另一场疫情——冒牌口罩“传染病”

作者: Manisha Singh 、Simran Bhullar,LexOrbis律师事务所
0
319

据国家和国际有关机构发布的预防和安全指南,戴口罩对于阻碍新型冠状病毒的传播至关重要。相关机构已将佩戴口罩确立为最有效的防病毒措施之一。一些司法管辖区对佩戴防护口罩已做出强制性规定,而其他管辖区则仅发布了公共健康建议。无论如何,口罩已成为对抗疫情的必需品。

Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis律师事务所

新冠疫情爆发时,政府、医疗人员、一线医护曾抱怨防护设备不足,同时又强调这类设备的必要性。而侵权者则从中看到了商机,试图通过提供冒牌口罩来坑害缺乏警惕的消费者。印有汤米·希尔费格、3M、耐克、阿迪达斯、彪马、Amul、迪斯尼等著名品牌标识的口罩充斥市场。通过网络搜索,可以获得数千条结果,显示网络电商通过各种电子商务平台销售明显冒用品牌的口罩。

品牌方的回应

对于这类知识产权侵权已经诉诸法律诉讼。在最近的“汤米·希尔费格欧洲BV公司诉M/s Taqua纺织公司等相关方”一案中,国际化公司汤米·希尔费格向高等法院提起诉讼,指控两家位于泰米尔纳德邦的口罩制造商M/s Taqua纺织公司和M/s Shine Exim印度公司滥用其品牌标识和商标,被诉的两家公司是同一人士拥有和经营的个人独资企业。原告在电商平台上看到带有其注册商标和标识的口罩广告,从而获悉该侵权行为。通过进一步调查,原告发现被告还在其他服装上侵犯其商标,而且被告还侵犯了其他著名品牌的商标。法院批准了针对被告的临时禁制令申请,以防止被告的侵权和仿冒行为。

国际市场上也已发现假牌口罩并引发普遍担忧。美国知名公司、N95高级口罩制造商3M已对多个卖家和制造商提起法律诉讼,指控其使用3M品牌、标识和注册商标,以及伪造必要的证书和许可,用于向医护工作者出售防护用品。其他公司则采取了较为宽容的做法。Green Gold动画公司面对侵权者将印度著名卡通人物、功夫小子Chhota Bheem的形象印在口罩上的做法,选择只要不是知名企业滥用其注册商标和标识,就会避免提起知识产权诉讼。该公司之所以采取这种态度,是因为口罩在对抗疫情中至关重要。但这种做法或许会适得其反,因为假口罩都是靠劣质材料制成。

Simran Bhullar,-Associate,-LexOrbis
Simran Bhullar
律师
LexOrbis律师事务所

观念的转变

冒牌口罩对于消费者有可能弊大于利,因为制造口罩通常在未杀菌的条件下由不合格的材料制成,所用的材料几乎没有任何保护作用。随着印度的城市空气污染水平达到警戒水平,品牌口罩既是时尚又是必需。2020年,口罩显然已经大行其道,在人们眼中,口罩已不再仅仅是个人防护设备。

2020年口罩曾一度成为紧俏商品。时尚界闻风而动,对口罩加以创新,用环保材料将口罩作为一种新的配饰大批量生产。设计师也推出了一系列口罩品种。一些人选择仅生产医务人员口罩,而另有一些人则按照公众购买的数量向医务人员捐赠口罩。但是,由于纺织工人不习惯遵守严格的医学标准,因此对于这些口罩有多大效用仍有争议。此外,由于疫情的缘故,许多行业业务萎缩,有些则陷入停摆。为了弥补收入损失、维持生计和恢复经营,侵权者开始钻口罩短缺的空子。遗憾的是,由于全球都陷于公共卫生危机之中,冒牌口罩的销售飙升至历史最高点。

所幸的是,有关部门和企业已开始注意到假冒口罩这一“流行病”。政府机构持续发布健康建议,宣传佩戴规范生产的正品口罩的效果。企业也发挥自身作用,积极采取措施遏制侵权者,间接地避免损害公共卫生。

Manisha Singh是LexOrbis律师事务所的合伙人,Simran Bhullar是该所律师。

LexOrbis ip intellectual property infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com

The epidemic of fake branded masks

By Manisha Singh and Simran Bhullar, LexOrbis
0
206

According to precautionary and safety guidelines issued by national and international authorities, wearing a face cover is essential to curb the spread of the novel coronavirus. Such authorities have identified the wearing of face masks as one of the most effective precautions against the virus. Some jurisdictions have made the wearing of protective masks mandatory, while others have only issued public health advisories. Nonetheless, face masks have become crucial in the fight against the pandemic.

Manisha Singh,LexOrbis,Intellectual Property Enforcement face masks
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

At the outbreak of covid-19, governments, medical staff, frontline and healthcare workers complained of the shortage of protective equipment while stressing the necessity of such equipment. Infringers saw this as an opportunity to exploit unsuspecting consumers by offering fake branded face masks. Masks with the logos of such famous brands as Tommy Hilfiger, 3M, Nike, Adidas, Puma, Amul and Disney flooded markets. Online searches yield thousands of results with listings of online sellers using various e-commerce platforms to sell apparently fake branded face masks.

Response from brands

This type of IP infringement has led to legal action. In the recent case of Tommy Hilfiger Europe BV v M/s Taqua Textiles & Ors, the international company, Tommy Hilfiger, filed a case in the high court for misusing the brand’s logo and trademark against two Tamil Nadu-based face mask manufacturers, M/s Taqua Textiles and M/s Shine Exim India, which were sole proprietorships owned and operated by the same person. The plaintiff had become aware of the infringement on seeing an advertisement on an e-commerce platform for face masks bearing its registered trademark and logo. On investigating further the plaintiff found that the defendants were infringing its trademark on other clothing and that the defendants were also infringing the trademarks of other famous brands. The court granted the applications for interim injunctions against the defendants to prevent them from infringing and passing off.

Simran Bhullar,LexOrbis,Intellectual Property Enforcement face masks
Simran Bhullar
Associate
LexOrbis

Fake branded masks have also been found in international markets causing general concern. 3M, a well-known American manufacturer of high grade N95 face masks, has brought legal action against various sellers and manufacturers for using its brand, logo and registered trademark, and for falsifying certificates and licences that are required to sell protective gear to healthcare workers. Other companies have adopted a more charitable approach. Green Gold Animation, whose famous Indian cartoon character Chhota Bheem has been printed on face masks by infringers, has chosen to avoid IP litigation if no big name is misusing its registered trademark and logo. The company has taken this attitude because masks are critical in the fight against the pandemic. However, this may be a counterproductive approach as the materials used in producing fake masks are of substandard quality.

Changing perceptions

Fake branded masks may cause more harm than good to consumers as the material used in manufacturing them offers little or no protection. These masks are usually made in unsterile conditions from substandard material. When cities in India experienced alarming levels of air pollution, branded face masks became fashionable as well as essential. In 2020, as it has become clear that face masks are here to stay, people have started to regard them as more than just personal protective equipment.

In a short period of time, face masks have become a coveted commodity in 2020. The fashion industry has responded by being innovative with face masks, producing the new accessory in bulk with eco-friendly materials. Designers launched lines of face masks. Some decided to manufacture solely for medical staff, while others donated to such staff by matching the quantity purchased by members of the public. However, the question of how far these masks are effective is a matter of dispute since textile workers are not used to complying with rigorous medical standards. Moreover, many industries lost business, with some coming to a halt because of the pandemic. To offset the loss of income, to stay afloat and to revive businesses, infringers began capitalizing on the shortage of face masks. Unfortunately, as our world is dealing with a public health crisis the peddling of fake branded masks is at an all-time high.

It is fortunate that authorities and businesses are starting to take notice of the growing pandemic of fake face masks. Government agencies continue to release health advisories relating to the effectiveness of wearing original, well-manufactured face masks. Businesses are also playing their part by taking a proactive approach to discouraging infringers and indirectly avoiding detriment to public health.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Simran Bhullar is an associate at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis ip intellectual property infringement
LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India
Mumbai | Bengaluru
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: [email protected]lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com