哄抬价格行为的执法加强

0
65
哄抬价格行为的执法加强

家市场监督管理总局(下称“市场监管总局”)于2022年6月10日出台了一套详细的规定,明确了如何认定《价格法》规定的哄抬价格的违法行为。

在2021年,市场监管总局曾计划大幅提高对《价格法》违法行为的处罚,但相关规定还没有最终确定。

经营者捏造、散布涨价信息,造成市场恐慌或大量囤积商品造成商品短缺,从而提高价格,赚取更多利润时,则可认定为哄抬价格违法行为。

经营者强制搭售商品,变相大幅提高商品价格,不合理大幅提高运输费用或收取其他不合理费用,或以高于成本增加幅度的幅度提高商品价格的,也可认定为哄抬价格违法行为。

《价格法》违法行为和反垄断违法行为之间有相通之处。不过,与竞争法规定的价格滥用行为不同的是,《价格法》违法行为的认定不以经营者是否有市场支配地位为条件。

这就意味着,没有市场支配地位的经营者也有违反《价格法》的风险。《价格法》违法行为认定的举证责任较轻,因此市场监管总局也更容易对其采取执法行动。

已有平台经营者因“二选一”的排他性协议而被认定违反《反不正当竞争法》,并被处罚款,尽管该经营者没有市场支配地位(因此不能按《反垄断法》查处)。

因此,我们强烈建议,对于在中国的定价行为,除了按《反垄断法》进行风险分析外,还应对照《价格法》进行风险评估。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Stronger enforcement against price gouging

0
34
Stronger enforcement against price gouging

Determinations of price gouging infringements under the Price Law (PL) were clarified in detailed rules set by the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) on10 June 2022.

The SAMR previously proposed a steep increase in penalties for PL violations in 2021, but this rule has not yet been finalised.

Price gouging concerns arise where a business increases the price to profit from shortages of goods caused by its hoarding, or a climate of fear in the market arising from it fabricating or disseminating price increase information.

Price gouging could also be spotting an extraordinarily high price for tie-in sales, unreasonably steep increases in shipping charges or other fees, or even higher price increases than cost increases.

There is some convergence between PL and antitrust violations. However, unlike competition law, which focuses on abusive pricing behaviour, a PL violation is not conditional upon a dominant market position.

It means that even businesses that are not dominant will face PL risks. The SAMR can also more easily enforce against price violations under the PL, as it requires a lower burden of proof.

A platform operator has already been fined for its “choose one from two” exclusive arrangement in violation of the Anti-Unfair Competition Law, despite not being dominant (and which therefore could not be pursued under the Anti-Monopoly Law).

As such, in addition to Anti-Monopoly Law risk analysis, a PL risk assessment is now also strongly recommended for pricing conduct in China.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com