中国对国际仲裁的进一步开放

作者: 陈湘林,汉坤律师事务所
0
250

在不到两年时间内,从中央到地方都陆续出台了诸多促进中国对国际仲裁进一步开放的举措。在国家政策、司法实践层面都推出了哪些举措?

自2019年12月新冠肺炎疫情爆发至今,中国全国上下都在全力以赴应对和管控疫情,但在商事仲裁领域,中国对国际仲裁进一步开放的脚步却未因疫情而停止。在不到两年时间内,从中央到地方都陆续出台了诸多促进中国对国际仲裁进一步开放的举措。

陈湘林, Chen Xianglin, Partner, Han Kun Law Offices
陈湘林
合伙人
汉坤律师事务所

就国家政策层面而言,具体包括但不限于以下举措。

上海市司法局于2019年10月21日发布了《境外仲裁机构在中国(上海)自由贸易试验区临港新片区设立业务机构管理办法》。根据该管理办法,自2020年1月1日起,符合规定条件的在外国和我国香港特别行政区、澳门特别行政区、台湾地区合法成立的,不以营利为目的仲裁机构以及我国加入的国际组织设立的开展仲裁业务的机构,可向上海市司法局提出申请在上海自贸区临港新片区登记设立业务机构,开展相关涉外仲裁业务。

北京市司法局于2020年12月28日发布了《境外仲裁机构在中国(北京)自由贸易试验区设立业务机构登记管理办法》。根据该管理办法,自2021年1月1日起,在外国或者我国香港特别行政区、澳门特别行政区、台湾地区合法成立的不以营利为目的的仲裁机构,以及我国加入的国际组织设立的开展仲裁业务的机构,经登记可以在中国(北京)自由贸易试验区设立业务机构,就国际商事、投资等领域的民商事争议开展涉外仲裁业务。

最高人民法院2021年1月8日发布了《关于人民法院为海南自由贸易港建设提供司法服务和保障的意见》。根据该意见,国家支持境外国际仲裁机构在海南自由贸易港设立业务机构开展仲裁业务,并支持在自由贸易港区域内注册的企业之间约定在特定地点、按照特定仲裁规则、由特定人员对相关争议进行仲裁。依法支持和保障中外当事人在仲裁前和仲裁中的财产保全、证据保全、行为保全等临时措施的申请和执行。

就司法实践而言,具体包括但不限于以下安排。

最高人民法院与香港特别行政区政府签署的《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》(下称《安排》)于2019年10月1日生效,并被应用于大量仲裁地在香港的国际仲裁案件中。很长时间以来,除海事案件外,中国法院不认可和执行境外仲裁程序中的临时措施命令。这一情况随着2019年4月2日最高人民法院与香港特别行政区政府签署的《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》而得到改变。根据该《安排》,以香港为仲裁地、由最高人民法院和香港特别行政区政府共同确认的特定境外仲裁机构管理的国际仲裁程序中,其当事人可向中国内地法院申请财产保全。该《安排》于2019年10月1日生效。

自《安排》生效以后,即被广泛应用于以香港为仲裁地的国际仲裁程序中。以香港国际仲裁中心(下称“港仲”)公布的数据为例,截至2021年2月9日,港仲一共处理了37个向内地法院提出的仲裁保全申请。在这37个申请中,34个申请是财产保全,两个申请是证据保全,一个是行为保全。所有财产保全申请所涉及的资产总额为125亿人民币 (约19亿美元)。

有中国法院将由境外仲裁机构管理的、仲裁地为中国内地的国际仲裁案件下仲裁庭作出的裁决认定为中国涉外仲裁裁决。在中国,不同国籍的仲裁裁决会适用不同的司法监督和执行程序。认定仲裁裁决国籍的依据通常是仲裁地。对于当事人约定仲裁地在中国内地,但又由境外仲裁机构管理的国际仲裁案件中仲裁庭作出的裁决,以前有中国法院将其认定为《纽约公约》规定的“非内国裁决”,进而适用《纽约公约》进行裁决的认可与执行。

这一认定在最新的司法实践中有所改变。在广州市中级人民法院(下称“广州中院”)处理的申请人布兰特伍德工业申请承认和执行国际商会国际仲裁院于2014年3月17日在中国广州市对申请人布兰特伍德公司,与被申请人广东阀安龙机械成套设备工程、广州市正启贸易和广东省环境工程装备总公司作出的案件编号18929/CYK《终极裁决》一案中,广州中院认定:“……将案涉仲裁裁决系外国仲裁机构在中国内地作出的仲裁裁决,可以视为中国涉外仲裁裁决……”。这一认定符合依据仲裁地认定仲裁裁决国籍属性的国际实践,但中国国内法对此类程序的法律适用问题,亟待理论和实践的进一步研究。

相信中国以及全球的疫情终将会过去,而中国对国际仲裁的进一步开放仍会继续推进。


陈湘林是汉坤律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式为电话 +86 135 2146 9731以及电邮xianglin.chen@hankunlaw.com

China opens further to international arbitration

By Chen Xianglin, Han Kun Law Offices
0
129

In less than two years, both central and local governments have introduced a number of measures to promote China’s adoption of international arbitration. Just what has been introduced at the levels of national policy and judicial practice?

Since the outbreak of covid-19 in December 2019, all parts of China went all out to deal with and control the epidemic, but in the field of commercial arbitration, China’s further opening to international arbitration has abated, despite the crisis. In less than two years, both central and local governments have introduced a number of measures to promote China’s further opening to international arbitration.

陈湘林, Chen Xianglin, Partner, Han Kun Law Offices
Chen Xianglin
Partner
Han Kun Law Offices

At the national policy level, the measures specifically include but are not limited to the following measures.

On 21 October 2019, Shanghai Municipal Bureau of Justice issued the Administrative Measures for Business Offices Established by Overseas Arbitration Institutions in Lin-gang Special Area of China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone. According to the administrative measures, from 1 January 2020, non-profit arbitration institutions legally established in foreign countries and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR), Macau SAR and Taiwan Region of China, as well as arbitration institutions established by international organisations that China has joined, can apply to Shanghai Municipal Bureau of Justice for registration and establishment of business offices in Lin-gang Special Area of Shanghai Free Trade Zone to carry out relevant foreign-related arbitration activities.

On 28 December 2020, Beijing Municipal Bureau of Justice issued the Administrative Measures for Registration of Business Offices Established by Overseas Arbitration Institutions in China (Beijing) Pilot Free Trade Zone. According to these administrative measures, from 1 January 2021, non-profit arbitration institutions legally established in foreign countries and the Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR and Taiwan Region of China, as well as arbitration institutions established by international organisations that China has joined, may, after registration, establish business offices in China (Beijing) Pilot Free Trade Zone to carry out foreign-related arbitration activities with respect to civil and commercial disputes arising in the fields of, among other things, international commercial affairs and investment.

On 8 January 2021, the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) issued the Opinions on the People’s Court Providing Judicial Services and Guarantee for the Construction of Hainan Free Trade Port. According to the opinions, the state supports overseas international arbitration institutions to establish business offices in Hainan Free Trade Port to carry out arbitration activities, and supports that enterprises registered in this free trade port agree on arbitration for disputes at a specific place, and by a specific person, in accordance with specific arbitration rules, and supports and guarantees the application and enforcement of interim measures such as property preservation, evidence preservation and behaviour preservation of Chinese and foreign parties, before and during arbitration, according to law.

As for judicial practice, the above-mentioned measures specifically include, but are not limited to, the following arrangements.

The Arrangement Concerning Mutual Assistance in Court-ordered Interim Measures in Aid of Arbitral Proceedings by the Courts of the Mainland and of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (arrangement), signed between the SPC and the Government of Hong Kong SAR, came into effect on 1 October 2019, and has been applied to a large number of international arbitration cases in Hong Kong.

For a long time, except for maritime cases, Chinese courts did not recognise and enforce the order of interim measures in overseas arbitration proceedings. This situation has changed with the signing of the arrangement, on 2 April 2019, between the SPC and the Government of Hong Kong SAR.

According to the arrangement, in the international arbitration proceedings administered by a specific overseas arbitration institution jointly confirmed by the SPC and the Government of Hong Kong SAR, with Hong Kong as the arbitration seat, the parties concerned may apply to the courts in mainland China for property preservation.

Since coming into effect, the arrangement has been widely used in international arbitration proceedings where Hong Kong is the arbitration seat. Taking the data published by Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre as an example, as of 9 February 2021, Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre had handled a total of 37 arbitration preservation applications filed with mainland courts. Of these, 34 are for property preservation, two are for evidence preservation, and one is for behaviour preservation. The total assets involved in all property preservation applications are RMB12.5 billion (about US$1.9 billion).

Some Chinese courts hold the arbitral award made by the arbitral tribunal in international arbitration cases administered by overseas arbitration institutions, and with the arbitration seat in mainland China, as China’s foreign-related arbitral award. In China, arbitral awards of different nationalities will be subject to different judicial supervision and enforcement procedures.

The nationality of arbitral award is usually determined based on the arbitration seat. For arbitral awards made by the arbitral tribunal in international arbitration cases, where the parties agree that the arbitration seat shall be in mainland China, but which are administered by an overseas arbitration institution, previously Chinese courts determined these as “non-domestic arbitral awards” as provided in the New York Convention, and applied the New York Convention for recognition and enforcement of the awards.

This determination has changed in the latest judicial practice. In the case handled by Guangzhou Intermediate People’s Court, where the applicant Brentwood Industries applied for recognition and enforcement of a final award made by the ICC International Court of Arbitration on 17 March 2014 in Guangzhou, China – concerning Brentwood and the respondents, Guangdong Fa’anlong Machinery Complete Set Equipment Engineering, Guangzhou Zhengqi Trading, and Guangdong Environment Engineering Equipment General Company – the Guangzhou court determined that: “… the arbitral award is one made by a foreign arbitration institution in mainland China, and can be regarded as China’s foreign-related arbitral award …”. This determination conforms to the international practice of determining the nationality of arbitral awards according to standard of seat, but the application of Chinese domestic laws to this kind of procedure requires further study in theory and practice.

The author believes that the covid-19 epidemic in China and around the world will eventually end, but China’s further opening to international arbitration will continue to advance.


Chen Xianglin is a partner at Han Kun Law Offices. He can be contacted on +86 135 2146 9731 or at email xianglin.chen@hankunlaw.com