负重致远

0
123
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

去一年,世界局势可谓波云诡谲。ChatGPT爆火出圈令国内外公司加速布局AI产业,美联储连续加息、新一轮巴以冲突爆发,对全球政治和经济局势产生巨大影响。不过,无论风云如何变幻,我们看到,专业人士凭借经验和智慧发挥了定海神针的作用,为商事交易提供庇护和引导。

重重挑战之下,受影响最大的行业之一要数私募股权市场。行业进入下行周期,募资和投资、交易量和总额度双双急剧下降。近两年,最明显的趋势就是美元基金的退潮、人民币基金崛起,而深知两类机构投资风格和文化基因迥异的从业者和服务供应商,正快速调整策略,迎接全新的游戏规则。

CBLJ 2311 Prologue受加息、紧张地缘政治及中国经济恢复不及预期的影响,募资面临重重困难;在退出端,随着证监会在2023年下半年推出系列举措,IPO节奏明显放缓。与此同时,行业迎来了重磅监管规则《私募投资基金监督管理条例》的出台,并于9月1日起施行。

在本期的封面故事《行业大洗牌》中,我们盘点了私募股权领域的重大趋势,资深私募股权律师对此给出了他们的深度分析和应对建议,并讨论行业潜在的机遇。

为商事纷争提供可靠解决场所的境内外仲裁机构也在积极图变,开始重新探研仲裁本质,拆解其作为传统诉讼替代形式而蓬勃发展的根本优势,以实现争议解决服务的全面升级。经过数十载长足演变和国际化进程,中国的仲裁行业正走向成熟。在《改弦易辙》中,七家领先仲裁机构的领导者回顾了在中国内地、香港和整个亚洲不断蜕变的仲裁环境下,各自机构的发展亮点和改革成果。

商事交易成败的核心在于人,是破局当前逆境的关键,也是本刊持续关注的重点。继《商法》近期公布升级后的“法律精英”奖项第一批后,我们在本期中继续为读者呈现“律界精锐”细分奖项的全体获奖律师。他们是律所发展的中流砥柱、业务干将,凭借丰富的执业经验和深厚的法律素养,活跃在市场第一线,拥有卓越声誉和强劲的创收能力,为客户创造实际价值。

最终榜单是基于市场提名、候选人提交的申报资料,以及编辑部独立调研的综合评选结果。我们由衷感谢参与市场调研的全球企业法务与高管、中国与国际律所合伙人,以及各行各业的法律专家,并对获选律师致以诚挚的祝贺。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Standing tall

0
150
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

It was a year of increased turbulence, the likeness of a whirlpool. Surging AI investment fuelled by ChatGPT’s soaring popularity, the US Federal Reserve interest rates hikes, and the escalating Palestinian-Israeli conflict reverberated through the global political and economic landscape. Yet, amid the chaos, experienced professionals emerged as steadfast anchors, guiding commercial transactions with their wisdom and expertise.

One sector deeply affected by these dynamics is China’s private equity (PE) market. It finds itself in a downward cycle marked by declining fundraising, investments, transaction volumes and value. For the past two years, the most obvious trend has to be the retreat of US dollar funds and the rise of renminbi funds. Recognising the distinct investment styles and cultural DNA of these two types of players, practitioners and service providers are quickly recalibrating their strategies to embrace a new set of game rules.

Fundraising faced headwinds as global interest rate hikes, compounded by the US-China decoupling and the country’s sluggish economic recovery. And on the exit front, the pace of IPOs witnessed a significant slowdown.

CBLJ 2311 PrologueIn this issue’s cover story, Shuffling the PE deck, we delve into the major trends shaping the PE market, and senior practitioners provide insightful analyses, advice, and explore potential opportunities within the industry.

Known for providing reliable venues for commercial dispute resolution, arbitration institutions are also actively seeking change. They reexamine the fundamental advantages that have made arbitration an alternative to traditional litigation, striving to enhance their collective offering of dispute resolution services. China’s arbitration industry has come a long way, as showcased in Changing gears, where leaders from seven top arbitration institutions reflect on their development milestones and the evolving arbitration landscape in mainland China, Hong Kong and the rest of Asia.

Ultimately, people are at the heart of the success or failure of commercial transactions and hold the key to overcoming current adversity, which remains our unwavering focus. In this issue, we are pleased to present the full lineup of the Growth Drivers category, following China Business Law Journal’s recent announcement of the first category of our upgraded A-List awards. The winners represent the key players in law firms – the stalwarts with rich practice experience and profound legal acumen. These seasoned lawyers are active at the forefront of the market, boasting outstanding reputations and robust revenue-generating capabilities, and create real value for their clients.

The final list is the aggregate result of market nominations, candidates’ own submitted supportive information, and independent research conducted by the editorial team. We would like to share our heartfelt appreciation to all who participated in our market survey, including Chinese and global in-house counsel, executives, partners from Chinese and international law firms, and legal experts from various industries, as well as our earnest congratulations to all the winners.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link