中国公布《不可靠实体清单》

0
12
Regulations-issued-on-Unreliable-Entity-List

2020年9月19日,中国商务部公布《不可靠实体清单规定》(“《清单规定》”),自公布之日起施行。商务部没有在《不可靠实体清单》(“清单”)中点名具体的外国实体,但《清单规定》列出了执行清单制度的原则,本文总结如下。

什么样的实体会被列入清单中?

清单包含参与以下活动的外国人(即企业、其他组织或个人):危害中国国家主权、安全或发展;违反正常的市场交易原则,中断正常交易,或者采取歧视性措施,从而严重损害中国企业、其他组织和个人的合法权益。

被列入清单会有什么后果?

被列入清单的外国实体可能会被采取下列限制性或禁止性措施:(1)被限制或禁止从事与中国有关的进出口活动;(2)被限制或禁止在中国境内投资;(3)相关人员、交通运输工具被限制或禁止入境;(4)相关人员在中国境内的工作许可、停留或者居留资格被限制或取消;(5)根据情节轻重被处以相应数额的罚款;以及(6)其他必要的措施。

由谁执行清单制度?

《清单规定》指明国家将建立一个由中央国家机关有关部门参加的“工作机制”(“清单办公室”),负责清单制度的组织实施。清单办公室由商务部组织。预计商务部将联合其他部委,如外交部和公安部共同执行清单制度。

将遵循哪些流程?

由清单办公室公布被列入清单的实体,并决定在公布之前是否展开调查。如展开调查,有关外国实体可以陈述、申辩。在公布清单时,清单办公室可以规定外国实体改正行为的宽限期。在宽限期内不对有关外国实体采取限制性措施,如有关外国实体逾期不改正其行为,限制性措施将重新启动。如果有关外国实体改正其行为并采取措施消除行为后果,该外国实体可以从清单中移除。

是否有豁免?

根据《清单规定》,中国企业、组织或个人确需与清单中的外国实体进行进出口交易的,可向清单办公室提出申请,获得特殊许可。该许可仅在特殊情况下视个例给予。

不可靠实体清单制度最初是由商务部在2019年5月公布,此次《清单规定》的颁布让中国向着真正执行清单制度迈出了重要一步。但是,仍不清楚《清单规定》将如何落实,也不清楚《清单规定》是否以及如何适用于外国实体在中国已经成立的子公司。中国政府一直都在大力推动外商投资,并且在颁布《清单规定》时,也在相关的新闻稿中强调这一点,因此,我们认为现有的大部分外商投资企业不会受到《清单规定》的负面影响。另外,一些外国政府对中国企业和个人实施了制裁和出口管制措施,《清单规定》能在多大程度上起到“反制”作用还有待观察。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

Regulations issued on Unreliable Entity List

0
37
Regulations-issued-on-Unreliable-Entity-List

On 19 September 2020, the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) issued the Regulations on Unreliable Entity List (UEL regulations), which took effect on the same date. While MOFCOM has not named any specific foreign entity to be included on the list, the UEL regulations set out the principles for the implementation of the UEL system as summarised below.

What entities will be included in the UEL?

The UEL consists of foreign persons (enterprises, organisations or individuals) that engage in certain activities endangering China’s national sovereignty, security or development, causing serious damage to the legitimate rights and interests of Chinese enterprises, organisations and individuals by suspending normal transactions outside of normal market trading principles, or applying discriminatory measures.

What will be the consequences of the UEL?

Being listed on the UEL may trigger the application of various restrictive or prohibitive measures, including: (1) restrictions or prohibitions on China-related import or export activities; (2) restrictions or prohibitions on investment in China; (3) restrictions or prohibitions on relevant personnel or transport vehicles from entering into China; (4) restrictions or revocation of the relevant personnel’s work permit, qualification for stay, or residence in China; (5) a fine of the corresponding amount according to the severity of the circumstances; and (6) other necessary measures.

Who will be enforcing the UEL system?

The UEL regulations provide that the state will establish a “working mechanism” (UEL office) composed of relevant central departments to take charge of the organisation and implementation of the UEL system. The UEL office is organised by MOFCOM, and it is expected that the ministry will work together with other ministries and administrations, such as the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Public Security, to implement the UEL system.

What procedures will be followed?

The UEL office will announce the entities to be included in the UEL, and will decide whether an investigation is warranted prior to such an announcement. If an investigation is launched, the relevant foreign entity has the right to submit a presentation and defence. In the UEL announcement, the UEL office may impose a grace period for a foreign entity to take rectification measures.

The restrictive measures will be suspended during the grace period, and the relevant foreign entity will only be subject to the restrictive measures if it fails to rectify within the stipulated time period. If rectification measures have been properly taken and relevant negative impact has been eliminated, the relevant foreign entity can be removed from the UEL.

Are there any exemptions?

Under the UEL regulations, Chinese parties intending to import from, or export to, a foreign person on the UEL may apply to the UEL office for special permission to deal with the foreign person. Such permission will be granted only under special circumstances, on a case by case basis.

The issuance of the UEL regulations is an important milestone towards the actual implementation of the UEL system in China, which was first announced by MOFCOM in May 2019. However, it remains unclear how the UEL regulations will be implemented in practice. In particular, it is not clear as to whether, and how, the UEL regulations will apply to the existing Chinese subsidiaries of the foreign persons. Since the central government has been making great efforts in promoting foreign investment, as reiterated in a press release in connection with the issuance of the UEL regulations, most of the existing foreign-invested companies should not be adversely affected by the UEL regulations. Separately, to what extent the UEL regulations could have a “blocking” effect, with respect to the sanctions and export controls imposed by foreign countries against Chinese companies and individuals, remains to be seen.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com