泰国加密货币监管政策

作者: Jason Corbett、Koraphot Jirachocksubsin,Silk Legal律师事务所
0
196

在制定有关虚拟货币的法律框架时,亚洲各司法管辖区一直持谨慎态度,但加密货币的市场波动和大起大落,正促使监管机构迅速采取行动。


印度

台湾

泰国

 

泰国,由于2021年上半年的强劲牛市周期,投资者对加密货币和数字资产的兴趣大幅上升。尽管从2021年5月中旬开始,市场经历了收缩,但这几乎无法阻止投资者重新燃起对这一前途光明的投资类别的兴趣。这种现象促使监管机构加紧研究方法,消除法律歧义,保护投资者。

Jason Corbett
Jason Corbett
曼谷Silk Legal律师事务所的管理合伙人
电话: +662 107 2007
电邮: jason@silklegal.com

泰国是亚洲最早颁布专门针对加密货币和数字资产的法律的司法管辖区之一。《数字资产法》于2018年5月生效,成为监管数字资产发行和涉及数字资产的其他商业活动的主要法律。特别是,该法规定,那些寻求在泰国进行首次代币发行的人,必须首先向证券交易委员会(SEC)注册,首次代币发行必须通过证券交易委员会批准的首次代币发行门户网站举行,该门户网站是为数字代币发行提供便利的电子系统提供商,负责对代币和发行人的资格进行尽职调查,确保相关文件的完整性和准确性;同时,它还应对潜在投资者进行尽职调查。该法还对不同类型的数字资产以及交易所、经纪人和交易商在该国合法经营的各种许可要求做出了明确定义。

当然,2018年以来,对加密货币和数字资产的监管,已经发生了变化,其他监管机构(即泰国中央银行),对监管它们的方法更感兴趣。尽管如此,模棱两可的情况仍然存在,监管机构仍在制定一个有效消除复杂性的框架。

问:在泰国,寻求投资加密货币的公司和个人主要关注什么?

答:泰国已经出现了本土市场主体,即加密货币交易所Bitkub,由于对加密货币投资的兴趣日增,泰国中央银行命令Bitkub交易所在接纳新客户之前增加其容纳能力,就像传统银行必须能够同时为大多数客户服务一样。尽管如此,监管模糊地带和障碍带来的挑战仍然比比皆是。

例如,泰国反洗钱办公室拟于2021年5月实施新的“了解你的客户”要求。新要求实际上迫使交易所停止其在线账户创建流程,转而采用只准本人当场设置的做法。按照这种做法,潜在客户必须使用带有智能芯片的泰国公民身份证,来验证其个人资料,且必须亲自到场使用智能卡读卡器(类似于用来读取芯片信用卡的机器)进行验证。

虽然新要求的目的是减少洗钱和欺诈事件,但也为数字交易所和那些打算使用其服务的人制造了更多障碍。这就让人产生了以下疑问:那些无法亲临曼谷的人,或者那些护照上没有同种芯片的外国公民,将如何能够创建账户或进行交易。

另一个值得研究的要求是证券交易委员会的要求,它规定代币发行人每天提交大量数据管理报告,其中必须包含投资者及其交易的列表。这背后的理由是,监控购买者的商业活动,并降低任何恶意活动发生的可能性。然而,此举对许多代币发行人和潜在交易所主办者来说可能是不利的,因为他们不得不分配大量的资源来满足这些要求。

外国居民特别需要关注的是,泰国中央银行对资金外流实施的限制。虽然加密货币资金可以进入一家泰国大型交易所(在这种交易中,交易所是法定货币出口,即退出加密货币市场的手段),但将大量资金汇回母国或转出该国受到泰国中央银行的严格限制,除了承担关税和税款之外,所有者还需要获得银行的批准。

Koraphot Jirachocksubsin
Koraphot Jirachocksubsin
曼谷Silk Legal律师事务所的高级律师
电话: +662 107 2007
电邮: koraphot@silklegal.com

问:被称为不可替代代币 (NFT) 的数字资产,在买卖数字艺术品方面变得越来越流行。你对泰国监管不可替代代币的方式有什么看法?

答: 不可替代代币与人们通常对加密货币的联想略有不同,它是一种独特类型的加密代币,代表着对一个独特数字物品的所有权。每个代币都包含一套独特的信息或属性,使其具有不可替代性,也不可能像其他数字文件那样进行交换。相比之下,交换、交易标准加密货币和多数数字代币是很容易的。不可替代代币有各种形式,即艺术品和其他资产,并能以与金融工具相同的方式进行交易。

不可替代代币在世界各地越来越受欢迎,在泰国也不例外。虽然泰国没有针对不可替代代币的具体法规,但泰国监管机构一直在研究,授予不可替代代币持有人权利所产生的影响,特别是有关所有权、知识产权和获得版税的权利。鉴于其新颖性,目前泰国不存在与之有关的监管法律框架,政府正在就不可替代代币是否应被视为证券或知识产权的问题,在法律层面进行讨论。

尽管如此,泰国存在资产支持的代币(尤其是房地产代币)的监管规定,可以解释泰国监管机构未来如何对待不可替代代币,因为它们也被视为财产。

根据2018年的《数字资产紧急法令》,房地产代币被视为投资代币,接受证券交易委员会的监管。这意味着房地产代币的发行人,必须满足许多与普通硬币发行人相同的要求,但首次代币发行不能像其用于为数字项目提供资金那样,用于为房地产开发提供资金。监管机构将如何对待这些数字资产,仍有待观察。

问:在泰国,围绕加密货币即将出现的监管动态是什么,投资者应该注意什么?

答:泰国中央银行和证券交易委员会,目前正在起草关于加密货币交易资本利得的法规。市场参与者可能会对此感兴趣,因为这将对税款产生影响,而目前的税款是根据每笔特定交易的价值计算的。泰国中央银行最近还发布了稳定币(是指价格与储备资产挂钩的加密货币)的金融服务监管指南,特别是泰铢支持的稳定币。根据2017年《支付系统法》,稳定币被归类为电子货币。这份监管指南是在泰国中央银行即将出台央行数字货币监管政策的背景下发布的。

除此之外,泰国中央银行还可能发布新的专门针对央行数字货币的“了解你的客户”手册,以防止欺诈和其他恶意活动。另一方面,央行不会发行的稳定币,如资产支持稳定币和算法稳定币,目前正在利益相关方之间讨论。

代币发行人和投资者都应该留意预计将发布的关于会计准则以及加密货币的财务处理的法规。虽然尚未公布即将出台的法规的精神,但预计加密货币将被视为财产,并将遵循与其他财产相同的估值方法。

5月30日,对于由加密货币交易所Bitkub运营的去中心化金融 (DeFi) 收益挖矿平台Tuktuk Finance的上线,证券交易委员会发布的一份公告,暗示可能会制定参与去中心化金融的代币发行人的持牌要求。与对其他代币发行人的要求一样,证券交易委员会规定,涉及去中心化金融的数字代币发行,必须符合《2018年数字资产法》的规定,特别是通过特许门户网站披露信息和发行的规定。

监管机构似乎误解了去中心化金融作为一个去中心化系统的实际运作方式。包括交易验证在内的关键协议由去中心化金融平台预编码智能合约管理,而这些智能合约使得交易所涉及的许多流程实现了自动化。虽然有关去中心化金融的法规仍然有待制定,但预计监管机构将研究对法定货币入口和出口的监管,因为这是去中心化金融技术中唯一可监管的部分。

尽管如此,为了建立全面的监管,监管机构切记应保持灵活性,方能既促进不会阻碍行业发展的新形式数字交易和虚拟资产的发展,又保护到投资者并支持他们的需求。虽然不同司法管辖区针对数字资产和涉及数字资产的交易制定了许多指导原则,但去中心化金融的完全去中心化性质,不仅对泰国的监管机构来说是一个挑战,对世界各地的监管机构来说也是一个挑战。

Jason Corbett,曼谷Silk Legal律师事务所的管理合伙人
Koraphot Jirachocksubsin,曼谷Silk Legal律师事务所的高级律师

silk legal

Silk Legal

RSU Tower 8th Floor, Suite 805

571 Sukhumvit Road (Soi 31)

North Klongton, Watthana

Bangkok — 10110, Thailand

联系方式

电邮: info@silklegal.com

www.silklegal.com

Cryptocurrency regulation in Thailand

    By Jason Corbett and Koraphot Jirachocksubsin, Silk Legal
    0
    198

    Asian jurisdictions have been cautious in developing legal frameworks around virtual currencies, but the volatile market and relentless evolution of cryptos are pushing regulators to act


    India

    Taiwan

    Thailand

    Interest in cryptocurrencies and digital assets in Thailand has seen a significant surge due to the strong bull cycle in the first half of 2021. While the market has experienced contractions, starting halfway through May 2021, it has done little to dampen Thailand’s renewed interest in the up-and-coming investment class, which has driven regulators to closely examine ways to address legal ambiguities and protect investors.

    Jason Corbett
    Jason Corbett
    Managing Partner at Silk Legal
    in Bangkok
    Tel: +662 107 2007
    Email: jason@silklegal.com

    Thailand was among the first jurisdictions in Asia to issue legislation that specifically addresses cryptocurrencies and digital assets. Having taken effect in May 2018, the Digital Asset Act became the primary piece of legislation to regulate the offering of digital assets and other business activities involving them. In particular, the act states that those seeking to conduct initial coin offerings (ICOs) in the country must first register with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), and the ICO must be held via an SEC-approved ICO portal, an electronic system provider that facilitates the offering of digital tokens, which will be responsible for performing due diligence on the tokens and the qualifications of issuers, ensuring the completeness and accuracy of the documents involved, and the same for the potential investors. The act also provides clear definitions of the different types of digital assets and various licensing requirements for exchanges, brokers and dealers to operate in the country legally.

    Regulations surrounding cryptocurrencies and digital assets have, of course, evolved since 2018, and other regulatory bodies, namely the Bank of Thailand (BoT), have taken more interest in the way they are governed. Nonetheless, ambiguities still exist, and regulators are still in the process of developing a framework that effectively addresses the complexities.

    Q: What are the main concerns for companies and individuals in Thailand seeking to invest in cryptocurrencies?

    A: Thailand has seen the emergence of several players in the local market, namely crypto exchange Bitkub, which, due to the growing interest in crypto investments, was ordered by the BoT to increase its capacity before onboarding new clients, in the same way as a traditional bank would be required to be able to service a majority of their customers at the same time. Nonetheless, challenges with regard to regulatory ambiguities and hindrances still abound.

    An example of this is the proposed introduction of new know your customer (KYC) requirements in May 2021 by Thailand’s Anti-Money Laundering Office (AMLO), which would effectively force digital exchanges to halt their online account creation process and shift to an in-person-only setup, where potential customers must verify their personal details using their Thai national ID card, which contains a smart chip, and must attend in person to verify using a smart card reader – similar to the machines used to read chip-credit cards.

    While the new requirement intends to mitigate instances of money laundering and fraud, it will create additional hurdles for digital exchanges and those seeking to use their services. It begs the question of how those who are not physically in Bangkok, or foreign nationals whose passports will not contain the same chips, will be able to create accounts or conduct transactions.

    Another requirement worth examining is one from the SEC, which mandates that token issuers submit extensive data management reports daily that must contain a list of investors and their transactions. The rationale behind this is to monitor the purchasers’ business activities and mitigate the likelihood of any malicious activities taking place. However, this may be disadvantageous to many token issuers and potential exchange hosts, as they will have to allocate significant amounts of resources to comply with these requirements.

    Of particular concern to foreign residents are the restrictions imposed by the BoT with regard to the movement of funds out of the country. While cryptocurrency funds can be brought into one of the larger exchanges in Thailand as a fiat off-ramp (means of exiting the crypto market), repatriating or transferring large amounts out of the country is heavily restricted by the BoT, and will require the owner to seek approval from the bank, on top of incurring duties and taxes.

    Koraphot Jirachocksubsin
    Koraphot Jirachocksubsin
    Senior Associate at Silk Legal
    in Bangkok
    Tel: +662 107 2007
    Email: koraphot@silklegal.com

    Q: Digital assets called non-fungible tokens (NFTs) have become increasingly popular for buying and selling digital artwork. What is your take on Thailand’s approach to regulating NFTs?

    A: NFTs are slightly different from what people commonly associate with cryptocurrencies. They are a unique type of cryptographic token representing ownership of a unique digital item. Each token contains a distinct set of information or attributes that makes it irreplaceable and impossible to swap in the same manner as other digital files. In contrast, it is easy to swap and trade standard cryptocurrencies and most digital tokens. NFTs come in various forms, namely artwork and other assets, and can be traded in the same way as financial instruments.

    NFTs are growing in popularity around the world, and Thailand is no exception to this. While no specific regulations exist surrounding NFTs, Thai regulators have been examining the implications of rights granted to a holder of an NFT, particularly concerning ownership rights, intellectual property rights, and access to royalties. Given its novelty, no legal frameworks currently exist surrounding their governance, and legal discussions are now underway as to whether NFTs should be considered securities or intellectual property.

    Nonetheless, the existence of regulations surrounding asset-backed tokens, particularly real estate-backed tokens, may explain how NFTs may be treated in the future, given that these are also seen as property.

    Under the Emergency Decree on Digital Assets, 2018, real estate-backed tokens are considered investment tokens and subject to the SEC’s supervision. It means that issuers of real estate-backed tokens must fulfil many of the same requirements as regular coin issuers, albeit ICOs cannot be used to fund the development of a real estate property in the same way that ICOs are used to fund digital projects. How the regulators will treat these digital assets remains to be seen.

    Q: What are the upcoming regulatory developments surrounding cryptocurrencies in Thailand, and what should investors be aware of?

    A: The BoT and the SEC are currently drafting regulations on capital gains from cryptocurrency transactions. These may be of interest to market participants as this would have implications on taxes, which are currently calculated based on the value of each particular transaction. The BoT has also recently issued guidelines for regulating financial services involving stablecoins (cryptocurrencies where the price is pegged to a reserve asset), particularly Thai baht-backed stablecoins, which is classified as electronic money under the Payment Systems Act of 2017. This issuance was made in anticipation of an upcoming regulation on central bank digital currencies (CBDCs) issued by the BoT.

    In addition to this, the BoT may also issue a new KYC manual, specific to CBDCs, to prevent issues surrounding fraud and other malicious activities. On the other hand, stablecoins that central banks do not issue, such as asset-backed stablecoins and algorithmic stablecoins, are currently being discussed among stakeholders.

    Token issuers and investors alike should take note of anticipated regulations surrounding accounting standards and how cryptocurrencies will be treated in a financial context. While no announcements have been made yet regarding the spirit of the upcoming regulations, it is expected that cryptocurrencies will be treated as property, and will be subject to the same valuation methodology as other properties.

    An SEC announcement on 30 May hinted at possible licensing requirements for token issuers involved with decentralised finance (DeFi), in response to the launch of DeFi yield farming platform Tuktuk Finance, operated by Bitkub. As with other token issuers, the SEC mandates that the issuance of digital tokens involved in DeFi would be required to comply with the requirements of the Digital Assets Act of 2018, particularly concerning the disclosure of information and the offering through a licensed portal.

    The regulator has seemingly misunderstood how DeFi as a decentralised system actually works. Key protocols, including the verification of transactions, are governed by pre-coded smart contracts in DeFi platforms that automate many of the processes involved in transactions. While regulations have yet to be developed around DeFi, it is expected that regulators will look into supervising fiat on and off-ramps, given that would be the only part of the technology that can be regulated.

    Nonetheless, creating holistic regulations will require regulators to bear in mind the need for flexibility in facilitating new forms of digital transactions and virtual assets that will not hamper the growth of the industry, while also protecting investors and supporting their demand. While numerous guidelines have been made across different jurisdictions on digital assets and transactions involving them, the sheer decentralised nature of DeFi will prove to be a challenge not only for regulators in Thailand, but all over the world.

    silk legal

    Silk Legal

    RSU Tower 8th Floor, Suite 805

    571 Sukhumvit Road (Soi 31)

    North Klongton, Watthana

    Bangkok — 10110, Thailand

    Contact details

    Email: info@silklegal.com

    www.silklegal.com