并购法律比较分析: 台湾地区

作者: 萧宇杰和Lori Hung,大成台湾律师事务所
0
323
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

日本

菲律宾

台湾地区

泰国

越南

香港

 

于新冠疫情带来的全球不确定性、旅行限制和供应链中断,台湾地区的跨境交易在过去两年有所下降。随着投资者更多关注本土发展,涌入岛内绿色能源发展领域(如风力和太阳能发电场)的资本有所增长。

作者还发现,台湾地区经济部投资委员会公布的数据显示,航运、仓储、批发和零售等行业也出现增长,表明台湾企业已为边境开放做好准备,跨境商务预计将重拾增长。

随着企业开始寻求新的机会,同时制造商、供应商和商业伙伴加深其在亚太地区的影响和存在,预计岛内并购市场也会重现升势。

主要法律

与并购有关的主要法规有:

  • 经济部颁布的《公司法》;
  • 经济部颁布的《企业并购法》;
  • 金融监督管理委员会颁布的《证券交易法》;以及
  • 经济部颁布的《外国人投资条例》。

值得注意的是,根据每项并购交易的行业和交易结构,可能还有其他法规和条例适用。

例如,如果海外投资者打算在风能和太阳能发电场等可再生能源行业开展交易,还需适用《再生能源发展条例》。如果并购协议涉及对现有雇员的就业状况作出重大改变,则还可能适用(劳动部颁布的)《劳动基准法》。

监管动态

James Hsiao, Dentons
萧宇杰
高级合伙人律师
大成台湾律师事务所
台北
电话: + 886 2 2702 0208 分机 206
电子邮件: james.hsiao@dentons.com.tw

针对投资者对岛内市场的关注,台湾于2023年4月21日颁布了《证券交易法》的最新修正案。修订之前,取得上市公司已发行股份总额10%以上之个人或单位,应向主管机关申报并发布公告;而任何绕过证券集中交易市场或场外交易市场购买上市公司证券进行公开要约收购的,仅可在该要约向主管当局申报后进行。

修订之后,申报门槛已降至上市公司已发行股份总额的5%。

行政院亦于2022年5月24日公布并通过《企业并购法》修正案。自该修正案生效之日起,董事会现任董事批准或反对任何并购交易的,须申报其决定背后的任何重大利益和理由,以加强公司与股东之间的信息透明度,使股东能够就并购交易作出更为知情的决策。

此外,规定须经股东大会批准的限制已经放宽。并购交易对价不超过公司净值20%的,现在可以由董事会独立决定,从而简化并加速了并购流程。该修正案允许通过并购获得的无形资产成本在一定期限内进行摊销,还允许初创公司创业者就未来三年内出售初创公司所获得的对价缴纳所得税。

上述修正案旨在为企业并购创造有利环境。作者预计,随着旅行限制的取消和跨境商务的再次升温,并购数量将有所上升。

早些时候,司法院于2020年1月颁布了《商业事件审理法》。过去商业诉讼案件往往很复杂,会衍生出其他案件,而且通常无法在短时间内结案。这可能导致关联公司的营运受限,影响市场投资热情,甚至可能影响或损害台湾的经济竞争力。

《商业事件审理法》通过强制实施诉前调解简化了诉讼程序,并指定经验丰富的金融专业人士以及具有相关背景的人士充当调解人。

此外,对于未能通过调解解决的案件,商事法院禁止当事人自行代理,并强制要求当事人指定具有相关资质的律师代理案件。这进一步简化和加快了程序,为企业处理潜在的商业纠纷创造了更友好的环境。

投资障碍

Lori Hung, Dentons
Lori Hung
律师
大成台湾律师事务所
台北
电话: + 886 2 2702 0208 分机 216
电子邮件: hsiaoching.hung@dentons.com.tw

尽管台湾为吸引外资做出了多项立法努力,但外国投资者仍需要根据具体情况跨越若干障碍。

首先,为保持对相关行业的了解并确保交易合规,投资委员会制定了相关标准,并对外国投资者在台湾岛内的投资以及岛内投资者的境外投资均进行审查。外国投资者在投资前必须向投资委员会申请批准。根据《外国人投资条例》和相关的实施细则,委员会可自行酌情决定批准或拒绝上述申请。

即使申请获批,投资委员会也可能要求申请人进一步提供更多资料。由于审查程序严格细致,申请往往需要几个月才能最终获得批准。

其次,台湾大陆委员会颁布的《两岸条例》及其实施细则对陆资企业和大陆个人在台湾的投资作出了规定。在特定情况下,财力雄厚的中国大陆企业在岛内投资若干受限制行业时,可能会遇到困难。

此外,鉴于近期美国和中国大陆之间的贸易紧张关系导致的全球不确定性,国际公司在与这两个全球大国打交道时,可能需要重新考虑其总体业务布局和安排。

因此,投资者在权衡利弊、制定战略时,不仅需要认真考虑当前紧张贸易局势可能带来的影响,还需考虑这些局势对其在各地区业务的影响。

最后,美联储仅2022年就加息七次,2023年延续加息之路。作为回应,台湾中央银行也宣布加息,岛内银行纷纷跟随加息。对于需要从金融机构融资的企业而言,这可能构成另一个障碍;在确定并购要约时,需要考虑到未来加息的可能性。

并购展望

尽管存在上述挑战,作者仍对2023年台湾并购市场前景持乐观态度。全球并购交易已于2022年下半年开始回升。虽然疫情冲击并破坏了多个行业,但作者要指出,这也可能成为促进相关行业企业整合的温床。

随着促进并购法律的实施以及设立专门的商业纠纷法院,作者预计从2023年开始并购市场将持续增长。

Dentons Law Firm

DENTONS

3F, No. 77, Section 2

Dunhua South Road

Taipei, Taiwan

联系方式:
电话: +886 2 2702 0208
电子邮件: james.hsiao@dentons.com.tw

www.dentons.com.tw

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A comparison of M&A laws: Taiwan

    By James Hsiao and Lori Hung, Dentons
    0
    1473
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    PHILIPPINES

    TAIWAN

    THAILAND

    VIETNAM

    HONG KONG

    Taiwan’s cross-border transactions had declined in the past two years, due to global uncertainties relating to the pandemic, travel restrictions and supply chain disruptions. With a greater focus on local development, there has been a rise in injected capital into domestic green energy developments, such as wind and solar power farms.

    As evidenced by statistics published by the Investment Commission of the Ministry of Economic Affairs (MoEA), the authors also see an increase in industries such as shipping, warehousing, wholesale and retail, signalling that businesses in Taiwan are ready for the opening of borders and anticipating a renewed rise in cross-border commerce.

    This is also expected to bring about a new upward trend in the local M&A market, as companies begin to seek new opportunities while manufacturers, suppliers and business partners deepen their impact and presence in the Asia-Pacific region.

    KEY LEGISLATION

    James Hsiao, Dentons
    James Hsiao
    Senior Partner
    Dentons
    Taipei
    Tel: + 886 2 2702 0208 Ext. 206
    Email: james.hsiao@dentons.com.tw

    Key statutes relevant to M&A are:

    • The Company Act, promulgated by the MoEA;
    • The Business Mergers and Acquisitions Act, promulgated by the MoEA;
    • The Securities and Exchange Act, promulgated by the Financial Supervisory Commission; and
    • The Statute for Investment by Foreign Nationals, promulgated by the MoEA.

    It is worth noting that depending on the industry and deal structure of each M&A transaction, additional statutes and regulations may also be applicable.

    For example, where the overseas investor intends to transact in the renewable energy industry, such as wind and solar power farms, the Renewable Energy Development Act will come into play. Where the M&A deal involves a drastic change in the employment of current employees, the Labour Standards Act (as promulgated by the Ministry of Labour) may become applicable.

    REGULATORY UPDATES

    In response to the focus on the local market, a new amendment to the Securities and Exchange Act was promulgated on 21 April 2023. Prior to the amendment, any individual or entity acquiring more than 10% of the total issued shares of a public company shall report such an acquisition to the competent authority and make a public announcement; and any public tender offer to purchase the securities of a public company that bypassed the centralised securities exchange market or over-the-counter market could be conducted only after the offer was reported to the competent authority.

    Lori Hung, Dentons
    Lori Hung
    Associate
    Dentons
    Taipei
    Tel: + 886 2 2702 0208 Ext. 216
    Email: hsiaoching.hung@dentons.com.tw

    After the amendment, the reporting threshold has been lowered to 5% of the total issued shares of a public company.

    The Executive Yuan also earlier published and passed an amendment to the Business Mergers and Acquisitions Act, on 24 May 2022. Since the amendment, current directors of the board are now required to declare any material interests and reasons behind their approval or objection to the merger, strengthening informational transparency between the company and shareholders, and allowing shareholders to make a more informed decision regarding mergers.

    Additionally, restrictions requiring the approval of the shareholders’ meeting have been eased. Merger deals where the consideration does not exceed 20% of the net value of the company may now be decided by the board of directors alone, streamlining and accelerating the merger process. The amendment allows for the cost of intangible assets obtained through the merger to be amortised within a set range of time, and also allows startup entrepreneurs to pay income tax on considerations received from selling a startup company within the next three years.

    The above-mentioned amendments aim to create a friendly environment for M&A of businesses, and the authors anticipate a rise in the number of M&As with travel restrictions cancelled and cross-border commerce picking up again.

    Earlier, in January 2020, the Judicial Yuan promulgated the Commercial Case Adjudication Act. In the past, commercial litigation cases were often complicated, with a tendency to spawn other cases, and often unable to be resolved within a short period of time. This could lead to restricting operations of related companies, impacting market enthusiasm to invest, and may even impact or damage Taiwan’s economic competitiveness.

    The Commercial Case Adjudication Act simplifies the litigation process by implementing mandatory mediation before any litigation commences, and appoints experienced finance professionals as well as those with related backgrounds to act as mediators.

    Further, for cases that fail to be resolved through mediation, the commercial court bars parties from representing themselves and mandates parties to appoint qualified attorneys. This further simplifies and quickens the process, creating a friendlier environment for businesses to deal with potential commercial disputes.

    INVESTMENT HURDLES

    Despite multiple legislative efforts to attract inbound investment, foreign investors still need to jump through several hurdles, depending on the circumstances.

    Firstly, to maintain an understanding of the industries and ensure compliance with regulations, the Investment Commission sets standards and examines investments both by foreign investors into Taiwan and outbound investments. Foreign investors must apply to the Investment Commission for approval prior to investment. Subject to the Statute for Investment by Foreign Nationals and related enforcement rules, it is at the discretion of the commission whether to approve or deny such a request.

    Even if the application is approved, the Investment Commission may request further documentation. Due to the strict and detailed review process, it is not uncommon for an application to take several months before ultimately being approved.

    Secondly, the Cross-Strait Act and its enforcement rules, as promulgated by the Mainland Affairs Council of Taiwan, regulate investment in the island by mainland-funded businesses and individuals. Mainland Chinese businesses with a large amount of capital may, depending on the circumstances, encounter difficulty investing in certain restricted industries.

    In addition, due to recent global uncertainties relating to trade tension between the US and mainland China, international companies may need to reconsider their overall composition and arrangement when dealing with the two global powers.

    Investors, therefore, need to think and strategise carefully about any potential impact not only of ongoing trade tension, but also ramifications on their businesses regionally.

    Lastly, the US Federal Reserve announced interest rate hikes by seven times alone in 2022, continuing into 2023. In response, Taiwan’s Central Bank has also announced interest rate rises, prompting local banks to follow suit. For businesses requiring facilities from financial institutions, this may be another hurdle; taking potential future interest rate hikes into account when determining M&A offers.

    M&A OUTLOOK

    Despite the above-mentioned challenges, the authors maintain an optimistic outlook on Taiwan’s M&A market for 2023. Global transactions had already started rising in the latter half of 2022. While the pandemic has impacted and damaged multiple industries, the authors note that this could also serve as a breeding ground for consolidation of businesses in impacted industries.

    With the implementation of M&A-friendly legislation and a dedicated court for commercial disputes, the authors expect continued growth of the M&A market in 2023 and onwards.

    Dentons Law Firm

    DENTONS

    3F, No. 77, Section 2

    Dunhua South Road

    Taipei, Taiwan

    Contact details:
    Tel: +886 2 2702 0208
    Email: james.hsiao@dentons.com.tw

    www.dentons.com.tw

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link