确保压力资产的未来

    作者: Sawant Singh 和 Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal
    0
    280
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    券化是将商业债务汇集起来并重新包装成资本市场工具。印度对标准或优质资产证券化以及不良资产证券化有单独的监管框架。前者涉及银行和金融机构,后者涉及资产重组公司。

    Sawant Singh
    Sawant Singh
    合伙人
    Phoenix Legal

    从数量上看,标准或优质资产的证券化通过更大、更成熟的市场进行,而参与该市场的机构投资者和非机构投资者越来越多。为扩大金融市场,根据反馈意见,印度储备银行(RBI)在其于2022年9月发布的发展和监管政策声明中,提出为压力资产证券化建立与标准资产证券化框架类似的新框架。作为准备工作,2023年1月RBI发布讨论文件《压力资产证券化框架》(SSAF)。

    SSAF没有为非标准资产的证券化建立新的监管框架。它列举了国际经验,提出了需要反馈的问题。SSAF指出,“现金流的确定性程度较低”以及专业第三方实体参与制定资产处置方案,是标准资产证券化和非标准资产证券化的区别。SSAF考虑压力资产是否应该只包括不良资产,或者是否也应该包括承受不同程度压力的标准资产。后者的优势在于现金流,但劣势包括监管套利和资产处置的复杂性。

    SSAF指出,现有的标准资产证券化框架防止将部分资产证券化,例如循环贷款和一次性还本付息的贷款。SSAF在分析了执行、解决方案和定价等因素后,认为这种方法可能不具有吸引力。这令人有种耳目一新的感觉。RBI也认识到,大额企业贷款有其不利之处,包括现金流不确定、依赖债权人委员会的决策以及向破产专业人员(RP)倾斜的代表优先权。

    Aditya Bhargava
    Aditya Bhargava
    合伙人
    Phoenix Legal

    2008年全球金融危机之后,最低自留要求(MRR)即风险共担在证券化结构中无处不在。MRR是由资产证券化发起人保留的经济利益,以确保在经济利益上与投资者保持一致。SSAF指出,由于基础资产已经违约,发起人不再希望与不良资产有关联,并且在经济利益上也较少与投资者保持一致。SSAF问到,MRR应该由发起人承担还是由RP承担,MRR是否应该在发起人和RP之间分配,或者这些问题是否应该留给市场解决。由于在资产处置过程中可能需要发起人协助,一个解决方案是发起人投资于证券化结构发行的次级高收益证券,由投资者持有优先于其他债权获得偿付的优先级债券。RP将持有收益率适中的夹层证券,但这些证券只有在优先级投资者获得偿付后才能赎回。

    资产证券化中增信措施弥补了投资者预期和基础现金流不确定性之间的差距。增信措施可以提高证券化结构的信用度并鼓励投资者参与。SSAF认识到这点,并提出一个问题,即增信是否应该只针对优先级债券。由于基础资产承压,对增信设定上限的传统做法将行不通。RBI还应该考虑取消增信上限,除非发起人提供增信措施。

    SSAF是很好的举措。但是,应该在消除现有法规和执行机制中妨碍成功处置压力资产的障碍之后,才考虑建立新的压力资产证券化框架。在现有“东拼西凑”的法规中增加新的压力资产证券化框架会使问题更为复杂。虽然这可以扩大金融市场,但如果缺乏有效的执行机制,它不会取得成功。

    Sawant Singh和Aditya Bhargava是Phoenix Legal律师事务所合伙人

    Phoenix Legal

    Phoenix Legal

    Second Floor
    254 Okhla Industrial
    Estate Phase III
    New Delhi – 110 020 India

    Vaswani Mansion, 3/F

    120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate

    Mumbai – 400 020, India

    电话: +91 11 4983 0000

    +91 22 4340 8500

    电子邮件: delhi@phoenixlegal.in
    mumbai@phoenixlegal.in
    Website
    www.phoenixlegal.in

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

Securing the future of stressed assets

By Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
0
506
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Securitisation is the aggregating of commercial debt and repackaging it as capital market instruments. India has separate regulatory frameworks for the securitisation of standard or performing assets, which involve banks and financial institutions, and non-performing assets, which involve asset reconstruction companies.

Sawant Singh
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

By volume, the securitisation of standard or performing assets is served by a larger and more developed market. This market is seeing increasing participation by institutional and non-institutional investors. Looking to expand financial markets, and based on feedback, in its September 2022 statement on developmental and regulatory policies, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) proposed a new framework for the securitisation of stressed assets similar to that for standard assets. In preparation, the RBI in January 2023 issued a discussion paper, the Securitisation of Stressed Assets Framework (SSAF).

The SSAF does not set out a new regulatory framework for the securitisation of non-standard assets. It gives examples of international experience and poses questions for feedback. The SSAF notes the “lower degree of certainty of cash flows” and the involvement of specialist third-party entities in achieving resolution as differentiating the securitisation of standard and non-standard assets. The SSAF considers whether stressed assets should include only non-performing assets or whether standard assets suffering varying degrees of stress should also be included. The advantage of the latter would be in cash flow, but disadvantages include regulatory arbitrage and complexity in asset resolution.

Aditya Bhargava
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

The SSAF notes that the existing framework for standard assets prevents some assets, such as revolving loans and loans with a bullet payment of interest and principal, from being securitised. Refreshingly, the SSAF considers that this approach might not be attractive, analysing factors such as enforcement, resolution and pricing. The RBI also recognises that large ticket corporate loans have downsides, including uncertain cash flows, dependence on decision-making by committees of creditors and skewed representation priorities by resolution professionals (RP).

Following the global financial crisis of 2008, minimum retention requirements (MRR), popularly, if impolitely, referred to as skin in the game, have been ubiquitous in securitisation structures. MRR are economic interests kept by an originator to ensure economic alignment with investors. The SSAF notes that as the underlying assets would already be in default, the originator would no longer wish to be associated with non-performing assets and would have limited economic alignment with investors. The SSAF asks whether MRR should be borne by the originator or by an RP, whether MRR should be distributed between the originator and an RP or whether these matters should be left to the market. As an originator’s assistance may be needed in the resolution process, a solution is for the originator to invest in subordinated high-yielding securities issued by the securitisation structure, with investors holding senior securities paid out in priority to other securities. The RP would hold mezzanine securities paying a moderate yield, but only redeemed after the senior investors have been paid.

Credit enhancement in securitisation transactions bridges the gap between the expectation of investors and the uncertainty of underlying cash flows. Credit enhancement improves the creditworthiness of securitisation structures and encourages investors to participate. The SSAF recognises this and poses the question whether credit enhancement should be allowed only for senior tranches. As the underlying assets are stressed, the traditional approach of imposing a ceiling on credit enhancement would not be workable. The RBI should also consider removing ceilings on credit enhancement unless provided by the originator.

The SSAF is a good initiative. However, a new framework for stressed assets should only be considered once hurdles to successful resolutions of stressed assets in existing regulations and enforcement mechanisms have been removed. The addition of a new framework for stressed assets to the existing patchwork of regulations adds a new layer of complexity. While this could expand financial markets, it will not succeed in the absence of effective enforcement mechanisms.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners at Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal

Phoenix Legal

Second Floor
254 Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020 India

Vaswani Mansion, 3/F

120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate

Mumbai – 400 020, India

Tel: +91 11 4983 0000

+91 22 4340 8500

Email: delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in
Website
www.phoenixlegal.in

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link