仲裁条款可以约定在30天内结案吗?

0
55
仲裁条款 中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会

机构仲裁中,示范条款因其确定的有效性被广泛使用。在示范条款的基础上,当事方还可以特别约定的方式对仲裁程序进行“定制”,以最大化地彰显仲裁程序灵活性的优势。

近日,中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会华南分会(贸仲华南分会)受理了一起瑞士公司与香港公司之间的口罩买卖争议案。根据《中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会仲裁规则(2015版)》(以下简称“《贸仲仲裁规则》”)的规定,该案原应适用涉外普通程序,并在组庭后6个月内作出仲裁裁决。但是,案涉仲裁条款特别约定仲裁程序应在30天内完成。根据《贸仲仲裁规则》第四条第(三)款的规定,特别约定如具备可施行性及合法性,从其约定。

案涉合同于2020年3月24日签订,其履行过程正值新冠疫情最严重、口罩供需矛盾最突出的非常时期。受疫情影响,企业背负了巨大的现金流压力,商事活动的决策时间被迫缩短,双方对于争议解决的效率提出了极高的要求。如裁决结果的作出过于迟延,双方的损失都将进一步扩大,造成双输的局面。考虑到全球重大公共卫生事件这一罕见情况,在征询双方当事人意见并初步评估案件举证难度、送达程序、双方配合意愿后,贸仲华南分会仲裁院最终决定该仲裁案件应在组成仲裁庭之后30天内作出仲裁裁决。

双方当事人认可了这一解读与相应的程序安排。仲裁庭通过发布程序令及问题单的形式,引导双方当事人在开庭前进行了充分的证据及书面意见交换。得益于仲裁庭的高效工作及双方当事人的高度配合,案件在组庭后第23日进行了开庭,并于组庭后第28日作出了仲裁裁决书。

除了裁决的作出期限,在机构仲裁中,实践中的仲裁条款特别约定还有:

适用范围

为了避免同一合同引起的争议交由两个程序去解决,关于适用范围的约定一般是概括性的。但基于特别的需要,也曾有当事方尝试对适用范围加以限定,如在适用普通法的案件中,约定排除仲裁庭对禁令救济和确认性救济的管辖权。但是,对适用范围的特别约定有一定风险,其有效性通常取决于仲裁地法院的解释。

仲裁地

仲裁地是仲裁条款的重要组成部分。在机构仲裁中,机构仲裁规则一般会规定无约定情况下的默认仲裁地,同时赋予仲裁庭/仲裁机构视案件具体情况决定仲裁地的权力。由于仲裁地与适用的仲裁程序法紧密相连,关乎仲裁条款的有效性,约定明确的仲裁地能够较好地保证仲裁条款的有效性。

关于仲裁程序进行方式的相关约定

以《贸仲仲裁规则》为例,当事方享有丰富的对仲裁程序进行“定制”的权利,可“定制”的事项包括:仲裁庭人数及产生方式(包括是否可以在贸仲《仲裁员名册》名册外选定仲裁员)、简易程序的适用、紧急仲裁员程序的适用、仲裁语言、开庭地点、审理方式、仲裁文件的提交与交换方式及送达方式、对于合并仲裁案件的处理方式等。

多层次条款

多层次条款是与其他多元化争议解决方式联动的有效方式。通常,当事方可约定将协商、调解、专家评审等方式作为仲裁程序的前置程序,例如:如争议未能根据《中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会调解中心调解规则》在一方发出调解首次书面邀请后的90天内解决,应当提交至贸仲华南分会进行仲裁。实践中,亦有多层次条款约定根据一方提出请求的金额划分最终/最先适用的争议解决方式。该类条款的起草应当注意确保其导向的争议解决方式即使有时存在先后顺序,也是唯一且确定的。同时,还需要特别注意该类条款在仲裁地是否有效,尤其是类似于“或裁或诉”条款(指合同双方在争议解决条款中赋予当事人在诉讼与仲裁之间有一定的灵活选择权)的有效性。

仲裁条款的特别约定赋予了当事方极大的自由去按需“定制”仲裁程序,但当事方也应当抱着善意与谨慎去行使这项权利。在进行特别约定时,应当考虑到可施行性、对仲裁参与方权利的影响,及难以施行情况下的补救措施,防止因无法施行或违反公平原则而导致该项特别约定甚至整个仲裁程序无效。

作者:中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会华南分会案件经办人张晓宇

建言献智《商法》欢迎您对“争议摘要”栏目的内容提出宝贵意见。我们力求将该栏目打造成意见交流、案例分享及时事互动的平台,因此我们诚邀您提供稿件,长度最好在900英文字或1500中文字上下。请将稿件发至我们的邮箱editor@cblj.com。《商法》将于每月甄选出版最好、最贴近时事热点的文章。

Can arbitration clauses stipulate cases shall close within 30 days?

0
76
仲裁条款
Concept image of a calendar with red push pins. Available in high resolution

In institutional arbitration, model clauses are widely used for their ascertained validity. On the basis of the model clause, the parties may also “customize” the arbitration procedure by incorporating special agreements to maximize the advantages of the arbitration procedure’s flexibility.

Recently, a dispute between a Swiss company and a Hong Kong company over the sale of masks was submitted to the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) South China Sub-Commission. According to the Arbitration Rules of China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (2015 Edition), the arbitral tribunal shall render the arbitral award within six months from the date on which the arbitral tribunal is formed. However, the arbitration clause specifically stipulates that the arbitration procedure shall be completed within 30 days. In accordance with article 4(3) of the CIETAC arbitration rules, if a special agreement is enforceable and legal, it shall be followed.

The contract was signed on 24 March 2020, during the most severe covid-19 outbreak – and the most significant contradiction between supply and demand of masks. Affected by the pandemic, enterprises have been burdened with huge cashflow pressure, and the decision-making time of commercial activities has shortened.

Both sides expressed extremely high expectations for the efficiency of dispute resolution. If the award were to be rendered too late, the losses to both sides would expand further, resulting in a lose-lose situation. In view of the pandemic situation, after consulting both parties and making a preliminary evaluation of the difficulty of presenting the case, the service procedure and the willingness of both parties to co-operate, CIETAC South China Sub-Commission decided that the arbitration award should be made within 30 days from the formation of the arbitration tribunal.

The parties agreed with this decision and the corresponding procedural arrangements. The arbitral tribunal guided both parties to conduct a sufficient exchange of evidence and submissions before the hearing by issuing procedural orders and question lists. Thanks to the efficient work of the arbitration tribunal and the co-operation of both parties, the case was held on the 23rd day after the arbitration tribunal was formed, and the arbitral award was rendered on the 28th day.

In addition to the time period for rendering the award, in institutional arbitration practice, there are special agreements as follows:

Scope of arbitration

In order to avoid disputes arising from the same contract to be resolved by two procedures, the agreement on scope of arbitration is usually drafted to be general. However, due to special needs, some parties have tried to limit the scope of arbitration. For example, in common law cases, it was agreed to exclude the jurisdiction of the arbitral tribunal for injunctive relief and declaratory relief. However, a special agreement on the scope of arbitration is risky, for its validity usually depends on the interpretation of the court at the seat of arbitration.

Seat of arbitration

The seat of arbitration is an important part of an arbitration clause. The institutional arbitration rules generally stipulate the default seat of arbitration in case of no corresponding agreement. Usually the arbitration rules will also endorse the arbitration tribunal/arbitration institution having the power to decide the seat of arbitration concerning all circumstances.

Since the seat of arbitration is closely connected with the applicable arbitration procedure law, which may lead to different conclusions regarding the validity of arbitration clauses, a clearly agreed seat of arbitration means that the validity of arbitration clause is also well assured.

Special agreements on specific arbitration proceedings

Parties enjoy freedom in the CIETAC arbitration rules to broadly tailor their own arbitration proceedings. The parties can incorporate special agreements on the number and formation of the arbitral tribunal (including whether the parties are entitled to nominate arbitrators outside the panel of arbitrators), the application of the summary procedure, application of emergency arbitrator procedures, the arbitration language, place of hearing, conducting of hearing, the exchange and service of arbitration submissions, the consolidation of arbitration cases, etc.

Multi-tiered arbitration agreements

Multi-tiered clauses are an effective way to interact with other alternative dispute resolution methods. Usually the parties may agree to negotiation, mediation and expert evaluation taken as prior procedures of arbitration proceedings. For example, if any disputes arising out of the contract are unable to be resolved by mediation according to the CIETAC Mediation Centre Mediation Rules within 90 days from the day that either party sent out the written invitation to mediate, they shall be submitted to CIETAC South China Sub-Commission for arbitration.

In practice, there are also multi-tiered clauses specifying the final/first applicable dispute resolution method based on the amount in dispute. Such clauses should be carefully drafted to ensure that the choice of dispute resolution method is unique and deterministic, despite that it may be sequential. At the same time, special attention should be paid to the validity of such clauses depending on the seat of arbitration, especially when it comes to the validity of clauses similar to “arbitration or litigation” (meaning that the parties enjoy a flexible option between arbitration and litigation).

The parties are entitled to enjoy the freedom to customize the arbitration procedure as needed with the assistance of the special agreements in the arbitration clause. However, it should also be exercised in good faith, and with care. The enforceability, the impact on the rights of both parties, and the remedies in the case of its difficulty in enforcement should always be taken into consideration when drafting, so as to prevent the invalidity of the special agreements in arbitration clauses, or even of the whole arbitration procedure, due to its non-enforceability or violation of the principle of fairness.

Zhang Xiaoyu is a case manager at CIETAC South China Sub-Commission

JOIN OUR FORUM

China Business Law Journal welcomes your responses to articles that appear in the Dispute Digest section. In line with our desire to make this section a regular forum of ideas, cases and observations, we also invite you to contribute. Articles should ideally be about 900 English words and 1,500 Chinese characters in length. Please send them to editor@cblj.com. We will publish the best and most topical articles each month.