上海引入涉税服务创新举措

0
127
Shanghai tax initiatives
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

上海作为中国对外开放的前沿阵地和经济发展最具活力的地区之一,近期推出了一些具有开拓意义的涉税服务新举措。

税收事先裁定

2023年12月29日,上海市税务局发布《税收事先裁定工作管理办法(试行)》(下称《管理办法》),这是全国首个由省级税务局发布的税收事先裁定规则。

根据该《管理办法》,上海市所有企业纳税人均可就近期预计发生的复杂涉税事项的具体税务处理,向市级或区级税务局申请事先裁定。

税收事先裁定是税务机关提供的一项服务,旨在确保税收规则适用的确定性和一致性,并预先解决税务机关与纳税人可能产生的潜在争议。该制度也是税务制度成熟完备的重要特征,在大多数经济合作与发展组织的成员国已得到应用。

在中国大陆地区,虽然《税收征收管理法》和国家税务总局层面出台的其他税收政策中并没有关于税收事先裁定制度的正式规定,但一些地方税务机关已在某些特定情形下为纳税人提供了税收事先裁定服务。

例如,广州南沙于2020年出台了《复杂涉税事项税收事先裁定暂行办法(试行)》;广州和深圳于2021年联合推出了国际税收事项联合事先裁定服务;长三角地区也在探索开展跨省税收事先裁定服务。

在此背景下,上海市税务局发布的《管理办法》是第一个覆盖一线城市内所有企业纳税人普遍适用的税收事先裁定机制,标志着中国税务机关在涉税服务方面的巨大进步。

不过,裁定意见的法律效力仍存争议。

《管理办法》只规定了税收事先裁定制度的总体框架,关于具体实施细节的规定十分有限。裁定意见是否具有终局性,以及对税务机关是否具有法律上的约束力,仍存在不确定性。

但总体而言,基于行政法中信赖利益保护的基本原则,税务机关出具的书面裁定意见仍然可以在很大程度上保证纳税人的税收确定性。

此外,纳税人是否应该选择申请税收事先裁定,需要综合考量。

税收事先裁定制度的引入无疑可以促进税收规则适用的确定性和一致性,降低企业的税收遵从成本。然而,税务机关的裁定意见会受到税收规则的具体规定、案件事实情况以及主管税务机关的征管立场等多种因素的影响 ,申请税收事先裁定也并不能保证纳税人可以得到对其有利的税务处理结果。

因此,纳税人在决定申请税收事先裁定之前,也应做好可能会得到令人失望的结论的准备,并充分权衡其理论上的抗辩优势和实践风险。

税行政案件集中管辖

2024年2月23日,上海市高级人民法院发布《关于本市以税务部门为当事人的行政案件集中管辖的规定》(下称《集中管辖规定》)。

根据该规定,上海市的行政案件中设计税务部门的案件将由上海铁路运输法院和上海市第三中级人民法院集中管辖,同时该规定也对已生效判决的再审以及执行等程序的管辖做了相应规定。

《集中管辖规定》自发布之日起生效,对于2024年2月23日以前其他法院已经受理且尚未审结的一审和二审行政案件,由原受理法院继续审理;2024年2月23日以前尚未登记立案的,需要按照《集中管辖规定》重新确定管辖法院。

该规定发布后不久,上海法院税务审判庭在上海铁路运输法院正式成立,这也是全国首家专门的税务审判庭。

涉税争议解决的公正与效率是世界银行营商环境评估中的一个重要参数,专门的税务审判法庭有助于提高涉税争议审判的独立性和专业性,同时在上海市内实行跨区域集中管辖也可以更好地统一涉税司法裁判的标准。

中国现行的税法中对某些问题缺乏明确性规定,主管税务机关在实践中拥有较大的自由裁量权,甚至某种程度上垄断了对税法规范的解释权。同时,不同税务机关对税收规范的不同解释,也往往会造成同一事项因地区差异而产生不同的税务处理结果。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Shanghai introduces innovative tax service measures

0
447
Shanghai tax initiatives
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Shanghai, as the front line in China’s opening-up to the world and one of its most economically dynamic regions, has now rolled out some pioneering initiatives in tax services.

Advance tax rulings

The Shanghai Municipal Tax Service Measures for the Administration of the Work Associated with Advance Tax Rulings (for Trial Implementation), issued on 29 December 2023, represent the first set of rules on advance tax rulings issued by a provincial-level tax bureau in China.

Pursuant to the measures, any corporate taxpayer in Shanghai may apply to the municipal-level or district-level tax bureau for an advance ruling on the specific tax treatment of a complex tax matter expected to arise in the near future.

As a service provided by tax authorities, the objective of advance tax rulings is to ensure certainty and consistency in the application of tax rules, and resolve in advance potential disputes that could arise between the tax authority and a taxpayer.

The system also reflects an important feature of a mature and fully fledged tax system, and is applied widely across the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Although there are no official provisions in mainland China on the advance tax ruling system in the Law on the Administration of the Levy and Collection of Taxes, or other tax policies issued at the level of the State Taxation Administration, local tax authorities have provided advance tax ruling services to taxpayers in certain specific circumstances.

For example, Nansha, Guangzhou issued the Provisional Measures for Advance Tax Rulings in Complex Tax Matters (for Trial Implementation) in 2020; Guangzhou and Shenzhen jointly rolled out joint advance ruling services for international tax matters in 2021; and the Yangtze River Delta region is exploring launching cross-provincial advance tax ruling services.

Against such a backdrop, the measures issued by the Shanghai Municipal Tax Service represent the first generally applicable advance tax ruling mechanism that covers all corporate taxpayers in a tier-1 city, marking a major step forward by China’s tax authorities in terms of tax services.

However, the legal effect of ruling opinions remains a subject of debate.

The measures only outline the general framework of the advance tax ruling system, with detailed provisions on specific implementation very limited. Whether ruling opinions are final and legally binding on the tax authorities remain uncertain.

However, on the whole ‒ based on the basic principle of protection of reliance interests in administrative law ‒ a written ruling opinion issued by a tax authority can still ensure tax certainty for the taxpayer to a significant extent.

Furthermore, a taxpayer needs to comprehensively consider whether to opt for an advance tax ruling.

It goes without saying that introduction of the system can promote certainty and consistency in the application of tax rules and reduce enterprises’ tax compliance costs.

However, the ruling opinions of a tax authority will be affected by various factors such as specific provisions of the tax rules, facts of the case in question, and levy and administration stance of the competent tax authority.

Additionally, applying for an advance tax ruling will not ensure the taxpayer will receive a favourable tax treatment outcome.

Accordingly, before deciding to apply for an advance tax ruling, taxpayers should duly prepare for the possibility of receiving a disappointing conclusion; and fully weigh the strengths of their theoretical defence and practical risks.

Centralised jurisdiction over cases

The Shanghai Municipal Higher People’s Court issued the Regulations for Centralised Jurisdiction over Administrative Cases in Shanghai in which a Tax Authority is a Party, on 23 February 2024.

Pursuant to the regulations, jurisdiction of administrative cases in Shanghai involving tax authorities is centrally exercised by the Shanghai Railway Transport Court and the Third Intermediate People’s Court of Shanghai Municipality.

Additionally, the regulations provide for jurisdiction in such procedures as the retrial and enforcement of effective judgments. The regulations entered into effect on the date of their issuance.

With respect to administrative cases at first instance and appeal accepted by other courts before, and pending as at 23 February 2024, the trial will continue by the courts originally accepting the cases.

For those not registered ‒ and cases not opened before 23 February 2024 ‒ the competent court will need to be determined anew in accordance with the regulations.

Shortly after the issuance of the regulations, the Shanghai Court Tax Trial Division was officially established in the Shanghai Railway Transport Court, making it the first dedicated tax trial division in the country.

The impartial and efficient resolution of tax disputes is a key parameter in the World Bank’s business environment assessments, and a dedicated tax trial division is conducive to enhancing the independence and professionalism of adjudicating tax disputes.

Additionally, the implementation of a cross-regional centralised jurisdiction in Shanghai is conducive to the derivation of uniform criteria for judicial tax adjudication.

Current Chinese tax laws lack clear provisions on certain issues, giving competent tax authorities greater discretion in practice. In some instances it even gives them, to a certain extent, a monopoly on interpreting tax laws.

Additionally, varying interpretations of tax rules by different tax authorities will often lead to inconsistent tax treatment outcomes for the same matter, due to regional differences.


Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.
You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link