我们邀请了几位亚洲女律师分享她们的成功故事、职场策略,以及她们为创造一个更包容的法律界所做的努力。蒲安阳报道

久以来,法律被认为是专属于男性的职业,这种根深蒂固的想法饱受诟病。不过,最近法律界有了大转变,像年利达、史密夫·斐尔和富而德等国际律所都选择了女性律师来领导它们的全球业务。

问题是,在亚洲复杂的法律和文化生态中,这一进步是否会带来更大的飞跃?

许多调查发现,性别和种族多样性有利于业务运营和决策。麦肯锡2020年的一份报告《多元化取胜—— 包容性的重要性》发现,从管理层性别多元化这个维度衡量,相较于这方面表现最差的管理层,最好的前 25% 管理层团队贡献出超额盈利的概率高 25%。女性高管占比在30%以上的公司,在业绩上也更胜一筹。可惜,许多报告也指出,社会在这方面的进步还很慢。

在最高领导层中,女性占比仍然不足。去年,执掌财富500强企业的女高管数量创新高,达到37家,这个数字还在增加,即便如此,在《财富》杂志每年统计的企业中,由女性领导的企业只占 7.4%。而在亚洲法律界,性别问题同样糟糕。

“在台湾,拥有研究生学历的人中,女性占 45%,” 台北理慈国际科技法律事务所的联合创始人蔡玉玲说 “,但是,在领导层和企业家群体中,男女比例却失衡。律所的管理合伙人和创始人仍然大多为男性,在其它行业也一样,在台湾,女性 CEO 只占 8%。”

不过,来自位于新加坡的医疗援助和安全服务公司国际 SOS 救援中心的法律顾问李冰相信,随着越来越多女性加入这一行业,性别平等将不再是空想。她当初进公司时,同事中没有女性,所以她并没有女性榜样,男同事们不赞同她的职业选择。但她成功了,也证明他们是错误的。

“努力实现男女从业人数均等,我们这个方向肯定是正确的,招收人数均等男女法学生是一个不错的开始,但仅仅是开始,” 她说, “实现性别平等需要来自社会各行各业的管理层人士,像我们这样的人做出表率。”

Charmayne Ong 是吉隆坡思纪龄律所知识产权与电信、媒体和科技业务主管,她认为性别不平等的问题不会一下子得到解决,但目前取得的进步也不能忽视。

“在我看来,法律界对女性的态度有了极大改善,至少在我工作的地方,无论是性别歧视还是其他歧视,都是不被接受的。”

她也承认,亚洲的社会经济规范令女性承担起更高的期望,让她们做起了 “超人”。

打破偏见

常驻新德里的印度最高法院高级律师 Rebecca Mammen John 看到,很多女性律师的法律素养和技能得到很大的肯定,甚至也进入到了男性统治的业务领域,但是陈旧的观念和偏见依然没有丝毫改变。

“在法庭上,女性律师占上风已是司空见惯,” 她说 “。但是,男律师对女同事的态度仍然透着性别歧视和厌女思想。年轻律师经常被品头论足,她们的专业才华经常被外貌掩盖。”

而年长一点、对法律发展已做出不少贡献的女律师,则被贴上 “争强好胜” 的标签,这个标签忽视了法庭本就是对抗之地的事实。在这个行业,强势、聪明的女性的出现更加映衬出男律师们何其缺乏安全感。

日本三浦法律事务所(Miura & Partners)驻东京的合伙人越直美(Naomi Koshi)则对现状颇感困惑,50% 至 60% 的日本女性在生了第一个小孩后,都因为找不到托儿所而离开工作岗位。 “退出职场的总是母亲,而不是父亲,” 她说。

“日本女性不得不在工作和孩子之间做出选择。我决定改变这个局面。我相信我们可以同时兼顾工作和家庭,不必仅仅因为生了孩子而放弃工作。”

正是这个想法驱使越直美去竞选大津市市长。她在两个任期内改善了儿童保育制度。她的政策已开始得到日本各地称赞效仿,但这一问题仍留有巨大的改善空间。

韩国世宗律师事务所驻首尔的合伙人卞玉淑观察到,越来越多女合伙人因业绩出众成为团队领导人,而要到走到这个位置,她们却要付出比男同事们更多的努力。在很多情况下,如果有得选,客户还是倾向于选择男律师。

不过,随着年轻一代性别意识越来越强,这样的局面有望改变。 “年轻一代认可女性的能力和成绩,愿意与女同事们一起应对大挑战,我想,这也给当代女律师,以及未来的女律师们带来了希望,” 卞玉淑说。

新时代

年轻一代的女律师在法律界也许没有感受到如此严苛的歧视。对女性的刻板印象主要受文化影响,而全球化让女性有了更多发言权,让更多女性步入举足轻重的岗位。

“女性有了更多施展才华的机会,她们的能力也越来越受认可,” 常驻雅加达的印尼欧莱雅法务总监 Kezia Pembayun 说。 “也可能是因为相较于几十年前,现在有更多的平台让我们呼吁给女性平等的机会。”

但她也承认,法律界某些领域或职位仍然由男性主导,部分原因是因为女性为了更好地平衡工作与生活、更多地照顾家庭和孩子,而选择了特定职位,如公司法务。

不过,新兴科技为女性带来了新的职场机会,因为科技公司更灵活和包容。

无论是在生活还是在职场中,当下的女性律师们都享受着前所未有的独立自主。

挑战仍然存在,在某些地区,天花板可能要更厚,但这个天花板的隙缝已经越来越大了,那些初入法律界的律师们有了更多职业上升途径。

下面我们将介绍亚洲几位女律师的故事,分享她们相通的一些经历,以及她们给予后辈的建议、经验和鼓励。

You must be a subscriber to read this content, please subscribe today.

你需要登录去解锁本文内容。欢迎注册账号。如果想阅读月刊所有文章,欢迎成为我们的订阅会员


我们从姐妹刊物 Asia Business Law Journal 中选取了几位女性代表汇集成本文。如欲阅读全文, 请浏览 https://law.asia/ladies-justice-women-lawyers/

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Women lawyers across Asia share their personal stories of success, strategy and struggle for a more inclusive legal profession. Putro Harnowo reports

For a long time, the legal profession has been a subject to criticism for its entrenched “boys’ club” mentality, but recent moves from multinational firms such as Linklaters, Herbert Smith Freehills, and Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer in electing the first women lawyers in their ranks to lead their global operations is surely a sea change.

The question is, will this progression be the beginning of a broader leap forward within Asia’s complex legal, and cultural, ecosystems? Many studies have found that gender and ethnic diversity is good for business, and decision-making. McKinsey & Company, in a 2020 report titled Diversity wins: How inclusion matters, found that the top quartile of gender-diverse executive teams was 25% more likely to contribute above-average profitability than the least-diverse ones. Companies with more than 30% women executives were more likely to outperform those with fewer women executives, or none at all.

Yet, many reports also note the slow improvement. Women remain underrepresented at the top of leadership. Although the number of women running Fortune 500 companies hit a record of 37 last year, and the number continues to grow, it still only represents 7.4% of the businesses compiled annually by the magazine. In the Asian legal landscape, the gender disparity is no better.

“In Taiwan, women account for 45% of the population with postgraduate degrees,” says Jaclyn Tsai, co-founder of Lee Tsai & Partners in Taipei. “However, there is a difference between men and women in leadership and entrepreneurial positions. Managing partners and founders at law firms are still predominantly male, which is the same in other industries, where women account for just 8% of the CEOs in Taiwan.”

Still, as more women join the industry, Lorraine Lee, general counsel at health and security services firm International SOS in Singapore, believes gender equality is no longer a pipe dream. She started out without a female role model in her company, because there were none, and with male colleagues discouraging her career options. She succeeded, and proved them wrong.

“We are definitely moving in the right direction towards gender parity, and having an equal number of male and female law graduates is a very good start, but it is just the beginning,” she says. “Achieving gender equality requires leadership in all parts of society and industry, from people like ourselves.”

Charmayne Ong, head of the IP and TMT practices at Skrine in Kuala Lumpur, argues there will not be a quick fix for gender disparity, but the progress taking place cannot be ignored.

“In my view, attitudes towards women in the legal industry have evolved significantly, and discrimination, whether gender-related or otherwise, is generally not acceptable, at least in my workplace.”

She also admits that socio-economic mores and norms in Asia still play a substantial role in creating even more expectations on women’s role as “superwomen”.

Breaking prejudice

Rebecca Mammen John, a senior advocate at the Supreme Court of India in New Delhi, says many women lawyers are significantly recognised for their skills and legal acumen, and have even expanded into hitherto male-only practice domains, but stereotypes and bias remain intact.

“Courts have become accustomed to seeing women excel in the legal field,” she says. “However, sexism and misogyny continue to exist in the way male colleagues treat their female counterparts. Young lawyers are often subjected to comments about their appearance that tend to overshadow their professional abilities and standing.” Older women lawyers who have made a significant contribution to the growth of law are often targeted and labelled as “aggressive”, conveniently forgetting that the space inside courts is adversarial. The advent of powerful, brilliant women in the profession has only highlighted the insecurity of male lawyers.

Naomi Koshi, a partner at Miura & Partners in Tokyo, was bewildered that 50-60% of Japanese women left the workforce after their first child because they could not find a nursery. “Almost always, it would be mothers who quit their jobs, not fathers,” she says.

“Japanese women had to choose between having a job or children. I decided to try to change this situation. I believed we should be able to have both a job and a family, and not be forced to quit our jobs just because we have children.”

That was what drove Koshi to run for mayor of Otsu city, where she eventually improved the childcare system during her two terms of service. Although her policy has started to gain traction across the country, there remains much room for improvement.

Byun Ok Sook, a partner at Shin & Kim in Seoul, sees more female partners working as leaders of their teams, based on their achievements – although they may need to work harder than their male counterparts. In many cases, clients tend to select male lawyers when faced with two genders.

However, this may be set to change with the current generation more open to gender awareness. “They are willing to recognise women’s competence and achievements, and ready to cope with serious and important challenges with their female colleagues, which I think gives hopes for female lawyers in the current and future generations,” says Byun.

The new age

The younger generation of women lawyers might not feel such harsh discrimination towards them in the legal industry. As general stereotyping towards women is mainly influenced by culture, globalisation has helped women to have more of a voice and hold more influential positions in their organisations.

“I see more opportunities and recognition for women’s capabilities and their aspirations,” says Kezia Pembayun, legal director of L’Oréal Indonesia in Jakarta. “It could also be because there are more platforms to voice the equality of opportunities for women compared to decades ago.”

However, she admits that men’s domination in some legal positions, or specific roles, is evident, partly because women choose to take certain legal specialities, for example, a corporate function, as they see a better chance of work-life balance with children and family.

Still, new emerging technology has also opened new opportunities for women lawyers to navigate their career paths into uncharted territory, as tech companies have a characteristic of being flexible and inclusive. Women lawyers more than ever are enjoying being in-dependent and self-determined in both their lives and professional careers. Challenges persist, and the glass ceiling may seem thicker in some places than others, but the cracks are ever-increasing, opening more paths for those embarking on a legal career.

The following mosaic offers the personal stories of women in law across Asia’s jurisdictions, while also drawing on a wealth of shared experiences that join them. On offer are advice, experience and encouragement for the ones who follow.

You must be a subscriber to read this content, please subscribe today.

你需要订阅去解锁所有内容。欢迎成为我们的订阅会员


We selected a few representatives from our sister publication, Asia Business Law Journal. For full story, please visit https://law.asia/ladies-justice-women-lawyers/

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022