软件著作权纠纷中作品的实质性相似判断

    作者: 陈敬, 合伙人, 通商律师事务所
    0
    39

    计算机软件属于世界各国著作权法保护的科学作品。根据中国《计算机软件保护条例》规定,计算机软件包括计算机程序及其有关文档。其中,计算机程序是指,为了得到某种结果,而可以由计算机等具有信息处理装置执行的代码化指令序列,或者可以被自动转换成代码化指令序列的符号化指令序列或者符合号语言序列。

    Chen-Jing,-Partner,-Commerce-&-Finance-Law-Offices
    陈敬
    合伙人
    通商律师事务所

    在侵害计算机软件著作权纠纷案件中,原告通常主张被告侵害案涉软件作品的复制权、修改权、信息网络传播权等,而若判定被告是否侵害了原告的上述权利,司法实践中一般遵循“接触+实质性相似+排除合理解释”的规则。

    2018年4月发布的《北京市高级人民法院侵害著作权案件审理指南》将侵害计算机软件著作权行为归纳为六种类型,即单纯传播类、最终用户类、抄袭剽窃类、破坏技术措施类,等等。从2015至2019年最高院历年发布的指导性案例或典型案例来看,涉及侵害计算机软件著作权的,均为最终用户类案件,即被告作为最终用户,未经许可而直接在商业活动中使用原告计算机软件内容的案件。在此类案件中,由于被告在实际使用时,极少改变原告计算机软件的内容,因此如何判定原被告软件是否构成实质性相似,并非此类案件的审理焦点与难点。然而,在抄袭剽窃类案件中,实质性相似通常是无法避免的审理难点,以及认定侵权的关键。

    从历年软件著作权侵权案件来看,法院判定原告主张权利的软件与被诉侵权的软件构成实质性相似的思路,大体可以分为四种:(1)双方软件程序实质性相似,即经过对比双方软件的源程序代码或者目标程序代码,确定双方代码的相同或相似比例达到一定比例以上;(2)软件整体上相似,即对比软件的结构(structure)、顺序(sequence)和组织(organization)等,确定双方软件在前述方面构成相同或相似;(3)查明并确定被诉侵权软件源程序或者目标程序中存在原告主张权利的软件的特有内容,尤其是原告主张权利的软件中的缺陷性特征;(4)比对双方软件的结果(包括软件界面、运行参数、数据库结构等)方面,并认定构成相同或相似。

    经过审理实践的反复检验,以及对著作权法保护客体的认识加深,在上述四种判定软件作品实质性相似的思路中,第一种程序代码比对以及第三种特征性瑕疵认定,逐渐成为主要的判定方式。而与此相对的,国内法院对上述第二种判定思路的适用正在日益减少,地方法院对上述第四种思路的适用也在被最高人民法院纠正。2020年5月20日,最高人民法院对广州市微斯咖网络科技有限公司、刘斌侵害计算机软件著作权纠纷予以改判,撤销广州知识产权法院一审判决,对广州知识产权法院仅根据软件运行界面、结果等可视化内容近似而得出原被告软件实质性相似结论的事实认定予以纠正。

    著作权法保护的是表达而非思想本身,是著作权法的基本原则。根据前述基本原则,计算机软件作为一种特殊的作品,之所以能够得到著作权法的保护,主要在于其作为表达的具体指令与代码具有独创性。因此,以双方软件的源程序代码或者目标程序代码作为比对客体,而进行同一性比对,并以比对结果来判断双方软件是否构成相同或者实质性相似,符合著作权法的立法本义。

    然而,毋庸讳言的是,目前围绕软件程序代码的一系列关键问题,国内立法界、司法界均尚未给出明确而统一的答案,知识产权鉴定机构亦未形成具有可操作性的判定规范:

    比对对象。例如,除源程序代码外,目标程序代码或者目标程序代码反编译后的汇编代码,能否作为比对对象;

    比对方法。例如,是机械地直接进行代码行与行的比对,还是先确定双方软件包含的各个文件的对应关系,然后再就具有对应关系的各文件内部的各行代码进行比对)、

    判定构成实质性相似的标准。例如,是采用Beyond Compare软件进行机械比对并确定构成相同或者实质性相似的比例,还是根据核心功能突出规则,只要体现核心功能的源代码相似,即判定软件整体构成实质性相似。

    包括以上关键问题在内,诸多问题的答案,还有待理论界与实务界继续在实践中不断摸索和探讨。

    陈敬通商律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式为电话+86 10 6569 3399以及电邮 chenjing@tongshang.com

Gauging substantive similarity in software copyright disputes

By Chen Jing, Commerce & Finance Law Offices
0
67

Computer software, as scientific works, are protected by copyright laws in countries around the world. Under China’s Regulations for the Protection of Computer Software, computer software includes computer programs and related documents. A computer program refers to a coded command sequence that can be executed, for the purpose of obtaining certain results, by a computer or other information processing devices, or it refers to a symbolised command sequence, or language sequence, that can be automatically converted into a coded command sequence.

Chen-Jing,-Partner,-Commerce-&-Finance-Law-Offices
Chen Jing
Partner
Commerce & Finance Law Offices

Among cases regarding infringement upon computer software copyright, the plaintiff usually claims that the defendant violated the right to reproduce or modify the software concerned, or the right to disseminate it in the information network. To ascertain whether any of those rights of the plaintiff have been infringed by the defendant, a rule known as “contact + substantial similarity + reasonable explanation excluded” is generally employed in judicial practice.

In A Guide for the Trial of Copyright Infringement Cases, released by the Beijing Higher People’s Court in April 2018, the acts to infringe upon computer software copyrights are divided into six types: Mere dissemination; end-user behaviour; plagiarism; destruction of technical measures; rent out; and other infringements.

Guiding cases, or typical cases released by the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) from 2015 to 2019, reveal that all cases involving computer software copyright infringement are of an end-user type, which means the defendant, as the end user, has directly used the plaintiff’s computer software in commercial activities without permission.

As in such cases the defendant seldom makes any changes to the content of the plaintiff’s computer software during the actual use, the focus and difficulty of the trial doesn’t lie in how to determine whether there is substantial similarity between the software products of both sides. However, in plagiarism cases, substantive similarity is usually an unavoidable difficulty in the trial, and a key to affirming infringement.

Judging from cases of software copyright infringement over the years, the court determines whether the software claimed by the plaintiff is substantially similar to that subject to infringement accusation, roughly in the following four directions: (1) the software programs of both parties are substantially similar, for the proportion of same or similar codes in the programs is identified to have reached a certain level, upon comparison of the source code or target code of the two software programs; (2) the software programs are similar as a whole, which means that a comparison of their structures, sequences and organisations verifies that the two are identical or similar in these aspects; (3) it is identified and affirmed that certain content unique to the software claimed by the plaintiff, especially any of its characteristic defects, also exists in the source or target program of the alleged copyright-infringing software; and (4) a conclusion on same or similar software programs is reached on the basis of the results of a software comparison (involving their interfaces, operating parameters, database structure and so on).

Following repeated tests in the trial practice, and thanks to a deepened understanding of the objects under the protection of the copyright law, two out of the above four approaches have gradually dominated the process in determining the substantial similarity of software works, namely the first measure, program code comparison, and the third one, identification of characteristic defects.

In contrast, application of the second approach is decreasing in domestic courts, and employment of the fourth by local courts has been rectified by the Supreme People’s Court. On 20 May 2020, the SPC revised its verdict on a case of computer software copyright infringement by Guangzhou Viska Network Technology and Liu Bin, by revoking the first-instance judgment made by the Guangzhou Intellectual Property Court, and correcting the latter court’s decision that the software programs of the plaintiff and the defendant are substantially similar, a conclusion that had been drawn only on the basis of similarity of such visual content as regarding their operating interfaces and results.

What the copyright law protects is expression, rather than thoughts, which is the fundamental principle of such a law. It indicates that computer software, as a special kind of work, can be protected by the copyright law mainly because the specific instructions and codes used for expression are original. Therefore, it accords with the original intent of the copyright law by comparing the source code or target code of the software programs of both parties to determine whether the two are identical or substantially similar.

However, it’s clear that China’s legislative and judicial circles have not yet provided clear, unified answers to key issues regarding software program codes, including the following points; nor have intellectual property appraisal agencies established operable judgment standards.

Objects for comparison. For example, apart from the source program code, whether the target program code, or the decompiled assembly code of the target program code, can be treated as an object for comparison;

Comparison methods. For example, whether to directly and mechanically compare codes line by line, or rather determine the correspondence between the files contained in the software of both parties, before comparing the lines of code in the corresponding files; and

Standards for judging substantial similarity. For example, whether to employ the data comparison software, Beyond Compare, for mechanical comparison, and determine the proportion of same or substantially similar parts, or, based on the principle of highlighted core functions, to determine that the software programs are substantially similar on the whole, as long as the source codes that reflect the core functions are similar.

The answers to a number of questions, including the above key ones, remain to be studied and discussed by people engaged in related theories and practical applications.

Chen Jing is a partner at Commerce & Finance Law Offices. She can be contacted on +86 10 6569 3399 or by email at chenjing@tongshang.com.