公司控制视角下的股权设计

作者: 李佳霖、熊孝容,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
111

自2021年3月1日开始施行的《深圳经济特区商事登记若干规定》(下称《规定》)第四条新增了“公司依法设置特殊股权结构的,应当在章程中明确表决权差异安排”,该条款曾被各大网络媒体错误解读为深圳所有类型的公司均可设置“同股不同权”,引发了市场主体的高度关注及热烈讨论。对此,深圳市市场监督管理局澄清本次新修订内容是为了对接此前发布的《深圳经济特区科技创新条例》,可设置同股不同权的企业类型仍仅为科创企业。

上述《规定》之所以能够引起广泛讨论,是因为商事主体持续探寻灵活多变、经济实用的股权控制公司方法。笔者根据总结的经验介绍如下。

李佳霖, Li Jialin, Associates, Tiantai Law Firm
李佳霖
律师
天驰君泰律师事务所

基础股权控制方式

根据《公司法》,公司的重大决策需要经代表三分之二以上表决权股东表决通过。在公司章程未就表决权做特别约定情况下,有限公司股东一般按照认缴的出资比例行使表决权,股东持股67%以上即对公司拥有绝对控制权,持股34%以上即对重大事项拥有一票否决权。该种方式系股东控制公司最基础的方式。

该方式对于出资股东的资本要求较高,尤其在企业子公司、实控公司较多的情况下,如无雄厚资本支持将难以实现。

同股不同权结构

“同股不同权”又称双层股权结构,是一种将认缴出资与表决权进行分离而对公司实行有效控制的手段。在中国现有司法框架下,能够设置同股不同权的企业类型主要有有限责任公司、在创业板和科创板上市的股份公司、在深圳市设立的科技企业。

但该种设置均需满足一定前提条件,整体而言,企业在实行同股不同权架构时,建议关注以下环节:首先是《章程》效力问题,《章程》中应尽量避免设置明显不合理条款,或存在过度剥夺、限制一方股东权益的情形,否则将存在《章程》条款效力被否定的风险;其次是《章程》备案问题,由于全国市场监督管理部门针对登记备案的文件管理尺度不一,部分地区企业将非格式版本《章程》申请备案时将存在受理障碍,建议企业及时关注各地市场监督管理部门的态度。

此外,“同股不同权”的设置也可与股权转让、退股等情形挂钩,建议企业有此需求时,将企业实际情况、各股东合作关系、出资协议或增资协议约定条件、《章程》设计等多角度进行全方位设计后再予实施。

熊孝容, Xiong Xiaorong, Associate, Tiantai Law Firm
熊孝容
律师
天驰君泰律师事务所

归集表决权

归集表决权的方式有很多种,包括表决权/投票权委托、达成一致行动人协议。“表决权/投票权委托”即通过协议约定,某些股东将其投票权委托给其他特定股东行使。“达成一致行动人协议”即各股东通过签署协议的方式联合起来,通过形成联盟的方式对某一表决事项实现大比例表决票,从而实现对公司经营管理的控制。

部分股东不便采用前述基础股权控制、同股不同权的架构方式的,可选择设置归集表决权的方式控制公司。对于公司没有控股股东或实际控制人的情况,各股东也可通过这种方式有效作出决议。

归集表决权的设置存在很多设计空间,例如对于归集表决权的表决事项范围,股东可根据自身关切要点进行灵活设置,可设置为针对重大表决事项进行归集表决,或仅针对土地等重要资产的处置事项进行归集表决。如此可在实现决议的同时,避免不同股东对于所有事项无差别长期绑定带来的管理隐患。

归集表决权具有灵活性,但也具有不可忽视的弊端:其过度依赖股东之间的人合性,如人合性基础丧失,对企业的控制权也将不复存在。

持股平台控制公司

此种方式多以设立有限合伙企业,并以合伙企业入股公司的形式实现控制。有限合伙企业的合伙人分为普通有限合伙人(GP)、有限合伙人(LP),普通合伙人才能执行合伙事务,承担管理职能,而有限合伙人只能作为出资方,不参与企业管理。

所以,常见的操作方式是:管理层搭建一个有限合伙平台,以此作为公司的持股实体,创始人股东可以担任GP,最后达成掌握目标公司表决权的效果。

对公司的控制,除了股权层面的控制外,还包括对公司经营层面的控制。董事会是公司的经营决策机构,在公司经营管理中起着重要的作用。一般而言,控制了董事会就意味着控制公司的实际经营。因此,创始人股东可以通过把控对董事会提名或委任董事的权利,以捍卫自己的控制权。当然,对公司经营层面的控制还包括控制法定代表人的职位、掌控公章等方式。采用何种方法控制公司,还应当根据公司的类型、发展规模以及发展阶段综合考虑。

天驰君泰律师事务所律师李佳霖,熊孝容

刘建强 黄冰倩 天驰君泰律师事务所 域名天驰君泰律师事务所
中国上海市长宁区长宁路1133号
长宁来福士广场T1幢29层 邮编: 200051
电话: +86 21 5237 7006
传真: +86 21 5237 7009
电子信箱:

lijialin@tiantailaw.com

xiongxiaorong@tiantailaw.com

www.tiantailaw.com

Equity design from a corporate control perspective

By Li Jialin and Xiong Xiaorong, Tiantai Law Firm
0
57

Shenzhen Special Economic Zone´s Regulations on Commercial Registration came into effect on 1 March 2021. Article 4 of the regulations added the provision that “arrangements for differences in voting rights shall be specified in the articles of association if the company sets up a special equity structure according to the law”. This term was misunderstood by the mass media to mean that the “same shares with different voting rights” – or dual-class – structure can be applied by all types of company in Shenzhen, arousing great concern and lively discussion among market players.

李佳霖, Li Jialin, Associates, Tiantai Law Firm
Li Jialin
Associate
Tiantai Law Firm

The Shenzhen Administration for Market Regulation clarifies that this new revision is to dovetail with the previously released Regulations of Shenzhen Special Economic Zone on Science and Technology Innovation, and the enterprises that can set up these dual-class structures are still limited to science and technology innovation companies.

The reason why the regulations aroused broad discussion is that market players continue to look for more flexible, economic and practical ways to control a company through equity.

Basic control through equity

Under the Company Law, major decisions need to be approved by a vote of shareholders representing at least two-thirds of the voting rights. If the articles of association do not specify special arrangement on voting rights, shareholders of a limited company generally exercise their voting rights in proportion to their capital contribution. A shareholder with 67% or more has absolute control over the company, and a shareholder with 34% or more has a one-vote veto right over major issues. This is the basic way for shareholders to control a company.

This method has high capital requirements for shareholders, especially in the case where a company has a large number of subsidiaries.

Dual-class shares

The dual-class shares structure is a means to exercise effective control over the company by separating capital contribution from voting rights. Under the existing judicial framework in China, enterprises that can set up dual-class structures mainly include limited liability companies, companies limited by shares listed on the GEM and Star Market, and science and technology companies set up in Shenzhen.

But companies need to meet some preconditions to set up this structure. When companies are implementing a dual-class structure, it is recommended to focus on the following issues. First is the effectiveness of the articles of association. Articles of association should avoid obviously unreasonable terms, or the excessive deprivation or restriction of the rights and interests of any shareholder. Otherwise, there is a risk that the validity of the provisions of the articles of association will be negated.

The second issue concerns the filing of the articles. Since there are different documents and procedures required by each administration for market regulation in the different regions, problems may arise where shareholders file articles that do not follow the specific format. Enterprises should therefore pay close and timely attention to the attitude of their local administration for market regulation.

In addition, the legal terms of dual-class shares can also be linked to their transfer, withdrawal and other circumstances. When implementing a dual-class structure, companies should ensure it is based on a fully rounded assessment of the actual situation of the enterprise, the co-operation relationship between shareholders, capital contribution agreement or agreed conditions of capital increase, and the design of the articles of association and other aspects.

熊孝容, Xiong Xiaorong, Associate, Tiantai Law Firm
Xiong Xiaorong
Associate
Tiantai Law Firm

Pooling of voting rights

There are many ways of pooling voting rights, including proxy voting and entering into a concerted-action agreement.

Proxy voting means some shareholders delegate their voting power to a representative shareholder. Entering into a concerted-action agreement means that by forming an alliance to achieve a large percentage of votes on a particular matter, shareholders can achieve control over management of a company.

For cases where it is not convenient to adopt the basic way to control a company or a dual-class structure, shareholders can pool voting rights. For companies that do not have a controlling shareholder or actual controller, each shareholder may also make resolutions in this manner.

There is more room in pooling voting rights. For example, shareholders can flexibly design the matters that fall under the pooling of voting rights based on their own concerns. For example, they can set the pooling of voting rights for major voting matters or only for the disposal of important assets, such as land. In this way, resolutions can be achieved while avoiding the potential management problems caused by the indiscriminate long-term binding of different shareholders on all matters.

Pooling of voting rights offers flexibility, but also has its disadvantages – it depends excessively on the personal relations between each shareholder, and if the basis of the personal relationship is lost, control over the enterprise will no longer exist.

Shareholding platform

This approach is mostly based on the establishment of a limited partnership and the partnership’s participation in the company to achieve control. Partners of a limited partnership can be divided into general partner (GP) and limited partner (LP). Only a general partner can execute partnership affairs and take management functions, while a limited partner is only the capital contributor and will not be involved in enterprise management.

The common way such an arrangement works is: The management forms a limited partnership platform as the shareholding entity, and the founding shareholder is the general partner, ultimately achieving control of the voting rights of the company.

A company may be controlled from an operational perspective in addition to the equity one. The board of directors is the operating and decision-making body of the company and plays an important role in the management. In general, control of the board of directors means control of the actual operations of the company. Therefore, the founding shareholders can defend their control by controlling the right to nominate or appoint directors to the board. Certainly, control of the operation of the company also includes control of the position of legal representative, control of the official seal, and other methods. The method used to control a company should also be considered in light of the type, size, and stage of development of the company.

Li Jialin and Xiong Xiaorong are associates at Tiantai Law Firm

Frank Liu Jerry Huang Tiantai Law Firm domain nameTiantai Law Firm
29/F, T1 Building, Raffles City
No.1133 Changning Road, Changning District
Shanghai 200051, China
Tel: +86 21 5237 7006
Fax: +86 21 5237 7009
E-mail:

lijialin@tiantailaw.com

xiongxiaorong@tiantailaw.com

 

www.tiantailaw.com