并购法律比较:香港

作者: 谭敏亮和温悦妡、高盖茨律师事务所
0
267
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

印度

日本

菲律宾

台湾地区

泰国

越南

香港

 

为中国的特别行政区之一,香港拥有自己的法律制度。此外,作为国际交易中心和国际金融中心之一,香港拥有高度发达的金融市场,提供先进的专业服务。香港与大中华区经济联系紧密,乃是国际企业和投资者进入中国大陆和其他区域性市场的重要桥头堡。在香港开展的交易通常具有跨司法辖区的性质。因此,理清可能适用的当地法律法规以及不同的商业实践和市场惯例,对于确保交易过程顺利、提高经济效益和时间效率非常重要。此外,确保交易结构合理以解决各方顾虑并降低风险也十分必要。

《公司条例》

Virginia Tam, K&L Gates
谭敏亮
高盖茨律师事务所合伙人
香港分所
电话: +852 2230 3535
电子邮件: Virginia.Tam@klgates.com

收购港股主要受《公司条例》规管。作为香港成文法的一部分,《公司条例》规范公司的注册、备存纪录及提交文件的要求,适用于在香港成立的公司以及在香港设有营业场所的海外公司此外,在香港成立的公司的所有权、管理及其与第三方开展的交易也受该条例规管。

在收购交易中,在香港成立的公司需要作出如下安排的,条例设置了相应的限制,具体如下:

  • 减少股本,在这种情形下,在减少股本,且无利益关系的股东以特别决议批准减少股本后,公司必须具有偿付能力;
  • 为回购本身股份提供资助,在这种情形下,公司在资助后必须具有偿付能力,且满足下列条件之一:资助金额在5%的法定限额内,或资助在规定时限内获得股东批准;
  • 宣布和分配股息,在这种情形下,公司必须有足够的可分配利润,其金额采用规定的公式单独计算;
  • 行使法定强制出售权(squeeze-out right),在这种情形下,收购方必须向其他股东发出全面收购要约,收购其至少90%的股份,并在规定时限内行使该权利;
  • 偿债安排(scheme of arrangement),在这种情形下,方案必须得到法院批准,并由受到方案影响的利益攸关方进行表决,表决结果必须符合法定要求;以及
  • 与另一家公司合并(amalgamation),在这种情形下,两家公司必须属于同一集团;合并交易涉及的所有公司,包括合并后的公司 (amalgamated company),必须具有偿付能力;合并交易必须由合并公司 (amalgamating company)的股东以特别决议批准。

《收购守则》

Beatrice Wun, K&L Gates
温悦妡
高盖茨律师事务所助理律师,香港分所
电话: +852 2230 3553
电子邮件: Beatrice.Wun@klgates.com

收购香港上市股份则适用《收购守则》,这是一套不具法律效力的非法定规则。违反守则的市场参与者可能会受到“冷淡对待令”处罚,等于将他们禁足本地市场。

《收购守则》规范全面收购、控制权变更交易(无论以何种方式取得控股权)、股票回购和私有化的开展。其遵循的总体原则是,当一家“上市公司”被收购时,所有股东都应该得到平等和公平的对待。

《收购守则》适用于以下情形中的收购方(外资或内资):

  • 收购方自愿向公司股东发出全面收购要约,表示有意买入其股份,在这种情形下,要约必须符合《收购守则》规定的定价条款、时间和机制;
  • 收购方:(1)首次超过30%的持股门槛;或(2)当其持股比例在30%至50%之间时,其持股比例在任何给定的12个月内增加超过2%,在这种情形下(除非获得监管机构豁免),收购方必须做出强制性全面收购要约,给予其他股东以相同对价出售其股份的选择权,对价金额使用规定的公式计算;以及
  • 收购方寻求公司私有化,在这种情形下,交易必须遵照《收购守则》标准取得其余股东的支持。

《上市规则》

香港《上市规则》由香港交易所颁布。港交所是香港唯一的证券交易所,也是由香港特别行政区政府控制的上市公司,特区政府为其最大单一股东。在港交所上市的公司有持续义务遵守《上市规则》,其董事亦有合同义务遵守《上市规则》,但该等规则不具有法律效力。

虽然收购方可能不受《上市规则》的约束,但该等规则对上市公司的要求可能会推迟交易时间表,增加交易过程中的不确定性并推高收购成本。

《证券及期货条例》

《证券及期货条例》规范金融中介人及其他资本和金融市场参与者的行为。该条例是香港成文法的一部分,违反该条例可能导致民事和刑事责任。该条例中与收购最为相关的条款包括:

  • 香港上市公司的董事、行政总裁及主要股东必须披露自己在公司拥有的投票权益;
  • 香港上市公司在处理重大非公开信息时必须遵循规定的标准;以及
  • 内幕交易和其他类型的市场不当行为构成刑事犯罪。

《印花税条例》

《印花税条例》规定,转让在香港成立的公司的股份,转让香港上市股票,以及转让位于香港的不动产的,均须缴纳印花税。股份转让需要缴纳从价印花税,按市值或支付对价(以较高者为准)的0.26%计算。不动产转让更为复杂,因为根据买卖双方的状况以及财产的性质和用途,应付印花税划分为四种类型。

交易结构

除根据《公司条例》开展同一集团内部的公司合并外,香港不执行免经法院的合并制度。收购香港公司的途径包括股份出售或资产出售。

香港上市股份的收购(不论股份发行人的注册地在何处)可通过市场购买、场外交易和全面收购要约以及公司所在司法辖区法律允许的其他机制进行。

外国投资

尽管香港素以“积极不干预”著称,但近年来,香港特区政府在打造经济方面一直扮演着更为积极主动的角色。虽然政府没有提供任何重大的财政激励措施来吸引外资入港,但香港在过去几年中一直在积极吸引海外人才。

原则上,香港的外国投资者与本地投资者享有同等待遇。例如,香港成立的公司可由外国投资者全资拥有和控制;外国投资不需要政府批准;此外,除非居民购买住宅物业需缴纳额外印花税外,外国投资者可以像本地投资者一样持有房地产。

并购领域的主要动态

特殊目的收购公司(SPAC)。2022年,港交所为SPAC推出了新的上市路线。SPAC没有经营历史或营业收入,也称为“空白支票公司”。SPAC上市的前提是在后期与另一家有实质性业务的公司合并。

推出SPAC上市机制是港交所多方权衡的结果。一方面,港交所对几无实质性业务的公司寻求上市持警惕态度(此类公司是反向收购的目标),但另一方面,为保持其竞争力,在市场趋势面前,港交所不得不作出妥协。然而,无论是在投资者资格、SPAC发起人/董事的资质,还是SPAC并购上市(De-SPAC)的目标公司资格方面,港交所的SPAC上市制度与纳斯达克相比要严格得多。

二次上市制度。自2018年以来,港交所对其二次上市制度进行了大刀阔斧的改革,以迎接同股不同权(WVR)和可变利益实体(VIE)架构的“中概股”回归。在过去,此类架构不符合港交所的《上市规则》。在二次上市制度下,只要满足相关的市值和监管合规历史记录要求,非创新产业的、没有采用同股不同权架构的大中华区公司,如已在其他主要上市地上市,可寻求在港交所二次上市;在2017年12月15日或之前于合格交易所上市、且“重心”在大中华区的公司,以及在合格交易所上市的非中国公司,现在可选择以“双重主要上市”的形式在港交所上市。

K&L Gates LogoK&L Gates

香港皇后大道中15号置地广场公爵大厦44楼

联系方式
电话: +852 2230 3500

www.klgates.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

A comparison of M&A laws: Hong Kong

    By Virginia Tam and Beatrice Wun, K&L Gates in Hong Kong
    0
    629
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    PHILIPPINES

    TAIWAN

    THAILAND

    VIETNAM

    HONG KONG

    Hong Kong is a special administration region of China with its own legal system. It is an international deal hub and financial center with sophisticated financial and professional service capabilities. It maintains strong economic ties with the Greater China region and provides international businesses and investors with an invaluable foothold to access China and other regional markets. Transactions in Hong Kong are often multijurisdictional in nature. Thus, navigating local laws and regulations that may apply, as well as the different commercial realities and market practices is important to ensure a smooth and cost- and time-efficient deal process. It’s also necessary to ensure the transaction is appropriately structured to address parties’ concerns and mitigate risks.

    Companies Ordinance

    Virginia Tam, K&L Gates
    Virginia Tam
    Partner at K&L Gates in Hong Kong
    Tel: +852 2230 3535
    Email: Virginia.Tam@klgates.com

    Acquisition of Hong Kong shares is mainly governed by the Companies Ordinance, which makes up a part of the Hong Kong statutory law. The Companies Ordinance regulates the registration, record-keeping and filing requirements of companies incorporated in Hong Kong and overseas companies with a place of business in Hong Kong. It also regulates the ownership and management of Hong Kong-incorporated companies and their dealings with third parties.

    The ordinance imposes certain restrictions if an acquisition requires a Hong Kong-incorporated company to take the following actions:

    • Reduction of share capital, in which case the company must be solvent after the reduction and the approval of the reduction by disinterested shareholders in a special resolution;
    • Provision of financial assistance for the purchase of its own shares, in which case the company must be solvent after the assistance, plus one of the following: the quantum of assistance is within the 5% statutory limit or the assistance is approved by shareholders within the timeframe stipulated;
    • Declaration and distribution of dividends, in which case the company must have sufficient distributable profits, an amount to be computed using the prescribed formula and on a standalone basis;
    • Exercise of the statutory squeeze-out right, in which case the acquirer must extend a buy-out offer to the other shareholders, acquire at least 90% of their shares, and exercise the right within the timeframe stipulated;
    • Scheme of arrangement, in which case the proposal must be approved by the court and voted upon by the stakeholders affected by the scheme and the voting results must satisfy the statutory requirements; and
    • Amalgamation with another company, in which case both companies must be within the same group; all companies involved in the amalgamation, including the amalgamated company, must be solvent; and the amalgamation must approved by the shareholders of each amalgamating company in a special resolution.

    Takeovers Code

    Beatrice Wun, K&L Gates
    Beatrice Wun
    Associate at K&L Gates in Hong Kong
    Tel: +852 2230 3553
    Email: Beatrice.Wun@klgates.com

    Acquisitions of Hong Kong listed shares are mainly governed by the Takeovers Code, a set of non-statutory rules that does not have the force of law. Market participants in breach of the code could be penalised by “cold shoulder” orders, which effectively preclude them from functioning in the local market.

    The Takeovers Code regulates the conduct of general offers, change-in-control transactions (irrespective of how the control stake is acquired), share buybacks and privatisations. The regulations are grounded on the principle that all shareholders should be treated equally and fairly when a “public company” is acquired.

    The code is applicable to the acquirer (foreign or domestic) under the following circumstances:

    • when the acquirer makes a voluntary general offer soliciting shareholders to sell their shares, in which case the offer must comply with the pricing terms, timing and mechanisms prescribed by the code;
    • when the acquirer: (1) first crosses the 30% shareholding threshold; or (2) increases its holding by more than 2% in any given 12 months when its shareholding is between 30% and 50%, in which case (unless a waiver is obtained from the regulator) the acquirer must make a mandatory general offer giving other shareholders the option to sell their shares at the same consideration, with such amount calculated using the prescribed formula; and
    • when the acquirer seeks to privatise the company, in which case the transaction must receive the support of the remaining shareholders based on the standards of the code.

    Listing Rules

    The Listing Rules are promulgated by the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, operator of the sole securities exchange in Hong Kong and a listed company controlled by the Hong Kong government as its single-largest shareholder. Companies listed on the Stock Exchange have continual obligations and their directors have the contractual obligation to follow the Listing Rules, but the rules do not have the force of law.

    Although the acquirer may not be subject to the Listing Rules, their requirements on the listed company could delay the transaction timetable, increase uncertainties in the process and make the acquisition more costly.

    Securities and Futures Ordinance

    The Securities and Futures Ordinance governs the conduct of financial intermediaries and other capital and financial markets participants. The ordinance is a part of the statutory law of Hong Kong, and non-compliance could result in civil and criminal liabilities. Provisions of the ordinance most relevant to acquisitions include:

    • Directors, chief executives and significant shareholders of Hong Kong listed companies must disclose their voting interests in such companies;
    • Hong Kong listed companies must follow the prescribed standards when handling material non-public information; and
    • Insider dealing and other types of market misconduct are criminal offenses.

    Stamp Duty Ordinance

    The Stamp Duty Ordinance requires the payment of stamp duties in any transfer of shares in Hong Kong-incorporated companies, Hong Kong listed shares, and real properties located in Hong Kong. Stock transfers require payment of the ad valorem stamp duty, calculated at the rate of 0.26% of the market value or, if higher, the consideration paid. Real property transfers are more complex, as there are four types of stamp duties payable, depending on the status of the seller and buyer and the nature and use of the property.

    Transaction Structure

    Except for the amalgamation of companies within the same group pursuant to the Companies Ordinance, Hong Kong does not have a court-free merger regime. Acquisition of Hong Kong companies is made either through a share sale or an asset sale.

    Acquisition of Hong Kong listed shares (irrespective of the jurisdiction of incorporation of the share issuer) may be made through market purchases, off-market transactions, and the extension of a general offer, plus other mechanisms permitted under the law of the company’s home jurisdiction.

    Foreign Investment

    Despite the general principle of “positive non-interventionism”, which Hong Kong has been generally known for, the Hong Kong government has been playing a more assertive role in shaping the economy in recent years. Although the government has not offered any significant financial incentives to promote inbound investments, Hong Kong has actively tried to attract overseas talent in the past few years.

    As a general principle, foreign investors in Hong Kong are treated equally with domestic investors. For example: Hong Kong-incorporated companies can be wholly owned and controlled by foreign investors; foreign investments do not require government approval; and, except for the additional stamp duties for non-residents in residential property purchases, foreign investors may own landed properties in the same manner as domestic investors.

    Key M&A Developments

    Special purpose acquisition companies (SPACs). In 2022, the Stock Exchange introduced a new listing route for SPACs, which are blank-cheque companies with no prior operating history or revenue-generating business. SPACs may now be listed on the premise that they will at a later stage combine with another company with substantive operations.

    The Hong Kong SPAC regime reflects the Stock Exchange’s efforts to strike a balance between its wariness of companies with minimal operations, which are targets of reverse takeovers, and the need to recognise market fundraising trends in order to maintain competitiveness. The Hong Kong SPAC regime, however, is much more stringent as compared with its Nasdaq equivalent, whether in terms of investor eligibility, quality of SPAC promoters/directors and eligibility of de-SPAC targets.

    Secondary listing regime. Since 2018, the Stock Exchange has made extensive changes to its secondary listing regime to accommodate US-listed “China concept” companies with weighted voting rights structures and variable interest entity arrangements that do not meet the Listing Rules. Under such regime, subject to market capitalization and regulatory compliance track record requirements, primary-listed Greater China companies in non-innovative sectors without a weighted voting rights structure may seek a secondary listing on the Stock Exchange; and companies with a “center of gravity” in Greater China that have been listed on a qualifying exchange on or before 15 December 2017 and non-China based companies that have been listed on a qualifying exchange now have an option to dual primary list on the Stock Exchange.

    K&L Gates LogoK&L Gates

    44/F Edinburgh Tower, The Landmark

    15 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong

    Contact details:
    Tel: +852 2230 3500

    www.klgates.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link