食派士处罚决定传达市场界定新方法

0
83
Sherpa’s decision highlights market definitions, 食派士处罚决定传达市场界定新方法

中国反垄断监管部门在最近一桩平台滥用市场支配地位的案件中,首次公布了使用计量经济学工具和技术进行市场界定的方法。

2021年4月12日,上海市市场监管局公告,对上海一家外卖送餐平台食派士(Sherpa’s)作出反垄断行政处罚决定。上海市市场监管局调查发现,食派士迫使平台内餐厅与其签署排他性合作协议,滥用了其在上海市提供英文服务的在线餐饮外送平台服务市场的支配地位。

值得注意的是,上海市市场监管局通过使用 “假定垄断者” (SSNIP)测试,来论证其有关市场界定的初步看法,该测试源自一种常规的需求与供给方替代定性分析。

和阿里巴巴案件一样,上海市市场监管局在得出食派士具有市场支配地位的结论过程中,考虑到了平台的双边性质和相关网络效应。在评估支配地位时,监管当局还考虑了其它因素,包括市场份额(通过用户数量、平台内餐厅数量、每日订单量和销售额计算得出)以及公司在相关外卖服务和商业数据资源方面的优势。

中国的反垄断法允许因持有知识产权而签订排他性协议,这也正是食派士的抗辩。但是,从这个案件可以看出,中国反垄断监管部门也会评估当事方是否真正拥有知识产权。

上海市市场监管局处以食派士人民币 116.86 万元罚款,相当于年销售额的 3%。罚款基准选用年销售额,而不是受排他性协议直接影响的营业额,这也与中国监管当局迄今的做法一致。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海) howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Sherpa’s decision highlights market definitions

0
223
Sherpa’s decision highlights market definitions, 食派士处罚决定传达市场界定新方法

A China antitrust authority has for the first time published its approach to using econometric tools and techniques in market definition via a recent platform abuse of dominance decision.

On 12 April 2021, the Shanghai Municipal Administration for Market Regulation (Shanghai AMR) announced an antitrust penalty on Sherpa’s, a Shanghai-based platform. Sherpa’s was found to have abused its dominance in the market for English-language online food delivery platform services in Shanghai by forcing in-platform restaurants into entering exclusive co-operation agreements.

Notably, the Shanghai AMR defined the relevant market by using a Small but Significant Non-transitory Increase in Price (SSNIP) test to reinforce its prima facie view on market definition, which was derived from a routine qualitative demand and supply-side substitution analysis.

Consistent with the Alibaba case, the Shanghai AMR took into account the two-sided nature of platforms and relevant network effects in finding that Sherpa’s was dominant. The other factors considered in its dominance assessment included market share (as calculated by the number of users, number of in-platform restaurants, daily orders, and sales amounts) and the company’s competitive advantage in associated delivery services and commercial data resources.

China’s antitrust law allows exclusive dealing to be justified on IPR grounds, as was claimed by Sherpa’s in its defence. However, this case suggests that China antitrust regulators may also assess whether a true and effective ownership of IP in fact exists.

The USD180,000 fine amounted to 3% of the company’s total annual sales rather than the turnover directly affected by the sanctioned exclusive arrangement, in line with Chinese regulators’ practice to date.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com