劳动法律提案的影响和挑战

作者: Jivesh Chandrayan 和 Bhagwati Tiwari,HSA Advocates
0
264
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

据悉,31个邦和中央直辖区已经预先公布了《2019年工资法》(“《工资法》”)草案,28个邦和中央直辖区公布了《2020年劳资关系法》(“《劳资关系法》”)草案,28个邦和中央直辖区公布了《2020年社会保障法》(“《社会保障法》”)草案,26个邦和中央直辖区公布了《2020年职业安全健康和工作条件法》(“《职业安全健康法》”)草案。

虽然这几部法律尚未实施,但在有关其适用性和潜在后果的一些问题上出现了争议和讨论。并非所有行业的利益相关者都欢迎提议的变化,这导致了一个紧迫的问题:对这几部法律,因其忽视了工人阶级而应该加以反对,还是因其减轻了雇主和企业主的负担而应该予以支持?

Jivesh Chandrayan
Jivesh Chandrayan
合伙人
HSA Advocates

这几部法律提出的一些关键改革,特别是那些具有较大影响的改革,已经引起了人们的极大兴趣。它们可能需要经受时间的检验,并接受司法审查。

提高了组织收缩审批的上限。根据现行法律,雇用100名或更多工人的组织在停业、裁员或收缩之前需要政府批准。然而,《投资者关系法》第77(1)条将这一上限提高到300名工人。这样做的目的是为希望裁员的组织和企业主提供灵活性。

统一定义。目前,一些常见的术语在不同的法律中有不同的定义。这几部法律归并了29部中央立法,以实现这些法律中相同术语定义和解释的统一。例如,除少数例外情况外,所有提及雇员的术语,如“工人”、“工匠”和“受雇者”,都将被“工人”这个术语所取代。

降低合同工雇用的繁琐程度。《职业安全健康法》的目的是通过提高适用门槛,从目前的20名工人提高到至少50名工人,从而大大缓解雇用和管理合同工的问题。提高适用门槛的目的是为了帮助小企业,如果他们雇用的合同工少于50人,可以减轻他们繁重的合规工作。

Bhagwati Tiwari
Bhagwati Tiwari
律师
HSA Advocates

劳资集体谈判改革。目前,一个组织中允许多个工会存在和参与谈判,这阻碍了通过协商一致的方式快速解决问题。《劳资关系法》规定,在一个组织中只承认一个工会,以便雇主和工人之间进行有效的集体谈判,具体将通过承认拥有大多数工人成员的工会来实现这一目标。

统一的许可证。《职业安全健康法》规定工厂、合同工以及手卷小烟卷和雪茄生产组织使用统一的许可证。该法规定了全国范围内的单一许可证,有效期5年,以方便雇佣合同工。

总体社会保障计划。《社会保障法》将建立国家社会保障委员会,以整合各种零散的社会保障福利的管理工作,包括养老金、医疗保健、孕产、残疾、受抚养人护理、医疗福利、团体保险、公积金、失业福利及其他事项。

最低工资的更广泛适用性。目前,1948年的《最低工资法》只涵盖了从事固定工作的工人。《工资法》将扩大最低工资的适用范围,包括所有有组织和无组织部门的工人。

毫无疑问,这几部法律将改变在印度的国际企业的游戏规则。在印度不断发展的经济、社会和技术条件下,早就应该引入这些法律。虽然工会声称,这些法律将为企业主提供更大的自由,让他们在经商便利的幌子下随意雇佣和解雇工人,然而,在缩小经济差距和简化劳动管理之间寻求平衡,将是实现全面增长的关键。

安贝德卡博士认为,经济上的奴役是一种胁迫。他认为,为了使民主制度蓬勃发展,国家必须为了边缘化人群的利益而进行干预。这几部法律,如果以所有必要的措施加以实施,可以成为实现这一目标的重要一步,为印度未来的劳动法律体制奠定基础,反映所有利益相关者的不同利益和观点。

Jivesh Chandrayan为HSA Advocates合伙人,Bhagwati Tiwari 为该所律师

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

81/1, Adchini

Sri Aurobindo Marg

New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg

Ballard Estate

Mumbai – 400 001
India

联系方式
电话: +91 11 6638 7000 / +91 22 4340 0400

电子邮件: mail@hsalegal.com
www.hsalegal.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Implications and challenges of proposed labour codes

By Jivesh Chandrayan and Bhagwati Tiwari, HSA Advocates
0
812
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

It is reported that 31 states and union territories have pre-published the draft rules for the Code on Wages, 2019 (wages code); 28 for the Industrial Relations Code, 2020 (IR code); 28 for the Code on Social Security, 2020 (SS code), and 26 for the Occupational Safety Health and Working Conditions Code, 2020 (OSH code).

While the codes are yet to be implemented, a contentious debate has arisen over a number of issues concerning their applicability and potential consequences. Not all industry stakeholders have welcomed the proposed changes leading to the pressing question: whether the codes should be opposed for neglecting the working class or supported for easing the burden on employers and business owners.

Jivesh Chandrayan
Jivesh Chandrayan
Partner
HSA Advocates

Some of the key reforms, as proposed in the codes and set out below, have generated significant interest, particularly those having greater ramifications. They may have to withstand the test of time and undergo judicial scrutiny.

Raised ceiling for retrenchment approvals. Under existing legislation, establishments employing 100 or more workmen need government approval before carrying out any closures, layoffs or retrenchments. However, section 77(1) of the IR code will increase this cap to 300 workmen. The objective is to provide flexibility to establishments and business owners looking to cut down their workforce.

Unified common definitions. At present, a number of common terms are defined differently in various acts. The codes have subsumed 29 central acts in an attempt to achieve uniformity of definition and interpretation of the same terms in those acts. For example, all terms referring to employee such as worker, workman and person employed are to be replaced by a single term, worker, with few exceptions.

Less onerous contract labour hiring. The OSH code aims to significantly ease engaging and managing contract labour by increasing the threshold of applicability to a minimum of 50 workers from the current 20. The object behind increasing the applicability threshold in the code is to help small businesses by relieving them of onerous compliances if they employ fewer than 50 contract workers.

Bhagwati Tiwari
Bhagwati Tiwari
Associate
HSA Advocates

Collective bargaining reforms. Currently, multiple trade unions are allowed to negotiate in a single establishment, hindering quick settlements by means of consensus. The IR code provides for recognition of one trade union in an establishment for efficient collective bargaining between employers and workers. It will do this by conferring recognition on the trade union that counts the majority of workers as its members.

Common licence. The OSH code provides for a common licence for factories, contract labour, and beedi and cigar establishments. The code stipulates a nation-wide single licence valid for five years to ease the engagement of contract labour.

Umbrella social security scheme. The SS code will establish a National Social Security Council to consolidate the administration of various fragmented social security benefits, including pensions, health care, maternity, disability, dependent care, medical benefits, group insurance, provident funds, unemployment benefits and others.

Wider applicability of minimum wages. At present, only workers engaged in scheduled employment are covered under the Minimum Wages Act, 1948. The wages code will expand the applicability of minimum wages by including workers from all organised as well as unorganised sectors.

The codes, no doubt, will be a game changer for international businesses in India. Their introduction is long overdue for the evolving economic, social, and technological conditions in the country. While trade unions claim that the codes will provide business owners with greater freedom to hire and fire workers on a whim under the guise of ease of doing business. However, striving for a balance between bridging the economic gap and streamlining labour management will be the key for all-inclusive growth.

Dr Ambedkar considered economic servitude to be a form of coercion believing that for a democracy to thrive, the state must intervene for the benefit of the marginalised. These codes, if implemented with all the necessary measures could be a significant step toward achieving this goal, laying the foundation of India’s future labour law regime, reflecting the diverse interests and perspectives of all stakeholders.

Jivesh Chandrayan is a partner and Bhagwati Tiwari is an associate at HSA Advocates.

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

81/1, Adchini

Sri Aurobindo Marg

New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg

Ballard Estate

Mumbai – 400 001
India

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 / +91 22 4340 0400

Email: mail@hsalegal.com
www.hsalegal.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link