股权激励持股平台选择与税负承担

作者: 李伟明,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
111

员工股权激励在当下互联网经济以及创业浪潮时代背景下,越来越多地被企业提起和实践,而好的股权激励方案,对于企业与经理人、核心员工等实现利益捆绑,留住人才、吸引人才,实现企业与员工的共赢具有重要作用。在这过程中,结合激励目的及税负承担选择适宜持股平台,则又是好的股权激励方案能够落地实施的关键。

目前,员工持股的方式分为直接持股和间接持股两大类。直接持股则是指员工以自己的名义持有公司股权,直接行使股东权利。间接持股是指员工不以自己的名义直接持有公司股权,而是通过他人代持或者搭建持股平台等方式间接持有公司股权。间接持股主要的形式是搭建持股平台,持股平台主要包括有限责任公司、有限合伙企业以及发行金融产品等。而股东持有股权,来源于股权的收益有“股权转让收入”和“股息分红”。根据税法相关规定,两者的税负也是不同的。

李伟明, Li Weiming, Partner, Tiantai Law Firm
李伟明
合伙人
天驰君泰律师事务所

员工直接持股

员工直接持股,指的是员工以本人名义,通过原股东受让/赠与股权或对公司采取增资扩股的方式直接持有公司股份或股权。在该方式下,员工直接持有主体公司股权,按股权比例行使相应股东权利,不需要额外设立持股平台,程序简便。但是,较多的持股主体将造成股权分散,不利于主体公司的集中决策和管理;且股权变更需要到工商局办理变更登记,手续繁琐。

员工直接持股模式下,税负成本如下:

(1)在股权转让阶段,根据《股权转让所得个人所得税管理办法(试行)》第四条规定,“个人转让股权,以股权转让收入减除股权原值和合理费用后的余额为应纳税所得额,按‘财产转让所得’缴纳个人所得税”,即自然人股东转让股权应当按照“财产转让所得”缴纳个人所得税。而根据《个人所得税法》(2018修正)规定,财产转让所得税率为20%。

(2)在股权激励的股息分红阶段,根据《个人所得税法》规定,利息、股息、红利所得利率为20%。因此个人取得非上市公司股息红利,全额缴纳个人所得税。

公司形式间接持股

公司形式持股,则是员工通过出资设立有限或股份公司形式持股。在人数上限上,有限责任公司员工持股人数不得超过50人,股份公司持股人数不得超过200人。同时,对于公司形式下的持股平台,其治理结构、责任形式以及权益转让、增减资等均受公司法调整。

而在在税负承担方面,公司形式作为持股平台模式下,持股平台公司本身是一层纳税主体,而平台的股东则是另外一层纳税主体,即需要同时征收公司和个人层面双重所得税。具体而言,在股权转让阶段,持股公司需要缴纳企业所得税25%,股东则需要缴纳个人所得税20%。此双重征税下,其综合税率为:25%+(1-25%)*20%=40%。而在股权激励的股息分红阶段,平台公司取得分红则免征企业所得税,但平台公司向员工分红时自然人股东需要缴纳20%的个税。

有限合伙形式间接持股

员工出资成立有限合伙企业,则是企业进行股权激励采取较多一种方式。此种模式下,合伙人通过签订合伙协议,约定普通合伙人和有限合伙人的行为,界定合伙人的权利和义务。而合伙企业内部治理结构、权益转让、增减资等事项依据合伙企业法相关规定,多可通过合伙协议灵活约定。

而在税负承担上,有限合伙企业作为持股平台,其纳税主体适用穿透原则,也就是说合伙企业平台本身不是纳税主体,而是穿透至各合伙人进行纳税申报。在股权转让阶段,其适用5%-35%超额累进税率,并可根据不同区域政策,享受一定的税收优惠政策。合伙人为自然人的,征收个人所得税。而在股息分红阶段,合伙企业取得分红时不对合伙企业征税,各合伙人按照20%缴纳个税。

综上,从激励对象最终可取得的收入来看,相较于个人直接持股以及有限公司持股,有限合伙企业税负成本相对较低;同时,持股平台的注册地可以选择灵活设置在有一定税收优惠政策的地区。另外,根据以往针对上市企业数据统计,员工持股平台占公司总股本10%-20%为多数上市企业所选,这也是实施股权激励方案过程中需要重点把控的因素之一。

天驰君泰律师事务所合伙人李伟明

刘建强 黄冰倩 天驰君泰律师事务所 域名天驰君泰律师事务所
中国上海市长宁区长宁路1133号
长宁来福士广场T1幢29层 邮编: 200051
电话: +86 21 5237 7006
传真: +86 21 5237 7009
电子信箱:

liweiming@tiantailaw.com

www.tiantailaw.com

Taxes and the use of shareholding platforms for equity incentive schemes

By Li Weiming, Tiantai Law Firm
0
70

In the context of the digital economy and entrepreneurial wave, more and more companies are considering and putting into place equity-based incentives for employees. A sound equity-based incentive plan plays an important role in binding the interests of enterprises with those of the managers and core employees, retaining, attracting talent and realizing the win-win situation between enterprises and employees. In this process, selecting a suitable shareholding platform according to the incentive purpose and tax burden is the key to implementing a sound equity-based incentive plan.

李伟明, Li Weiming, Partner, Tiantai Law Firm
Li Weiming
Partner
Tiantai Law Firm

At present, the employee stock ownership plan (ESOP) can be divided into two types: direct and indirect holding. Direct holding means that employees hold shares of the company in their own name and directly exercise the rights of shareholders. Indirect holding means that employees do not directly hold shares of the company in their own name but indirectly hold their shares through others acting on their behalf or by setting up a shareholding platform. The main form of indirect holding is to set up a shareholding platform, mainly through limited liability companies, limited partnerships or the issuance of financial products. For shareholders, their income from the equity they hold includes “equity transfer income” and “dividends”. The tax burdens carried by the two kinds of income are also different.

Direct holding by employees

Employees’ direct holding of shares means that employees directly hold shares or equity of a company to be listed in their own name through the transfer or granting of equity by the original shareholders or by increasing capital and shares of the company. In this way, employees directly hold the equity of the company and exercise corresponding shareholders’ rights according to their equity ratio, with no need to set up a shareholding platform, so the procedure is fairly simple. However, too many shareholders will cause equity dispersion, which is not conducive to the centralized decision-making and management of the company; and the change of equity needs to be registered with the Administration for Industry and Commerce, which is a cumbersome procedure.

With employees’ direct holding of shares, the tax burden is as follows:

(1) In the equity transfer stage, according to article 4 of the Administrative Measures for Individual Income Tax on Incomes from Equity Transfer (Trial), “For individual transfer of equity, the balance of equity transfer income minus the original value of equity and reasonable fees shall be the amount of taxable income, and individual income tax shall be paid on the basis of the ‘property transfer income’.” That is to say, natural person shareholders shall pay individual income tax on the basis of the “property transfer income” for the equity transfer. According to the Individual Income Tax Law (amended in 2018), the tax rate on the property transfer income is 20%.

(2) In the dividend stage of the equity incentive, according to the Individual Income Tax Law, the tax rate on interest and dividends is 20%. Individuals who obtain dividends from the unlisted company shall pay the individual income tax in full.

Indirect holding in the form of a company

Holding shares in the form of a company means that employees hold shares in the form of a limited liability company or a joint-stock company through capital contribution by employees. In terms of the upper limit of shareholders, the number of employees holding shares in a limited liability company shall not exceed 50, and the number of employees holding shares in a joint-stock company shall not exceed 200. Meanwhile, for the shareholding platform in the form of a company, its governance structure, responsibility form, transfer of rights and interests and capital increase or reduction are all regulated by the Company Law.

In terms of the tax burden, in the mode of the shareholding platform in the form of a company, the shareholding platform itself is a taxpayer, while the shareholder of the platform is another taxpayer, which means that double income tax will be levied from the company and individuals at the same time. Specifically, in the equity transfer stage, the shareholding company is required to pay corporate income tax at a tax rate of 25%, while the shareholders are required to pay individual income tax at a tax rate of 20%. With the double taxation, the composite tax rate is: 25% + (1-25%) * 20% = 40%. In the dividend stage of equity incentive, the shareholding platform is exempted from corporate income tax when it obtains dividends, but when the platform pays dividends to employees, the natural person shareholders shall pay the individual income tax at a tax rate of 20%.

Indirect holding in the form of a limited partnership

The establishment of a limited partnership through employees’ capital contribution is a more common way for enterprises to carry out equity-based incentives. In this mode, partners will define the rights and obligations of general partners and limited partners by signing a partnership agreement. The internal governance structure of the partnership, the transfer of rights and interests, capital increase or reduction and other matters can be flexibly agreed on based on the Partnership Law.

In terms of the tax burden, for the shareholding platform in the form of a limited partnership, the penetration principle is applied to its taxpayers, which means that the shareholding platform itself is not a taxpayer, but the tax declaration is conducted by way of penetrating to each partner. In the equity transfer stage, the excess progressive tax rate of 5%-35% applies, and taxpayers can enjoy certain preferential tax rates according to different regional policies. If a partner is a natural person, they shall pay individual income tax. When the partnership obtains dividends, it need not pay tax, but each partner shall pay the individual income tax at a tax rate of 20%.

To sum up, from the perspective of the final income of the incentivized employees, compared with individual direct holding and indirect holding in the form of a limited liability company, the tax burden of limited partnership is relatively low, and the registration place of the shareholding platform can be flexibly set in areas enjoying some preferential tax policies. In addition, according to data on listed enterprises, most listed companies selected shareholding platforms for employees, accounting for 10%-20% of the total share capital of such companies. This is one of the factors that shall be specially controlled in the process of implementing an equity-based incentive plan.

Li Weiming is a partner at Tiantai Law Firm

Frank Liu Jerry Huang Tiantai Law Firm domain nameTiantai Law Firm
29/F, T1 Building, Raffles City
No.1133 Changning Road, Changning District
Shanghai 200051, China
Tel: +86 21 5237 7006
Fax: +86 21 5237 7009
E-mail:

liweiming@tiantailaw.com

www.tiantailaw.com