投资沙特工程项目第二课:创新的沙特新《公司法》

作者: 王霁虹和赵蕙骐,中伦律师事务所
0
423
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

过两年的起草、征询和修改,沙特阿拉伯于2022年6月30日正式颁布了新《公司法》,并将于2023年1月生效,取代2015年的旧《公司法》和2019年的《专业公司法》。新《公司法》共281条,与旧《公司法》相比,其更符合沙特2030年愿景,将给予投资人更大的灵活性,更好的保护其商业利益。新公司法在以下几个方面存在较大的突破和创新。

引入新的公司形式

Wang Jihong, Zhong Lun Law Firm
王霁虹
合伙人
中伦律师事务所

在新《公司法》下,投资人可以选择成立的公司类型包括:

    1. 连带责任公司;
    2. 有限合伙公司;
    3. 股份公司;
    4. 简易股份公司;
    5. 有限责任公司。

其中,简易股份公司是该法新创设的一种公司形式,其将能够满足投资人对创业和风险投资日益增长的需求。简易股份公司是一种灵活的公司实体,可以由一人或多人设立,发行不同种类的股份,可由一个或多个经理或董事会管理。

股份公司设立要求

新《公司法》放宽了对股份公司的要求:允许成立一人股份公司、取消举办设立大会的要求、取消对董事会成员人数及董事报酬的限制、允许发行具有不同权利义务的不同级别的股份。

合资协议与家族章程

新《公司法》第11条明确允许在公司章程中加入有约束力的(需与现行法律、公司章程不冲突)合资协议和家族章程,作为公司治理和管理以及利润分配等的依据。在此之前,沙特法律未明确承认合资协议或家族章程的效力,导致其效力的认定在司法裁决中存在不一致性。新《公司法》承认这些文件的效力,并允许股东在合资协议中设计更为灵活、复杂的股东安排以满足家族企业的特殊需求。

拓宽融资途径

对有限责任公司而言,新《公司法》允许有限责任公司按照资本市场法等规则发行可转让债券与其他融资工具,增加其抵押股权的灵活性,丰富其在沙特的融资途径。

此外,与旧《公司法》相比,新《公司法》在以下方面发生重大变化:

  1. Zhao Huiqi, Zhong Lun Law Firm
    赵蕙骐
    律师
    中伦律师事务所

    设立公司的文件要求。对公司设立所需提交的声明、文件及章程提出了明确要求。其中新设公司必须提交以下两份文件, 一份是股东出具的说明公司符合新《公司法》关于公司设立相关要求的声明。另一份是如存在实物出资,需由经认可的评估人编制的显示其公允价值的报表或报告。

  2. 董事和经理的勤勉忠实义务。新《公司法》规定董事和经理无需对公司因其决定造成的损失承担责任,只要该决定不涉及其个人利益,且基于其对客观情况的合理判断,及在必要范围内对相关事项的充分了解,从符合公司最佳利益的目的出发。相关问题的证明责任在受害方。在此方面,旧《公司法》并没有明确规定,且法院的判决存在不一致性。
  3. 有限责任公司股份回购。根据章程,有限责任公司可以回购或抵押其股份。回购和抵押的股份不具有投票权。这一股份回购规则将使有限责任公司能够更快地重组其现有股本,并有利于其股东探索新的退出途径。
  4. 拖售和随售权。如果代表公司股权90%及以上的股东同意,公司章程可以加入以下规则:多数股东有权要求其他股东一起按照相同的出售条件和价格向善意第三人转让公司全部股份;少数股东有权要求多数股东保证按照相同的出售条件和价格一起出售其股份。这是沙特法律首次承认拖售权和随售权,在此之前拖售和随售安排往往难以执行。
  5. 有限责任公司因亏损强制解散相关事项。旧《公司法》规定如有限责任公司的亏损超过其资本的一半,则公司经理需在商业登记簿上记录该情况并在知悉该情况90天内召集股东会讨论是否持续经营或解散公司。如果公司经理未能召集股东会或股东会未能作出决定,则该公司将强制解散。而新《公司法》取消了强制解散有限责任公司的规定。明确如有限责任公司的亏损超过其资本的一半,则公司经理需要在知悉该情况后60天内邀请股东召开会议讨论是否继续经营及相关的具体措施或决定清算公司。

虽然新《公司法》尚未生效,且主管部门尚未公布公司需按照新《公司法》修改其章程的最后期限。但中国投资者应当注意其中变化,及时修改其沙特公司的章程,以更好的符合新《公司法》的要求。

中伦律师事务所合伙人王霁虹、律师赵蕙骐

中伦律师事务所

中伦律师事务所
北京市朝阳区金和东路20号院
正大中心3号楼南塔22-31层

邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 5957 2288

传真: +86 10 6568 1022

电子信箱:

wangjihong@zhonglun.com

zhaohuiqi@zhonglun.com

www.zhonglun.com


阅读更多“在沙特的投资”的信息


投资沙特工程项目第三课:设立沙特区域总部

作为投资沙特工程项目系列文章第三章,本文将从意义,条件,政策几方面对沙特官方提出的“区域总部计划”进行介绍,为有意投资沙特的企业提供参考

投资沙特工程项目第三课:设立沙特区域总部

投资沙特工程项目第一课:设立何种商业实体

在沙特法律项下,这种商业实体包括常设实体(permanent entity)和临时实体(temporary entity),从组织形式上分为子公司和分公司。沙特近期亦对外国投资者提出在沙特设立区域总部的要求

如何在沙特投资工程项目?

有关在沙特的投资的更多文章,请访问 law.asia.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Saudi Arabia promotes investment with new Companies Law

By Wang Jihong and Zhao Huiqi, Zhong Lun Law Firm 
0
75

After two years of drafting, consultation and amendments, the new Companies Law was officially promulgated in Saudi Arabia on 30 June 2022 and will enter into force in January 2023, replacing the old Companies Law of 2015 and the Professional Companies Law of 2019. The new Companies Law, which consists of 281 articles, is more in line with Saudi Vision 2030 than the old law, and will grant investors greater flexibility and better protection of their business interests. The new law makes major breakthroughs and innovations in the following areas.

NEW FORMS OF COMPANIES

Wang Jihong, Zhong Lun Law Firm
Wang Jihong
Partner
Zhong Lun Law Firm

Under the new Companies Law, the types of companies that can be established by investors include:

    1. Joint liability company;
    2. Limited partnership company;
    3. Joint stock company;
    4. Simple joint stock company; and
    5. Limited liability company (LLC).

Among these, the simple joint stock company is a new company form created by the new law, which will seek to meet the growing demand from investors for startup and venture capital.

As a flexible corporate entity, a simplified joint stock company can be set up by one or more persons and managed by one or more managers, or a board of directors, and it can issue different types of shares.

SETUP OF JOINT STOCK COMPANY

The new Companies Law relaxes the requirements for joint stock companies. It allows the establishment of one-person joint stock companies, eliminates the requirement to hold an establishment meeting, removes restrictions on the number of board members and the remuneration of directors, and allows the issuance of different classes of shares with different rights and obligations.

Read more:


Saudi Arabia engineering investment 101: type of business entity

Saudi Arabia has for many years been China’s number one trading partner in Western Asia and Africa, as well as one of China’s most important contract engineering markets in the Arab world


JV AGREEMENTS, FAMILY CHARTERS

Article 11 of the new Companies Law expressly allows the inclusion of binding joint venture agreements and family charters in the company’s articles of association (which must not conflict with existing laws and articles of association) as a basis for the governance and management of the company, and the distribution of profits.

Prior to this, no explicit recognition of joint venture agreements or family charters under Saudi law had led to inconsistencies in judicial decisions on their validity.

The new Companies Law recognises the validity of these documents and enables more flexible and complex shareholder arrangements in joint venture agreements tailored to the specific needs of family businesses.

BROADER ACCESS TO FINANCE

Zhao Huiqi, Zhong Lun Law Firm
Zhao Huiqi
Associate
Zhong Lun Law Firm

The new law allows LLCs to issue negotiable bonds and other financing instruments under the capital market laws and regulations, giving them the flexibility to pledge their shareholdings and increase their access to financing in Saudi Arabia. Compared with the old Companies Law, the new law introduces significant changes in the following areas:

  1. Requirements for incorporation documents. The new Companies Law stipulates the requirements for the declaration, documents and articles of association to be submitted for the incorporation of a company. Two of these documents must be submitted for new companies. One is a statement from shareholders stating that the company complies with the requirements of the new Companies Law relating to the incorporation of companies. The other is a statement or report prepared by an accredited valuer showing its fair value if there is any capital contribution in kind.
  2. The duty of diligence and fidelity of directors and managers. The new Companies Law provides that directors and managers are not liable for losses to the company arising from their decisions, provided that the decisions do not involve their personal interests and are based on their reasonable judgment of the objective circumstances and full knowledge of the relevant matters within the necessary scope, acting in the best interests of the company. The burden of proving the relevant issue lies with the aggrieved party. The old Companies Law is unclear in this regard and inconsistent court rulings exist.
  3. Buyback of shares by LLCs. Under the charter, an LLC may buy back or pledge its shares, which do not carry voting rights. This share buyback rule will enable LLCs to restructure their existing share capital more quickly and facilitate shareholders of LLCs to explore new exit routes.
  4. Drag-along and tag-along rights. The articles of association can include the following rules on the consent of shareholders representing 90% or more of the company’s equity: entitling the majority of shareholders to require other shareholders jointly to transfer all shares of the company to a bona fide third party on the same terms and at the same price, and that minority shareholders require majority shareholders to guarantee the same terms and price for selling their shares together. This is the first time Saudi laws have recognised the rights of drag-along and tag-along, which were often difficult to enforce before this arrangement.
  5. Matters relating to the compulsory dissolution of LLCs due to losses. Under the old law, if an LLC lost more than half of its capital, the manager must record that in the commercial register and call a shareholders’ meeting within 90 days after knowledge of the loss to discuss whether to continue in business or dissolve the company. If the manager fails to call a meeting of shareholders, or if the meeting fails to make a decision, the company will be compulsorily dissolved. In contrast, the new Companies Law removes the requirement for the compulsory dissolution of LLCs. It clarifies that if an LLC loses more than half of its capital, the manager has 60 days to call a shareholders’ meeting after becoming aware of the situation to see whether to continue the business and take relevant concrete measures, or liquidate the company.

The new Companies Law has yet to come into effect and authorities have not announced a deadline for amending the articles of association of companies to comply with the new law. However, Chinese investors should take note of the changes to update the articles of association of their Saudi companies, complying with the requirements of the new Companies Law.

Wang Jihong is a partner and Zhao Huiqi is an associate at Zhong Lun Law Firm

Zhong Lun law Firm

Zhong Lun Law Firm

22-31/F, South Tower of CP Center

20 Jin He East Avenue

Beijing 100020, China

Tel: +86 10 5957 2288

Fax: +86 10 6568 1022

E-mail:

wangjihong@zhonglun.com

zhaohuiqi@zhonglun.com

www.zhonglun.com