印度加密货币监管政策

作者: Manisha Singh、Nisha Sharma,LexOrbis律师事务所
0
775

在制定有关虚拟货币的法律框架时,亚洲各司法管辖区一直持谨慎态度,但加密货币的市场波动和大起大落,正促使监管机构迅速采取行动。


印度

台湾

泰国

 

2018年4月6日,印度储备银行发布通知,禁止银行和金融机构与从事虚拟货币(又称“加密货币”)交易之人进行交易或向其提供服务。这份通知不过是印度监管机制中无足轻重的一个小事件,但也拉开了其监管加密货币的序幕。到目前为止,印度监管机构对加密货币交易和投资的立场大致分为两类:第一,紧随印度储备银行禁令的立场;第二,最高法院公布裁决,以违宪为由撤销印度储备银行上述禁令的立场。

Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
新德里LexOrbis律师事务所管理合伙人
电话: +91 98 1116 1518
电邮: manisha@lexorbis.com

2018年4月之前,印度的加密货币行业几乎不受监管,这对货币政策的有效性造成了潜在冲击,同时也带来了与数字货币交易相关的消费者保护、市场诚信和系统安全方面的风险和担忧。然而,自2013年6月以来,如何处理虚拟货币的问题一直萦绕在印度储备银行的心头:这家监管机构在2013年、2015年和2017年的金融稳定报告中,都对虚拟货币相关的法律和运营风险表示了担忧,并就虚拟货币相关的风险发出公开警告。

2013年至2018年,许多加密货币的价值大幅上升,首次代币发行也迅速增长。这引起了监管机构的警惕。2017年,印度更是成立了一个跨学科委员会,该委员会由财政部特别秘书(经济事务)和来自经济事务部、财政部金融服务司、税务局、内政部、电子和信息技术部,以及印度储备银行、改造印度国家研究院(NITI Aayog)和印度国家银行的代表组成,负责审查监管和法律架构,并提出应对虚拟货币的措施建议。

委员会提交的报告建议,通过大众媒体发出明确警告,声明政府认为加密货币并非钱币或货币,提醒投资者清空这些货币,并建议对那些不顾警告、沉迷于买卖或提供加密货币交易平台的人采取行动。但是,它也明确指出,不应对除创建或交易加密货币之外的区块链技术应用设限。

2017年11月2日,印度成立了一个部际委员会,研究禁止和监管加密货币的利弊。在提交名为《2018年加密代币和加密资产(禁止、控制和监管)法案》的草案时,委员会建议对私人加密货币进行监管。它认为,禁止加密货币是一种极端的措施,因此建议用监管工具来规范虚拟货币交易所,允许私人买卖虚拟货币。

这加快了印度加密货币行业监管的到来,尽管实际政策与部际委员会的建议完全背道而驰:2018年4月6日,印度储备银行发布了相当于全面禁止的通知,宣布自该日起,禁止银行、金融机构和在线支付系统提供商交易虚拟货币或向交易此类货币的人提供任何服务。

这样一来,相当于拔掉了印度各虚拟货币交易所的氧气管,因为在现代经济中任何交易都必须通过银行服务进行,特别是考虑到《1961年所得税法》对现金交易的限制。

在印度互联网和移动协会的支持下,加密货币行业就该禁令向最高法院提出了异议。由政府成立的另一个部际委员会 2019年提交了一份报告,建议通过立法,即《禁止加密货币和官方数字货币监管2019年法案》,为该禁令提供法律依据,并完全禁止私人加密货币。此外,该法案还设想由政府与印度储备银行协商,创建一种数字卢比作为法定货币。

2020年3月4日,最高法院撤销了印度储备银行发布的禁令,称全面禁止过于严厉,同时强调,即使虚拟货币没有被政府禁止,但禁令实际上切断了虚拟货币交易所的生命线,即与正规银行业的往来,从而使其运作陷入瘫痪,因此禁令实际上相当于全面禁止。

Nisha Sharma, LexOrbis
Nisha Sharma
新德里LexOrbis律师事务所律师
电话: +91 99 1050 7896
电邮: nisha@lexorbis.com

目前的状况

经过这场拉锯战,印度目前的状况是,没有任何法律或政策禁止加密货币的交易或投资。但投资者担心的问题是未来这种状况的不确定性,特别是在印度议会即将出台新法案(即《加密货币和官方数字货币监管2021年法案》)禁止加密货币的情况下。该法案的大致内容尚未公开,但人们预计,该法案会在提议印度禁止加密货币的2019年立法草案的基础上更进一步。

2019年法案对加密货币给出了一个措辞严厉、范围广泛的定义,即“任何具有数字价值表示并在商业活动中具有效用,或充当价值储存手段或记账单位的信息、代码或代币”,该法案不仅要禁止或取缔加密货币的交易,而且要对挖矿、持有、出售、发行、转让或使用加密货币的行为进行处罚。任何该等行为均可被处以罚金或最高10年监禁,或两者并罚。2021年新法案的目的是:

(1) 建立一个框架,为将由印度储备银行发行的官方数字货币的创建提供便利;以及

(2) 在印度禁止所有私人加密货币,但允许某些例外,以促进加密货币底层技术(即区块链和分布式账本技术)及其应用。

该法案旨在创建一种由印度储备银行发行的央行数字货币,这将是一种数字形式的印度卢比,由印度储备银行支持,与法定货币价值相同。据推测,该法案将是世界上最严厉的反对加密货币的政策之一。如果这项禁令成为法律,印度将成为继中国之后第二个将持有加密货币视为非法的主要经济体,尽管中国尚未对持有加密货币进行处罚。

该法案预计很快提交议会下院。由于投资者和交易者是其最终打击对象,这理所当然地让他们感到焦虑。政府试图通过发出不会全面取缔的信号来缓解人们的担忧,并开辟一个窗口,允许和鼓励尝试、探索将支撑加密货币的新兴技术用于研究或教学。

政府承认,支撑加密资产的技术创新可以提高金融系统的效率和普惠性,有利于遏制欺诈、保护隐私。然而,困扰政府和印度储备银行的是一系列其他问题,如消费者和投资者保护、洗钱、逃税、对现行货币或信用体系的威胁以及恐怖主义融资。

由于虚拟货币的匿名性、分层性、缺乏有形资产的支持和波动性,政府对与不受监管使用虚拟货币的行为相关的风险感到担忧无疑是合理的。但是,在无视虚拟货币的某些先进优势(比如跨境支付效率更高,记账功能更佳)的情况下,全面取缔却失之过严,尤其是在加密货币因应用广泛日趋成为主流之时。美国和欧洲国家也选择接纳并监管私人加密货币,同时致力于减轻特定风险。

全面取缔还会让交易变为非法,将该行业推入地下,导致黑市交易、加密货币滥用和开采加剧。这还会迫使加密货币持有者将财富转移到海外。取缔加密货币也是不可行,因为它们存在于互联网上,而在数字世界中几乎不可能执行禁令。

从货币主权的角度,让印度储备银行发行自己的央行数字货币是一个有效的想法,但国际货币基金组织 (IMF) 最近表示,公共货币和私人货币可以共存,相辅相成。

国际货币基金组织称,这一体系具有显著优势,包括私营部门提供的创新和产品多样性,以及公共部门所保证的稳定性和效率。它认为,国家如果准备推出央行数字货币,应该考虑利用私人货币。

这时候,印度以及许多其他国家必须抓住建立双重货币体系的机会。

Manisha Singh,新德里LexOrbis律师事务所管理合伙人
Nisha Sharma,新德里LexOrbis律师事务所律师

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709-710 Tolstoy House,

15-17 Tolstoy Marg,

New Delhi – 110001, India

Bengaluru | Mumbai

 

联系方式
电邮: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

Cryptocurrency regulation in India

    By Manisha Singh and Nisha Sharma, LexOrbis
    0
    200

    Asian jurisdictions have been cautious in developing legal frameworks around virtual currencies, but the volatile market and relentless evolution of cryptos are pushing regulators to act


    India

    Taiwan

    Thailand

     

    The cog that turned the regulatory machinery in India to regulate cryptocurrencies, or virtual currencies (VCs), was the circular dated 6 April 2018, issued by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), prohibiting the banks and financial institutions from dealing or providing services to people dealing in VCs. So far, the regulatory position regarding trading and investing in cryptocurrencies in India fit broadly under two categories: First, the position followed with the issuance of a prohibitory circular by the RBI; and second, the position advent with the pronouncement of a decision by the Supreme Court that struck down the said prohibitory circular of the RBI, being unconstitutional.

    Manisha-Singh,-Partner,-LexOrbis
    Manisha Singh
    Managing Partner at LexOrbis in New Delhi
    Tel: +91 98 1116 1518
    Email: manisha@lexorbis.com

    Before April 2018, the crypto industry in India remained fairly unregulated, posing a potential impact on the effectiveness of monetary policy, along with risks and concerns about consumer protection, market integrity and systemic safety associated with dealing with digital currency. However, the issue of how to deal with VCs has been lingering with the RBI since June 2013, when in its financial stability reports of 2013, 2015 and 2017 the regulator has consistently raised concerns about legal and operational risks associated with VCs, and has also issued public warnings about the risks associated with VCs.

    Between 2013 and 2018, there was a significant rise in the value of many cryptocurrencies, and rapid growth in initial coin offerings (ICOs). This caused wariness with the regulators, triggering the constitution of an inter-disciplinary committee in 2017, comprising the Special Secretary (Economic Affairs) at the Ministry of Finance, and representatives from the departments of Economic Affairs, Financial Services, Revenue, Home Affairs, Electronic and Information Technology, and from the RBI, NITI Aayog, and the State Bank of India, to examine the regulatory and legal structures and suggest measures for dealing with VCs.

    The report submitted by the committee recommended issuance of a clear warning through public media, stating that the government does not consider cryptocurrencies as either coins or currencies, to warn investors to offload such currencies, and to recommend action against those who, despite warnings, indulge in buying or selling, or offering the platform for trading of cryptocurrencies. However, the committee clarified that there is no restriction to using blockchain technology for purposes other than creating or trading in cryptocurrencies.

    On 2 November 2017, an inter-ministerial committee was set up to examine the pros and cons of banning and regulating cryptocurrencies. While submitting a draft bill known as the Crypto Token and Crypto Asset (Banning, Control and Regulation) Bill, 2018, the committee recommended regulating private cryptocurrencies. The committee believed that banning cryptocurrencies would be an extreme measure, and therefore advised regulatory tools for regulating VC exchanges to permit the sale and purchase of private VCs.

    This aided the advent of regulation of the crypto industry in India, though an about face to the recommendations of the inter-ministerial committee in the form of total prohibition, by introducing the circular dated 6 April 2018, issued by the RBI, that prohibited banks, financial institutions and online payment system providers from dealing in VCs or providing any services to people dealing in such currencies with immediate effect.

    In this way, the oxygen support to various VC exchanges in India was removed, since access to banking services in the modern economy is essential, especially in light of the restrictions on cash transactions under the Income Tax Act, 1961.

    The crypto industry challenged the prohibitory circular, under the aegis of the Internet and Mobile Association of India, before the Supreme Court. Another inter-ministerial committee was constituted by the government, which, by its report submitted in 2019, recommended bolstering the prohibitory circular with the law and completely banning private cryptocurrencies through legislation, namely, the Banning of Cryptocurrency and Regulation of Official Digital Currency Bill, 2019. At the same time, the bill also contemplated the creation of a digital rupee as legal tender by the government in consultation with the RBI.

    On 4 March 2020, the Supreme Court struck down the prohibitory circular issued by the RBI, terming the total prohibition as disproportionate, while emphasising that this was done even though VCs are not banned by the government, in effect sending the functioning of VC exchanges comatose by disconnecting their lifeline, i.e., interface with the regular banking sector.

    Nisha Sharma, LexOrbis
    Nisha Sharma
    Associate at LexOrbis in New Delhi
    Tel: +91 99 1050 7896
    Email: nisha@lexorbis.com

    The present position

    After this tug of war, the position in India today is that there is no law or policy that prohibits trading or investment in cryptocurrencies, but the question that concerns investors is the uncertainty of such a position in future. This is especially in the light of the impending ban with a new bill being introduced in the Indian parliament, namely the Cryptocurrency and Regulation of Official Digital Currency Bill, 2021. The contours of the bill are not yet available in public, but the expectations are that this bill will take forward what was set in the draft legislation of 2019, which proposed to ban cryptocurrencies in India.

    The 2019 bill gave a very loud and broad definition of cryptocurrency as “any information, code, or token which has a digital representation of value, and has utility in a business activity, or acts as a store of value, or a unit of account”, and sought not only to prohibit or ban the trade of cryptocurrencies but also to penalise the mining, holding, selling, issuing, transferring or use of cryptocurrencies as punishable with a fine or imprisonment up to 10 years, or both. The purports of the new 2021 bill are:

    (1) To create a facilitative framework for the creation of an official digital currency to be issued by the RBI; and

    (2) To prohibit all private cryptocurrencies in India, but allow for certain exceptions to promote the underlying technology of cryptocurrencies (i.e., blockchain and distributed ledger technology) and its uses.

    The bill seeks to create a central bank digital currency to be issued by the RBI, which will be a digital form of Indian rupee, backed by the RBI and having the same value as fiat currency. It is speculated that the bill will be one of the world’s strictest policies against cryptocurrencies. If the ban becomes law, India will be the second major economy, after China, to make the holding of cryptocurrencies illegal, even though China has not penalised the possession of cryptocurrencies.

    The bill is slated to be introduced in the lower house of the parliament very soon, and being at the receiving end of the onslaught, this has rightly left many investors and traders anxious. The government has tried to alleviate concerns by giving signals that there will not be a complete blanket ban, and a window will allow and encourage experimentation and exploration of emergent technology underlying cryptocurrencies for research or teaching.

    The government has acknowledged that the technological innovations underlying crypto assets can improve the efficiency and inclusiveness of the financial system, and are advantageous in controlling fraud and maintaining privacy. However, what has bothered the government and the RBI is the host of other issues regarding consumer and investor protection, money laundering, tax evasion, the threat to the existing monetary or credit system, and terrorist financing.

    One cannot doubt the justification of government concerns regarding risks associated with the unregulated use of VCs due to their anonymity, layering, lack of backing by tangible assets, and volatility. But it would be disproportionate to impose an absolute ban while ignoring certain advanced benefits of VCs, like more efficient cross-border payments and better record keeping, especially when cryptos are going mainstream with widespread applications. The US and European countries have also chosen to embrace and regulate private cryptocurrencies while orienting towards mitigating specific risks.

    A total ban would also make the trade illegal and push the industry underground, which would entail a rise in black marketing, abuse and exploitation. It would also force crypto-holders to take their wealth offshore. It is also impractical to ban cryptocurrencies as they exist on the internet, and it is almost impossible to implement a ban in the digital world.

    Letting the RBI issue its own central bank digital currency is an effective idea from the perspective of monetary sovereignty, but the International Monetary Fund (IMF) recently indicated that public money and private money could co-exist and complement each other.

    According to the IMF, this system offers significant advantages, including innovation and product diversity, which the private sector will provide, and stability and efficiency, as ensured by the public sector. The IMF argues that if countries move to a central bank digital currency, they should consider leveraging private currencies.

    At this point, the opportunity to have a dual monetary system must be seized by India, and many other countries.

    LexOrbis logo

    LexOrbis

    709-710 Tolstoy House,

    15-17 Tolstoy Marg,

    New Delhi – 110001, India

    Bengaluru | Mumbai

     

    Contact details
    Email: mail@lexorbis.com

    www.lexorbis.com