可预见性原则在专利侵权诉讼中的适用

作者: 陈坚,三友知识产权代理有限公司
0
336
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

高人民法院于2022年6月在(2021)最高法知民终1924号案中,再次适用可预见性原则否定了专利权人等同侵权的主张。可预见性原则虽然在中国现行法律和司法解释中并没有明确规定,在司法适用上还存在争议,但随着近年来最高人民法院和地方法院多次在案件中适用该原则,该原则已成为等同原则适用的限制,应当引起足够的重视。

陈坚
主任
万瑞律师事务所

具体来说,可预见性原则是指,专利权人在撰写专利申请文件时已明确知晓或足以预见的技术特征,却并未将其写入权利要求的保护范围,则在进行侵权比对时,不能再适用等同原则将该技术特征纳入保护范围。可预见性原则的法理基础在于:等同原则的适用必须确保专利权的保护范围具有足够的法律确定性和可预见性,否则会导致社会公众无法根据权利要求公示的内容合理确定专利权的保护范围,无法进行合理避让,从而妨碍社会公众对公有领域技术的自由实施,与专利法鼓励创新的初衷相悖。

适用可预见性原则的关键在于证明专利权人在撰写专利申请文件时已明确知晓或足以预见该技术特征。下面笔者将结合司法实践和案例来说明在专利侵权诉讼中如何主张和适用可预见性原则。

关于明确知晓的证明。明确知晓意味着专利权人清楚明白且确定地知道该技术特征。这需要有明确的证据来证明,而不是推断。可能的证据包括,专利申请文件中的背景技术部分,专利权人的其他专利申请,专利权人的论文著作,专利权人在其他案件中陈述或自认等。

例如,在(2021)最高法知民终192号案件中,专利权人在专利说明书背景技术部分介绍了存在电机驱动和燃油发动机驱动两种方式,但在权利要求书中仅限定了电机驱动这一种方式,之后专利权人在侵权诉讼中又主张燃油发动机驱动的方式构成等同侵权。最高人民法院认为:本领域普通技术人员基于对权利要求所限定的“绿篱机”、说明书背景技术部分对电机驱动和燃油发动机驱动两种方式的介绍以及发明目的部分对“环保无污染”效果的强调等,完全可以理解为专利申请人明确不寻求保护以燃油发动机作为动力源的绿篱机技术方案。在此情况下,若在判断被诉侵权产品是否落入涉案专利权保护范围时,将燃油发动机驱动与电机驱动认定构成技术特征等同,则不利于发挥专利权利要求公示的作用和保护社会公众的信赖利益。因此,最高人民法院认为不能适用等同原则。

关于足以预见的证明。足以预见是指本领域普通技术人员事先完全可以预料得到。由于“足以预见”是一种推定,法院需要根据专利涉及的技术领域的普通技术人员的技术水平和公知常识来作出判断。从法院的判例来看,大致可以认为有以下两种情形。

(1)关于本领域具有明确分类标准的不同类别的技术特征。例如,最高人民法院在(2015)民申字第740号案中认为:专利权人在申请涉案专利时将其要求保护的技术方案限定为进水套的上表面呈锥面,不是平面,而锥面或平面均是涉案专利申请时,该领域普通技术人员普遍知晓的技术方案。在侵权判定时,不能将技术特征“锥面”扩张到“平面”予以保护。又如,最高人民法院在(2019)最高法民申3188号案中认为:就弹性支撑片等高排列的技术特征而言,专利权人在专利申请时足以预见到存在这一替代性特征,但未将其写入涉案专利权利要求,故弹性支撑片等高排列的技术特征不应当被认定为与涉案专利权利要求中“弹性支撑片高低相间排列”等同的技术特征。在这两个案件中,平面和非平面(包含锥面),以及等高排列和非等高排列,在本领域都是常见的分类,两者是一种非此即彼的关系。因此法院在即使没有证据的情况下,也可以认定另外一种技术特征是足以预见的。

(2)通过大量的技术文献来证明专利权人应当明确知晓。在(2021)最高法知民终1924号案中,被告向法院提交了大量在申请日前已经公开的技术文献,包括期刊文章以及专利,用于证明在申请日前聚碳酸酯可用于制造仪表表壳的面框。法院认为这些证据可证明专利权人在撰写专利文件时,已明确知晓这一技术特征,但并未将其纳入权利要求的保护范围,因此不再适用等同原则。

在专利侵权诉讼中,适用可预见性原则有助于强化权利要求的公示原则,但是也意味着对专利权人撰写申请文件提出了更高的要求,应当引起企业的充分重视。

万瑞律师事务所主任陈坚。万瑞律师事务所是三友知识产权集团的旗下成员

米泰 万瑞律师事务所 知识产权三友知识产权代理有限公司
北京市西城区金融街35号
国际企业大厦A座16层 邮编: 100033
电话: +86 10 8809 1921 / 8809 1922
传真: +86 10 8809 1920
电子信箱: sanyou@sanyouip.com

www.sanyouip.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Application of the foreseeability principle in patent infringement litigation

By Chen Jian, Sanyou Intellectual Property Agency
0
65

In June 2022, the Supreme People’s Court again applied the foreseeability principle in Hongrun Precision Instruments v Tangkula Instruments et al (2021) to deny the patentee’s claim of equivalent infringement. This is despite the foreseeability principle not being explicitly provided for in current Chinese law and judicial interpretations, and its judicial application still controversial. The increasing application of the foreseeability principle by the Supreme People’s Court and local courts in recent years, serving as a limitation on the application of the equivalence principle, is worthy of attention.

Chen Jian
Managing Partner
Wan Rui Law Firm

Specifically, the foreseeability principle means that if a technical feature was clearly known or sufficiently foreseeable by the patentee at the time of drafting the patent application, but was not included in the protection scope of the claims, then the equivalence principle cannot be applied to this technical feature during the infringement comparison. The legal basis of the foreseeability principle is that the application of the equivalence principle must ensure sufficient legal certainty and foreseeability of the patent protection scope, otherwise the public cannot reasonably determine the protection scope of the patent rights based on the content of the claim publicity and cannot reasonably avoid infringement, thus preventing the public from freely implementing the technology in the public domain, which is contrary to the original intention of the patent law to encourage innovation.

The key to applying the foreseeability principle is to prove that the patentee had explicit knowledge or sufficient foresight of the technical feature when drafting the patent application document. The author will illustrate how the foreseeability principle can be asserted and applied in patent infringement litigation in conjunction with judicial practice and cases.

Evidence of explicit knowledge. Explicit knowledge means that the patentee knows the technical feature with clarity and certainty, which must be proven by explicit evidence rather than inference. Possible evidence includes the background technology section of the patent application document, the patentee’s other patent applications, dissertation writings and statements or assertions made in other cases.

For example, in Xuzhou Zhongsen Intelligent Equipment v Changzhou Great Garden Machinery and Ningbo Anglin Intelligent Equipment (2021), the patentee introduced the existence of both motor-driven and fuel engine-driven methods in the background technology section of the patent specification but only limited the motor-driven method in the claims, and then asserted in the infringement litigation that the fuel engine-driven method constituted equivalent infringement. The Supreme People’s Court held that based on the “hedge trimmer” as defined in the claims, the introduction of motor-driven and fuel engine-driven methods in the background technology section of the specification, and the purpose of the invention section on “environmental protection and pollution-free”, a general technician in the field could fully understand that the patentee did not seek to protect the technical solution of powering the hedge trimmer with a fuel engine. Under such circumstances, if the fuel engine-driven and electric motor-driven were to be considered as equivalent technical features in determining whether the infringing product fell within the scope of the patent in question, it would be detrimental to the role of patent claim publicity and the protection of the public’s reliance interests. Therefore, the Supreme People’s Court held that the equivalence principle could not be applied in this case.

Evidence of sufficient foreseeability. Sufficient foresight means that a general technician in this field can fully foresee it in advance. Given that “sufficient foresight” is a presumption, the court will need to make a judgment based on the level of technical skill and common knowledge of a general technician in this field to which the patent relates. From the court’s precedents, there are two prevailing circumstances as follows.

(1) Technical features of different categories with clear classification criteria in the field. For example, the Supreme People’s Court held in Sun Junyi v Renqiu Bocheng Plumbing Equipment (2015) that when applying for the patent in question, the patentee defined the technical solution claimed for protection as a water inlet sleeve with a tapered upper surface, not a flat surface. Both the tapered and flat surfaces were technical solutions generally known to the general technicians in the field. In determining infringement, the technical feature “tapered surface” cannot be extended to “flat surface” for protection. Also, in Beijing Xingao Technology v Taiyuan Caiwei Manor Special Agricultural Development and Shanxi Xiaoniu Power Sports Technology (2019), the Supreme People’s Court held that the technical feature of elastic support sheets aligned in equal height as an alternative feature had been foreseen by the patentee when applying for the patent, but was not included in the patent claims in question, so this technical feature should not be regarded as an equivalent to the “elastic support sheets aligned in high and low positions” in the patent claims. In both cases, flat and non-flat (including tapered) and equal-height and non-equal-height alignments are obvious and common classifications in the field, and the two are in an either-or relationship. The court can therefore find that the other technical feature is sufficiently foreseeable even without evidence.

(2) To prove the explicit knowledge of the patentee by a large number of technical documents. In Hongrun Precision Instruments v Tangkula Instruments et al (2021), the defendant submitted to the court a large number of technical documents, including journal articles and patents, which had been published before the filing date, to prove that polycarbonate could be used to make instrument case frames before the filing date. The court held that this evidence sufficiently proved that the patentee had explicit knowledge of the above technical feature but did not include it in the claims’ protection scope; therefore, the equivalence principle could no longer be applied in this case.

In patent infringement litigation, applying the foreseeability principle helps reinforce the claims’ publicity principle. Meanwhile, it also means that higher requirements are placed on the patentee to prepare the application documents, to which enterprises should give due attention.

Chen Jian is a director at Wan Rui Law Firm. Wan Rui Law Firm is a member of Sanyou IP Group

Mi Tai Wan Rui Law Firm intellectual propertySanyou Intellectual Property Agency
16/F, Block A, Corporate Square
No.35 Jinrong Street, Beijing 100033, China
Tel: +86 10 8809 1921 / 8809 1922
Fax: +86 10 8809 1920
Email: sanyou@sanyouip.com

www.sanyouip.com