行业组织发布防止NFT相关金融风险的倡议

0
79
行业组织发布防止NFT相关金融风险的倡议

国互联网金融协会、中国银行业协会和中国证券业协会在2022年4月13日联合发布《关于防范NFT相关金融风险的倡议》。过去几年,NFT在中国发展迅猛,这是第一份以NFT为主题并涉及NFT合规的官方文件。这份倡议只是一份自律声明,不是强制性监管规则,但考虑到三家协会作为官方行业自律机构的特殊地位,在很大程度上,它仍然代表着监管态度和监督趋势。我们将在下文更详细讨论这份倡议。

肯定NFT的正面作用,同时指出相关风险。倡议提到,中国的NFT市场持续升温,并将NFT翻译成“非同质化通证”,而不是“非同质化代币”。这个中文名确立了NFT的官方中文翻译,也确定了NFT概念在中国的应用,明确将它与中国严格禁止的虚拟货币(即代币 token)区分开来。

它将NFT认定为一项区块链技术的创新独特应用,肯定NFT在丰富中国数字经济、促进文创产业发展方面有一定价值。但同时,倡议也指出NFT伴随着炒作、洗钱和其他非法金融活动等风险隐患。

鼓励创新,利用NFT赋能实体经济。文件建议合理选择应用场景,规范应用区块链技术,发挥NFT在推动数字化经济方面的积极作用。

倡议提出,NFT产品的价值应有充分支撑,尤其应防止价格虚高背离基本的价值规律;建议保护NFT底层商品的知识产权;要求真实、准确、完整披露NFT产品信息,保障消费者的知情权、选择权、公平交易权。

坚守底线,防范金融风险。倡议坚决遏制NFT金融化证券化倾向,从严防范非法金融活动风险,提倡六条行为规范。

    1. 倡议强调不在NFT底层商品中包含证券、保险、信贷、贵金属等金融资产,即不得在任何金融产品的发行和交易中使用NFT。
    2. 倡议禁止任何变相开展代币发行融资(ICO),更具体地说,禁止任何人通过分割所有权或批量创设等方式削弱ICO的非同质化特征。
    3. 倡议禁止设立NFT交易场所,为NFT交易提供集中交易(集中竞价、电子撮合、匿名交易、做市商等)、持续挂牌交易、标准化合约交易等服务。单从这一条看,不能说明NFT平台被完全禁止。如果NFT平台遵守上述限制性规定,不将NFT用于任何金融产品的发行和交易中,这些平台仍可开展正常的NFT业务,比如,底层数字艺术品NFT的购买服务。实务中,为避免金融炒作的倾向,中国许多NFT平台不允行NFT的二级交易、转让,也不允许NFT买家将NFT作为礼物转让予他人。
    4. 倡议严格禁止将比币特、以太币、泰达币等虚拟货币用作NFT计价和结算工具。这一条规定符合中国此前发布的虚拟货币禁令,禁令规定,虚拟货币不享有与法币相等的法律地位,不得作为货币或计价工具在市场上流通。
    5. 倡议敦促对NFT的发行、售卖、购买主体进行实名认证,妥善保存客户身份资料和发行交易记录,积极配合反洗钱工作。NFT平台运营商应特别留意此条规定。
    6. 倡议不允许直接或间接投资NFT,或为投资NFT提供融资支持。这条规定应被解读为防止投资者以金融投资收益为目的将NFT作为金融产品进行投资,而不是禁止一般用户为实际目的,如私人艺术品投资的目的购买NFT。在实务中,中国许多NFT平台都以数字收藏平台进行运营,只允许个人用户注册。

给NFT消费者的提示。倡议呼吁消费者树立正确的消费理念,增强自我保护意识,自觉抵制NFT投机炒作行为,警惕和远离NFT相关非法金融活动。它还提醒消费者主动及时举报相关违法活动。

此外,值得一提的是,在倡议发布后的当天,为响应倡议,中国移动通信联合会元宇宙产业委员会(CMCA-MCC)与中国通信工业协会区块链专业委员会(CCIAPC)联合发布《关于规范数字藏品产业健康发展的自律要求》。两个委员会都是在中国民政部登记注册、由工信部作为业务主管单位的组织。数字藏品是在NFT的基础上建立,这个业务仍处于发展初期,价值标准尚不清晰,自律要求主要是重述倡议中的相关要求,提出合理期望。

总之,倡议确认了NFT在中国的概念和发展,不仅提出了行为规范,也划出了监管红线,这一点至关重要。倡议也表明了当前对NFT监管的总体态度是防止NFT的金融化和证券化,而非禁止NFT本身。这个倡议有助于推动NFT文化和艺术价值的实现,也将引导NFT朝着正面健康的方向发展。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Initiative to prevent NFT-related risks

0
257
Initiative to prevent NFT-related risks

A joint initiative aiming to prevent risks associated with non-fungible tokens (NFTs) was issued by the China National Internet Finance Association, China Banking Association and Securities Association of China on 13 April 2022.

The Initiative to Prevent relevant Financial Risks of Non-fungible Tokens is the first NFT-themed official document involving compliance since recent rapid development of NFTs in China.

The initiative is only a self-regulatory statement and not mandatory regulatory rules.

But considering the special status of the three associations as official industry self-regulatory organisations, to a great extent it still represents the regulatory attitude and trend of supervision.

Affirms positive role of NFTs and points out related risks. The initiative mentions that “China’s NFT market is getting increasingly hot in recent years”, and translates “NFT” into “非同质化通证” instead of “非同质化代币”. Not only does this give an official Chinese translation for NFT for the first time, but it also affirms the application of an NFT concept in China, and explicitly distinguishes it from cryptocurrencies (tokens, or “代币”), which are strictly prohibited.

It also defines an NFT as an innovative and distinct application of blockchain technology, and confirms it has a certain value in contributing to China’s digital economy, while promoting the development of cultural and creative industries.

It also points out that NFTs may be accompanied by potential risks of speculation, money laundering and other illegal financial activities.

Encourages innovation and uses NFTs to motivate the real economy. The guideline advises adopting a reasonable selection of application scenarios, and to standardise application of blockchain technology to give full capacity for the positive role of NFTs in promoting a digital economy.

It proposes that the value of NFT products should have a sufficient pricing basis, and a false high price deviating from the basic law of value should especially be prevented.

It suggests that the intellectual property rights of an NFTs’ underlying assets should be protected.

It requires truthful, accurate and complete disclosure of NFT product information so as to protect the consumer’s right to know, right of choice and right of fair trade.

Sticks to the “bottom line” of preventing financial risks. The initiative resolutely seeks to stop any financialisation and securitisation tendency of NFTs, strictly prevent the risks of illegal financial activities, and proposes six specific codes of compliance conduct:

    1. It stresses that securities, insurance, loans, precious metals and other financial assets should not be included in the underlying assets of an NFT – namely that NFTs must not be used in the issuance and trade of any financial products.
    2. It prohibits any initial coin offering (ICO) business in the distinguished form. More specifically, it does not allow anyone to weaken the non-fungible characteristics of NFTs through methods like dividing ownership or creating batches.
    3. It does not allow the set-up of any trading venues in violation of regulations to provide centralised trading (centralised bidding, electronic matching, anonymous trading, market maker, etc.), continuous listing trading, standardised contract trading and other services for NFT trade. From the expression of this point alone, it cannot be said that NFT platforms are completely prohibited. If NFT platforms follow the above-mentioned restrictions and do not use NFTs for any purpose of issuing and trading any financial products, they still have the opportunity to conduct normal NFT business – namely providing services related to the purchase of NFTs of the underlying digital artworks. In practice, to avoid the trend of financial speculation, many NFT platforms in China do not allow NFT secondary transactions, transfers or otherwise, nor allow the NFT purchaser to transfer it to others as a gift.
    4. It strictly prohibits the use of cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, ETH and USDT in pricing or settling NFTs. This is consistent with China’s current strict prohibitions on cryptocurrencies, where they do not have the same legal status as legal currencies and cannot be circulated in the market as currencies or pricing tools.
    5. It urges processing of real-name authentication for NFT issuers, buyers and sellers – and keeping customer identity information and issuance transaction records properly – while actively co-operating with anti-money laundering work. NFT platform operators should pay special attention to this point.
    6. It does not allow investing in NFT directly or indirectly, or providing any financing support for such investment. This should be understood as restricting investors from investing in NFTs as financial products for the purpose of financial investment profit, rather than forbidding general users to purchase NFTs for practical purposes, such as private artwork collection. In practice, many NFT platforms in China are operated as digital collection platforms and only allow individual users to register.

Tips to NFT consumers. Consumers are warned to establish a correct consumption concept and enhance self-protection, and consciously resist and stay away from illegal financial activities. The initiative also reminds consumers to report relevant illegal activities proactively and on time.

In addition, it is also worth mentioning that on the day after the launch of the initiative, in response to suggestions, the China Mobile Communications Association Metaverse Consensus Circle (CMCA-MCC) and the China Communications Industry Association Blockchain Specialised Committee (CCIAPC) jointly issued The Self-Regulatory Requirements on Regulating the Healthy Development of Digital Collection Industry. Both the CMCA-MCC and CCIAPC are social organisations under the guidance of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, and registered with the Ministry of Civil Affairs.

As digital collections are based on NFTs and the development is still at an early stage, with unclear value standards, the self-regulatory requirements mainly reiterate relevant requirements in the initiative and propose reasonable expectations.

In short, the initiative confirms the concept and development of NFTs in China – not only putting forward the code of conduct, but also defining the regulatory red line, which is of great significance.

The initiative also demonstrates that the current general attitude of regulators on NFTs is to prevent financialisation and securitisation, rather than prohibit the NFT itself.

This is good news for realisation of the cultural and artistic value of NFTs and will facilitate their development in a positive and healthy way.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com