中国扩大企业反洗钱及反恐怖融资义务

0
75
China expands AML/CTF obligations, 中国扩大企业反洗钱及反恐怖融资义务

中国人民银行(下称“央行”)发布的《金融机构反洗钱和反恐怖融资监督管理办法》(下称《管理办法》)已于2021年8月1日生效。该办法扩大了义务主体范围、明确了内部控制和风险管理要求,并完善了反洗钱监管手段,显示了中国在反洗钱和反恐怖融资方面完善制度框架、加强工作力度的决心。

要点

(a) 贷款公司、银行理财子公司、非银行支付机构、从事保险专业代理和保险经纪业务的机构等成为央行新规下的反洗钱和反恐怖融资义务主体。

(b) 部分金融机构需注意《管理办法》与既有规范的衔接,确保自身开展的反洗钱和反恐怖融资工作符合央行要求。

(c) 金融机构应以“风险为本”为原则,建立与风险和经营规模相适应的内部控制制度,如洗钱风险自评估制度,以适应经央行加强的反洗钱监管环境。

(d) 金融机构应注重履行客户尽职调查、客户身份资料和交易记录保存、大额交易和可疑交易报告等基本义务。

在接受国际组织反洗钱金融行动特别工作组(FATF)于2018年至2019年间进行的第四轮互评后,中国根据FATF的后续整改要求,各部门出台系列举措以加大对反洗钱和反恐怖融资的规制力度:全国人大常委会发布《刑法修正案(十一)》修订洗钱罪、央行就《反洗钱法(修订草案)》公开征求意见、检察机关在2020年以洗钱罪提起公诉的案件数量较2019年上升368.2%、央行和检察院在反洗钱方面的行刑合作不断深化。

在《金融机构反洗钱监督管理办法(试行)》(银发〔2014〕344号,下称《管理办法(2014)》)的制度基础上,2020年12月30日,央行就《管理办法(修订草案)》公开征求意见;2021年4月25日,央行审议通过《管理办法》,定于2021年8月1日起施行。

监管范围

《管理办法》扩大了反洗钱义务主体范围,增加了开发性金融机构、消费金融公司、贷款公司和非银行支付机构等多类从事金融业务的机构。其相较于《管理办法(2014)》的变动如下表:

《管理办法(2014)》

《管理办法》

(一)政策性银行、商业银行、农村合作银行、农村信用社、村镇银行; (一)开发性金融机构、政策性银行、商业银行、农村合作银行、农村信用合作社、村镇银行;
(二)证券公司、期货公司、基金管理公司; (二)证券公司、期货公司、证券投资基金管理公司;
(三)保险公司、保险资产管理公司; (三)保险公司、保险资产管理公司;
(四)金融资产管理公司、信托公司、企业集团财务公司、金融租赁公司、汽车金融公司、货币经纪公司; (四)信托公司、金融资产管理公司、企业集团财务公司、金融租赁公司、汽车金融公司、消费金融公司、货币经纪公司、贷款公司、银行理财子公司;
(五)中国人民银行明确须履行有关反洗钱义务的其他金融机构。 (五)中国人民银行确定并公布应当履行反洗钱和反恐怖融资义务的其他金融机构。
支付机构、银行卡组织、资金清算中心、从事汇兑业务和基金销售业务的机构适用本办法。 非银行支付机构、银行卡清算机构、资金清算中心、网络小额贷款公司以及从事汇兑业务、基金销售业务、保险专业代理和保险经纪业务的机构,适用本办法。

此次新加入名单的金融机构中,有多家机构本就需履行反洗钱义务,如开发性金融机构、消费金融公司已在《银行业金融机构反洗钱和反恐怖融资管理办法》的涵盖范围之中,网络小额贷款公司则是《互联网金融从业机构反洗钱和反恐怖融资管理办法(试行)》的政策目标之一。

非银行支付机构是近年反洗钱重点领域,仅2021年7月,便有多家支付机构因反洗钱合规问题受到央行行政处罚,罚款金额动辄以百万计。值得一提的是,在央行就《管理办法》征求意见阶段,有意见主张将私募基金管理人纳入反洗钱义务主体,但央行最终未采纳。

央行指出:“考虑到目前私募基金管理人的法律界定仍需进一步明确,并且从实践来看,中国私募基金管理人类型复杂、数量众多且工作人员普遍较少,难以统一监管要求并实质开展反洗钱工作;针对私募基金产品可能存在的洗钱风险问题,央行将会同相关主管部门进一步研究。”

因此,目前私募基金管理人所需履行的反洗钱义务,限于《私募投资基金募集行为管理办法》等文件之要求。

内部控制和风险管理要求

《管理办法》新增“金融机构反洗钱和反恐怖融资内部控制和风险管理”章节,从反洗钱工作内容、人员安排及信息报送方面,完善金融机构开展反洗钱和反恐怖融资工作的制度框架。其要点如下:

(1) 工作内容

    • 在总部层面建立洗钱和恐怖融资风险自评估制度
    • 在总部层面制定统一的反洗钱和反恐怖融资机制安排
    • 制定相应的风险管理政策,针对识别出的较高风险情形,应当采取强化措施;针对较低风险情形,可以采取简化措施
    • 根据反洗钱和反恐怖融资工作需要,建立和完善相关信息系统
    • 建立反洗钱和反恐怖融资审计机制(内部审计或独立审计等)
    • 履行客户尽职调查、客户身份资料和交易记录保存、大额交易和可疑交易报告等义务

(2) 人员安排

    • 设立专门部门或者指定内设部门牵头开展反洗钱和反恐怖融资管理工作
    • 明确董事会、监事会、高级管理层和相关部门的反洗钱和反恐怖融资职责,建立相应的绩效考核和奖惩机制
    • 任命或者授权一名高级管理人员牵头负责反洗钱和反恐怖融资管理工作
    • 根据本机构经营规模、洗钱和恐怖融资风险状况和业务发展趋势,配备充足的反洗钱岗位人员

(3) 信息报送和报告

    • 按照央行的规定报送反洗钱和反恐怖融资工作信息
    • 向央行及时报告制定或者修订主要反洗钱和反恐怖融资内部控制制度、反洗钱主要负责人员调整、重大风险事项等
    • 按年度向央行报告境外分支机构或控股附属机构(如有)接受驻在国反洗钱和反恐怖融资监管情况

监管手段

最后,《管理办法》进一步完善了央行开展反洗钱和反恐怖融资监督执法的手段,包括:

合规评价:应当根据金融机构报送的工作信息,对金融机构反洗钱和反恐怖融资制度的建立健全情况和执行情况进行评价

现场评估:可以对金融机构开展洗钱和恐怖融资风险现场评估

监管提示:可以向该金融机构发出《反洗钱监管提示函》,金融机构应当自收到之日起20个工作日内书面答复(央行此前采用的书面质询方式要求在五个工作日内答复)

约见谈话:可以约见金融机构董事、监事、高级管理人员或者部门负责人进行谈话

监管走访:可以对金融机构开展监管走访;现场检查时可询问工作人员、查阅、复制、封存资料以及查验数据和系统。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海) howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

China expands AML/CTF obligations 

0
96
China expands AML/CTF obligations, 中国扩大企业反洗钱及反恐怖融资义务

The Measures for the Supervision and Administration of Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing of Financial Institutions, recently promulgated by the People’s Bank of China (PBOC), came into effect on 1 August 2021. Among other things, the measures expand the scope of applicable entities, provide specific details of internal control and risk management requirements, and increase the PBOC’s supervision and administration powers. The new measures are a significant development, demonstrating China’s efforts to improve and enhance its anti-money laundering (AML) and counter-terrorist financing (CTF) regime.

Key takeaways

(a) Organisations subject to the AML/CTF requirements under the new measures have been widened to include loan companies, asset management subsidiaries of commercial banks, non-banking payment institutions, insurance agents and insurance brokers.

(b) Financial institutions subject to existing AML regulatory obligations will need to review the connection between the measures and their existing obligations to ensure they are fully compliant with the PBOC requirements.

(c) The measures adopt a risk-based approach and require that an organisation’s internal control mechanism corresponds to its AML/CTF risks and business scale, and should include a risk assessment mechanism. Applicable institutions will need to review their existing controls to ensure compliance, noting that the PBOC has been given greater powers for enhanced AML/CTF supervision.

(d) Organisations are reminded to undertake customer due diligence, including the need to keep customer identification data and transaction records, and report large-value and suspicious transactions.

After China’s fourth round mutual evaluation, conducted by the Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering (FATF) from 2018 to 2019, multiple departments took steps to strengthen the AML/CTF regime as recommended by the FATF. These efforts include an amendment to the money laundering offence in Amendment XI to the Criminal Law by the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress, the PBOC’s public consultation in December 2020, greater co-operation between the PBOC and the procuratorates, and a 368.2% increase in the number of prosecutions for money laundering offences in 2020 compared to 2019.

Based on the structure set up by the Measures for the Supervision and Administration of Anti-Money Laundering of Financial Institutions (Trial) (2014 measures), the PBOC began a public consultation on 30 December 2020 that resulted in the approval of the measures on 25 April 2021.

2014 Measures

2021 Measures

Policy banks, commercial banks, rural co-operative banks, rural credit co-operatives, and village banks. Developmental financial institutions, policy banks, commercial banks, rural co-operative banks, rural credit co-operatives, and village banks.
Securities companies, futures companies, and fund management companies. Securities companies, futures companies, and securities investment fund management companies.
Insurance companies, and insurance asset management companies. Insurance companies, and insurance asset management companies.
Financial asset management companies, trust companies, enterprise group finance companies, financial leasing companies, auto finance companies, and currency brokers. Trust companies, financial asset management companies, enterprise group finance companies, financial leasing companies, auto finance companies, consumer finance companies,currency brokers, loan companies,and wealth management subsidiaries of banks.
Other financial institutions to perform AML/CTF obligations as determined by the PBOC. Other financial institutions to perform AML/CTF obligations as determined and announced by the PBOC.
Payment institutions, bank card institutions, fund clearing centres, and institutions engaging in foreign exchange and fund sales businesses are governed by the measures. Non-banking payment institutions, bank card clearing institutions, fund clearing centres, network microfinance companies, and institutions engaging in foreign exchange, fund sales, professional insurance agency, and insurance brokerage businesses are governed by the measures.

Increased scope

The new measures have widened the scope of applicable institutions by adding developmental financial institutions, consumer finance companies, loan companies, non-banking payment institutions and many other types of financial service companies. The following table briefly compares the entities in the 2014 measures with those added to the new measures.

Many of the newly added entities have already been performing AML/CTF obligations as required by other regulations. For instance, developmental financial institutions and consumer finance companies are subject to the Administrative Measures on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing of Banking Financial Institutions, while online microfinance companies are subject to the targets of the Administrative Measures on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing of Internet Financial Institutions (Trial).

Meanwhile, non-bank payment institutions have been the focus of AML/CTF scrutiny for many years. In July 2021 alone, the PBOC brought numerous administrative cases against non-bank payment institutions for AML non-compliance, with fines of millions of yuan in each case. It is worth mentioning that when the PBOC was soliciting comments on the draft measures, there was a proposal for private equity fund managers to be included in the measures.

The PBOC ultimately rejected this suggestion and noted: “considering that the legal definition of private equity fund managers still needs to be further clarified, and from a practical point of view, China’s private equity fund managers are of complex types, large numbers and have generally few staff, and it is difficult to unify AML/CTF requirements for them; the PBOC will further study the potential money laundering risks of private equity fund with relevant authorities.”

Therefore, at present, the AML obligations that private equity fund managers need to perform are limited to the requirements of the Administrative Measures on the Fundraising Behaviours of Private Equity Investment and other relevant regulations.

Internal control, risk management

The measures include a new chapter, Internal Control and Risk Management of AML/CTF of Financial Institutions, which specifies the requirements on duties, staff and information submission to build a safer and sounder risk control system. Some of the key requirements are highlighted below.

(1) Duties

    • Establish a risk self-assessment mechanism at the head office level;
    • Establish a centralised AML/CTF mechanism at the head office level so that all affiliates within the group may implement the same AML/CTF mechanism;
    • Establish an appropriate risk management mechanism according to the AML/CTF risks identified, taking enhanced measures for identified high-risk situations, and adopting simplified measures for identified low-risk situations;
    • Establish a compatible IT system for AML/CTF matters and upgrade the system promptly;
    • Establish an audit mechanism (either by an internal audit team or an independent external auditor) for AML/CTF; and
    • Perform customer due diligence, keep customer identification data and transaction records, report large-value and suspicious transactions, and perform other obligations.

(2) Staff requirements

    • Establish a new internal department or designate an existing internal department to be responsible for AML/CTF matters;
    • Clarify the respective responsibilities of the board of directors, board of supervisors, senior management and relevant departments on AML/CTF matters, and establish corresponding mechanisms of performance evaluation, rewards and punishment;
    • Appoint or designate a senior manager to take the lead in AML/CTF management; and
    • Appoint sufficient AML/CTF personnel based on an organisation’s scale of operations, risk status and business development trends.

(3) Information submission, reporting

    • Submit AML/CTF information in accordance with the PBOC’s requirements;
    • Report to the PBOC in a timely manner the formulation or revision of the main AML/CTF internal control system, including any adjustment of the main personnel responsible for AML/CTF and material risk issues; and
    • Annual report to the PBOC by a financial institution’s domestic headquarters confirming the condition that their overseas branches or subsidiaries (if any) will receive the AML/CTF supervision from the host countries.

Supervision, admin measures

As a final note, the new measures have upgraded the PBOC’s supervision powers by allowing it to use a variety of measures to carry out AML/CTF supervision and administration. Some of these measures include:

(1) Evaluating the establishment and implementation of AML/CTF system based on information submitted;

(2) Conducting on-site assessments of AML/CTF risks;

(3) Meeting with directors, supervisors, senior managers or department heads;

(4) Conducting supervisory visits;

(5) Introduction of the AML supervision reminder letter requiring a written response within 20 working days (compared with the PBOC’s previous right to make telephone or written inquiries requiring a response within five working days); and

(6) Conducting on-site inspection, including the power to check/copy documents and materials, seal documents and materials, and inspect information relating to a financial institution’s digital business management and AML/CTF risk management system.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com