专利制度比较:日本

    作者: Hirofumi Tada,Ohno & Partners律师事务所
    0
    333
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    随着创新推动现代企业发展,亚洲司法管辖区竞相为企业提供最大限度的专利保护,以确保其智力资本的安全。

    中国大陆

    印度

    台湾

     

    在美国,第三方意见可以作为法庭之友意见书提交,这种方式被积极利用。相比之下,日本直到今年4月才形成在诉讼中征求第三方意见的法定制度。当时若干法律修订案生效,将专利和实用新型侵权案件的法庭之友的做法予以制度化。

    Hirofumi Tada Ohno & Partners
    Hirofumi Tada
    律师
    Ohno & Partners律师事务所,东京
    电话:+81 3 5218 2339
    电子信箱 :tadah@oslaw.org

    在专利侵权诉讼中,就当事人之间的具体纠纷作出的判决可能影响到很多第三方。例如,物联网和人工智能等技术发展迅速,并应用于多个行业。法院对该等技术作出的判决将不可避免地影响到许多行业。此外,就标准必要专利作出的判决对其他国家也有重大影响。在上述情况下,法院广泛征求第三方意见并根据这些意见作出判决并无不妥。

    在2021年的《专利法》修订案中,日本引入征求第三方意见的新制度。

    日本出现了基于当事人协议征求第三方意见的案例。在Samsung v Apple (2014)案中,由于问题的重要性及其重大影响,在双方当事人就公开征求第三方意见达成协议后,日本知识产权高等法院就基于公平、合理和非歧视性已申报专利的权利行使征求了第三方意见。但是,要获得双方当事人同意往往并不容易,并且这种基于当事人协议的方法使用情景非常有限。

    最近的修订案允许法院在双方当事人未达成协议的情况下,根据一方当事人的动议征求第三方意见。这与以前的做法有很大不同。

    关于第三方意见的要求

    根据修订后的《专利法》第105-2-11条,意见征求制度试图在对抗式诉讼制度和为法院提供足够信息的需求之间找到平衡。关于征求第三方意见的要求体现了这两个要素之间的某种妥协。

    适用范围

    基于专利权或独占许可权提起侵权诉讼时,初审和上诉程序适用征求意见制度(另见《专利法》第65(6)条和《实用新型法》第30条)。该修订案未涵盖寻求撤销专利局决定的案件。未来如果监管机构发现这个制度有帮助,案件适用范围可能会扩大。

    一方当事人提出动议

    要征求第三方意见,必须至少有一方当事人提出动议。如果当事人没有提出动议,法院不得自行征求第三方意见。这体现了日本诉讼制度中的对抗原则。

    必要性

    法院应确定是否有必要征求第三方意见。在此过程中,法院应听取当事人的意见,并考虑各种情况,包括为当事人取证的难度,以及判决对第三方的影响。

    征求第三方意见的事项不仅包括法律问题和法律规则,还包括商业惯例和实际商业情况。这将有助于法院了解纠纷的背景和其判决造成的影响。

    诉讼当事人往往也很难获得这些信息,因此这也将对诉讼当事人有利。另一方面,通常不允许使用该制度来收集先前证据。根据日本的制度,当事人应自行搜索和收集这些证据。

    另一方当事人的意见

    法院必须听取另一方当事人的意见。一方希望征求第三方意见,但另一方基于诉讼策略反对,这在意料之中。虽然不需要经过另一方当事人同意,但法院必须听取另一方当事人的意见。这是对抗式诉讼制度和法院对信息需求之间的一种妥协。

    Samsung v Apple案中,法院根据双方当事人之间达成的协议征求第三方意见。相比之下,该修订案规定不需要征得另一方当事人同意,这使征求第三方意见变得容易。这是《专利法》修订案的意义所在。

    征求范围

    法院不受限制地广泛征求一般第三方的意见。因此,任何人,包括外国个人和公司,均可以提交意见。预计日本法院将听取国际上的意见,以便作出的判决在全球实现平衡。

    递交证据

    第三方意见应提交给法院,但它们不会立即成为证据。当事人应当对第三方意见进行审查和选择,然后将选择的第三方意见作为证据提交法院。这种制度设计的利弊已在立法过程中进行辩论。法院不会审查所有第三方意见,但双方当事人均有责任选择和提交第三方意见。

    如果法院不审查第三方的意见,第三方会感到失望,但这是对抗式诉讼制度的结果。不审查大量第三方意见也节省了法院的资源。当提交外文第三方意见作为证据时,提交意见的当事人应按照提交外文文件时的要求准备译文。这意味着第三方不承担翻译费用。

    作为第三方提交意见

    关于第三方意见的要求将在日本知识产权高等法院的网站(www.ip.courts.go.jp)上发布。在某些情况下,该要求可能会以英文发布。因此,如果相关方有兴趣就某案件提交意见,建议查看该网站。

    此外,日本专利局表示,诉讼当事人可以接触第三方并支付报酬,从而要求第三方提交意见。这是合法诉讼活动的一部分。在许多情况下,第三方是在诉讼当事人接触并要求其提交意见后提交的意见。因此,许多第三方意见会对一方当事人有利。诉讼当事人将巧妙利用这个制度,这是对抗式诉讼制度的结果,应该接受。

    根据日本专利法,要求提供第三方意见是为了帮助法院确定某些法律问题,因此建议咨询在日本注册的律师或专利律师,以提交有效的第三方意见。他们的建议将有助于第三方准备对日本法官有说服力的意见。为了让法院作出反映第三方立场的平衡判决,最好积极利用这个制度。

    结论

    日本法院有高度专业化的部门负责处理知识产权相关案件,以确保判决质量。人们常误以为专利所有人在日本很难打赢官司,但最近情况发生了显著变化,日本法院在过去五年内表现出支持专利的倾向。

    此外,日本还建立了征求第三方意见的新制度,以便考虑到判决对社会的影响后,法院作出平衡判决。对全球公司来说,日本的专利诉讼制度越来越值得信赖,也越来越有用。

    大野综合法律事务所
    21/F Marunouchi Kitaguchi Building
    1-6-5, Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo – 100-0005, Japan
    电子信箱 :ohnos@oslaw.org
    电话:+81 3 5218 2331

    www.oslaw.org

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

A comparison of patent regimes: Japan

    By Hirofumi Tada, Ohno & Partners
    0
    64

    As innovation advances modern enterprises, Asian jurisdictions are competing to offer businesses maximum patent protection to secure their intelligence capital

    CHINA

    INDIA

    TAIWAN

    In the US, third-party opinions can be submitted as amicus curiae briefs, which have been actively used. In contrast, Japan did not have a statutory system for soliciting third-party opinions in litigation until April this year, when a number of legal amendments that institutionalised amicus curiae practice for patent and utility model infringement cases went into effect.

    In patent infringement lawsuits, judgments granted on specific disputes between parties may affect many third parties. For example, technologies such as the internet of things and artificial intelligence have been rapidly developing, and these technologies are utilised across multiple industries. Court decisions on such technologies will inevitably affect many industries. In addition, a decision on standard essential patents has a significant impact on other countries. In such cases, it is appropriate for the court to solicit opinions widely from third parties and make a decision based on such opinions.

    Hirofumi Tada Ohno & Partners
    Hirofumi Tada
    Attorney at Law
    Ohno & Partners, Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 5218 2339
    Email: tadah@oslaw.org

    In the 2021 amendment of the Patent Act, Japan implemented a new system for soliciting third-party opinions.

    Japan has experienced agreement-based solicitation of third-party opinions. In Samsung v Apple (2014), the IP High Court solicited third-party opinions regarding the exercise of rights based on a fair, reasonable and non-discriminatory declared patent due to the importance of the issue and its significant impact, but it was based on an agreement of the parties. However, it is often not easy to obtain the consent of both parties, and the availability of such an agreement-based approach was very limited.

    The recent amendment allows the court to solicit opinions based on a motion by one party without agreement. This is a huge difference from the previous practice.

    REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD-PARTY OPINION

    Under article 105-2-11 of the amended act, the solicitation system tries to balance the adversarial litigation system and the need for sufficient information for the courts. The requirements for the third-party opinion solicitation reflect the compromise of these two elements.

    SUBJECT CASES

    The solicitation system is available for proceedings in the first instance and in the appellate instance of infringement suits based on a patent right or exclusive licence right (see also article 65(6) of the Patent Act, and article 30 of the Utility Model Act). Cases seeking rescission of patent office decisions are not covered by this amendment. In the future, the scope of subject cases might expand if the regulators find this system helpful.

    MOTION BY A PARTY

    To solicit opinions from third parties, a motion must be filed by at least one party. The court alone may not initiate solicitation without a motion. This reflects the adversarial principle of Japan’s litigation system.

    NECESSITY

    The court shall determine the necessity of soliciting opinions. In doing so, the court shall hear the opinions of the parties and consider various circumstances, including the difficulty of obtaining evidence for the parties, and the influence of the judgment on third parties.

    The subject matter of opinions includes not only legal issues and rules, but also commercial practices and actual business situations. This will help the court understand the surrounding circumstances of the disputes and the influence of its decision.

    It is also often difficult for litigants to obtain such information, so this will help litigants as well. On the other hand, it is not usually permitted to use this system to collect prior evidence. Parties are expected and responsible to search and collect such evidence by themselves under Japan’s system.

    OPINIONS OF OTHER PARTY

    The court must hear the opinion of the other party. It is often expected that one party wishes to solicit opinions but the other party opposes under litigation strategy. The court must hear the opinions of the other party, but the consent of the other party is not required. This is a compromise between the adversarial litigation system and the need for information for the court.

    In Samsung v Apple, the court solicited opinions based on the agreement of the parties. In contrast, this amendment does not require the consent of the other party, which makes it easy to solicit third-party opinions. This is the significance of the amendment of the Patent Act.

    SCOPE OF SOLICITATION

    The court solicits opinions from a wide range of general third parties without limitation. Therefore, anyone, including foreign individuals and corporations, may submit opinions. It is expected that the Japanese court hears opinions internationally to make globally balanced decisions.

    SUBMISSION OF EVIDENCE

    The opinions should be submitted to the court, but they do not immediately become evidence. The parties should review and choose the opinions, and then submit the chosen opinions as evidence to the court. The pros and cons of such a system design were debated during the legislative process. The court does not review all the opinions, but both parties are responsible for selecting and submitting opinions.

    It will be disappointing for a third party if its opinion is not reviewed by the court, but this is a consequence of the adversarial litigation system. Also, this saves the resources of the court from reviewing a huge number of opinions. When an opinion in a foreign language is submitted to be used as evidence, the party submitting the opinion is expected to prepare the translation, as per when submitting a document in a foreign language. This means that third parties do not bear the translation cost.

    SUBMITTING OPINION AS THIRD PARTY

    The request for third-party opinions will be posted on the website of the IP High Court (www.ip.courts.go.jp). In some cases, the request may be posted in English. Therefore, it is recommended to check the website if a concerned party is interested in submitting an opinion for a certain case.

    In addition, the Japanese Patent Office indicates that it is acceptable for litigants to approach and request third parties to submit opinions, and provide compensation for preparing opinions, as part of legitimate litigation activities. In many cases, opinions will be submitted in response to such approaches and requests. As a result, many third-party opinions will be favourable for one party. This system will be strategically used by litigants, but it should be accepted as a result of the adversarial litigation system.

    As third-party opinions are requested to aid the court in determining certain legal issues under Japanese patent law, it is recommended to consult with a lawyer or a patent attorney admitted in Japan to submit an effective opinion. Their advice will help third parties prepare opinions persuasive to Japanese judges. In order for the court to make a well-balanced decision reflecting the positions of third parties, active use of the system is preferable.

    CONCLUSION

    Japanese courts have highly specialised divisions dedicated to IP-related cases, which ensure the quality of their decisions. A common misunderstanding is that it is difficult for a patent owner to win a case in Japan. However, the situation significantly changed recently, and Japanese courts have shown a pro-patent tendency in the past five years.

    Furthermore, the new system for soliciting third-party opinions has been established to make well-balanced decisions considering the impact on society. The Japanese patent litigation system is getting more trustworthy and useful for global companies.

    OHNO & PARTNERS
    21/F Marunouchi Kitaguchi Building
    1-6-5, Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo – 100-0005, Japan
    Email: ohnos@oslaw.org
    Tel: +81 3 5218 2331

    www.oslaw.org