裁判文书写作

0
134
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

说理向来是法院裁判文书中的重要一环。本专栏曾探究过其背后缘由(见《商法》第12期第3辑文章《法律报告》和第3期第3辑文章《意向书还是备忘录?》)。在任何法域,包括以判例法为法律渊源的普通法法域,其重要性都显而易见。详细的裁判理由能让人尽可能清晰地理解法律。另外,在法律报告中准确记录下法庭的裁判依据和理由供大众查阅,不失为一种“明法辨理”的途径,让其他法庭、律师乃至整个社会来查阅法庭的判决并了解法律。

本期专栏则将目光转向判决文书的构思和撰写方式上,逐一审视普通法法域和中国内地在这方面的实践,以及中国最高人民法院在2018年印发的关于裁判文书说理的指导意见。

普通法法域

关于普通法法域的裁判文书撰写方式,已有诸多文章讨论,至于其详细行文的目的,也可谓众说纷纭。一个常见的观点认为,裁判文书要写得详尽,其中一个主要目的是向败诉方解释其败诉的原因(胜诉方则不大关心自己胜诉的原因)。这是因为,普通法有一个基本原则,即自然公正原则,它要求,当法庭下发的命令会剥夺某个人的权益,或使其对某一利益的合法预期落空时,该人有权利知晓作出此命令的理由。

一位法官曾指出判决书的四大目的:

  1. 阐述法官自己的思想
  2. 向当事人解释法官的判决
  3. 向公众说明判决的理由
  4. 提供说理,供上诉法庭考虑

普通法法域的法官们尤其重视裁判文书中的“推理路径”,即法官得出结论的整个分析论证过程。不披露推理路径,则会被视为犯了法律错误。没有充足说理的判决书可能会在上诉程序中被提出异议或推翻。

普通法法域的法庭认为,单纯罗列出证据和事实认定,而没有对证据如何推导出事实加以论证,便无法揭示推理路径。因此,裁判书中必须将适用于某个争议点的法律原则与相关的事实认定关联起来。

对法庭而言,书面说理的内容固然重要,文书的结构、语言表达和风格也不容忽视。下文将从这三个方面一一讨论。

(1) 结构

普遍认为,裁判书应包含下列内容:

  • 裁决结果;
  • 重要事实的认定;
  • 事实认定基于的证据或其他材料;以及
  • 推导出裁决结果的说理。

裁判文书的结构有多种,其中的IRAC结构包含问题(issue)、规则(rule)、应用(application)和结论(conclusion)四部分。运用这种结构的文书首先识别出法律问题,然后列出或分析适用的立法或判例法,再将法律适用到案件事实上,最后,就相关法律问题推导出结论。

在陈述当事人的论点或立场时,一些人建议应当先列出败诉方的立场,再阐述败诉方立场被驳回的理由。之后,法官应当论证采纳胜诉方立场的原因。

其他的文书结构技巧还包括使用标题和子标题,写作者通常以问题形式抛出标题,这样能够清晰展示具体的争议问题。此外,许多法官建议在裁判文书的结尾列出理由,让裁判结果的缘由依据清楚明了,尤其考虑到有些人并不会通篇阅读裁判文书。

在普通法法域,法律报告中的编辑批注也是重要的一部分,尽管批注不构成裁判文书的一部分,而因此不具有法律效力,但它可以帮助读者理解裁判文书。

(2) 语言表达

裁判文书力求用语清晰明了,令广大读者理解。这已是共识,毕竟,阅读文书的人可能没有接受过法律培训,或者来自不同的文化语言背景(《商法》曾探讨过当事人来自不同语言文化背景的情况,见第11期第3辑文章《法庭中的文化因素》)。

裁判文书中使用简明易懂的用语,对于自行辩护的当事人而言尤其重要。所谓自行辩护,顾名思义,就是指不聘请律师,而由当事人自己在庭上为自己辩护(相关讨论可参阅《商法》第7期第9辑文章《自行辩护的当事人》)。

为了写出简明易懂的裁判文书,法官应使用通俗平实的语言,避免使用专业词汇或古英语词汇,尽量使用短句,分段陈述证据(《商法》曾探讨过合同草拟中的用语,见第2期第8辑文章《简明平实的语言》)。

(3) 行文风格

行文风格的呈现与表达用语密不可分。有些法官擅长“娓娓道来”,像叙述故事一样将案件事实描述清楚。著名范例就是英国知名法官丹宁勋爵(Lord Denning)撰写的Miller 诉Jackson一案判决书的序言部分。此案争议涉及板球场上打板球的权利。序言如下:

在夏天,打板球是每位村民的乐事。几乎每个村庄都有自己的板球场,年轻人在场上挥杆,年长者在场下观看。在达勒姆郡的林茨村,村民们也有自己的板球场,过去70年,他们一直在这里打板球。他们把板球场打理得井井有条,三柱门区域圆润整齐,外场很短。板球场提供了供球员休息的俱乐部会所,以及观众坐席。

村队周六日在这里打球。他们隶属于一个联盟,与隔壁几个村庄比赛。在其余时候晚上,他们则在下班后来到场上,在灯下训练。但在70年后的今天,一位高等法院的法官却下令,他们今后不能在这里打球了。这位法官签发了禁令,制止他们在此打球。此禁令是应一位不爱板球的新居民的申请而作出的。

这位新居民在板球场的边沿建造了一栋房子,地块在四年前还是放牛的地方,动物们那时候不介意旁边有板球场。但现在,相邻的板球场成为了住宅区。新居民买下了板球场边沿的其中一栋房子。毫无疑问,邻近的空旷场地是一个卖点。但他抱怨,每当击球手打出6分,球就会落到他的花园里,或者他的房子附近。

这严重影响他妻子的心情,他们周末只能外出。每次村民玩板球时,他们都不能进入花园,令这对夫妇无法忍受。因此,他们向法官申请禁令,禁止村民们打板球。法官尽管心有不愿,但认为他必须下发禁令,禁止村民打板球。我想这禁令的后果将是林茨板球俱乐部的消失,板球场将另作他用。我预计未来这里会建造更多房子,甚至是工厂。不能打板球,年轻人只能另寻娱乐。整个村庄将变得更糟糕。而这一切都是因为一位在板球场边沿买了一栋房子的新居民。

中国内地

中国内地对法庭裁判文书的基本内容作了法律规定。《民事诉讼法》第一百五十六条规定如下:

第一百五十六条

判决书应当写明判决结果和作出该判决的理由。判决书内容包括:

(一)案由、诉讼请求、争议的事实和理由;

(二)判决认定的事实和理由、适用的法律和理由;

(三)判决结果和诉讼费用的负担;

(四)上诉期间和上诉的法院。

判决书由审判人员、书记员署名,加盖人民法院印章。

中国内地的许多法院都采用一套标准的裁判文书结构。主要结构如下:

  • 首部依次写明诉讼参加人基本情况;
  • 事实部分主要包括:原告起诉的诉讼请求、事实和理由,被告答辩的事实和理由,人民法院认定的证据和事实;
  • 理由和裁判依据部分;
  • 判决主文;以及
  • 尾部包括迟延履行责任告知、诉讼费用负担、上诉权利告知。

2018年,最高人民法院印发了《关于加强和规范裁判文书释法说理的指导意见》。指导意见第二条规定:“裁判文书释法说理,要阐明事理,说明裁判所认定的案件事实及其根据和理由,展示案件事实认定的客观性、公正性和准确性”。此外,裁判文书必须“要释明法理,说明裁判所依据的法律规范以及适用法律规范的理由”。

指导意见中的有些规定可看到普通法法域的影子。比如,指导意见要求裁判文书“必须反映推理过程”(第三条)。此外,裁判文书一般不得使用方言或俚语(第十五条)。

未来几年,指导意见会如何影响裁判文书的写作?让我们拭目以待。

葛安德

葛安德目前是世界银行一个工作小组的成员,为亚洲某央行提供职能改革方面的咨询。他曾在上海以外国律师的身份执业(1996-2006),而后回到母校澳大利亚墨尔本法学院从事法律教学和研究工作(2006-2021年)。葛安德现在是墨尔本法学院亚洲法律中心的荣誉首席研究员,亦在多家机构担任顾问,其中包括年利达律师事务所、澳大利亚法律改革委员会和世界银行。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Judgement writing

0
263
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

THIS COLUMN HAS PREVIOUSLY discussed the need for courts to provide written reasons (see China Business Law Journal, volume 12, issue 3: “Law reports” and China Business Law Journal, volume 3, issue 3: “Binding or persuasive?”). The provision of written reasons by courts is important in all jurisdictions, including common law jurisdictions, where case law or judge-made law is a source of law. One of the reasons why courts should provide detailed reasons for their decisions is to enable the law to be understood as clearly as possible. Further, the reasons must be accurately recorded in law reports made available to the public so that other courts, lawyers and society generally can review decisions and find out about the law.

This column explores the way in which judgments can be structured and expressed. It draws on the experience of judgment writing in common law jurisdictions and in mainland China, where the Supreme People’s Court issued an important guiding opinion in 2018.

Common law jurisdictions

Much has been written about judgment writing in common law jurisdictions and also about the key purposes for writing detailed judgments. It is often said that a key purpose for writing detailed judgments is to explain to the losing party why they lost the dispute (the winning party is likely to be less concerned about why they won the dispute). This is because a fundamental rule of the common law doctrine of natural justice is that when a court makes an order that will deprive a person of a right or interest, or the legitimate expectation of a benefit, the person is entitled to know the reasons for the order.

One judge has identified four purposes for a judgment: (1) to clarify the judge’s own thoughts; (2) to explain the judge’s decision to the parties; (3) to communicate the reasons for the decision to the public; and (4) to provide reasons for an appeal court to consider.

In particular, judges in common law jurisdictions recognise the need for the judgment to set out clearly the “path of reasoning”. The path of reasoning is the analytical process by which the judge arrived at his/her conclusion. Failure to disclose the path of reasoning is considered to be an error of law. A judgment may be challenged or overturned on appeal if it failed to give adequate reasons.

Courts in common law jurisdictions have held that simply setting out the evidence and the statement of findings without any commentary about how the evidence led to the findings will not disclose the path of reasoning. It is therefore important for judgments to identify the link between the legal principle that is applicable to an issue and the findings of fact that are relevant to that issue.

In addition to attaching importance to the content of written reasons, courts in common law jurisdictions have recognised the importance of structure, language (or expression), and style. Each of these aspects is discussed below.

(1) Structure

It is generally accepted that a judgment should contain the following:

  • The decision;
  • The findings on material facts;
  • The evidence or other material on which those findings are based; and
  • The reasons for the decision.

There are many ways in which a judgment can be structured. One approach is the IRAC method – Issue, Rule, Application and Conclusion. Under this method, the legal issue is first identified (the issue). The governing statute or general law is then stated or analysed (the rule). Following that, the law is applied to the facts (the application). Finally, the conclusion on the issue is provided (the conclusion).

In terms of considering the arguments or positions of the parties, some people suggest that the position of the losing party should first be set out, followed by the reasons why the losing party’s position was rejected. After that, the judge should set out the reasons why the position of the winning party was accepted.

Other structural techniques include the use of headings and subheadings, which often take the form of questions so that the specific issue is clear. In addition, many judges recommend that the judgment should conclude with an outline of the reasons so that the basis of the judgment is clear, particularly to those who may not read all of the judgment.

An understanding of a judgment in common law jurisdictions is often facilitated by the preparation of headnotes by the editors of law reports, although these headnotes do not form part of the judgment and therefore do not have any legal effect.

(2) Language (or expression)

It is universally accepted that judgments should be written in language that can be understood and accessible to a broad range of readers, including those who may not be legally trained and those who may come from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds (for a discussion about culturally and linguistically diverse parties, see China Business Law Journal, volume 11, issue 3: “Culture in the courtroom”).

The need to write judgments that are accessible to the general public is particularly important for self-represented parties, namely parties that represent themselves in court and are not represented by lawyers (for a discussion about self-represented parties, see China Business Law Journal, volume 7, issue 9: “Self-represented parties”).

For the purpose of writing clear judgments, judges are encouraged to comply with the principles of plain English, including avoiding the use of technical or archaic terms, using short sentences and paraphrasing evidence where possible (for a discussion about plain English in the context of contract drafting, see China Business Law Journal, volume 2, issue 8: “Plain language in English and Chinese”).

(3) Style

Style is closely related to language and expression. In some judgments, judges adopt a narrative style under which the facts are set out as part of a story. A well-known example of this was the introductory paragraph of the noted English judge, Lord Denning, in the case of Miller v Jackson. The case involved a dispute over the right to play cricket on a cricket field:

In summertime, village cricket is the delight of everyone. Nearly every village has its own cricket field where the young men play and the old men watch. In the village of Lintz in county Durham they have their own ground, where they have played these last 70 years. They tend it well. The wicket area is well rolled and mown. The outfield is kept short. It has a good club house for the players and seats for the onlookers.

The village team play there on Saturdays and Sundays. They belong to a league, competing with the neighbouring villages. On other evenings after work they practise while the light lasts. Yet now, after these 70 years, a judge of the High Court has ordered that they must not play there any more. He has issued an injunction to stop them. He has done it at the instance of a newcomer who is no lover of cricket.

This newcomer has built, or has had built for him, a house on the edge of the cricket ground, which four years ago was a field where cattle grazed. The animals did not mind the cricket. But now this adjoining field has been turned into a housing estate. The newcomer bought one of the houses on the edge of the cricket ground. No doubt the open space was a selling point. Now he complains that when a batsman hits a six the ball has been known to land in his garden or on, or near, his house.

His wife has got so upset about it that they always go out at weekends. They do not go into the garden when cricket is being played. They say that this is intolerable. So they asked the judge to stop the cricket being played. And the judge, much against his will, has felt that he must order the cricket to be stopped: with the consequence, I suppose, that the Lintz Cricket Club will disappear. The cricket ground will be turned to some other use. I expect for more houses or a factory. The young men will turn to other things instead of cricket. The whole village will be much the poorer. And all this because of a newcomer who has just bought a house there next to the cricket ground.

Mainland China

In mainland China, the basic content of a court judgment is stipulated by law. Article 156 of the Civil Procedure Law reads as follows:

Article 156

A written judgment shall clearly state the decision and the reasons supporting the judgment. The contents of the written judgment shall include:

(1) The cause of action, the claims, the facts and grounds of the dispute;

(2) The facts and grounds as found in the judgment, and the applicable laws and reasons;

(3) The result of the judgment and the apportionment of litigation costs; and

(4) The time limit for appeal and the court with which an appeal should be lodged.

A written judgment shall be signed by the judicial officers and the court clerk, and the seal of the people’s court shall be affixed to it.

Many courts in mainland China follow a standard approach in structuring a judgment. The general structure is as follows:

  • The first part, which sets out the parties in order and the basic circumstances;
  • The factual part, which includes the plaintiff’s claim, facts and reasons, the defendant’s facts and reasons, and the evidence and facts as determined by the people’s court;
  • The part outlining the reasons and the basis of the judgment;
  • The text of the court’s orders; and
  • The final part (or tail), which provides notification of the responsibility for delay in performance, liability for the costs of litigation, and notification of appeal rights.

In 2018, the Supreme People’s Court issued the Guiding Opinion on Strengthening and Standardizing the Analysis and Reasoning in Adjudicative Instruments. Article 2 of the guiding opinion provides that, “the interpretation and reasoning of the judgment document must clarify the matter, explain the facts of the case as determined by the judgment and their basis and reasons, and demonstrate the objectivity, fairness and accuracy of the determination in respect of the facts of the case”. In addition, the judgment must “explain the legal norms on which the adjudication is based, and the reasons for applying the applicable norms”.

The guiding opinion contains several provisions that reflect the approach in common law jurisdictions. For example, the guiding opinion provides that judgments “must reflect the reasoning process” (article 3). In addition, judgments should generally not use dialect or slang (article 15).

It will be interesting to see the impact of the guiding opinion on judgments in mainland China in the years to come.

Andrew Godwin 2015
Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin is currently a member of a World Bank team that is advising a central bank in Asia on potential reforms to its mandate. He previously practised as a foreign lawyer in Shanghai (1996-2006) before returning to his alma mater, Melbourne Law School in Australia, to teach and research law (2006-2021). Andrew is currently Principal Fellow (Honorary) at the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School, and a consultant to various organisations, including Linklaters, the Australian Law Reform Commission and the World Bank.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link