科技企业反垄断合规自查要点

作者: 叶涵,植德律师事务所
0
140

自2020年底开始,国家市场监督管理总局(下称“总局”)开始着重将互联网领域作为反垄断执法工作的重点领域之一,围绕相关企业的涉嫌违法行为开展了一系列立法、调查与处罚工作。立法方面,《关于平台经济领域的反垄断指南》(下称《平台指南》)从征求意见稿到正式出台仅耗时四个月,是三大针对特定行业的反垄断指南中出台速度最快的。在执法方面,2020年底至今总局处罚了约40件互联网/平台相关企业的未依法申报违法实施集中案件。同时,对多家互联网企业进行了处罚,其中阿里巴巴集团案罚没总额高达约182亿元,是中国反垄断执法机构有史以来罚没金额最高的案件。此外,据笔者所知,总局正在对多家互联网企业开展反垄断调查。

通过近期的立法、执法情况,我们建议科技企业可以从垄断协议、滥用行为及违法实施集中三个主要方面,进行内部的反垄断合规自查。目前三个方面主要的风险和执法趋势如下。

叶涵, Ye Han, Partner, Merits & Tree Law Offices
叶涵
合伙人
植德律师事务所

垄断协议

目前对科技企业垄断协议案件处罚并不多见,但是这一结果可能是由执法有所偏重导致的,而并不能说明科技企业的垄断协议风险较低。

制度层面,《平台指南》并未给纵向垄断协议设置安全港,这意味着对于科技企业而言,限定转售价格并不因市场份额较低而豁免。此外,轴辐协议的引入显著提高了平台型科技企业的垄断协议风险。

实践层面,早期科技企业可能错误地认为反垄断法风险较为遥远,但垄断协议不以企业市场份额或规模大小为前提。初创企业也可能因实施该类行为而受到高额处罚。此外,协议形式可以是书面、口头、明示、默示,甚至可能是通过技术手段被动达成的。近期调查中,执法机构也会对核心人员的微信、钉钉等与竞争对手或客户之间存在信息往来的软件进行收集。

滥用市场支配地位

虽然滥用市场支配地位以企业具有支配地位为前提,但《反垄断法》下的市场范围与一般认知的市场范围之间并不一定一致。

就滥用支配地位而言,科技企业一方面应协同内部、外部律师梳理哪些业务线可能具有支配地位,从而针对性的提高该等部门的内部监管等级,另一方面应制定内部合规准则并对特定部门进行培训。通常而言,滥用支配地位风险发生在企业涉外部门(与消费者或上下游企业直接接触)和决策部门。

最近针对科技企业查处的重点无疑是“二选一”,但应注意,“大数据杀熟”“补贴”很有可能会成为下一个重点。即使很多在业务部门看来属于“行业惯例”的行为可能被认定为违法,合规部门也应与外部律师合作,及时纠正相关行为以避免反垄断法风险。

经营者集中申报

在科技企业的融资、股权投资、资产收购等交易开展过程中,应尽早咨询反垄断律师,判断相关交易是否达到了申报标准。近期以来,由于《平台指南》的推出,科技企业经营者集中申报出现两个明显的信号。第一,明确了涉及VIE的经营者集中应当申报;第二,对于控制权的认定,即使获得的股权比例很低,也会结合其他因素进行认定。

对于第一点,我们长期以来一直在告诫客户,执法机构从未明确说明涉及VIE的集中无需申报。第二点则意味着反垄断执法部门对于控制权的认定日趋严格,与其他部门法下的控制权有明显区别,科技企业的投资并购团队需要与合规/反垄断团队、外部律师紧密合作,避免对某一交易是否应当申报做出错误判断。

总局上半年处罚的股权收购类违法实施集中案件中,当事方获得股权比例低于20%的案件有11件,其中一桩案件中当事方仅获得股权比例6.67%。

综上,我们建议科技企业与专业反垄断律师合作,积极对上述重点执法方向进行梳理及自查,如果存在潜在风险,及时纠正潜在违法行为或采取补救措施,降低违法风险。


叶涵是植德律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式是电话 +86 139 0121 5103 以及电邮 han.ye@meritsandtree.com

Key points for tech companies checking anti-monopoly compliance

By Ye Han, Merits & Tree Law Offices
0
167

Since the end of 2020, the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) has been focusing on the internet sector as a key area in its anti-monopoly law enforcement work, carrying out a series of legislative, investigative, handling and punishment tasks revolving around the suspected illegal acts of relevant enterprises. In terms of legislation, the Anti-Monopoly Guidelines for the Platform Economy Sector only required four months from the draft for comment to official issuance, making their issuance the fastest among the three sets of major industry-specific anti-monopoly guidelines.

叶涵, Ye Han, Partner, Merits & Tree Law Offices
Ye Han
Partner
Merits & Tree Law Offices

In terms of law enforcement, the SAMR has, since the end of 2020, imposed penalties in about 40 cases involving internet/platform-related enterprises that failed to file in accordance with the law before implementing concentrations. Additionally, it has penalised a number of internet enterprises, including the Alibaba Group, in which fines and forfeiture totalled about RMB18.2 billion (USD2.8 billion). This is the highest amount of fine and forfeiture imposed by China’s anti-monopoly law enforcement authorities to date. Furthermore, to the best of the author’s knowledge, the SAMR is currently conducting anti-monopoly investigations of a number of internet enterprises.

In light of recent legislative and law enforcement developments, the author recommends that technology enterprises conduct internal anti-monopoly compliance self-checks addressing three main aspects – monopoly agreements, abusive practices, and illegal implementation of concentrations. At present, the main risks associated with, and the law enforcement trends in, the three areas are as follows.

Monopoly agreements

Cases of technology enterprises being penalised for monopoly agreements are quite rare, but this may be due to a quirk in law enforcement and does not indicate that the risks of reaching monopoly agreement by technology enterprises are low.

At the system level, the guidelines do not provide a safe harbour for vertical monopoly agreements. For technology enterprises, this means that if they impose restrictions on resale prices, they would not be exempt by virtue of the fact that they have a relatively low market share. Furthermore, the introduction of hub-and-spoke agreements has significantly increased the risks of reaching monopoly agreement by platform-type technology enterprises.

At the practical level, early-stage technology enterprises may mistakenly believe that the risks of violating anti-monopoly law are relatively remote, but a monopoly agreement is not preconditioned on the market share or size of an enterprise. Start-ups may also incur large penalties for committing such acts. Furthermore, an agreement can be written, oral, express, implied or may even be reached passively through technical means. In recent investigations, law enforcement authorities have also collected information from core personnel’s WeChat and Ding Talk, which may use to contact with its competitor or customer.

Abuse of dominant market position

Although abuse of dominant market position is predicated on an enterprise having such a dominant position, the scope of relevant market under the Anti-Monopoly Law is not necessarily identical to that in general knowledge.

With respect to abuse of dominant position, a technology enterprise should work with its in-house and outside counsel to tease out in which lines of business it may have a dominant position, so as to specifically raise the level of internal oversight in the departments concerned, while also formulating internal compliance standards and providing training to specific departments. Generally speaking, the risk of abuse of dominant position arises in an enterprise’s outward facing departments (those that have direct contact with consumers or upstream and downstream enterprises) and in the decision making departments.

While the recent focus in investigating and dealing with technology enterprises has undoubtedly been “one out of two”, it should be noted that the next one could be “big data swindling” and “subsidies”. Even though many acts appear to be industry practice in the eyes of a business department, they may be found to be illegal, so compliance departments should co-operate with outside counsel to promptly rectify any relevant acts to avoid anti-monopoly law risks.

Concentration filings

In the course of a financing, equity investment, asset acquisition or other such transaction, a technology enterprise should consult with anti-monopoly lawyers as early as possible to determine whether the relevant transaction reaches the threshold for a filing. In recent times, two clear signals have been given in business operator concentration filings by technology enterprises due to the issuance of the guidelines. First, they expressly specify that filings are required for business operator concentrations that involve a variable interest entity (VIE); and second, with respect to determinations of control, even if the percentage of equity acquired is low, a determination will be made by taking into account other factors.

With regard to the first point, the author keeps noticing through clients that law enforcement authorities have never explicitly indicated that filings are not required for concentrations involving a VIE. The second point signifies that anti-monopoly authorities are increasingly strict in their determinations of control, which differs significantly from control under the regulations of other authorities. The investment and acquisition team of a technology enterprise needs to work closely with the compliance/anti-monopoly team and outside counsel to avoid an erroneous determination as to whether a filing should be made for a certain transaction.

Among the cases of illegal implementation of concentrations involving equity acquisitions penalised by the SAMR in the first half of the year, there were 11 cases in which the concerned party acquired less than 20% of the equity, including one case in which the concerned party acquired only 6.67% of the equity.

In summary, the author recommends that technology enterprises work with professional anti-monopoly lawyers to actively tease out the above mentioned key law enforcement trends, conduct a self-check and, if there are potential risks, promptly correct the potential illegal acts or take remedial measures to reduce the risk of violations.


Ye Han is a partner at Merits & Tree Law Offices. You can contact him at +86 139 0121 5103 and han.ye@meritsandtree.com