亚太区商标法一览:越南

    作者: Nguyen Anh Tuan和Ly Nguyen,Bizconsult律师事务所
    0
    344
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    印度

    印度尼西亚

    台湾

    越南

    根据谷歌、淡马锡和贝恩公司联合发布的最新年度东南亚数字经济研究报告,越南是东南亚增长最快的数字经济体之一,到2025年其数字经济规模有望达到490亿美元。互联网经济和贸易的快速增长推动着社会的转型,这就要求越南政府改善政策和法律环境,包括完善《知识产权法》。

    回顾过去16年的实践,《知识产权法》发挥了巨大作用,为越南知识产权的创造和保护开辟了宽阔而精细的法律途径,推动了越南的经济社会发展。

    2023年1月1日,经修订和补充的新《知识产权法》生效,让越南现行的知识产权保护规定与《全面与进步跨太平洋伙伴关系协定》(CPTPP)和《欧盟与越南自由贸易协定》(EVFTA)下的知识产权保护机制接轨,为迎接“工业4.0”时代做好准备。

    指南更明确

    Nguyen Anh Tuan
    河内Bizconsult律师事务所
    管理合伙人
    电话: +84 90 340 4242
    电子邮件: tuanna@bizconsult.vn

    为了使本国知识产权法与CPTPP和EVFTA的国际保护标准接轨,越南自2023年1月14日起开始受理声音商标的注册申请。这是越南首次注册此类非传统商标。申请注册声音商标时,除提交传统商标注册申请所需的材料外,还应附送声音商标的音频文件和图形呈现。

    新修订的《知识产权法》将知名商标重新定义为在越南境内为相关公众所熟知的商标,这一新定义符合《知识产权法》第75条规定的知名商标标准体系及其他国际法规。新定义取代了之前知识产权法律中“在越南境内为所有消费者所熟知”的旧定义。此外,符合第75条规定的部分或全部标准的商标都可以被认定为知名商标。

    新修订的《知识产权法》已经明确承认,可以以恶意申请作为理由驳回商标的注册申请或注销商标,但第96条和第117条提及的恶意的定义有待明确。

    此外,新修订的《知识产权法》新提出了驳回商标申请的两个绝对理由。如果商标被认为取自商品的固有形状或形式,或商品的技术特征,或未经版权所有人许可而包含受版权保护的作品,则该商标可能被认定为没有资格获得保护。

    条文更切实、更具体

    新修订的《知识产权法》重新定义了“作者”和“合作作者”。具体来说,作者是作品的直接创作人,而合作作者的定义为共同直接创作作品的两个或两个以上作者的其中一个,合作作者都秉承着将各自的贡献融入到一个完整作品中的意图。

    仅为他人创作提供支持、咨询或素材的人,不应被视为作者或合作作者。

    新修订的《知识产权法》还确立了版税、权利管理信息、公众沟通等新定义,并对衍生作品、已发表作品、录音制品、录像制品、复制品等定义进行了修改,使其与现行的《知识产权法》条款保持一致。

    新修订的《知识产权法》规定,作者可以将其作品的命名权转让给其他组织或个人,该组织和个人即为作品相关产权的受让人。

    Ly Nguyen
    河内Bizconsult律师事务所
    律师
    电子邮件: lynn@bizconsult.vn

    《知识产权法》还明确了侵犯著作权及相关权利的一些例外情况,与之前条款中提到的复制和使用行为相一致。第25条第(a)款规定,版权侵权的其他特定豁免适用于残疾人、其照料者以及法律规定的为残疾人的利益而设立和经营的授权实体。

    提出该等例外情形的目的是在立法中照顾到残疾人的利益,以及平衡版权持有人利益与获取和利用作品的组织或个人的利益。

    《知识产权法》还进一步修订了著作权及相关权利侵权行为的规定,将其明确作为认定知识产权侵权行为的法律依据,从而加强了知识产权纠纷解决机制。

    根据修订后的法律,中介服务提供商应承担互联网和通信网络上版权及相关权利保护的法律责任。

    例如,中介服务提供商必须建立起检查、监测、信息处理和协调机制,以防止出现侵犯版权和相关权利的行为。不过,法律规定了责任豁免的情形。

    主管部门将出台新的法令,为修订后的《知识产权法》提供指导意见,新法令将取代针对旧《知识产权法》的第22/2018号法令。新法令的第三稿目前正在向公众征求意见,并将于2023年正式发布。

    专利规定趋严

    此前在第122/2010号法令和第103/2006号补充法令中为指导《知识产权法》实施而作出的有关秘密发明和专利安全控制的规定,首次正式纳入新修订的《知识产权法》。

    这一变化将推动企业尽早在国外申请专利,特别是那些不打算在越南利用其发明的企业。

    新修订的《知识产权法》还对由于公开披露而被视为已丧失新颖性的一类发明专利作了规定。具体而言,如果一项发明在另一项先前申请或优先权日期较早的专利申请中被披露,在该专利申请的申请日或优先权日后公开,则该发明可能不符合新颖性要求。

    新修订的《知识产权法》对专利保护权效力的注销作出了明确规定,列举了可以完全或部分注销已注册专利的情形。此次修订为相关方行使注销专利保护权效力的权利提供了便利。

    工业设计

    为与EVFTA接轨,新修订的《知识产权法》重新定义了工业设计,增加了一些标志,如复杂产品的组成部分,以及在使用该等产品和复杂产品过程中可见的特征。

    对于工业设计注册,新《知识产权法》中有一个重要变化不容忽视,即《知识产权法》首次准许申请人延迟公布工业设计,但公布时间不晚于申请日起7个月,而前提是申请人要在提交申请时正式提交一份延迟公布申请书。

    展望

    新修订的《知识产权法》在一些问题上仍含糊不清,另有与知识产权有关的指导文件(包括四项法令和两项公告)也须修订或废止。尽管如此,修订后的《知识产权法》所作的调整和补充,使越南法律与国际条约和惯例接轨,是值得肯定的一大进步。

     width=

    Bizconsult
    VNA Building 20 Tran Hung Dao Street
    Hoan Kiem District Hanoi, Vietnam
    电话: +84 24 3933 2129
    电子邮件: info-hn@bizconsult.vn
    www.bizconsult.vn

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

A comparison of trademark law: Vietnam

    By Nguyen Anh Tuan, Ly Nguyen, Bizconsult
    0
    158

    INDIA

    INDONESIA

    TAIWAN

    VIETNAM

    Vietnam is one of Southeast Asia’s fastest growing digital economies, expected to reach USD49 billion by 2025, according to the latest annual e-Conomy SEA joint research report from Google, Temasek and Bain & Co. The transformation from such rapid internet economy and trade growth has required changes and updates to the country’s government policy and legal environment, including the Intellectual Property Law.

    Looking back on the past 16 years of practice, the IP Law has played a great role in creating a wide and intensive legal path for the creation and protection of IP rights in Vietnam, strengthening the country’s socioeconomic development.

     width=

    Taking effect on 1 January 2023, the IP Law has been amended and supplemented to leverage the existing provisions on the protection of IP rights towards the protection of IP rights under the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) and the EU-Vietnam Free Trade Agreement (EVFTA), and to be ready to face the “industry 4.0” era.

    Clearer guidance

    As part of the effort to bring its IP Law into line with international standards of protection of the CPTPP and the EVFTA, from 14 January 2023, Vietnam has begun to accept applications for the registration of sound marks. This is the first time for Vietnam to register this type of non-traditional mark. Apart from documents required for the applications for registering traditional marks, a sonic file and a graphical representation of the sound mark shall be attached to the applications for registering sound marks.

    A well-known mark under the amended IP Law is redefined as a mark widely known by relevant parts of the public in the territory of Vietnam, which is consistent with the system of criteria of a well-known mark as defined in article 75 of the IP Law, and other international regulations. This redefinition amends the previous IP law in which a well-known mark was required to be extensively known by all consumers in general. Besides, a mark may be accepted as a well-known mark if it meets some or all of the criteria in article 75.

    The possibility of refusal of an application or cancellation of a registered mark on the grounds of bad intention has been explicitly recognised, with the definition of bad intention referred to in articles 96 and 117 of the amended IP Law needing to be clarified.

    In addition, the amended IP Law has outlined two new absolute grounds on which applications for marks can be rejected. Marks may be deemed ineligible for protection if they are considered to take the inherent shape or form of the goods, or are defined by technical characteristics of the goods required, or comprise copyrighted works without permission from copyright owners.

    Practical, specific instructions

    Legal definitions of the terms “author” and “co-author” have been updated under the amended IP Law. Accordingly, an author is the person who directly creates the work, and a co-author is clarified as one of the two or more authors who work together directly on creating the work, with the intention that their contributions will be combined into a complete whole.

     width=

    Someone who only supports, consults or provides material for other people’s creations shall not be considered the author or co-author.

    The amended IP Law also establishes new definitions of terms, including royalties, rights management information, and communicating with the public, as well as revisions of other definitions that make them consistent with the existing terms of the IP Law, namely derivative work, published works, phonograms, video recordings and reproductions, among others.

    The amended IP Law entitles authors to transfer the right to give titles to their works to organisations or individuals as the transferees of property rights related to the works.

    The IP Law also clarifies some exceptions to the infringement of copyright and related rights, consistent with the act of reproductions and use as mentioned in the previous terms. Article 25(a) sets out that other certain exemptions from copyright infringement apply to persons with disabilities, their caregivers and authorised entities founded and operating for the benefit of such individuals as prescribed by law.

    Such exceptions aim to develop disability-sensitive legislation and to ensure harmony of interests between the copyright holder and organisations or individuals accessing and exploiting the work.

    Infringements of copyright and related rights are further revised and specified as a legal basis for identifying IP-related violations to strengthen the mechanism to deal with copyright infringement when resolving disputes in the IP field.

    Intermediary service providers, according to the amended regulations, shall have legal responsibilities in connection with the protection of copyright and related rights on the internet and telecommunication networks.

    For example, intermediary service providers must set up a system of checking, monitoring, information processing and co-ordination to prevent acts that infringe copyright and related rights. Besides, such providers may be exempted from liability in some cases.

    The related decree to guide the amended IP Law will replace Decree 22/2018, which provides guidelines for a certain number of articles of the previous version of the law. The third draft of the new decree is now available to the public and will be officially released in 2023.

    Tightening patent provisions

    Regulations related to secret invention and patent security control, which are previously stipulated in Decree No. 122/2010 and supplementing Decree No. 103/2006 to guide the implementation of the IP Law, are officially introduced in the amended IP Law for the first time.

    This development will encourage early filing abroad, especially for those enterprises that do not intend to exploit their inventions in Vietnam.

    Under the amended IP Law, there is another type of patent that relates to disclosure of an invention, where such invention shall be deemed to have lost its novelty. Specifically, an invention may not meet the novelty requirement if it is disclosed in another patent application with an earlier filing or priority date, but published on or after the filing date or priority date of such patent application.

    The cancellation of a patent protection title’s validity is clearly and distinctly established in the amended IP Law by listing certain cases under which the registered patent may be cancelled in whole or in part. This revision makes it easier for the concerned parties to exercise their rights to cancel the validity of a patent protection title.

    Industrial design

    The amended IP Law redefines an industrial design by adding signs such as component parts of complex products and a feature visible during the process of exploiting the use of such products and complex products in compliance with the EVFTA.

    One crucial aspect of industrial design registration that must not be overlooked in the new IP Law is, for the first time, that an applicant is allowed to publish an industrial design application at a later date, but no later than seven months from the filing date, provided that the applicant has filed a duly requested letter for delay at the time of filing the application.

    The outlook

    The amended IP Law remains vague and unclear over some points, and further IP-related guidelines, including four decrees and two circulars, need to be revised, amended or replaced. Still, the adjustments and supplements under the amended IP Law bring Vietnam into broad and general compliance with international treaties and common practices, and as such are to be welcomed.

     width=

    Bizconsult
    VNA Building 20 Tran Hung Dao Street
    Hoan Kiem District Hanoi, Vietnam
    Tel: +84 24 3933 2129
    Email: info-hn@bizconsult.vn
    www.bizconsult.vn