经过编辑部向市场广泛征集提名,并收到空前踊跃的反馈,《商法》为您甄选出本年度中国法律市场的精英律师。程新报道

一年,疫情仍未离开我们的生活,在整体受控之余依然不时反复;这一年,中国法律体系发生了翻天覆地的变化,监管环境显著趋严。企业纷纷在新常态中寻觅自己的驻足之处,勉力迎接陌生的新挑战之余寻求发展与突破。在此背景之下,来自中外律师事务所的外部法律咨询往往成为助企业破解重围的法宝。

这是《商法》连续第六年向各地法律从业者、企业法务和主管人员广泛征集意见,邀请大家提名自己赏识,并在过去18个月内业绩出色、贡献卓越的优秀执业律师。

市场的反应之热烈超乎我们的一切想象。本年度为您甄选出的200名精英律师来自于全球2000多项的市场提名和我们的精心调研,包含具备中国法职业资格的100名国内律师,以及从事中国相关业务的100名国际律师。

群星争灿

当受邀推荐那些专业知识技术精湛、在企业关键时刻贡献一臂之力的律师时,企业法务们不吝溢美之词。

君合律师事务所的驻北京合伙人陈伟就凭借她在复杂项目架构和交付领域的专业能力,获得了摩根士丹利的执行董事Huang Yeping的赞赏。

此外,I Squared Capital的运营总监Frank Fan称陈伟是“电信与并购相关领域的杰出律师”和“互联网数据中心(IDC)业务的领先律师”。I Squared Capital是一家以全球基础设施投资为主的私募主权公司,总部设在美国迈阿密。

深交所上市公司哈尔滨誉衡药业的控股股东,哈尔滨誉衡集团的总裁胡晋则对天同律师事务所北京办公室的合伙人金成峰赞赏有加,特别是对于他在集团艰难的破产重整案件中提供的法律服务。

金成峰是一位专业度和敬业度都极高的优秀律师,是我合作过的律师中的佼佼者,”胡晋说。

姜鹰-Joy-Jiang-小米移动软件-高级法务经理,北京-Senior-Legal-Manager-Xiaomi-Mobile-Software-Beijing-CHi

小米移动软件的高级法务经理姜鹰认为中伦文德律师事务所北京总所的合伙人胡高崇是一位“值得信赖的合作伙伴”和“不可多得的争议解决专家”。“在诉讼案件中,胡高崇能够敏锐地抓住对方的薄弱环节,并加以利用,进而取得出奇制胜的良好效果,”姜鹰说。

除此之外,腾讯的法务总监刁芸芸称赞胡高崇在劳动争议领域的突出实力,法国巴黎银行的法务总监谷雅静亦表达了对他法律分析能力的赞赏。

德恒律师事务所深圳办公室的管理合伙人刘震国在协助企业海外上市的专业能力,令地产生态链数字化服务商明源云集团的董事会秘书兼首席财务官蒋科阳印象深刻。“[刘震国]在公司香港IPO过程中作为公司律师对于公司的整体海外架构设计和历史沿革梳理发挥了巨大的作用。”

蒋科阳-Jiang-Keyang-明源云集团-董事会秘书兼首席财务官,深圳-Board-Secretary-and-Chief-Financial-Officer-Ming-Yuan-Cloud-Group-Shenzhen-CHi

中国招商银行伦敦分行的合规经理张天瑜认为中伦律师事务所伦敦办公室的合伙人李诚容是一名高素质的英国法律师,在银行和金融行业经验丰富。李诚容是该分行在起草、评论和谈判银团和双边贷款方面的长期法律顾问。

从很多方面来看,对于中国法律从业者而言,这都是极为不平凡的一年,从年初迎来历史上国家首部《民法典》的施行,再到之后的《数据安全法》和《个人信息保护法》分别在9月和11月相继落地,逐步搭建起数据监管的成熟架构。

中国法律环境的起伏跌宕无疑为律界人士带来不小的挑战,但只要有备而来,困难亦可转化为机遇。中咨律师事务所北京总部的合伙人李春谊正是其中之一。

李春谊法律功底扎实、服务响应及时,同时善于在复杂事实中根据法律找到正确而可行的解决方案,”首都机场集团的法务经理王娜称赞。据她所称,李春谊还为集团下属公司提供了多次《民法典》培训。

数据保护方面,汇业律师事务所的驻上海高级合伙人黄春林获得了中国面部识别软件开发商云从科技的法务部总经理陶福武的信赖,成为该公司在个人信息安全及数据合规方向的常年法律顾问。

汉图科技,一家位于上海的智能办公设备制造商和供应商,选择了同城的通力律师事务所合伙人杨迅为该公司提供法律服务。“杨迅对于知识产权与数据安全问题了解透彻,能够站在法律发展和经济形态发展的前沿”,汉图科技的办公室主任李滢评论。“[他]总能准确且及时地提出务实的建议,最大地保障公司的利益。”

知识产权保护是这一年国内变化和发展颇为显著的另一法律领域。在这一问题上,新东方教育科技集团的法务部总经理关睿会寻求天驰君泰律师事务所北京办公室高级合伙人郭春飞的法律意见。“ 郭春飞在知识产权领域有丰富的执业经验,能够为公司提供专业有效的法律服务,”关睿评价。

对于锦天城律师事务所上海办公室的合伙人高翔,一家全球领先的消费电子产品科技企业的涉外知识产权部长称他对知识产权以及关键技术领域理解深刻。“[高翔] 从客户角度考虑策略,并结合诉讼策略,很好达成客户目的。”

并购、诉讼和资本市场仍然是最多精英律师们彰显服务价值的主要领域,而在一些更为具体甚至小众的领域,优质的法律服务或许显得格外宝贵、不可多得。

王振明-Wang-Zhenming-联合石化-总法律顾问,北京-General-Counsel-Unipec-Beijing-CHi

“劳玮裕不仅是海商海事方面的资深认证专家律师,而且在国际贸易广泛领域拥有丰富的经验,对客户的需求有精准的理解和解决方案,在多法域复杂法律争议处理中显示了成熟而精湛的专业素养”,联合石化的总法律顾问王振明如是评价英士律师事务所北京办事处的合伙人兼首席代表劳玮裕。

在疾速发展的生命科学领域,罗氏诊断产品(上海)有限公司的法务副总监周真杨称赞瑞格律师事务所的上海合伙人王凯玲在国家药监局、中国人类遗传资源管理工作办公室和医药健康数据合规方面的专业水平,以及她以客户为中心的服务理念。

PlayAGS是一家总部位于美国内华达州的拉斯维加斯,致力于博彩游戏和系统开发、制造和供应的全球性公司,其总法律顾问Victor Gallo得到了中伦律师事务所驻上海合伙人高俊的法律支持。除了具有卓越的一般企业法律知识外,Gallo说高俊深谙中国的博彩法律制度,并紧跟这一领域的时事发展。

有些律师的精湛之道源于自己独特的过往经验,令他人难以效仿。NBA中国的高级主任兼高级法律顾问Victor Liu认为,己任律师事务所的创始合伙人邹雯曾任法官,因此对诉讼流程格外熟悉。

超越律师服务

从表面上看,我们认为,对法规的深入理解、在行业转变和转折中领先一步的能力以及广博的执业经验,是精英律师所体现出的最高品质。这种说法不一定不对,但这些品质绝非使律师脱颖而出的唯一标准。

在评价金诚同达律师事务所的高级合伙人张云燕时,护信证券(香港)的首席执行官沈隆说:“张云燕表现出最高水平的专业精神,具有很强的职业道德,对客户的照顾责任超出一般行业水准。”他还认为张云燕“尽管已然取得了很高成就,但工作非常有动力,每天工作时间很长,回复迅速且直指主题。”

考虑到潜在的工作量,对于许多需要外部法律服务的企业而言,勤奋是一种美德。就像上海电影(集团)的情况一样,他们曾聘用大成律师事务所高级合伙人刘峰,以整合和梳理其庞大的影视作品库。

刘峰先后为我们集团梳理了1500多部作品,历时半年,工作量之大,是我们集团历史上从未有过的,”法务总监彭勇评论道。此外,刘峰还撰写了一份详细的报告,就著作权方面的日常经营、安全运营等方面提供了进一步的法律建议。

刘峰愿为服务付出额外努力的做法,正是律师对其问题解决者之基本角色的回归。

除了肯定凯瑞奥信律师事务所驻新加坡办公室管理合伙人及公司业务负责人麦安腾的法律分析能力外,某家族办公室的总法律顾问Alan Cheung还称赞他提供的建议“不仅能够在棘手问题上权衡利弊,而且在商业上可以执行,即使没有人要求他这样做”。

沟通能力或者说人际交往技巧,作为一种有时被认为理所当然的能力,在律师的工作中决不应被低估,特别是在涉及跨法域争端时,语言、文化障碍以及政治都有可能碍事。

韦大力-Ermanno-Vitali-宜兴法阿姆工业-电池有限公司-首席执行官,宜兴-CEO-FAAM-China-Yixing-CHi

韦大力(Ermanno Vitali)在担任宜兴法阿姆工业电池有限公司的首席执行官期间,与德恩瑞法律咨询保持着密切的工作关系,他称赞该国际律所的创始人和管理合伙人代开乐Carlo D’Andrea)是一位“领先的意大利律师”,并“协助许多意大利跨国公司在中国开展业务”。

他也称赞了德恩瑞法律咨询驻上海的高级合伙人智寒斌。“智寒斌是少数曾于意大利学习过的中国律师,可以直接用意大利语与客户交流,”韦大力说,“他在跨文化方面的深厚积累总是能在跨境交易的重要谈判中帮到大忙。”

尽管存在文化和法域上的差距,律师将人们聚在一起的能力的价值并未被忽视。总部设在美国的跨国医疗器械和保健公司雅培的大中华区法律总顾问邵明,向我们表达了他对凯易律师事务所驻上海的诉讼合伙人张天镜的高度评价。

“张天镜对中美两国的法律和文化都有深入了解,在这两个法域均有深厚的调查和诉讼经验,”邵明说,“她完全有能力处理具有潜在跨境法律影响的事务。”

在处理跨法域的事务时,律师不仅必须能够将他们的专业知识扩展到另一套不同的规则和条例中,而且还必须能够迅速转换思维方式。林朱律师事务所的管理合伙人朱静文即被客户认为在这两方面都非常熟练。

招银国际的董事总经理兼法律及合规主管吴文翰评价:“她对中国的机构和文化所涉及复杂性的理解是无与伦比的。”

总部设在香港的跨国林业公司绿心集团的首席财务官和公司秘书谢雅凝亦认同这一看法。“朱静文的经验和知识让我们相信,一位真正的专业人士总是与我们并肩站在一起,在需要时随时维护我们公司的利益。”

从专业知识和奉献精神两个维度来看,专业精神在维护律师与客户的关系方面,可发挥出意想不到的神奇作用。瑞银集团的中国债券资本市场部主管王然说,盛德律师事务所驻香港的合伙人熊玉萍在亚洲资本市场拥有丰厚的经验和广受业界认可的专业精神,是他们最值得信赖的长期合作伙伴之一。

海若律师事务所驻上海的管理合伙人吴卫义对细节的关注,同样令一名亚洲顶级研究机构的院长印象深刻。“吴卫义极富同理心,不仅分析法理,更多传递情理。”

Alec-Orudjev-鼎信环球资本-总法律顾问,华盛顿-General-Counsel-FT-Global-Capital-Washington-DC-CHI

全球经济继续面临来自多方面的不确定性,在此背景下,可靠且有见地的法律顾问能够以建设性的、深思熟虑的方式,引导企业安全渡过难关,提供超出法律服务本身的价值。

鼎信环球资本的总法律顾问Alec Orudjev非常信任百宸律师事务所的创始人和管理合伙人陈亦工,他认为陈亦工拥有一流的、令人放心的客户服务态度和能力。

“在动荡无常、颇具挑战性的经济和监管环境下,陈亦工是为数不多的让我感到放心的法律专业人士之一,我在许多复杂的、多层面和时间敏感的问题上向他寻求建议和指导,”Orudjev说。

China-A-list-2021_topbanner_finalfinal

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

After unprecedented market feedback and extensive editorial research, China Business Law Journal presents this year’s elite lawyers in the Chinese legal market. Kevin Cheng reports

This year has seen the obstinate pandemic largely under control in China but sporadically rearing its head, as well as the rapid intensification of the regulatory environment following a series of seismic legal shake-ups, creating a backdrop against which businesses are settling into irrevocably altered roles and facing unfamiliar challenges. For these reasons and more, external legal expertise from both domestic and international law firms is even more highly valued.

For the sixth year in a row, China Business Law Journal has reached out to legal practitioners, in-house counsel and corporate management, inviting nominations of private practice lawyers that, in their opinion, deserve recognition for their contribution and excellence over the past 18 months.

The response was on a scale that went beyond all expectations. The 200 elite lawyers in the A-List comprise 100 practitioners of Chinese law and 100 international lawyers committed to China-related businesses, and were selected after meticulous research from more than 2,000 nominations from across the globe.

STARRY SKIES

When asked to recommend lawyers who have lent their unique expertise and helped their client companies navigate through critical times, corporate counsel were fulsome in their praise.

Chen Wei, a Beijing-based partner at JunHe, received compliments from Huang Yeping, an executive director at Morgan Stanley, for his speciality in complex project structuring and delivery.

Chen was also described as “a great lawyer in the telecom sector and M&A-related sectors” and “a leading attorney in internet data centre (IDC) businesses” by Frank Fan, the operating director at I Squared Capital, a private equity firm focusing on global infrastructure investments headquartered in Miami.

Hu Jin, the president of Harbin Gloria Group, controlling shareholder of Shenzhen-listed Harbin Gloria Pharmaceutical, was impressed by the legal services provided by Jin Chengfeng, a Beijing-based partner at TianTong Law Firm, during the company’s strenuous bankruptcy and reorganisation.

“Jin is a highly professional and dedicated lawyer, one of the best that I’ve had the pleasure to work with,” says Hu.

姜鹰-Joy-Jiang-小米移动软件-高级法务经理,北京-Senior-Legal-Manager-Xiaomi-Mobile-Software-Beijing-ENG

Joy Jiang, a senior legal manager of Xiaomi Mobile Software, considers Hu Gaochong, a partner at the Beijing head office of Zhonglun W&D Law Firm, a “trustworthy partner” and “an exceptional specialist in dispute resolution”.

“In lawsuits, Hu Gaochong can acutely identify the weak links of the adverse party and exploit them to his advantage, which often yields remarkable results,” says Jiang.

Hu Gaochong was further praised by Diao Yunyun, the legal director of Tencent, for his extensive experience in labour disputes, and by Gu Yajing, the legal director of BNP Paribas, for strong legal analytical ability.

With his expertise in overseas listing, Liu Zhenguo, managing director at the Shenzhen office of DeHeng Law Offices, managed to impress Jiang Keyang, board secretary and chief financial officer of Ming Yuan Cloud Group, a digital solution provider on the real estate value chain. “From setting up the overall overseas structure to streamlining our corporate history, Liu was instrumental in the company’s IPO in Hong Kong,” says Jiang.

蒋科阳-Jiang-Keyang-明源云集团-董事会秘书兼首席财务官,深圳-Board-Secretary-and-Chief-Financial-Officer-Ming-Yuan-Cloud-Group-Shenzhen-ENG

Zhang Tianyu, compliance manager at the London branch of China Merchants Bank, identified Paul Li, a partner at the London office of Zhong Lun Law Firm, as a highly qualified English Law lawyer with significant experience in the banking and financial sectors. Li is their long-term legal counsel in drafting, commenting on and negotiating syndicated and bilateral loans.

This has been a historical year for China’s legal practitioners for numerous reasons, beginning with the implementation of the nation’s first Civil Code, and followed by the step-by-step maturation of its comprehensive data regulation, with the Data Security Law taking effect in September and the Personal Information Protection Law two months later.

The upheavals in China’s legal landscape undoubtedly posed challenges to legal practitioners all around, but they also represented opportunities for the well-prepared. Li Chunyi, a partner at the Beijing head office of Zhongzi Law Office, proved to be one of them. “Proficient and responsive, Li Chunyi excels at locating the correct and feasible solution in complex situations,” says Wang Na, a legal manager at Beijing’s Capital Airport Holding, who also told us that Li hosted a number of Civil Code-themed training sessions for their subsidiaries.

On the frontier of data protection, Ramon Huang, a Shanghai-based senior partner at Hui Ye Law Firm, emerged as a trustworthy long-term solution provider on personal information security and data compliance for CloudWalk Technology, a Chinese developer of facial recognition software, according to Tao Fuwu, the general manager of its legal department.

Hannto Technology, an intelligent office hardware manufacturer and supplier in Shanghai, chose Yang Xun, a local partner at Llinks Law Office, to provide its legal counsel. “With profound insight in intellectual property protection and data security, Yang is able to stay on top of legal and economic developments,” says Lee Ying, chief of staff of Hannto. “He is always precise, timely and practical with his advice, safeguarding our company interests to the largest possible extent.”

Ramon Huang also provides regular legal counsel on personal information security and data compliance for CloudWalk Technology, a Chinese developer of facial recognition software, according to Tao Fuwu, the general manager of CloudWalk Technology’s legal department.

Intellectual property protection is another legal area that saw massive shifts in China during the year, for which Guan Rui, legal general manager at New Oriental Education and Technology, turns to Guo Chunfei, a senior partner at the Beijing office of Tiantai Law Firm. “Guo is extensively experienced in intellectual property, able to provide specialised and effective legal services,” says Guan.

Emil Zhang, director of the European IPR department of Huawei Technologies, gave high marks to Gao Xiang, a Shanghai-based partner at AllBright Law Offices, for his insights in intellectual property and key technologies. “Gao strategises from the client’s perspective, which often leads to him directing the client’s objectives to a satisfying conclusion.”

With mergers & acquisition, litigation and capital markets continuing to lead in practice areas in which the most A-List lawyers demonstrate the value of their services, legal counsel in more specialised or even niche areas can be extremely valuable but relatively hard to come by.

王振明-Wang-Zhenming-联合石化-总法律顾问,北京-General-Counsel-Unipec-Beijing-ENG

“Not only a seasoned and certified expert on maritime and shipping, Loh has rich experience in the wider field of international trade,” says Wang Zhenming, general counsel of China International United Petroleum & Chemicals (Unipec), of Loh Wai Yue, partner and chief representative of the Beijing office of Ince & Co. “He targets clients’ needs with utter precision, is quick to come up with solutions, and exhibits maturity and professional merit in complex multi-jurisdictional disputes.”

In terms of the fast-growing life science industry, Zhou Zhenyang, deputy legal director of Roche Diagnostics (Shanghai) commends Katherine Wang, a Shanghai-based partner at Ropes & Gray, for her know-how in NMPA (National Medical Products Administration), HGRAC (Human Genetics Resources Administration of China) and healthcare data regulation, as well as her client-centric ethic.

Victor Gallo, general counsel at PlayAGS, was able to secure the expertise of Gao Jun, a partner at the Shanghai office of Zhong Lun Law Firm who, in addition to his corporate legal knowledge, was well-versed and up-to-date in China’s gambling laws. PlayAGS is a casino game and system developer, manufacturer and supplier headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada.

In the cases of some lawyers, their path to excellence can be difficult to imitate. Victor Liu, senior director and senior legal counsel at NBA China, nominated Zou Wen, the founding partner of GEN Law Firm, believing that Zou’s unique experience as a former judge granted her intimate familiarity with the litigation process.

BEYOND LAWYERING

Intuitively, we attribute an in-depth understanding of legal provisions, the ability to stay one step ahead of industry shifts and turns, and wide-ranging practising experience as the top qualities embodied by an elite lawyer. But these are by no means the only aptitudes enabling lawyers to stand out.

“Zhang displays the highest level of professionalism, with strong ethics and a duty of care to the client that exceeds usual industry standards,” observes Nicholas Erekose Sim, the CEO of Fiduciary Securities (Hong Kong), who goes on to describe Chris Zhang, senior partner at Jincheng Tongda & Neal Law Firm to be “very driven, and despite a high level of success, works long hours every day and responds quickly and to the point”.

Assiduousness is a virtue to many companies in need of external legal services due to the potential workload involved, as was the case with Shanghai Film (Group) Corporation, which enlisted the help of Michael Liu, a senior partner at Dentons, for organising and streamlining their massive film and TV library.

“Liu has helped us organise over 1,500 films and TV products in the span of six months, which was a massive amount of work, unheard of in our company’s history,” says Peng Yong, the legal director. In addition, Liu prepared a detailed report with recommendations on future day-to-day copyright operations and security.

Michael Liu’s willingness to go the extra mile is a reminder of a lawyer’s fundamental role as problem solver.

Besides appreciating the legal analytical skills of Anthony McKenzie, Singapore-based managing partner and head of corporate at Carey Olsen, Alan Cheung, the general counsel of a family office, praises him for being able to “offer advice that not only weighs in on the pros and cons of some tricky issues but is commercially executable, even when it is not asked of him”.

Proficiency in communications, or people skills, is an area sometimes taken for granted but should never be underestimated in a lawyer’s work, especially when involving cross-jurisdiction disputes, where everything from linguistic and cultural barriers to politics threatens to get in the way.

韦大力-Ermanno-Vitali-宜兴法阿姆工业-电池有限公司-首席执行官,宜兴-CEO-FAAM-China-Yixing-ENG

Ermanno Vitali enjoys a close working relationship with D’Andrea & Partners in his capacity as the CEO of FAAM China, praising Carlo D’Andrea, founder and managing partner of the international firm, as a “leading Italian lawyer” that “assists many Italian multinationals in their business in China”.

His commendation extends to Matteo Zhi, senior partner at D’Andrea based in Shanghai. “Matteo is one of the few Chinese lawyers who have studied in Italy and could work with the client directly in the Italian language,” says Vitali. “His deep knowledge in inter-cultural understanding always helps in important negotiations of cross-border transactions.”

The value of lawyers’ abilities to bring people together in spite of cultural and jurisdictional gaps has not gone unnoticed. Aaron Shao, the head of legal (Greater China) of Abbott, a US-headquartered multinational medical device and healthcare company, conveyed to us his high opinion on Tiana Zhang, a Shanghai-based litigation partner at Kirkland & Ellis.

“Tiana has an intimate understanding of law and culture in both the US and China, as well as extensive investigation and litigation experience in both jurisdictions,” he says. “She is perfectly positioned to work on matters that have potential cross-border legal implications.”

In inter-jurisdictional dealings, lawyers must be able to not only extend their expertise to a different set of rules and regulations, but also be able to switch their mindset at a moment’s notice. Rossana Chu, managing partner at LC Lawyers, is described as well-versed in both regards.

“Her understanding of Chinese institutions and culture, and the complexity involved, is unrivalled,” says Philip Ng, managing director and head of legal and compliance of CMB International.

Daphne Tse, CFO and company secretary of Greenheart Group, a Hong Kong-based multinational forestry company, echoes those sentiments. “[Chu’s] experience and knowledge give us a sense of confidence that a true professional is always standing shoulder to shoulder with us to safeguard our company’s interests.”

Professionalism, in the sense of both know-how and dedication, can work wonders in maintaining lawyer-client relationships. Wang Ran, head of China debt capital markets department at UBS, credits Renee Xiong, a partner at Sidley Austin’s Hong Kong office, as one of their most trustworthy long-term partners for her experience in the Asian capital market and her well-recognised professionalism.

A managing director of a top Asian research institution was likewise impressed by the attentiveness to detail of Bill Wu, managing partner at Hairuo & Partners in Shanghai. “Wu is highly empathetic,” he says. “He conveys both legal sense and sensibilities.”

Alec-Orudjev-鼎信环球资本-总法律顾问,华盛顿-General-Counsel-FT-Global-Capital-Washington-DC-ENG

As the global economy continues to face uncertainties along numerous fronts, reliable and insightful legal counsel able to steer companies safely through the mist in a constructive, deliberate manner can exceed the face value of such services.

Alec Orudjev, general counsel of FT Global Capital, puts his trust and confidence in Justin Chen, founder and managing partner at PacGate Law Group, whom Orudjev describes as having a superb, highly effective and reassuring approach to client matters.

“In these volatile economic times and challenging global regulatory environment, Chen is one of a few outstanding legal professionals I feel comfortable turning to for advice and guidance on many complex, multi-faceted and time-sensitive matters,” says Orudjev.

China-A-list-2021_topbanner_finalfinal

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022