have involved RPM cases.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022