专利制度比较:台湾

作者: 冯启维,连邦国际专利商标事务所
0
80

中国大陆

印度

日本

 

现行台湾专利法的主要法制架构是2013年所制定的,多年来,本法数次修正,但专利审查与救济制度的结构基本保持不变。但是,在台湾智慧财产局颁布修正草案并送交“行政院”、“立法院”审议之际,救济制度将迎来巨变。本草案拟变动76个条文,包括修正40条、增加29条、删除7条,是自2013年以来台湾专利法的最大变革。

智慧财产局将参考美国专利商标局的专利审判与上诉审议会和商标审判与上诉审议会,以及中国大陆、韩国、日本和德国等的对应机构,计划设立新的单位-“复审及争议审议会”。该审议会主要负责审议专利救济案件,即专利申请初审核驳后的复审案和专利争议案之审查。

审议会的职能和组成

Kevin CW Feng Tsai Lee & Chen
冯启维
专利师
连邦国际专利商标事务所
台北

发明专利申请的初审核驳后的 “再审查”程序将被取消,代之以 “专利复审”程序。专利复审案件类型除了被初审核驳的申请案外,另有专利期间延长申请案、申请案核准后之更正案以及和智慧局的其他程序处分。

在专利复审期间仍然可以提交分割申请。除了原申请的初审审查期间及自核准审定起三个月的期间之外,申请人还可以在可申请核驳复审之期间内、核驳复审决定前或复审核准决定书送达三个月内,提出分割申请。

争议案是审议会的另一半重要职能。审议会将通过争议案的管辖,处理专利举发案和延长发明专利期间举发案。前者指的是撤销一项或几项专利请求项,后者指的是撤销错误地核准延长之发明专利期间。

复审案和争议案将采合议制,每案由三至五名成员组成的小组审议之,其成员将是受指定之专利审查人员或具有法律专长人员。此外,合议组成员有回避原则之适用,例如,当案件进入专利复审阶段后,在初审中审定原案的审查人员将不得再参与该阶段。

此外,在专利复审或争议案件中,可以允许第三方参加程序。对案件决定有法律上利害关系的第三方可以依申请或有必要时被通知参加审议。

复审案和争议案

发明专利申请被核驳后,申请人可以在核驳审定书送达后两个月内提出复审。为提高效率,在进入合议组审查前,若申请人申请核驳复审时合并提出修正者,将会实行“前置审 查”程序,该前置审查与日本、韩国和中国大陆之立法例类似,将由原来的专利审查人员或部门负责,若申请人修正后之专利范围可克服原核驳理由,且无其他不允专利之情事,得逕为核准审定。由于同一专利审查人员最清楚一件申请案先前的答辩过程与内容,若申请人愿意妥协,则可望原案较快地获予核准。

另一方面,专利申请被核驳后,申请人若申请核驳复审但不修正请求项,将按照原则程序进入合议组审议。

至于专利争议案,主要变革是案件程序将采用对审制。在对审制下,不再仅是由举发人向智慧局提出举发,举发程序之组织将法庭化,双方当事人为举发人和专利权人,审议会将持中立裁判者的角色针对双方当事人之声明、理由、证据、答辩等予以审议。

另外,与目前举发案的书面审理原则不同,修正后的举发程序应以公开言词审议为原则。一方当事人无正当理由缺席言词审议的,可能会导致审议会基于一方言词内容逕为决定。必要时,审议会可以制定案件审核计划,其中包含对事实上、法律上、证据上争点以及预订终结审议之期日或期间等。此外,审议人员可以在审议终结前对事实上、法律上、证据上争点适度开释心证。

在举发案中,专利权人可提出更正案(多半是缩小专利权的范围)作为防御方法,举发案审议期间有更正案者,应合并审议及决定。但是,若当事人提出多件更正案时,可能造成审议基础的复杂度增高,因此,必须要先确定更正之权利内容方可作为与举发证据比对之攻防基础。根据草案,审议人员可就更正案内容先作成审议中间决定,并在该中间决定做成至举发案审议决定前,举发人不得提出新理由、新证据或新的证据组合,专利权人亦不得再申请更正,以确定更正后之范围并据以判断系争专利权之有效性。

专利复审与争议诉讼

简并救济层级是本修正草案的主要革新目标之一。对于专利复审案或专利争议案,当事人就行政机关之审议决定不服者,可直接向智慧财产与商业法院提起诉讼,免除智慧局至法院间之“经济部”的诉愿阶段。待修法通过后,在法院的专利救济制度将只有二级二审:第一审由智慧财产与商业法院管辖,第二审则属“最高法院”管辖。

另一个重大变化是关于复审与争议诉讼适用的程序法与管辖权。依据草案,智慧财产与商业法院对专利复审和争议诉讼拥有专属管辖权。该等案件之审理将采用民事诉讼法,而非现行之行政诉讼法。在审理专利复审诉讼案时,智慧局为被告,而在审理争议诉讼案时,举发人之对造当事人(通常是专利权人)作为被告。此外,草案引入强制代理制度,复审与争议诉讼应由律师或专利师等为诉讼代理人。

专利权属纠纷

目前,对于专利权或专利申请权的真正合法归属有争议的,可以藉由智慧局举发程序或向法院提起民事诉讼寻求解决。

然而,法院曾在几个判决先例中对于行政机关在解决专利权或申请权归属时的作用予以批判。虽然作为政府部门中处理智慧财产权相关业务的专业专责机关,智慧局有专业能力对专利的申请、核准、核驳或有效性等事项作出判断。但是,就已核准的专利权或尚未核准的发明专利申请权而言,性质上涉及私人间的私法关系或纠纷,智慧局作为行政机关,不像法院那样具有调查机能或判断权限,智慧局并非解决该等权属纠纷的适当机关。

根据草案,专利权属纠纷日后只能通过法院或通过调解、仲裁或其他民事途逕寻求解决。

此外,法院在审理权属纠纷案件期间,当事人可以声请假处分(用于在保全诉讼后对金钱以外之请求之执行)或定暂时状态假处分(用于在诉讼系属中时确立临时的法律关系)。该等处分可进一步提交给智慧局,智慧局相应之审查、审议及其他程序应暂停三个月,待三个月届满或暂停程序之原因消灭后方可续行程序。

在权属纠纷救济期间,该争执于法院判决确定、调解成立或仲裁程序终结前,名义上的权利人不得抛弃专利权。

日落条款

待新专利法生效后,未审定和已审定的专利再审查案、经审定之更正案、 发明专利权期间延长申请案、举发案、延长发明专利权期间举发案、以及经处分之新型不予专利处分案、其他不服程序之申请案等,仍适用旧法。经诉愿或行政诉讼撤销发回于智慧局之专利行政争讼案,亦适用旧法。除上述案件外的未审定案件,适用新法。

连邦国际专利商标事务所
11/F 148 Songjiang Rd
Taipei – 104492, Taiwan
电话:+886 2 2571 0150
电子信箱 :info@tsailee.com.tw

www.tsailee.com.tw

A comparison of patent regimes: Taiwan

    By Kevin CW Feng, Tsai Lee & Chen
    0
    56

    As innovation advances modern enterprises, Asian jurisdictions are competing to offer businesses maximum patent protection to secure their intelligence capital

    CHINA

    INDIA

    JAPAN

    The current Taiwan Patent Act is the 2013 version. There have been several revisions over the years, but the structure of the examination system has remained largely the same. However, the Taiwan Intellectual Property Office (TIPO) will embrace enormous changes after a draft amendment enters the parliament. In the draft, 40 articles are revised, 29 added, and seven deleted, marking the largest change to the patent system since 2013.

    Modelling the Patent Trial and Appeal Board and Trademark Trial and Appeal Board of the US Patent and Trademark Office, as well as counterpart offices in mainland China, South Korea, Japan and Germany, the TIPO plans to establish a new patent appeal and dispute review committee (this is the tentative name, as the official title in English has not yet been announced).

    The committee will be primarily vested with jurisdiction over, among other matters, the succeeding reviews of the first decision of application examinations and patent invalidations, respectively.

    COMMITTEE’S FUNCTION AND ORGANISATION

    The “re-examination” after the first examination of a patent application will be abolished, and be replaced by “patent appeal” proceedings. In addition to the review of a rejected application, the patent appeal further deals with applications for patent term extension, post-grant amendments and other procedural decisions of the TIPO.

    Kevin CW Feng Tsai Lee & Chen
    Kevin CW Feng
    Associate Patent Attorney
    Tsai Lee & Chen, Taipei

    During a patent appeal proceeding, filing a divisional application remains possible. In addition to the pendency of the first examination, and three months from the allowance, the applicant is allowed to file for divisional applications during the pendency of the appeal, either before a rejection decision is issued or within three months if it is an allowance decision.

    Dispute resolution, the other half of the committee’s main functions, will address cases of patent invalidity and patent term extension invalidity. The former refers to the cancellation of one or several patent claims, while the latter refers to the cancellation of an erroneous grant of a particular duration of extended patent term.

    A panel of three to five ex officio members, who are patent examiners or officers of legal expertise with litigation experience, will review each case. Recusals of the panel members due to existing or potential conflicts of interest will be administered. For example, examiners who previously rejected the application in the first examination will not be allowed to participate as the case migrates to the phase of patent appeal.

    Furthermore, the intervention of a third party is possible in a patent appeal or dispute case. A party having legal interests as to the conclusion of a case, such as a licensee or an assignee, may request or be ordered by the committee to participate in the proceedings of a case if necessary.

    APPEAL, DISPUTE RESOLUTION

    After a rejection, the applicant may request a patent appeal within two months following the decision. Before advancing to a panel review, there is a “preliminary review” step when there is a set of amended claims proposed alongside the appeal request. The preliminary review, which is similar to those of the Japan Patent Office, the Korean IP Office and the China National IP Administration, is devised for improved efficiency.

    In a case where the applicant concedes to the examiner’s rejection reasons by further narrowing patent claims accordingly, it will be presided over by the same previous examiner. As the same examiner best understands the history of an application thoroughly, it is expected that a rejected application would be more quickly reversed as a result of a consensual compromise.

    On the other hand, rejected applications that are appealed without claim amendments will enter panel reviews straight as per the default process.

    As for invalidations, a major change will be the adoption of an adversarial system, under which the confronting opponents will no longer be the invalidating party versus the TIPO. Instead, an invalidation proceeding will be organised like a tribunal between the invalidating party and the patentee, with the TIPO’s committee serving as the neutral adjudicator.

    Invalidations will require oral hearings by default, in contrast to examination by documents only as at present. A party’s absence from an oral debate without presenting justifiable excuses may lead to a decision based on unilateral arguments. When necessary, the panel may produce a case review schedule that contains issues on the facts, law, evidence and an agenda timeline. Moreover, the panel members are allowed to advise interim opinions before a decision is made.

    In an invalidation case, the patentee is permitted to narrow the scope of patent right as a defensive measure in response to challenges. But the changes of a patent claim sometimes cause confusion as to which version is the latest to be reviewed against invalidity evidence. Under the draft, the review panel may first issue an interim decision that adjudicates the claim amendment. A decision on claim validity will be made later. After an interim decision, no more new, or combinations of, evidence or another claim amendment will be acceptable.

    PATENT REMEDY IN THE COURT

    Reduction of remedial levels is one of the major goals in the reform. For either patent appeal or dispute cases, the party may directly file a lawsuit to the Intellectual Property and Commercial Court (IPCC) on an unfavourable decision of the committee. An intermediate stage of administrative appeal in the Ministry of Economic Affairs will be removed. Eventually, the patent remedy system will consist of only two levels beyond the stage at the TIPO – the first at the IPCC, and the second at the Supreme Court.

    Another major change is the governing procedural law in the court. The IPCC holds exclusive jurisdiction over patent appeal and dispute cases. To try these cases, the IPCC installs and operates the rules of civil procedures instead of administrative litigation procedures. In trials of patent appeal decisions, the TIPO becomes the defendant, while in trials of dispute decisions, the opposing party (usually the patentee) remains the defendant. In these cases, advocacy by a lawyer or patent attorney becomes compulsory.

    PATENT OWNERSHIP DISPUTES

    Currently a dispute as to who the real or lawful owner of a patent or application is can be resorted to either an invalidation proceeding by the TIPO or civil litigation in the court.

    In several precedent cases, the courts criticised the role of an executive body to resolve the questions of ownership. The TIPO is the only specialised agency in the government that possesses expertise in IP-related matters. It has the best position to exercise its judgments on prosecutions, grants, or validity of patents.

    However, speaking to the ownership of a granted patent or an invention, the TIPO as a government agency does not resemble a judicial court vested with investigatory powers. The TIPO is not the suitable organisation to resolve ownership. As per the draft, patent ownership disputes will in the future be resolved only by the court or through a settlement, arbitration or other alternative dispute resolution processes.

    When a dispute of ownership is pending in the court, the parties may petition for provisional injunctions (for restoring non-monetary asset post legal action) or status-quo orders (for establishing a pro tem [for the time being] legal relationship). The injunctions and orders may further be submitted to the TIPO in order to suspend any relevant proceedings activated at the TIPO accordingly.

    As an ownership dispute remains ongoing, the nominal owner on the record shall not abandon the patent until a court’s judgment or alternative dispute resolution decision is finalised.

    SUNSET CLAUSE

    After the new Patent Act enters into effect, both pending and finalised re-examination cases shall remain governed by the old law, along with the finalised cases of post-grant amendments, patent term extensions, invalidity, utility model rejections, and other procedural decisions. Non-finalised cases remanded back from the court or Ministry of Economic Affairs to the TIPO will resume in accordance with the old law.

    Non-finalised cases other than those mentioned will be subject to the new law.

    TSAI LEE & CHEN
    11/F 148 Songjiang Rd
    Taipei – 104492, Taiwan
    Tel: +886 2 2571 0150
    Email: info@tsailee.com.tw

    www.tsailee.com.tw