博鳌乐城:外资投资中国医疗机构的新热土

作者: 黄鹏和翁恬恬,天达共和律师事务所
0
69

北上广等一线城市因市场规模大、配套设施齐全等优势一直是外资在中国内地投资新设或并购医疗机构的首选地点。但如今,海南博鳌乐城国际医疗旅游先行区(下称 “先行区”)凭借其政策优势,吸引了众多此类外商投资者的目光。

当前,新加坡头部私立综合医疗集团莱佛士、哈佛医学院主要教学医院之一美国布莱根和妇女医院(BWH)、拥有700多年历史的日本大北医疗世家打造的大北家(日本)体检中心等国际知名医疗机构已纷纷抢滩落户先行区。

先行区背景

Huang Peng, East & Concord Partners
黄鹏
合伙人
天达共和律师事务所

2013年2月28日,国务院批复同意设立先行区。先行区享有全国独一无二的特许药械进口使用政策,即在美国、欧盟、日本等国家或地区已经批准上市的创新药械在获得中国批准注册前,可作为临床急需药械(下称“特许药械”)由先行区内医疗机构进口使用,从而使国内患者不用出国即可第一时间享受到全球最先进的医疗药械治疗。

2020年开始,国家药监局先后出台了与真实世界证据(Real World Evidence,RWE)相关的规定。先行区作为目前国内唯一的RWE试点,可将经批准在先行区使用的特许药械临床数据,转化为RWE,用于在中国注册审批。先行区内医疗机构作为临床治疗数据的源头掌握者,在与拟在中国申请注册许可的国际药械厂家谈判中又多了一个有利条件。

基于上述两项特殊政策,外资在先行区投资新设或并购的医疗机构,可以吸引全国范围内有需求的患者,治疗过程中的临床数据也能为医疗结构带来额外的利益。先行区也因而成为外资在中国投资设立医疗机构的新热土。

特许药械进口

2019年4月和2020年6月,海南省人民政府分别发布《海南博鳌乐城国际医疗旅游先行区临床急需进口药品管理暂行规定》和《海南自由贸易港博鳌乐城国际医疗旅游先行区临床急需进口医疗器械管理规定》。

上述规定允许先行区医疗机构因临床急需,进口在美国、欧盟、日本等国家或地区批准上市,未获中国批准注册的,国内已上市品种无法替代的药品及医疗器械,以及在境外已批准上市,且在境内尚无同品种产品获准注册的药品及医疗器械。

真实世界数据制度

Weng Tiantian, East & Concord Partners
翁恬恬
律师
天达共和律师事务所

(1)真实世界数据相关定义

真实世界数据(Real Word Data, RWD)是指来源于日常所收集的各种与患者健康状况和(或)诊疗及保健有关的数据。满足适用性的真实世界数据是产生真实世界证据的基础。真实世界数据的来源多样化并且可以定期收集,除了传统临床试验数据之外,还可以收集患者的健康状态或医疗保健服务等相关数据。

真实世界研究(Real-World Research/Study, RWR/RWS)是通过收集真实世界环境中与患者有关的数据(即真实世界数据),通过分析,获得医疗产品的使用价值及潜在获益或风险的临床证据。

真实世界证据(Real World Evidence,RWE)是指通过对适用的真实世界数据进行恰当和充分的分析所获得的关于药物的使用情况、潜在获益和风险的临床证据,包括通过回顾性或前瞻性、观察性研究或者实用临床试验等干预性研究获得的证据。

(2)RWE的应用范围

RWE支持药物监管决策的应用范围包括为新药注册上市提供有效性和安全性的证据、为已上市药物的说明书变更提供依据、为药物上市后再评价提供证据、名老中医经验方、中药医疗机构制剂的人用经验总结与临床研发等。

RWE用于医疗器械临床评价的常见情形包括在同品种临床评价路径中提供临床证据以支持产品注册,作为已有证据的补充以支持适用范围、适应症、禁忌症的修改、上市后的监测等。

RWE助力药械进口

欢迎关注天达共和公众号
“欢迎关注天达共和公众号”

特许药械进口政策可以让国内患者第一时间享受到全球创新药械治疗。同时,临床治疗过程中产生的RWE可以加速全球创新药械在国内的注册和上市。在中国现行药械注册制度下,全球创新药械进入中国通常须历经层层审批备案,时间可能长达三至五年。但如申报时有RWE作支持,可以极大加快审批备案的进程。例如,美国艾尔建公司“青光眼引流管”在申报注册时使用了在先行区收集的真实世界数据,于2020年3月26日通过国家药监局审查批准注册,成为中国首个使用境内真实世界数据获批上市的医疗器械产品,审批过程耗时不到五个月。截至2022年7月末,已有九个国际创新药械产品依托先行区试点工作加快获批上市。

先行区内的外资医疗机构作为RWD的源头掌握者,亦可以利用其所积累的数据作为与国外药械厂家谈判的筹码,争取更有利的商业条件。

天达共和律师事务所合伙人黄鹏律师翁恬恬

Reform天达共和律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环北路8号
亮马河大厦写字楼1座20层 邮编:100004
电话: +86 10 6590 6639
传真: +86 10 6510 7030
电子信箱:

huangpeng@east-concord.com
wengtiantian@east-concord.com

www.east-concord.com

Boao Lecheng: A new foreign investment hub for medical institutions

By Huang Peng and Weng Tiantian, East & Concord Partners
0
72

Due to their considerable scope of the market and comprehensive support facilities, first-tier cities in mainland China such as Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou have consistently been preferred destinations for foreign investors to establish or acquire medical institutions. However, the Hainan Boao Lecheng International Medical Tourism Pilot Zone has attracted the attention of many foreign investors on the strength of its policy advantages.

Many internationally renowned medical institutions have established their presence in this zone, including: Raffles, Singapore’s top private integrated medical group; Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH), one of the main teaching hospitals of Harvard Medical School; and a medical examination centre created by a Japanese medical family with more than 700 years of history.

RISE OF THE ZONE

Huang Peng, East & Concord Partners
Huang Peng
Partner
East & Concord Partners

The State Council approved the establishment of the zone on 28 February 2013. The zone enjoys unique policies for permitting medical institutions established there to import and use innovative pharmaceuticals and medical devices approved for marketing in the US, EU, Japan and other countries or regions as clinically urgent pharmaceuticals and medical devices (licensed items) before getting approval and registration in China. It enables domestic patients to benefit from the world’s most advanced pharmaceutical and medical device treatment without leaving the country.

Since 2020, the National Medical Products Administration has issued a series of regulations relating to real-world evidence (RWE). As the only RWE pilot in China, the zone can convert clinical data from licensed items used here into RWE for registration and approval in China. Therefore, medical institutions in the zone, as the source holders of clinical treatment data, have an additional advantage in negotiations with international pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers that intend to apply for registration and permits in China.

Based on the two above-mentioned special policies, medical institutions invested in and established or acquired by foreign investors in the zone can be attractive to patients in need from across the country. Clinical data generated during treatment can bring additional benefits to the medical structure. The zone has thus become a rising hub for foreign investment in medical institutions in China.

IMPORT OF LICENSED ITEMS

In April 2019 and June 2020, the Hainan Provincial People’s Government issued the Provisional Regulations for the Administration of the Import of Clinically Urgent Pharmaceuticals in the Hainan Boao Lecheng International Medical Tourism Pilot Zone, and the Provisional Regulations for the Administration of the Import of Clinically Urgent Medical Devices into the Hainan Boao Lecheng International Medical Tourism Pilot Zone, respectively.

These provisions permitted medical institutions in the zone to import, for clinical urgency, pharmaceuticals and medical devices that have been approved in other countries or regions, but have not yet been approved in China, and that have no substitutes, as well as that have been approved for markets abroad, but no products of the same variety have been approved for registration in China.

THE RWD SYSTEM

(1) Definitions relating to real-world data (RWD). Real-word data refers to routinely collected data regarding patient health status and/or healthcare delivery. RWD that meets applicability serves as the basis for generating RWE, and can be routinely collected from various sources including patient health status, healthcare services and traditional clinical trials.

Weng Tiantian, East & Concord Partners
Weng Tiantian
Associate
East & Concord Partners

Real-world research/study (RWR/RWS) is used to obtain clinical evidence of a medical product’s usage value and potential benefits or risks by analysing the RWD.

Real-world evidence (RWE) refers to clinical evidence regarding the usage and potential benefits or risks of a medical product derived from a careful and complete analysis of RWD, including prospective or retrospective observational studies, pragmatic trials and other interventional studies.

(2) Scope of RWE application. The applications of RWE to support pharmaceutical regulatory decision-making include providing evidence of efficacy and safety for new pharmaceuticals’ registration and marketing, and a basis for specification changes of already marketed pharmaceuticals, as well as data and evidence of human trial experience and clinical R&D, famous traditional Chinese medicine practitioners’ prescriptions, and traditional Chinese medical institutions’ preparations for post-marketing re-evaluation of pharmaceuticals.

Common circumstances in which RWE is used for clinical evaluation of medical devices include providing clinical evidence to support product registration under the same kind of clinical evaluation system, as a supplement to existing evidence to support modifications of the scope of application, indications, contra-indications and post-market surveillance.

RWE ASSISTS PHARMA IMPORTS

The licensed item import policy allows domestic patients to benefit from global innovative pharmaceutical and medical device treatment at the earliest instance. Additionally, the RWE generated during the clinical treatment can accelerate the registration and marketing of global medical innovations in China. Under China’s current pharmaceutical and medical device registration system, the introduction of global medical innovations usually involves a complex approval process that can take up to five years.

欢迎关注天达共和公众号
Welcome to follow East & Concord Partners WeChat Platform account

However, with the support of RWE, the process of approval and filing can be greatly accelerated. For example, the registration of Allergan’s Glaucoma Drainage Tube was reviewed and approved by the National Medical Products Administration on 26 March 2020, making it the first medical device approved for marketing in China based on RWD collected within the country, and the process taking less than five months. By the end of July 2022, nine international innovative pharmaceutical and medical device products have been approved for marketing via the zone.

As the source of RWD, foreign medical institutions in the zone can also use their accumulated data as a bargaining chip with foreign pharmaceutical manufacturers to secure more favourable commercial terms.

Huang Peng is a partner and Weng Tiantian is an associate at East & Concord Partners

Reform

East & Concord Partners
20/F, Landmark Building Tower 1
8 East 3rd Ring Road North
Beijing 100004, China
Tel: +86 10 6590 6639
Fax: +86 10 6510 7030
E-mail:

huangpeng@east-concord.com
wengtiantian@east-concord.com

www.east-concord.com